Skip Navigation LinksBeverlee-A-Myers-Award-Invitation

State of Cal Logo

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health

March 19, 2024

California Health Professionals, Public Health Organizations, All CDPH and DHCS Stakeholder Groups and Community Organizations and Partners 

Nomination Solicitation for the 2024 Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health


Public hea​lth workers from around the state have responded to a once-in-a-lifetime pandemic and continue vital public health work with great innovation and unbelievable dedication. What has been most impressive is the single-minded effort across the state to reduce glaring health disparities among so many communities in every corner of California.  

This year marks 154 years of public health in California, the second oldest state public health department in the nation. I am also moving into my fourth year as CDPH's Director and State Public Health Officer, and I am looking forward to presenting our highest public health award, the Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health, to this year's recipient. This award recognizes the contributions of public health and health care services professionals in improving the health status of everyone who calls California home and the millions who visit each year. 

The Beverlee A. Myers award is presented annually to an individual, not currently working at CDPH, who has exhibited outstanding leadership and accomplishments in public health in California.  

Established in 1993 in honor of the late Beverlee A. Myers, this award reflects the leadership and dedication to all aspects of public health improvement exemplified throughout her 25-year career, including her service as director of the California Department of Health Services from 1978 to 1983.  
A selection committee, including the director, assistant director and chief deputy directors of CDPH, will review the nominations and select this year's recipient. The Beverlee A. Myers award will be presented to the public health professional that best exemplifies the following characteristics: 

  • Dedication and accomplishment in improving the health status of all Californians  

  • Ability to work collaboratively and provide leadership within the public health and health service delivery communities 

  • Creative methods to promote essential public health services 

  • Sensitivity to addressing the needs of special populations and reducing disparities in health care and health outcomes 

Last year, we had one of the largest nominee cohorts, so we are looking forward to your nominations this year. If you nominate more than one person, each nominee requires a separate nomination letter. All nominations must be received by Friday, April 5, at 5:00 p.m.  In your nomination letter, please include the following information about the nominee: ​

  • Name  

  • Phone numbers (both work and mobile)  

  • Email address (both work and personal) 

  • Mailing address  

  • Complete a thorough narrative of why you are nominating the individual 

  • A copy of your nomi​​nee's CV or resumé is NOT required, but can be helpful 

You can submit nominations via email to Michael Marks at If you have any questions or need additional information, please call Michael at (916) 825-5657. 

You can also submit a hard copy of your nomination(s) to: 

Michael Marks 

California Department of Public Health 

Office of Communications 

MS 0502, P.O. Box 997377  

Sacramento, CA 95899-7377  

The 2024 award recipient will be recognized and asked to speak at a special in-person/virtual awards ceremony scheduled for Monday, May 6, 2024. 

We encourage you to take the time to recognize your colleagues for their outstanding public health accomplishments and achievements. Your consideration of this request is greatly appreciated.  

A list of past recipients of the Beverlee A. Myers award follows.  


Serving with you,

Original signed by Dr. Tomas Aragon

Tomás J. Aragón, MD, DrPH

Director and State Public Health Officer

California Department of Public Health

Past Recipients of the Beverlee A. Myers Award for Excellence in Public Health


​Carol McGruder, Co-Chairperson of the African American Tobacco Control Leadership Council​​


​Dr. Kirsten Bibbins-Domingo, Professor and Chair of the Department of Epidemiology and Biostatistics at the University of California, San Francisco​


​Dr. Karen Relucio, 2021 President of the California Conference of Local Health Officers, receiving for California’s local health officers​

​Colleen Chawla, 2021 President of the County Health Executives Association of California, receiving for California's local health directors

​Dr. Richard Jackson, physician, pediatrician, and former California State Public Health Officer​


​Richard Pan, MD, California State Senator, 6th Senate district, practicing pediatrician, Senate Committee on Health Chair​


​William Walker, MD, Health Officer for Contra Costa County and the Director of Contra Costa Health Services​


​Kelly Pfeifer, MD, Director, High-Value Care, California Health Care Foundation​


​Wendel Brunner, MD, PhD, MPH, Director of Public Health for Contra Costa County​


​Joshua Bamberger, MD, MPH, Chief Medical Consultant, Mercy Housing’s Health and Housing​


​Anthony Iton, MD, JD, MPH, Senior VP, Healthy Communities, The California Endowment​


​Diana E. Ramos, MD, MPH, Los Angeles County Department of Public Health              ​


​Harold Goldstein, DrPH, founding Executive Director of the California Center for Public Health Advocacy​


​Dr. Kenneth Kizer, former director of the California Department of Health Services, Director of UC Davis Health System’s Institute for Population Health Improvement​


​Shu-Hong Zhu, PhD, Professor of Family and Preventive Medicine, Principal Investigator for California Smokers’ Helpline


​Mitchell H. Katz, MD, Director, San Francisco Department of Public Health ​


​Wendelin M. Slusser, MD, MS, FAAP, Co-director of the UCLA Community Health and Advocacy Training Program for Pediatric Residents​

​Jonathan Fielding, MD, MPH, MA, MBA, Director, Department of Public Health and Health Officer, Los Angeles County

​Gary W. Erbeck, MPH, REHS, Director, San Diego County Department of Environmental Health​


​Robert K. Ross, MD, President & CEO, The California Endowment​

​Bernard S. Weintraub, MD, MPH, Secretary, US Public Health Foundation
Sarah Gomez Erlach, RN, BSN, MPH, Chief, DHS Primary Health Services Unit


Milton Roemer, MD, World Health Organization
Ruth Roemer, JD, World Health Organization​

​Claire Brindis, DrPH, Institute for Health Policy Studies, UC San Francis​co

Page Last Updated :