Skip Navigation LinksLactation-Accommodation-for-Child-Care-Workers

Maternal, child and adolescent Health Division

Lactation Accommodation for Child Care Providers

Child are provider reading to infants and toddlers age 12 months to 2 years
Resources

Guide to the Rights of Breastfeeding Employees in California : An overview of the laws that protect the rights of breastfeeding employees in California to express breast milk during the workday.

Caring for Our Children: National Health and Safety Performance Standards; Guidelines for Early Care and Education Programs; 3rd Edition (2011) : These standards include the best evidence for feeding and use of breastmilk in childcare settings.

The Emergency Medical Services Authority (EMSA) has developed Childcare Nutrition Standards  required for licensees of child care homes and centers.

How to bottle feed the breastfed baby : Paced bottle feeding tips for a breastfeeding supportive style of bottle feeding 

Be a Champion for New Mothers  from Let's Move Child Care: Learn more about the benefits of breastfeeding and best practices for family child care or early education centers.

Breastfeeding and Early Care and Education: Increasing Support for Breastfeeding Families (PDF) :
This document describes best practices for supporting breastfeeding families in the ECE setting and includes relevant state and community success stories. 

Local Health Jurisdiction Childcare breastfeeding Toolkits:

Ten Steps for Breastfeeding Friendly Child Care  From the Carolina Global Breastfeeding Institute: Toolkit and action plan, including a self-assessment and educational materials.

 Supporting Breastfeeding in Child Care Settings, from Minnesota:

Proper Handling and Storage of Human Milk : Guidelines from the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC)

Page Last Updated :