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Teen Pregnancy and Parenting

Background
Adolescence is a transitional period from being a 
child to being an adult. The pregnant adolescent 
has special psychosocial needs. The pregnancy 
pushes her into womanhood when she is still 
in many ways a child, with many conflicting 
needs and wants. She will need to care for a 
dependent infant while still having needs and 
interests of other girls her age. She may have had 
little experience in independent problem solving 
and making important decisions. She probably 
lives and thinks in the present and often lacks 
the ability to plan for the future. She probably is 
greatly influenced by what her friends do and say 
and resistant to the advice of adults.

Adolescents vary greatly depending on their 
cultural background, individual lifestyles, 
educational background, family structure, and 
emotional maturity. These and many other 
factors can be either positive or negative 
influences in the outcome of her pregnancy and 
her parenting ability. 

Special Legal Rights of Minors
Current California law gives some special legal 
rights to children under 18 years of age.

Consent to Care 

A minor of any age can receive some health care 

without her parents' permission, as long as she 
seems capable of giving an informed consent. 
This includes family planning  and sexual assault 
services, abortion and prenatal care. Minors 12 
years or older may provide their own consent 
to services related to sexual assault, substance 
abuse treatment, mental health treatment, and 
sexually transmitted diseases. Parents are not 
responsible for payment if the minor receives 
services on her own under Medi-Cal's Sensitive 
Services described below. For more information, 
see "California Minor Consent Laws" on The 
National Center for Youth Law's Web site  
www.youthlaw.org under "Articles and Analysis 
- Adolescent and Child Health."

Sensitive Services

A young person may be eligible for a special 
kind of Medi-Cal called "sensitive services" or 
"minor consent services" if he or she is:

• At least 12 years and not over 20.

• Living at home or temporarily away such as 
in school. 

• Seeking care for sexually transmitted 
diseases, family planning, prenatal care, 
abortion, sexual assault, substance abuse 
treatment or outpatient mental health 
treatment.

Medi-Cal may not contact the parents and 
the parents' income is not considered in 
determining eligibility; only the teen's own 
income is counted. It is available to young 
people in all immigration categories, including 
undocumented; a social security number is not 
required. For more information, see Medi-Cal's 
Web site www.medi-cal.ca.gov/. Go to "Provider 
Manuals," then "Medical Services," then "Part 
2: Obstetrics." then "Minor Consent Program 
- minor."

Tell your supervisor right away if you 

suspect that the teen has been harmed or 

is in danger of being harmed. 
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Steps to Take

Interviewing Teens
Interview the teen privately, even if she is 
accompanied by a parent or boyfriend. Tell the 
support person you're glad they came to the 
visit, but policy says you must interview the 
client alone for part of each visit. Then you can 
ask the teen how she wishes to involve family 
members, her partner or the father of the baby 
in her prenatal care.

You may need some extra time to establish 
a relationship with the teen before the 
psychosocial interview. She may have had little 
or no experience with interviews and may 
be anxious or nervous. She may respond in a 
hostile or angry manner, not understanding 
why you are asking her so many questions. See 
Interviewing Techniques in the First Steps chapter.

It is very important to have a nonjudgmental 
attitude when working with pregnant teens. 
They are often very sensitive to adults’ negative 
attitudes and body language.

Unwanted Pregnancy
Give her a chance to talk about her feelings 
about being pregnant. Spend some time 
exploring whether the pregnancy was planned 
or unplanned and wanted or unwanted. If 
unwanted, be sure to explore all of her options 
as outlined in Unwanted Pregnancy Guidelines in 
this chapter.

Pregnant teens may experience greater 
pressures than adult women to choose a certain 
“solution” to an unwanted pregnancy. Because 
of their emotional and financial dependence 

on their parents, they are often pressured to do 
as their parents wish. This may involve making 
a choice that is not truly their own. When you 
observe this happening, advocate for the teen’s 
wishes to be heard. You may want to make a 
referral for family counseling to help the teen 
and her parents resolve the crisis before a final 
decision is made.

The Teen’s Parents
One of the first things to find out is if the 
parents of the teen are aware of her pregnancy. 
If yes, how did they react? Are they supportive? If 
they do not know, how does she plan to tell them? 
When? How does she think they will react? Would 
she like to practice with you on how she would tell 
her parents?

The pregnancy will often cause or make worse 
a family crisis between the girl and her parents. 
The parents’ reactions may include anger, guilt, 
sadness, or acceptance. Usually their reactions 
will be mixed.

Living Arrangements
If the family is unable to accept the girl’s 
pregnancy, she may have to live elsewhere. Help 
her explore her options. 

   Can she live with a relative or friend who 
can provide her with physical and emotional 
support? Would this be a short-term or long 
term arrangement? 

Living with Boyfriend

Sometimes she will choose to live with the 
father of the baby and/or his family. Help the girl 
explore her relationship with her boyfriend. 
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   How will living together affect their 
relationship? What if she wants to break 
up with him? How will she do this if she is 
dependent on him for housing?

Legal Emancipation

If the client is emotionally and socially mature, 
she may need to become legally “emancipated” 
and obtain her own housing. A minor may 
obtain a court declaration of emancipation if all 
of the following are true:

• She is 14 years or older.

• She is living apart from her parents with 
parental consent or they are not formally 
protesting the arrangement.

• She is managing her own financial affairs 
and her income is legally obtained (not 
through criminal activity).

She is also considered emancipated if:

• She has entered into a valid marriage, even 
if she is currently divorced.

• She is on active duty in the armed forces.

• The court considers emancipation in her 
best interest.

For more information, refer her to a legal 
resource that specializes in services to minors; 
see Legal/Advocacy Guidelines in this chapter.

Maternity Homes

Explore the option of living in a residence for 
teenaged parents, often called a maternity 
home. These facilities provide safe, stable 
housing with many support services such 
as child care, education and job training, 

counseling and help in planning her future. 
She must be willing to live in a structured 
environment with a group of other girls and 
their babies. If she is interested, help her locate 
the nearest residence. Contact your local 
Adolescent Family Life Program (AFLP) for more 
information.

Homeless 

Homeless pregnant teens have many 
complicated medical, social, economic, and legal 
concerns. Find out why she is homeless. 

   Was she a runaway before she became 
pregnant? Was her leaving home due to 
physical, emotional or sexual abuse? Was 
she living in a foster care placement? How 
long has she been living on her own? Was 
she kicked out of her home after her parents 
discovered she was pregnant? 

Homeless youth are at greater risk for substance 
abuse, poor nutrition, sexually transmitted 
infections including AIDS, mental health 
problems, and the threat of violence and 
injury. They may be involved in prostitution. 
Refer to guidelines in this chapter for Perinatal 
Substance Abuse, Emotional or Mental Health 
Concerns, Depression, and Spousal/Partner Abuse 
if indicated.

In spite of their high risk status, many homeless 
youth are resistant to getting involved with 
services. 

Others may want help but are excluded from 
services such as battered women’s shelters or 
residential perinatal drug treatment programs 
because they are under 18 years of age. 
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Listen to her carefully and try to establish 
a trusting relationship with the client. 
Encourage her to accept help in stabilizing 
her life. Your local AFLP can provide case 
management services. Inform her of the 
possibility that her child could be removed from 
her care if she cannot provide for its basic needs. 
See Child Abuse and Neglect Guidelines in this 
chapter.

Financial Assistance
A pregnant or parenting teen under 18 who 
has never been married and is applying for 
CalWORKs must live with a parent, guardian, 
other adult relative or in an adult-supervised 
arrangement. There are a few exceptions such 
as if she has been kicked out of the house or she 
would be in danger if she was forced to live with 
her family.

If she does not have her high school diploma or 
CED, she is required to participate in the state's 
Cal-Learn Program. There are a few exceptions. 
The Cal-Learn Program uses financial rewards 
and penalties to encourage school attendance 
and graduation. It also includes supportive 
services to help the teen attend school regularly 
such as childcare, transportation, and case 
management. These support services may be 
available if your county has an Adolescent 
Family Life Program (AFLP).

The months that she receives CalWORKs 
while participating in Cal-Learn will not count 
towards her lifetime limit of 60 months of cash 
assistance. See Financial Concerns Guidelines in 
this chapter for more details about time limits 
on CalWORKs.

Educational Plans
Encourage the teenager to remain in school and 
complete her education. She can be helped in 
doing this by accepting a referral to your local 
Adolescent Family Life Program (AFLP) if your 
county has one. An AFLP case manager will help 
her decide whether or not she wants to remain 
in her current school, attend a special school 
for pregnant teens or continue her education 
through a home-based program. 

There are advantages and disadvantages to 
each choice. Help the girl evaluate her options 
from an academic and personal perspective. 
Where will she be able to progress in her studies 
best? Where will she be happiest? Where will 
her physical and emotional needs as a pregnant 
woman best be met?

Acknowledge that at times it will be difficult 
to deal successfully with both the demands of 
education and pregnancy. This continues to be 
true after the baby is born when she will have 
the challenges of school and parenting. With the 
client's written permission, you might want to 
communicate with the client’s case manager at 
the AFLP Program so that you can support her 
plans to finish school.

Social Relationships
Peer groups are important influences for 
teens, giving feedback about her attitudes, 
appearance, values and behavior. Her pregnancy 
will probably affect her relationships with her 
friends. She may be isolated from her old friends 
and have to make new ones. This may happen at 
a time when she is undergoing numerous other 
stresses. Encourage her to talk about problems 
she may be having with her friends; they are 
likely to be very important to her.
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Father of The Baby
The relationship with the father of the baby 
is often significant. Sometimes the relationship 
will end when the pregnancy is discovered. The 
boyfriend may deny paternity, which usually 
adds to the emotional pain of the breakup. 
In many cases, the relationship will continue. 
The father of the baby may provide financial 
and/or emotional support depending on his 
circumstances and desires. The foundation 
for his future role as a father is usually laid 
down during the pregnancy. If he is a positive 
figure in the patient’s life, encourage him to 
attend prenatal appointments and take part 
in childbirth preparation classes, and hospital 
tours. 

Advise her that all unmarried parents will be 
asked at the time of delivery if they wish to 
participate in a statewide Paternity Opportunity 
Program operated by the California Department 
of Child Support Services. The program is 
voluntary. If the parents of a child are not legally 
married, the father’s name will NOT be added to 
the birth certificate unless they:

•	 Sign a Declaration of Paternity in the 
hospital, or sign the form later.

•	 Legally establish paternity through the 
courts and pay a fee to amend the birth 
certificate. 

Signing the form is the first step in establishing 
legal rights and responsibilities of the father. 
Establishing legal paternity is necessary 
before custody, visitation, or child support 
can be ordered by the court. The form can be 
challenged in a court only by using blood and 
genetics test results which show the man is not 
the natural father. For more information on the 
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Paternity Opportunity Program, see California 
Department of Child Support Services Web 
site. You can download the required forms and 
information for patients in several languages. 
1-866-249-0773.
www.childsup.cahwnet.gov/program/pop

Follow-Up
Encourage the client to participate in any health 
education or support groups, especially if they 
are designed for teens.

Strongly encourage the teen to accept a referral 
to Public Health Nursing for in-home health 
monitoring, teaching and support.

Help her choose a support person for labor and 
delivery.

Prepare the client for her physical and 
emotional needs after delivery.

Help the client and her family make decisions 
in advance about who will care for the baby so 
that family conflicts are minimized and roles are 
clear. 

   Where is the baby going to sleep? Who 
is going to be responsible for feeding, 
bathing and changing diapers? Under what 
circumstances will the grandparents of the 
infant baby-sit? While the teen works or 
attends school? While she goes out with her 
friends? Who will make decisions about how 
the child is cared for?

Problems can best be avoided by mutual 
understanding.

At the postpartum visit, assess her situation as 
you would any new mother, paying particular 
attention to family relationships and emotional 
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coping. See Parenting Stress Guidelines in this 
chapter for further suggestions.Be sure the teen 
has a referral to family planning.

Referrals
• Public Health Nursing.

• Adolescent Family Life Program.

• Family Planning.

• Parenting Classes.

• Parental Stress Line.

Complicated Situations

Teens Who Abuse Substances
Refer to Perinatal Substance Abuse Guidelines in 
this chapter. Many outpatient and residential 
drug programs exclude minors (those under 
18 years of age). Contact your local drug and 
alcohol programs for referrals for minors.

Mandated Reporting 
Responsibilities

Physical, Sexual Abuse and Neglect

If you reasonably suspect that a teen under the 
age of 18 is being abused or neglected, you have 
the same reporting responsibilities as with a 
child. See the Child Abuse and Neglect Guidelines 
in this chapter for more information. Your 
county child protective services may or may 
not investigate the report, depending on their 
assessment of risk to the teen. In many cases, the 
agency will consider the teen mature enough to 
protect herself by leaving a dangerous situation 
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and not in need of protection by the child 
welfare system.

A report for suspected abuse is required even if 
you think that nothing will come of the report. 
Be sure to document the report in the medical 
record. It is a good idea to tell the teen that 
you must report. Even better, have the teen be 
present when you make the phone call. This 
helps the teen feel that you are not talking 
about her behind her back. 

If the teen tells you she has been abused in 
the past but not currently, see Child Abuse and 
Neglect Guidelines in this chapter under "When 
Past Abuse is Discovered" section.

Dating Violence
Dating violence is more than just arguing 
or fighting. Dating violence is a pattern of 
controlling behaviors that one partner uses to 
get power over the other, including:

• Any kind of physical violence or threat of 
physical violence to get control.

• Emotional or mental abuse, such as or 
constantly putting her down or criticizing 
her.

• Sexual abuse, including making her do 
anything she doesn't want to or refusing to 
have safer sex.

If she is battered by someone outside the home, 
such as the boyfriend, you are usually required 
to report the assault to law enforcement; 
they may direct you to report to child welfare, 
depending on the policies of your county. 

Review the Spousal/Partner Abuse Guidelines in 
this chapter. The National Domestic Violence 
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Hotline Web site www.ndvh.org/ has a special 
site for teens called "When Love Hurts: A Guide on 
Love, Respect and Abuse in Relationships."

If you suspect that she has been forced, 
threatened or exploited into sexual activity 
you must report the sexual abuse to Children's 
Protective Services.

Consensual Sexual Activity of 
Minors
If the teen has consensual intercourse, 
the mandatory reporting laws are more 
complicated. It depends on the ages of both the 
sexual partners. You are not required to ask the 
age of the client’s partner or father of her baby. 

When an adult (18 years or older) has sex 
with a minor (17 years or younger), it is called 
"statutory rape." However, you are not required 
to report all cases of statutory rape, just in some 
circumstances. The National Center for Youth 
Law publishes, "When Mandated Reporters 
Must Report Consensual Disparate Age Sexual 
Intercourse to Child Abuse Authorities" under 
Publications on their Web site www.youthlaw.
org, which gives a good summary of the laws. 
See Child Abuse and Neglect Guidelines for 
information on how to make a report. 

Studies have shown that girls who engage in 
early sexual activity may have been molested 
in a past or present relationship and may 
be in need of protection and mental health 
counseling. Ask questions about sexual abuse 
and refer to your clinical supervisor if needed. 
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Resources
The National Center for Youth Law
A private, non-profit law office serving the 
legal needs of children and their families. See 
"Minor Consent, Confidentiality and Child Abuse 
Reporting in California" under Publications. 
This document contains information on minor 
consent, consensual sexual activity and other 
topics.
510-835-8098
www.youthlaw.org 

California Health Council
Health Information and Education Division
Produces patient education materials, available 
for a small fee; these include:
"Is It Really Love?" in English and Spanish for 
teens
1-800-428-5438
www.epahealth.org


