Skip Navigation LinksResearchandEvaluation

nutrition education and obesity prevention branch (NEOPB)

Research and Evaluation Section (RES)

RES has four key goals:

  • Provide guidance on statewide and county-specific data on obesity and related behaviors and outcomes (such as diabetes and cardio vascular disease).
  • Develop and maintain evaluation systems and provide related training and technical assistance for interventions and campaigns implemented by local health departments.
  • Develop and implement statewide research and evaluation  projects.
  • Provide support to NEOPB staff, partners, and other professionals on research and evaluation studies and findings related to consumption of fruits and vegetables, sugar-sweetened beverages, and water; physical activity; obesity, and related chronic diseases, specifically among low-income populations.

The RES Team

Sacramento Staff

Lauren Whetstone, PhD, Section Chief, Evaluator (PSE)
Lauren.Whetstone@cdph.ca.gov

Ingrid Cordon, PhD, Research Scientist II
Ingrid.Cordon@cdph.ca.gov

Marja Strutz, BA, Associate Governmental Program Analyst
Marja.Strutz@cdph.ca.gov

Nutrition Policy Institute (NPI), UC Agriculture and Natural Resources (ANR)

Starting in FFY16 CDPH NEOPB has partnered with University of California Agriculture and Natural Resources (UC ANR) Nutrition Policy Institute (NPI) to better serve the research and evaluation needs of the branch. The following NPI staff provides LHD support.

Sacramento Staff

Carolyn Rider, MA, Evaluator (Point of contact for IOE)
Carolyn.Rider@cdph.ca.gov

Amanda Linares, MS, Evaluator (IOE)
Amanda.Linares@cdph.ca.gov

Evan Talmage, Evaluator (Point of contact for ATF/EARS)
Evan.Talmage@cdph.ca.gov

Alexis Narodovich, MPH, Evaluator (ATF/EARS)
Alexis.Narodovich@cdph.ca.gov

​Evaluation

Geographic Information System (GIS) Maps

Publications and Reports

Resources

​​
Page Last Updated :