Skip Navigation LinksREHS-Continuing-Education-Requirements

Registered Environmental Health Specialist Program

Continuing Education Requirements

To renew your Environmental Health Specialist Registration in California, the REHS must complete 24 contact hours of continuing education every two years.  These courses must be approved by REHS Continuing Education Accreditation Agencies. 

Accreditation Agencies 

Colleges

California State University, Sacramento (CSUS) - Office of Water Programs

     Karen Cardozo, Administrative Services Manager (916) 278-5619; karen.cardozo@owp.csus.edu

College of the Canyons

     Regina Blasberg (661) 362-5096; regina.blasberg@canyons.edu

San Diego State University, Graduate School of Public Health

      Darryl Yorkey (619) 208-1599; dyorkey@mail.sdsu.edu

Southern California Education and Research Center (UCLA and UC Irvine courses)

      Cass Ben-Levi, Program Director (310) 206-2304; cbenlevi@ucla.edu

UC Berkeley, Center for Occupational and Environmental Health - Continuing Education (COEH - CE)

      Kimberly Vergez (510) 643-7233; kvergez@berkeley.edu

UCLA – Labor Occupational Safety and Health Program (LOSH)

     Karen Murray (310) 794-5989; kmurray@irle.ucla.edu

Cities and Counties

Butte County Public Health Department, Environmental Health Division**

      Elaine McSpadden (530) 538-6773; emcspadden@buttecounty.net

Calaveras County Environmental Management Agency

      Brad Banner (209) 754-6632; bbanner@co.calaveras.ca.us

City of Long Beach, Department of Health and Human Services, Bureau of Environmental Health**

      Mitch Yamada (562) 570-4136; mitch.yamada@longbeach.gov

County of Riverside Department of Environmental Health

      Brent Casey (951) 358-5172; bcasey@rivco.org

County of San Mateo, Environmental Health Division

      Sandra Estrin (650) 372-6216; sestrin@smcgov.org

County of Santa Clara, Department of Environmental Health*

      Rochelle Gaddi (408) 918-3449; Rochelle.gaddi@cep.sccgov.org

Fresno County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division*

      Amy Dobrinin (559) 600-3357; adobrinin@co.fresno.ca.us

Kern County Environmental Health Division

     Ruth Aldridge (661) 862-8751; aldridger@co.kern.ca.us

Los Angeles County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division

      Recruitment and Training Program (626) 430-5170; Recruitment@ph.lacounty.gov

Mariposa County Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Division**

      David Conway (209) 966-2220; dconway@mariposacounty.org

Napa County Environmental Health

     Christine Secheli (707) 259-8326; christine.secheli@countyofnapa.org

Orange County Environmental Health*

      Eileen Kirtley (714) 433-6051; ekirtley@ochca.com

Placer County Environmental Health

     Vickie Sandoval (530) 581-6248; vsandova@placer.ca.gov

Sacramento County Environmental Management Department**

     Zarha Ruiz (916) 876-7241; ruizz@saccounty.net

San Bernardino County Department of Public Health, Division of Environmental Health Services*

      Adela Evans (909) 841-1652; adela.evans@dph.sbcounty.gov

San Diego County Department of Environmental Health, Food and Housing Division*

      Heather Buonomo (619) 338-2222; heather.buonomo@sdcounty.ca.gov

San Francisco Department of Public Health, Environmental Health Branch

      Karen Yu (415) 252-3800; karen.yu@sfdph.org

San Mateo County Environmental Health Division

     Sandra Estrin (650) 372-6216; sestrin@smcgov.org

San Mateo Countywide Water Pollution Prevention Program

      Andrea Trese (510) 832-2852 X 120; atrese@eoainc.com

Santa Barbara County Environmental Health Services

      Kendra Wise (805) 681-4936; Kendra.wise@sbcphd.org

Stanislaus County, Department of Environmental Resources

      Janis Mein (209) 402-6539; jmein@envres.org

Tulare County Environmental Health*

      Nilsa Gonzalez (559) 624-7415; ngonzale@tularehhsa.org

Tuolumne County Environmental Health*

      Rob Kostlivy (209) 533-5665; rkostlivy@co.tuolumne.ca.us

Ventura County Environmental Health*

      Doug Beach (805) 654-3519; doug.beach@ventura.org

 

* Currently offering continuing education hours to their employees only. 

** Most continuing education hours are for their employees, but will accept visitors from other counties with prior approval.

All Other Accreditation Agencies

Arizona County Directors of Environmental Health Services Association (ACDEHSA)

     Andy Linton (602) 506-6971; alinton@mail.maricopa.gov

Association for Environmental Health Sciences (AEHS) Foundation

     Brenna Lockwood (413) 549-5170; brenna@aehsfoundation.org

Bahulogic Diagnostic Solutions (BDS)

      Stephenson Bamidele (562) 365-3542; bahudiagnostic@gmail.com

California Association of Environmental Health Administrators (CAEHA)

      Sheryl Baldwin (530) 676-0715; sheryl@ccdeh.com

California CUPA Forum

      Sheryl Baldwin (530) 676-0815; sheryl@calcupa.org

CalRecycle

      Melissa Parker (916) 341-6398; melissa.parker@calrecycle.ca.gov

California Environmental Health Association

      Send e-mails to edu@ceha.org

California Environmental Protection Agency (CalEPA)

      Josilynn J. Spray (916) 449-3521; josilynn.spray@dtsc.ca.gov

California Groundwater Association (CGA)

       Elizabeth Cardwell (916) 231-2134; ecardwell@groundh2o.org    

California-Nevada Section, American Water Works Association
     Greg Pearson (909) 291-2115; gpearson@ca-nv-awwa.org

California Office of Emergency Services (Cal OES)

      Vance Bennett (805) 549-3010; vance.bennett@calema.ca.gov

California Onsite Water Association (COWA)

      Sean Hembree (209) 770-2062; sean@sierrawatershedprogressive.com

California Rural Water Association (CRWA)

      Candice Colson (916) 283-8502; ccolson@calruralwater.org

CALINC Training, LLC

      Carla Wroten (707) 446-7996; cwroten@cal-inc.com

Center for Domestic Preparedness

     Brad Smith (256) 847-2686; bradley.smith0@fema.dhs.gov

C.E.R.T., Inc.

      Edward M. Ho (805) 501-8001; edhocert@sbcglobal.net

CPS HR Consulting

      Roxana Gutierrez (916) 471-3317; rgutierrez@cpshr.us

Cypress Engineering Group

     Sefa Isik (831) 218-1802; sefa@cypresseg.com

Environmental Health and Safety Training Center at Mission College (EH+S Training Center)

      Rob Gamble (408) 855-5255; rob.gamble@missioncollege.edu

EHS International, Inc.

      Marjorie Del Toro (949) 540-6800 X104; mdeltoro@ehsinc.org

EHS-Net

      Brenda Faw (916) 534-0886; brenda.faw@cdph.ca.gov

Firedog Hazmat Training Specialist

     Greg Coon (760) 964-1279; gcoondog@msn.com

Groundwater Resources Association of CA (GRAC)

     Sarah Kline (916) 446-3626; skline@grac.org

Hazard Management Services

     Tina Chipponeri (209) 551-2000; tchipponeri@hazmanage.com  

Industrial Emergency Council (IEC)

     Dan Belville (650) 508-9008; dbelville@iectraining.org

International Board of Medicine and Surgery (IBMS)

      David P. Kalin (813) 966-1431; drkalin@ibms.us

Montgomery Investigations

     Robert B. Montgomery (805) 483-9411; rbm@montgomeryinvestigations.com

Mosquito and Vector Control Association of California (MVCAC)

      Rachel Hickerson (916) 440-0826; rhickerson@mvcac.org

National Environmental Health Association (NEHA)      

      Eileen Neison (303) 756-9090 X339; eneison@neha.org

National Pasteurized Eggs (NPE)

      Debbie Rayhab (615) 584-0732; drayhab@safeeggs.com

National Stormwater Center

      Amy Dean (888) 397-9414; amy@npdes.com

National Swimming Pool Foundation (NSPF)

      Susan Wichmann (719) 540-9119 x116; susan.wichmann@nspf.org

Network Environmental Systems, Inc. (NES)

      Steve Reichow (916) 353-2360; sreichow@nesglobal.net

Orenco Systems, Inc.

     Angela Bounds (800) 348-9843; abounds@orenco.com

Rural Community Assistance Corporation (RCAC)

      Brian Phillips (707) 489-6994; bphillips@rcac.org

Safety Unlimited, Inc.

      Steven Kosmatka (877) 476-8029; skosmatka@safetyunlimited.com

Solid Waste Association of North America (SWANA)

     Michael Tomaselli (240) 494-2239; mtomaselli@swana.org

Western Institute for Food Safety & Security (WIFSS), DHS Agroterrorism Training Curriculum

      Nicole Pierce (530) 752-3247; nspierce@ucdavis.edu

Your Training Place

      Kathryn Hartman (858) 792-1630; kathy@ytponline.com

 

 

REHS Program

Page Last Updated :