Skip Navigation LinksAFL-06-07

State of Cal Logo
EDMUND G. BROWN JR.
Governor

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency
California Department of Public Health


AFL 06-07
July 20, 2006


TO:
All Facilities
Skilled Nursing In-House Training Programs
Nurse Assistant Training Schools
Home Health Aide Training Programs
Hemodialysis Training Programs
Certified Nursing Assistants
Certified Home Health Aides
Certified Hemodialysis Technicians

SUBJECT:
Nurse Assistant, Home Health Aide, And Hemodialysis Technician Processing Fees


​Effective July 12, 2006, applicants for Nurse Assistants, Home Health Aides, or Hemodialysis Technicians are no longer required to send fees or payments for certification of the following:

​Former Application Fee​Former Application Fee
​Nurse Assistant​Initial - $15​Renewal - $20
​Home Health Aide​​Initial - $15Renewal - $20
​Hemodialysis Technician​​Initial - $50Renewal - $50

 


Applicants for initial and renewal certification must continue to comply with state and federal law, including the in-service and continuing education hours (CNAs = 48 hours every 2 years, HHAs = 24 hours every 2 years, and CHTs = 30 hours every 4 years).

Delinquency fees ($10) will no longer be assessed for late payments, however, it is important for certified nurse assistants (CNAs), home health aides (CHHAs), and hemodialysis technicians (CHTs) to renew their certificates timely to avoid delays in receiving their respective certificates.

All checks and money orders received on or after July 12, 2006, will be returned.
It is therefore important for all certificate holders (i.e. CNAs, CHHAs, and CHTs) to comply with California law and notify the CDHS within sixty (60) days of any change of address at:

California Department of Health Services
Licensing and Certification Program
Aide & Technician Certification Section (ATCS)
CNA/HHA/CHT Certification Unit
MS 3301
P.O. Box 997416
1615 Capitol Avenue
Sacramento, CA 95899-7416

Attention: CHANGE OF ADDRESS

Or fax at (916) 552-8785.

The cost of Live Scan (electronic fingerprinting) service and the Department of Justice criminal clearance processing will continue to be paid by CHHAs and CHTs. For each nurse assistant applicant for California certification, certain health facilities will be responsible for costs associated with rolling and processing fingerprints.

If you have any questions, please contact Ley Arquisola, R.N., Chief, CNA/HHA/CHT Certification Unit at (916) 327-2445 or via email at cna@dhs.ca.gov.  Thank you for your cooperation and we ask for your patience as ATCS implements this new process.

Sincerely,

Original Signed by Kathleen Billingsley

Kathleen Billingsley
Deputy Director

Page Last Updated :