Skip Navigation LinksHAI_AC_MembersList

 healthcare-associated infections (HAI) program

HAI Advisory Committee Members

Voting members are selected to their expertise within categories as defined in Health and Safety Code Section 1288.5(b). Liaison members represent the professional organizations that appoint them. Members do not represent the healthcare facilities or departments for which they work. 

Health Care Consumer

Carole Moss
Perry, CA

Ariana Longley, MPH
Costa Mesa, CA

Robert Enteen, Ph.D
Walnut Creek, CA​

Health Care Provider

Ethan Smith, PharmD, BCIDP
View Park, CA

Mindy M. Sampson, DO
Stanford, CA​

Hospital Administrator


Infection Preventionists

Deborah Ellis, PhD, MSPH, CIC
Oakland, CA

Lorene Campbell, RN, BSN, CIC 
Madera, CA​


Integrated Health Care Systems Expert or Representative

Michele Lampshire, RN, BSN, CIC
Southern CA

Carolyn Caughell, RN, MSN, CIC, FAPIC 
San Francisco, CA

Deksha Taneja, MHA, CIC 
Long Beach, CA​

Local Health Department                                                  

Zachary Rubin, MD
Los Angeles County: Los Angeles, CA



Physician with Expertise in Infectious Disease or Hospital Epidemiology

Jorge Salinas, MD
Stanford, CA

Francesca Torriani, MD, FIDSA, AAHIVS
San Diego, CA

Michael Vollmer, MD
Vacaville, CA​​​

Non-Voting Lia​​​​son Representatives

California A​cademy of Physician Assistants


California Association for Professionals in Infection Control and Epidemiology ​​

Louise McNitt, MD

California Association of Communicable Disease Controllers


California Hospital Association

Trina Gonzalez, MPP

California Medical Association

Michael Butera, MD

California Nurses Association

Kathy Dennis, RN

Health Services Advisory Group (HSAG) of California

Howard Pitluk, MD, MPH, FACS

Infectious Disease Association of California

Jeffrey Silvers, MD 

Page Last Updated :