Skip Navigation LinksOA_ADAP_MM_2023-04_Federal_Poverty_Levels_and_Tax_Deadlines

State of Cal Logo

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health

ADAP MM 2023-04
April 3, 2023

ADAP & PrEP-AP Enrollment Workers

Federal Poverty Levels and Cutoff for Accepting 2021 Tax Returns

​ADAP MM 2023-04: Federal Poverty Levels and Cutoff for Accepting 2021 Tax Returns

​Effective April 1, 2023, the AIDS Drug Assistance Program (ADAP) and Pre-Exposure Prophylaxis Assistance Program (PrEP-AP) will use the 2023 U.S. Department of Health and Human Services Federal Poverty Levels (FPL).

For a Modified Adjusted Gross Income (MAGI) Medi-Cal referral, $20,121 (138% of FPL) represents the maximum income level for MAGI Medi-Cal for a family size of one. Additional maximum income levels for clients with family sizes greater than one are provided on page three for your reference.

Tax Deadline for Clients Impacted by Storms in Declared Disaster Areas

Clients impacted by storms and residing in declared disaster areas have until October 16, 2023, to file state and federal taxes. After this date ADAP will only accept 2022 filed and signed returns as proof of income.

The following counties are declared disaster areas: Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Kings, Lake, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba counties.

Tax Deadline for Clients Not Impacted by Storms or Residing in Non-Disaster Areas

For clients not impacted by storms or who reside in one of the 7 counites not declared disaster areas, the cutoff date for accepting 2021 state or federal tax returns for income documentation is April 18, 2023. After this date only 2022 taxes will be accepted unless proof of an extension is provided.

The following counties are not declared disaster areas: Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Lassen, Modoc, Shasta, and Sierra counties.

Please contact your OA Advisor if you have any questions regarding the information provided in this memo.

Thank you,

Sharisse Kemp E Signature.

Sharisse Kemp, MSW

ADAP Branch Chief

California Department of Public Health

2023 Federal Poverty Guidelines

​​Persons in F​amily Household

​Poverty Guideline
​​MAGI* Medi-Cal <138% FPL
​MAGI Household Income <500% FPL

Page Last Updated :