Skip Navigation LinksAFL-17-10

State of Cal Logo
EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Governor

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health


AFL 17-10
July 18, 2017


TO:
All Health Facilities

SUBJECT:
Fiscal Year (FY) 2017-2018 Health Care Facility License Fee Schedule

AUTHORITY:     Health & Safety Code (HSC) section 1266


​All Facilities Letter (AFL) Summary

This AFL informs licensees of FY 2017-18 license renewal fees as approved by the Governor and effective on July 1, 2017.

The attached FY 2017-18 fee schedule is also available on the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Center for Health Care Quality (CHCQ), Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) website at:

Fiscal Year 2017/18 Health Care Facility License Fees
(https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CHCQ/LCP/Pages/LC-Health-Care-Facility-Licensing-Fees.aspx)

Please forward a copy of this AFL to the person or company that normally remits payment for renewal of your health care facility operating license.

Renewal Notices
CHCQ will send renewal notices and applications to the facility’s licensee 45-120 days prior to the license expiration date. It is the responsibility of the facility’s licensee to obtain a renewal notice. If the licensee does not receive a renewal notice within 45 days prior to the license expiration date, contact the CHCQ Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit (FSRCU) at RCollection@cdph.ca.gov, or by telephone at (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747.

Late Payment Penalties
HSC section 1266.5 requires CHCQ to impose late payment penalties for health care facilities and agencies that are delinquent in paying license renewal fees. CHCQ uses the post office or delivery service postmark date to establish assessment of late payment penalty fees. California law does not allow a grace period for payment of license fees.

Medi-Cal Offsets
HSC section 1266.5(c) specifies that the department may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any moneys owed to the licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by the department, to recoup the license renewal fees and any associated late payment penalties.

How to Complete Your License Renewal

  1. Validate the number of beds/facilities listed on the renewal fee page. If the number of beds/facilities is not correct, contact the central application unit (CAU) immediately so they can correct this information.
  2. Clearly print applicable health care facility license number(s) on the front of the payment.
  3. Cut off the bottom portion of the renewal notice fee page for each facility and include the slips in the payment envelope/package. Mail only the renewal payment to FSRCU at one of the addresses below:
    ​Normal Mailing Address ​Delivery Service Mailing Address
    ​California Department of Public Health Center for Health Care Quality
    Licensing and Certification Program
    Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit MS 3202
    P.O. Box 997434
    Sacramento, CA 95899-7434
    ​California Department of Public Health Center for Health Care Quality
    Licensing and Certification Program
    Fiscal Services and Revenue Collection Unit MS 3202
    1616 Capitol Avenue, Suite 74.420
    Sacramento, CA 95814-7402
  4.  Mail the application portion of the renewal notice to the Centralized Applications Unit as indicated at the bottom of the application’s last page. Do not mail the application portion to FSRCU as this may delay receipt of your license. CHCQ will not be responsible for lost applications.
  5. CHCQ strongly recommends licensees use a mailing method that includes the ability to track the status of mailed payments.
  6. Please allow 4-6 weeks for license processing.

If you have license fee questions, please contact the FSRCU by email at RCollection@cdph.ca.gov, or by telephone at (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747.

 

Sincerely,

Original signed by Scott Vivona

Scott Vivona
Acting Deputy Director

Page Last Updated :