Skip Navigation LinksREHS-Continuing-Education-Requirements

Registered Environmental Health Specialist Program

Continuing Education Requirements

To renew your Environmental Health Specialist Registration in California, the REHS must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years.  These courses must be approved by REHS Continuing Education Accreditation Agencies. 

Accreditation Agencies 

Colleges

California State University, Sacramento (CSUS) - Office of Water Programs

     Jamie McCartney, Associate Director (916) 278-6142, Jamie.mccartney@owp.csus.edu

College of the Canyons

     Regina Blasberg (661) 362-5096; regina.blasberg@canyons.edu

OSHA Training Institute Education Center at Chabot- Las Positas Community College District 

     Cari Elofson-Callahan, (866) 936-6742, otc@clpccd.org 

Southern California Education and Research Center (UCLA and UC Irvine courses)

      Ani Adzhemyan, Program Director (310) 206-2304; ani.adzhemyan@ucla.edu

UC Berkeley, Center for Occupational and Environmental Health - Continuing Education (COEH - CE)

      Michelle Meyer (510) 642-8365; mmeyer@berkeley.edu

UC Davis Division of Continuing and Professional Education - Land Use and Natural Resources & Occupational Health and Safety

     Monica Jackson, Director, Land Use & Natural Resources, Env. Mgmt.;

     Occupational Health & Safety UC Davis 1333 Research Park Drive Davis, CA 95618

UCLA Extension, Department of Engineering, Information Systems and Technical Management

     Phillip Walstrom (310) 825-7942; pwalstrom@unex.ucla.edu

UCLA – Labor Occupational Safety and Health Program (LOSH)

     Lizbeth Diaz  (310) 794-5964; ldiaz@irle.ucla.edu

Cities and Counties

Butte County Public Health Department, Environmental Health Division**

      Elaine McSpadden (530) 538-6773; emcspadden@buttecounty.net

City of Long Beach, Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Environmental Health**

      Keith Allen (562) 570-4161; keith.allen@longbeach.gov

County of Riverside Department of Environmental Health

      Bonnesa Lopez (951) 358-5172

County of San Diego, Department of Public Works, Watershed Protection Program

    Nick del Valle (858) 495-5209; nicholas.delvalle@sdcounty.ca.gov

County of San Luis Obispo Environmental Health Services Division

  Elizabeth Pozzebon (805) 781-5544; lpozzebon@co.slo.ca.us 

County of Santa Clara, Department of Environmental Health*

      Mojgan Kazemi, (408) 918-3400, Mojgan.kazemi@deh.sccgov.org

Fresno County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division*

      Richard Heinrichs (559) 600-3357; rheinrichs@fresnocounty.ca.gov

Kern County Environmental Health Division

     Chad San Juan (661) 862-8708; sanjuanc@kerncounty.com

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division

      Recruitment and Training Program (626) 430-5170; Recruitment@ph.lacounty.gov

Mariposa County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division**

      David Conway (209) 966-2220; dconway@mariposacounty.org

Napa County Environmental Health

     Armeda Simpson-Van Dam, (707) 259-8326, armedavandam@countyofnapa.org 

Orange County Environmental Health*

      Eileen Kirtley (714) 433-6051; ekirtley@ochca.com

Placer County Environmental Health

     Danielle Pohlman (530) 745-2390; dpohlman@placer.ca.gov

Sacramento County Environmental Management Department**

     Mark Barcellos (916) 875-8415; barcellosm@saccounty.net

San Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Services*

      Adela Evans (909) 841-1652; adela.evans@dph.sbcounty.gov

San Diego County Department of Environmental Health, Food and Housing Division*

      Julie DeGraw (858) 505-6945; julie.degraw@sdcounty.ca.gov

San Francisco Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Branch

      Karen Yu (415) 252-3800; karen.yu@sfdph.org

San Mateo County Environmental Health Division

     Charles Ice (650) 372-6247; cice@smcgov.org

Santa Barbara County Environmental Health Services

      Kendra Wise (805) 681-4938; Kendra.wise@sbcphd.org

Stanislaus County, Department of Environmental Resources

      Karl Quinn (209) 525-6757; kquinn@envres.org

Ventura County Environmental Health*

      Doug Beach (805) 654-3519; doug.beach@ventura.org

 

* Currently offering continuing education hours to their employees only. 

** Most continuing education hours are for their employees, but will accept visitors from other counties with prior approval.

All Other Accreditation Agencies

Allstate Services, LLC

    Stacy Milano (951) 232-0868; smilano@allstate-services.com

American Water Works Association (AWWA)

    William Penn (909) 291-2116; wpenn@ca-nv-awwa.org

Arizona County Directors of Environmental Health Services Association (ACDEHSA)

     Andy Linton (602) 506-6971; alinton@mail.maricopa.gov

Association for Environmental Health Sciences (AEHS) Foundation

     Brenna Lockwood (413) 549-5170; brenna@aehsfoundation.org

Bahulogic Diagnostic Solutions (BDS)

      Stephenson Bamidele (562) 365-3542; bahudiagnostic@gmail.com

California Conference of Directors of Environmental Health (CCDEH)

      Sheryl Baldwin (530) 676-0715; sheryl@ccdeh.org

California CUPA Forum

      Sheryl Baldwin (530) 676-0815; sheryl@calcupa.org

California Department of Public Health - Food and Drug Branch

    Susan Leaverton (279) 203-5330; susan.leaverton@cdph.ca.gov

CalRecycle

      Melissa Parker (916) 341-6398; melissa.parker@calrecycle.ca.gov

California Environmental Health Association

      Send e-mails to edu@ceha.org

California Groundwater Association (CGA)

       Dave Schulenberg (916) 231-2134; info@groundh2o.org    

California-Nevada Section, American Water Works Association
     William Penn, (909) 291-2116, wpenn@ca-nvawwa.org 

California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES)

      Vance Bennett (805) 544-2111; vance.bennett@caloes.ca.gov

California Onsite Water Association (COWA)

      Sean Hembree (209) 770-2062; sean@sierrawatershedprogressive.com

California Rural Water Association (CRWA)

      Candice Colson (916) 283-8502; ccolson@calruralwater.org

CALINC Training, LLC

      Carla Wroten (707) 446-7996; cwroten@cal-inc.com

Center for Agriculture and Food Security and Preparedness

     Sheri Pugh (865) 974-7884; spugh5@utk.edu

Center for Domestic Preparedness

     Carla Endinger (256) 231-5632; carlota.endinger@fema.dhs.gov 

C.E.R.T., Inc.

      Edward M. Ho (805) 501-8001; edhocert@sbcglobal.net

Continuing Challenge Hazardous Materials Workshop

      Terri Tomasello (916) 433-1688; cchazmat@gmail.com

CPS HR Consulting

      Roxana Gutierrez (916) 471-3317; rgutierrez@cpshr.us

Doctrina Organizational Development 

     Lyle Griffiths, (213) 515-6765, info@doctrinaorgdev.com

Environmental Health and Safety Training Center at Mission College (EH+S Training Center)

      Rob Gamble (408) 855-5255; rob.gamble@missioncollege.edu

EHS International, Inc.

      Marjorie Del Toro (949) 540-6800 X104; mdeltoro@ehsinc.org

Forensic Analytical Constulting Services

     Laura Boytz (510) 330-3780; lboytz@forensicanalytical.com  

Industrial Emergency Council (IEC)

     Tim McHenry (650) 508-9008; tmchenry@iectraining.org

International Board of Medicine and Surgery (IBMS)

      David P. Kalin (813) 966-1431; drkalin@ibms.us

Michael Foods, Inc

    Sue Grossbauer (219) 926-1000 ext. 202; sue@grossbauer.com

Montgomery Investigations

     Robert B. Montgomery (805) 483-9411; rbm@montgomeryinvestigations.com

Mosquito and Vector Control Association of California (MVCAC)

      Rachel Hickerson (916) 440-0826; rhickerson@mvcac.org

National Environmental Health Association (NEHA)      

      Bobby Medina (303) 756-9090 X339; bmedina@neha.org

Network Environmental Systems, Inc. (NES)

      Steve Reichow (916) 353-2360; sreichow@nesglobal.net

Orenco Systems, Inc.

     Shawn Rapp (800) 348-9843; srapp@orenco.com

Pool and Hot Tub Alliance (PHTA)

    Mark Milroy; education@phta.org

Preparedness Consulting & Training Int'l

    Larry Masterman (530) 941-9084; larry@pcti.org

Rural Community Assistance Corporation (RCAC)

      Steven Palmer (360) 836-5424; spalmer@rcac.org

Safety Unlimited, Inc.

      Steven Kosmatka (877) 476-8029; skosmatka@safetyunlimited.com

Your Training Place

      Kathryn Hartman (858) 792-1630; kathy@bodyarttraininggroup.com 

 

 

REHS Program

Page Last Updated :