Skip Navigation LinksElective-PCI

licensing and certification

Elective Percutaneous Coronary Intervention Program

The California Legislature enacted Health and Safety (H&S) Code section 1256.01 that establishes the Elective Percutaneous Coronary Intervention (PCI) Program to be implemented by the California Department of Public Health (CDPH). Previously in the State, only general acute care hospitals (GACHs) with cardiac surgery on site and a licensed cardiac catheterization lab (cath lab) could perform non‐emergent, scheduled ("elective") percutaneous coronary interventions (PCI). With this legislation, the Department is authorized to certify an unlimited number of eligible GACHs, who do not have on-site cardiac surgery support and are licensed to provide cardiac catheterization laboratory service in California, to perform elective PCI. Each hospital must meet rigorous facility, staffing, patient selection, patient care, data collection, and reporting requirements to be considered for participation. 


Elective PCI form AFL 15-10
Page Last Updated :