Skip Navigation LinksVital-Records-Obtaining-Certified-Copies-of-Fetal-Death-Records

VITAL RECORDS

Obtaining Certified Copies of ​​Fetal Death/Still Birth Certificates

**Notice Regarding Vital Record Fee Increase**

Effective January 1, 2022, the California Department of Public Health – Vital Records (CDPH-VR) will increase vital record fees for certified copies and amendments, pursuant to Assembly Bill (AB) 128 (Chapter 21, Statutes of 2021). Certified fetal death records will be $20 per copy and still birth records will be $27 per copy.

The California Department of Public Health – Vital Records (CDPH-VR) maintains certified copies of:  

  • Fetal Death Certificates
    • Certified copies of fetal death certificates are available for release to anyone who can provide sufficient information to identify a specific record.
  • Still-Birth Certificates
    • Certified copies of still birth certificates are available for release to the mother or father ONLY.

Processing Times for Fetal Death/Still Birth Certificates

CDPH-VR's estimated processing times for certified copies of fetal death/still-birth certificates are listed below, which may occasionally increase as the volume of requests increases. The processing time begins when CDPH-VR receives your request.

All Years

Type of RequestTime to Process
Mail-In Request8 to 10 Weeks


Requesting a Certified Copy


Page Last Updated :