Skip Navigation LinksPersonnel-Renewal

Laboratory field services

Renewal of Clinical Laboratory Personnel Licenses and Certificates

California law requires license and certificate holders to renew California licenses and certificates every two years. Renewal of national certification is optional, and can only be done by contacting the national certifying organization directly.  

Attention Renewal Applicants:

On November 14, 2017, Laboratory Field Services (LFS) will be launching an update to PERL, the online application system for personnel licenses and certificates, which will allow licensees and certificate holders to submit renewal applications online.

  • LFS will accept paper applications that are postmarked by November 30, 2017; any applications mailed after November 30, 2017 will not be processed, and applicants will be directed to resubmit their renewal applications online.
  • All renewal applications submitted via the online system must include applicants' continuing education certificates and/or unofficial transcripts.

Continuing Education Requirements 

Phlebotomy Certificates

Limited Phlebotomy Technician (LPT) and Certified Phlebotomy Technicians (CPT I and CPT II ) must complete a total of 6 contact hours of continuing education provided by a Department-approved accrediting agency (PDF) or an accredited academic institution.

All Other Clinical Laboratory Personnel Licenses

All licensed clinical laboratory personnel (including cytotechnologists, medical laboratory technicians, scientists, and directors) must complete a total of 24 contact hours of continuing education provided by a Department-approved accrediting agency (PDF) or an accredited academic institution. 

 

How to Renew Personnel Licenses and Certificates

Complete the required number of continuing education credits during the 24 months prior to submitting a renewal application. (See the continuing education requirements above.) Be sure to keep copies of your continuing education certificates and/or transcripts, as they will be required to be uploaded with your renewal application. Check your address and communication details in the system, so that your renewed license/certificate is sent to the correct address and to allow LFS to contact you if necessary.

  • If you have an existing account for the online application system, PERL:

    • Log in to the online application system, and visit the “Clinical and Public Health Laboratory Professionals” link on the homepage. Then, select the “Renew license” option, and follow the prompts to complete and submit your renewal application.

  • If you have never used the online application system, PERL:

    • Create an account by visiting the online application system, and log in to your account. Follow the prompts to match your account to your license or certificate record in the system. Then, visit the “Clinical and Public Health Laboratory Professionals” link on the homepage. Select the “Renew license” option, and follow the prompts to complete and submit your renewal application. If you are unable to match your account to your license or certificate record in the system, please send a request for assistance by email to LFSRenewals@cdph.ca.gov.

 

Frequently Asked Questions (FAQs)

How will I know when it is time to renew my license or certificate?

Renewal notices are sent to license and certificate holders approximately 120 days prior to the expiration dates of their licenses or certificates. You can search for your license or certificate expiration dates on the LFS license and certificate verification page.

 

How soon should I complete my online renewal application?

You are eligible to renew your license or certificate up to 60 days before the expiration of your license or certificate. To ensure that your renewal is processed before the expiration of your license or certificate, a complete renewal (including copies of your continuing education certificates and/or unofficial transcripts) must be submitted through the online system at least 30 days prior to the license or certificate expiration date. An incomplete or incorrect application will delay the processing of the application.

 

How will I know if my renewal request has been approved?

Approval notices are sent via email when renewal applications have been approved. Approvals are also posted on the LFS license and certificate verification page, which updates every two business days; a screen print of this notice can be used as temporary proof of licensure or certification until you receive your hard copy by mail. The screen print must be attached to your existing license or certificate. Licenses and certificates arrive within two to six weeks.

 

How do I notify LFS when my address has changed?

After logging into your account, visit the “Update profile” link on the left hand side of the screen to update your address and/or communication details. Be sure to update your address before submitting a new or renewal application, as licenses and certificates will be mailed to the “Mailing Address” on file for each applicant.

  

How do I notify LFS of my name change?

To initiate a name change, please send an email request to LFSRenewals@cdph.ca.gov. You will be required to provide valid proof of name change (e.g. driver’s license, marriage certificate, etc.) in order for your name change to be processed. Be sure to update your name before submitting a new or renewal application, as licenses and certificates will be printed with the name on file for each applicant.

  

Who can I contact if I have questions regarding the renewal process?

You can contact the LFS Personnel Licensing staff by email at LFSrenewals@cdph.ca.gov.  

 

Resources

​​
Page Last Updated :