Skip Navigation LinksAFL-15-18

State of Cal Logo
EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Governor

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health


AFL 15-18
September 14, 2015


TO:
Pediatric Day Health and Respite Care Facilities (PDHRCF)

SUBJECT:
Assembly Bill (AB) 1147: Transitional Health Care Needs Optional Service Units in PDHRCFs

AUTHORITY:      Health and Safety Code sections 1760.2, 1760.4, 1760.7, 1760.9, 1761.85, 1762, 1762.2, 1762.4, 1762.6, 1762.8, 1763, 1763.2, and 1763.4


All Facilities Letter (AFL) Summary

  • Informs providers of the chaptering of AB 1147, which establishes Transitional Health Care Needs Optional Service Units (Optional Service Units) and clarifies licensing requirements for existing PDHRCFs.
  • PDHRCFs may provide services to qualifying individuals ages 22 and older in an Optional Service Unit upon approval by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) Licensing and Certification Program (L&C).

Effective August 13, 2015, AB 1147 (Chapter 206, Statutes of 2015) authorizes PDHRCFs to operate an Optional Service Unit to provide services to individuals 22 years of age and older, who meet the following requirements:

  • Has a developmental age of 18 years of age or younger as evidenced by their individual education plan, regional center assessment, physician’s assessment, or other nationally recognized assessment; and
  • Has previously received services in a PDHRCF prior to turning 22 years old.

The Optional Service Unit may also provide services to individuals ages 18 through 21, if the services are provided in age-appropriate groupings. Additionally, individuals ages 15 through 17 may also be served in the Optional Service Unit if the facility obtains an individual age waiver from the client’s regional center permitting the integration. L&C must concur with the age waiver.

The Optional Service Unit’s age-appropriate groupings must be consistent with facility policies and procedures that factor chronological age, developmental age, size, and specify how services will be provided to various age ranges. Furthermore, the Optional Service Unit must have its own distinct set of policies and procedures to ensure patient safety that is available for review by CDPH upon request.

Licensed PDHRCFs must submit an application package to the Central Applications Unit (CAU) for approval of an Optional Service Unit, which must include the following:

All completed application packages must be submitted to CAU at one of the following addresses for processing:

​Regular Mail:
California Department of Public Health
Licensing and Certification Program
Centralized Applications Unit 
P.O. Box 997377, MS 3402
Sacramento, CA 95899-7377
Overnight Delivery (FedEx-UPS):
California Department of Public Health
Licensing and Certification Program
Centralized Applications Unit
1615 Capitol Avenue, MS 3402
Sacramento, CA 95814


District Offices (DO) will initiate an initial licensing inspection of an Optional Service Unit within 60 days of receipt of a completed application. Please contact CAU at (916) 552-8632 with questions regarding the submission of an Optional Service Unit application.

AB 1147 codifies the facility licensure process by requiring all new PDHRCF licensees to be issued six-month provisional licenses. L&C will conduct a follow-up survey to ensure continued compliance has been maintained and if verified, will issue a permanent license. The bill also amends existing requirements pertaining to pharmaceutical services, patient care committees, and admission and discharge requirements.

Facilities may now request program flexibility from statutory PDHRCF requirements if the change does not negatively affect the health, safety or quality of service provided to individuals served by the facility. All requests must be approved by the DO.

This AFL is a brief summary of the changes that AB 1147 makes to the Health and Safety Code. Facilities are responsible for following all applicable laws. CDPH’s failure to expressly notify facilities of statutory or regulatory requirements does not relieve facilities of their responsibility for following all laws and regulations. Facilities should refer to the full text of all applicable sections of the Health and Safety Code and Title 22 of the California Code of Regulations to ensure compliance.

If you have questions regarding this AFL, please contact CAU or your local DO.

 

Sincerely,

Original signed by Jean Iacino

Jean Iacino
Deputy Director

Page Last Updated :