Skip Navigation LinksAFL-22-17

State of Cal Logo
EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Governor

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health


AFL 22-17
July 7, 2022


TO:
All Health Facilities

SUBJECT:
Fiscal Year (FY) 2022-23 Health Care Facility License Fee Schedule


All Facilities Letter (AFL) Summary

This AFL informs licensees of FY 2022-23 license renewal fees as approved by the Governor and effective on July 1, 2022.

The FY 2022-23 fee schedule is available on the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Center for Health Care Quality (CHCQ), Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) Health Care Facility Licensing Fees webpage. Please forward a copy of this AFL to the person or company that normally remits payment for renewal of your health care facility operating license.

Renewal Notices

CHCQ will send renewal notices and applications to the facility's licensee 45-120 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the responsibility of the facility's licensee to obtain a renewal notice, if not received prior to the license expiration date, contact CHCQ, Revenue Collection Unit (RCU) at RCollection@cdph.ca.gov, or by telephone at (800) 236-9747.

Late Payment Penalties

HSC section 1266.5 requires CHCQ to impose late payment penalties for health care facilities and agencies that are delinquent in paying license renewal fees. CHCQ uses the post office or delivery service postmark date to establish assessment of late payment penalty fees. California law does not allow a grace period for payment of license fees.

Medi-Cal Offsets

HSC section 1266.5(c) specifies that the department may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any moneys owed to the licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by the department, to recoup the license renewal fees and any associated late payment penalties.

How to Complete Your License Renewal

Please review the License Renewal Application (LRA) in its entirety as it has been updated. Existing health care facility information is automatically populated into the LRA from the CDPH Electronic Licensing Management System (ELMS) regarding the license renewal. Fields that populate with "NO RECORD FOUND" will appear if there is no record/data in ELMS and/or the particular field may not apply to your facility type. If any changes are needed to the populated information on the LRA, complete and submit the application packet to the Centralized Applications Branch (CAB).

The following resources will assist in obtaining an application packet to report change(s) identified within the LRA:

CHCQ strongly recommends licensees use a mailing method that includes the ability to track the status of mailed payments. Please allow 4-6 weeks for license processing.

Mail the renewal payment and completed application to RCU at one of the addresses below:

Normal Mailing Address
Delivery Service Mailing Address

California Department of Public Health

Center for Health Care Quality

Licensing and Certification Program

Revenue Collection Unit

MS 3202

P.O. Box 997434

Sacramento, CA 95899-7434

California Department of Public Health

Center for Health Care Quality

Licensing and Certification Program

Revenue Collection Unit

MS 3202

1616 Capitol Avenue, Suite 74.420

Sacramento, CA 95814-7402

 

 

Sincerely,

Original signed by Cassie Dunham

Cassie Dunham

Deputy Director


Page Last Updated :