Skip Navigation LinksCaliforniaAlzheimersDiseaseCenters

Chronic disease control branch

California Alzheimer's Disease Centers

Getty Image_HoldingHandsGettyImages_Sr Man Crossword

The California Alzheimer's Disease Centers (CADCs) are a statewide network of ten dementia care Centers of Excellence at university medical schools, established by legislation in 1984. The CADCs effectively and efficiently improve dementia health care delivery, provide specialized training and education to health care professionals, and advance the diagnosis and treatment of Alzheimer's disease and dementia.

The CADCs also provide an important ongoing economic stimulus, attracting fiscal resources to meet the growing needs of Californians affected by dementia. These include industry and federal support for clinical trials and research; foundation and federal support for training programs, fellowships, and research grants; and private philanthropy.

Each CADC plays a critical role in building a vital workforce for the growing needs of the state through training physicians, nurses, physician's assistants, health care professionals and research investigators.

The CADCs serve the diverse population of California by providing culturally and linguistically appropriate care to Latinos, African-Americans, Asians and Pacific Islanders, and LGBTQ individuals. Community education and outreach are also provided by the CADCs in the form of lectures, workshops, forums, and support groups that are open to the public.

​​CADC Locations and Contact Information

UC Davis - Sacramento                                                                                                  UC Los Angeles - Los Angeles

UC Davis - East Bay                                                                                                          University of Southern California - Los Angeles

UC San Francisco - San Francisco                                                                             University of Southern California - Rancho Los Amigos

Stanford University - Palo Alto                                                                                   UC Irvine - Irvine

UC San Francisco - Fresno                                                                                            UC San Diego - San Diego

Page Last Updated :