Skip Navigation LinksSpotlightOnASPsProject

healthcare-Associated Infections (HAI) program

The Spotlight on Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Project

The CDPH Healthcare-Associated Infections (HAI) Program convened the “Spotlight on Antimicrobial Stewardship Programs (ASPs)” project to offer California hospitals an opportunity to highlight and share their progress with ASP implementation. Spotlight hospitals may also serve as mentors to other hospitals seeking advice or assistance with their ASPs. 

ASP Spotlight Hospital volunteers complete a survey identifying their ASP’s activities according to 11 elements of hospital-based ASP recommended by the California Healthcare Associated Infections Advisory Committee. Information on each Spotlight Hospital’s ASP, including contact information for the ASP leader, is listed below.

To enroll as a new Spotlight facility, complete the enrollment survey online.
Current Spotlight members may update their information on a quarterly basis by contacting HAIProgram@cdph.ca.gov.

​ ​Antimicrobial Stewardship Program Elements

Basic

Element 1 (E1)​An institution-specific antimicrobial stewardship policy and/or procedure has been adopted
Element 2 (E2)​A physician-supervised multidisciplinary antimicrobial stewardship committee or workgroup has been convened
Element 3 (E3)​ASP leadership support is provided by a physician or pharmacist with antimicrobial stewardship training from a recognized professional organization or post-graduate education
Element 4 (E4)​ASP activites are routinely reported to hospital quality improvement committees

Intermediate and Advanced​ ​

Element 5 (E5)​An antibiogram is developed annually using Clinical Laboratory Standards Institute guidelines and distributed to medical staff, with follow-up education provided
Element 6 (E6)​Institutional guidelines have been developed for the management of common infection syndromes (e.g. order sets, clinical pathways, empiric antimicrobial therapy guides)
Element 7 (E7)​Usage patterns of antibiotics determined to be of importance to the resistance of ecology of the facility monitored using defined daily dosing (DDD) or days of therapy (DOT)
Element 8 (E8)​Regualr antimicrobial stewardship education is provided to medical staff and committees
Element 9 (E9)​The antimicrobial formulary is reviewed annually and changes are made based on the local antibiogram
Element 10 (E10)​Prospective audits of antimicrobial perscriptions are performed and intervention/feedback is provided to prescribers
Element 11 (E11)​Formulary restriction with preauthorization has been implemented

 ​​

​Hospital Name
City, Hospital Type, Number of Beds
Volunteer Mentor
Volunteer Mentor's Email Address

​E1 
Policy/
Procedure

E​2 
ASP
Committee

E​3 
Leader
with ASP Training

E​4 
QI
Reporting

​E5 
Annual
Antibiogram

E6  Treatment Guidelines​

E​7 
Usage
Monitoring

E​8 
ASP
Edication

​E9  Antibiotic
Formulary Review

​E10 Audit
with Feedback

​E11
Restriction
with
Preauthorization

​Arroyo Grande Community Hospital
Arroyo Grande, Community, 60 beds
Pharmacy Manager: Dawn Lorenzo
dawn.lorenzo@dignityhealth.org

​E1

​E2

​E3

​E4

​E5

​E6

​E7

​E8

​E10

​E11

​California Hospital Medical Center
Los Angeles, Community Hospital, 323 beds
Director of Pharmacy: Kil Yi
yik@chw.edu

​E1

​E2

E3​

E4​

​E5

​E6

​E7

​E8

​E10

​E11

California Pacific Medical Center
San Francisco, Acute Care Teaching Hospital, 785 beds
ASP Pharmacist: Elizabeth Chang
changes@sutterhealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​
Children’s Hospital Central California
Madera, Teaching, 348 beds
Epi IP: M. Meyer
mmeyer@childrenscentralcal.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8E9​E10​
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
Los Angeles, Pediatric Academic Medical Center, 495 beds
Pediatric ID Physician: Kanokporn Mongkolrattanothai
kmongkol@chla.usc.edu
​E1​E2E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​

Community Hospital of the Monterey Peninsula
Monterey, Community, 250 beds
Pharmacist: Dave Kanyer
dave.kanyer@chomp.org

E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Community Memorial Hospital
Ventura, Community, 240 beds
Pharmacist: Christine Kim
ckim@cmhshealth.org
Infection Preventonist: Christine Ouellette, RN
couellette@cmhshealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Doctors Medical Center Modesto
Modesto, Community, 465 beds
ASP Contact: Laura Kawamoto
laura.kawamoto@tenethealth.com
E1E2​E4​E7​E10​E11​
Eden Medical Center
Castro Valley, Community, 144 beds
ID Physician: Jeffrey Silvers, MD
silverj@sutterhealth.org
ID Pharmacist: Christopher Martinez
martinc@sutterhealth.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
El Camino Hospital
Mountain View, Community, 395 beds
ID Physician: Daniel Shin, MD
dandshin@yahoo.com
ID Pharmacist: Nan Hong, PharmD, BCPS
nan_hong@elcaminohospital.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
El Centro Regional Medical Center
El Centro, Community, 161 beds
Pharmacist: Daniel Tirado
Daniel.Tirado@ecrmc.org
E2​E3​E5​E6​E7​​E9E10​E11​
Enloe Medical Center
Chico, Community, 215 beds
Pharmacist: Phil Holman
phil.holman@enloe.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
French Hospital Medical Center
San Luis Obispo, Acute Care, 77 beds
ASP Pharmacist: Patty Flores
Patty.Flores@DignityHealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Glendora Community Hospital
Glendora, Community, 80 beds
Pharmacist: Jinnie Kim
jkim@evhmc.org
Pharmacist: Edgar Arevalo
EArevalo@primehealthcare.com
E1​E2E3​E4​E6​E9​​E11
Harbor UCLA Medical Center
Torrance, Academic/County Hospital, 350 beds
ASP Director: Michael Bolaris, MD
mbolaris@dhs.lacounty.gov
​E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E10​E11​
Healdsburg District Hospital
Healdsburg, Critical Access, 17 beds
Pharmacist: Dave England, PharmD
dengland@nschd.org
Infection Preventionist: Carole Cole, RN
ccole@nschd.org

E1

E2​E3E4
Henry Mayo Newhall Hospital
Valencia, Acute Care Community Hospital, 238 beds
Clinical Pharmacy Manager/Med Safety Officer: Dele Akao, PharmD.
akaoda@henrymayo.com
​E1E2​E3​E6​
Highland Hospital-Alameda Health System
Oakland, Teaching, 236 beds
ID Pharmacist: Jon Faldasz, PharmD
jfaldasz@alamedahealthsystem.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Hoag Memorial Hospital Presbyterian Newport Beach,
Community Hospital, 443 beds
Sr. Manager of Clinical Pharmacy: Stephanie Chao
stephanie.chao@hoag.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Hollywood Presbyterian Medical Center
Los Angeles, Community, 434 beds
ID Pharmacist: Ohannes Kandilian
ohannes.kandilian@hpmedcenter.com
E1E2​E3​​E4E5​E6​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Huntington Hospital
Pasadena, Community/Teaching, 625 beds
ID Pharmacist: Pamela Ny, PharmD
pamela.ny@huntingtonhospital.com
ID Pharmacist: Annie Wong-Beringer, PharmD
anniew@usc.edu
ID Physician: Paul Nieberg, MD
phnieberg@yahoo.com
​E1​E2​E3E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10
Kaiser Foundation Hospital
Redwood City, Community Hospital, 149 beds
Inpatient Pharmacy Quality Supervisor: Jeannie Sohn
jeannie.sohn@kp.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Kaiser Permanente Fremont/San Leandro
Fremont, Community, 96/216 beds
ID Pharmacist: Ryan Conrad
Ryan.M.Conrad@kp.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Kaiser Permanente Fresno
Fresno, Community, 169 beds
ID Physician: Harold Lin, MD, MS
harold.h.lin@kp.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
Kaiser Permanente Riverside
Riverside, Community, 300 beds
ID Physician: Graciela Faiad, MD
Graciela.S.Faiad@kp.org
ID Pharmacist: Nguyen Nga
Nga.Thanh.Nguyen@kp.org
ID Physician: Aldon Li, MD
aldon.li@kp.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E9​
Kaiser Permanente San Rafael
San Rafael, Community, 120 beds
ID Physician: David Witt, MD
david.j.witt@kp.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
Kaiser Permanente Southern CA (14 Hospitals)
Los Angeles, Community, bed range 250-600
ID Physician: Gunter Rieg, MD
Gunter.K.Rieg@kp.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
Kaweah Delta Medical Center
Visalia, Community/Teaching, 403 beds
ID Pharmacist: Trisha Nakasone, PharmD
ttom@kdhcd.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
Lodi Health
Lodi, Community, 170 beds
Pharmacist: Tricia Doblados
tdoblados@lodihealth.org
E2​E6​
Los Robles Hospital and Medical Center
Thousand Oaks, Community, 404 beds
Clinical Pharmacist Specialist: Bonnie Weinberger
Bonnie.Weinberger@hcahealthcare.com
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E9​E10​E11​
Marian Regional Medical Center
Santa Maria, Acute Care, 194 beds
Pharmacy Manager: Lisa Zurek
lisa.zurek@dignityhealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Marin General Hospital
Greenbrae, Inpatient Community, Non-Profit, 175 beds
Clinical Pharmacy Manager: Ziba Ansari
ansariz@maringeneral.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E8​E10​
Memorial Medical Center
Modesto, Community, 423 beds
Pharmacist: Pam Lenhert
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​
Mendocino Coast District Hospital
Mendocino, Critical Access, 25 beds
Infection Preventionist: Emmet O'Connell
eoconnell@mcdh.net
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E9
Mercy General Hospital
Sacramento, Community, 432 beds
Clinical Pharmacy Specialist, Quality: Patricia A. Montgomery
patty.montgomery@dignityhealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Mercy Hospitals of Bakersfield (2 Hospitals)
Bakersfield, Acute Care, 220 beds
Clinical Coordinator  Co-Chair Antimicrobial Stewardship Committee: Shanny Singh
Shanny.singh@dignityhealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Mercy San Juan Medical Center
Carmichael, Acute Care Community Hospital, 370 beds
Pharm.D.: Kevin Tapia
kevin.tapia@dignityhealth.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Methodist Hospital of Southern California
Los Angeles, Community, 400 beds
ID Pharmacist: Michelle Chan
michelle.lee@methodisthospital.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Napa State Hospital
Napa, Long Term, 1200 beds
Pharmacist: Ernesto Avelar
ernesto.avelar@dsh.ca.gov
E11​
Palomar Medical Center
Escondido, Community, 500 beds
ID Pharmacist: Olga DeTorres
Olga.DeTorres@palomarhealth.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
PIH Health Hospital - Whittier
Los Angeles, Community, 435 beds
ID Pharmacist: Judy Chin
jchin@pih.net
​E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E8​E9​E​10​E11
Pioneer's Memorial Hospital
Brawley, Acute Care, 107 beds
Director of Pharmacy: John P. Teague
jteague@pmhd.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E8​E9​E10​E11​

Pomona Valley Hospital Medical Center
Pomona, Community Teaching, 450 beds
Infectious Disease Pharmacist: David Ha
david.ha@pvhmc.org
Infectious Disease Physician: Daniel Gluckstein
daniel.gluckstein@pvhmc.org

​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Providence Saint Joseph Medical Center Burbank,
Acute Care Non-Profit, 385 beds
Antimicrobial Stewardship Pharmacist: Neha Manchandia
neha.manchandia@providence.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Providence Tarzana Medical Center
Tarzana, Community, 250 beds
Pharmacy Clnical Coordinator: Susan Wee
susan.wee@providence.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Riverside County Regional Medical Center
Moreno Valley, Teaching, 439 beds
ID Pharmacist: Nikita Patel
Npatel@rivcormc.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E8​E10​
Ronald Reagan Medical Center, UCLA
Los Angeles, Major Teaching, 540 beds
ID Physician: Daniel Uslan, MD
duslan@mednet.ucla.edu
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Saint Francis Memorial Hospital
San Francisco, Community, 150-250 beds
ASP Contact: Agnes Lau
agnes.lau@dignityhealth.org
E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E10​
Saint John's Health Center
Santa Monica, Community, 260 beds
Pharmacist: Snezana Naumovsky
snezana.naumovsky@stjohns.org
ID Physician: Ellie Goldstein
EJCGMD@aol.com
E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E9​E10​E11​
San Francisco General Hospital
San Francisco, Major Teaching, 400 beds
ID Pharmacist: Camille Beauduy
camille.beauduy@sfdph.org
ID Pharmacist: Lisa Winston, MD
lisa.winston@ucsf.edu
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E10​E11​
San Gorgonio Memorial Hospital
Banning, Community, 77 beds
Pharmacy Director: Jose Lopez
jallopez@sgmh.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E8​
San Joaquin Community Hospital Bakersfield
Community, 255 beds
ID Clinical Pharmacy Specialist: Eric Myers
myersew@ah.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
​San Joaquin General Hospital
French Camp, Teaching, 196 beds
Pharmacist: Andrea Hinton
ahinton@sjgh.org
IP: Susan Mitchell
sdmitchell@sjgh.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Santa Barbara Cottage Hospital
Santa Barbara, Community, 450 beds
ID Physician: Alan Sugar, MD
alan.sugar@gmail.com
ID Physician: David Fisk, MD
dfisk@sansumclinic.org
Pharmacist: Karla Killgore Smith, PharmD
kkillgor@sbch.org
​E1​E2​E3​E4E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Santa Rosa Memorial Hospital
Santa Rosa, Community, 200 beds
ID Pharmacist: Sue Nadeau
Susan.Nadeau@stjoe.org
ID Physician: Frederick Drach, MD
Frederick.Drach@stjoe.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E9​E10​E11​
Scripps Memorial Hospital La Jolla
La Jolla, Community, 300 beds
ID Pharmacist: Maggie Box
Box.Maggie@scrippshealth.org
​E1E2​E3​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
Scripps Mercy
San Diego, Teaching, 420 beds
IP Pharmacist: Eva Sullivan
sullivan.eva@scrippshealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E10​E11​
​Sequoia Hospital
Redwood City, Acute Care Non-Profit, 208 beds
Infectious Disease: Priya Nand, MD
Priyasheelta.Nand@DignityHealth.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E8​E10​E11​
Sharp Chula Vista Medical Center
Chula Vista, Community Hospital, 343 beds
Clinical Pharmacist: Vi Khosho
vi.khosho@sharp.com
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​
Sonoma Valley Hospital
Telemedicine Based ASP
Sonoma, Community, 56 beds
ID Physician: Javeed Siddiqui, MD
jsiddiqui@telemed2U.com
IP: Kathy Mathews, RN, CIC
kmathews@svh.com
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Southwest Healthcare System (4 Hospitals)
Widomar and Murrieta, Community, 242 beds
AS Pharmacist: Tim Erwin
tim.erwin@uhsinc.com
E1​E2E3​E4​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
St. Francis Medical Center
Lynwood, Acute Care Community Hospital, 384 beds
Director of Pharmacy: Susan Yun, Pharm.D., MHA, BCPS
Susanyun@verity.org
​E1​E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8E9​E10​E11​
St. Helena Hospital
St. Helena, Community/ Rural, 130 beds
ID Physician: Javeed Siddiqui, MD
jsiddiqui@telemed2U.com
E2​E3​E4​E6​E7​E9​E10​
​St. Helena Hospital Napa Valley
St. Helena, Community, 80 beds
Pharmacist: Susan Reed
susan.reed@ah.org
E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E7​E9E10​
St. Jude Medical Center
Fullerton, Community, 384 beds
ID Pharmacist: Lee H. Nguyen
leenguyen@llu.edu
ID Physician: Pauline Ho, MD
paulineho1@msn.com
​E1​E2​E3​E4E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Stanford Hospital
Palo Alto, Academic, 450 beds
Associate Medical Director Stewardship Program:
Marisa Holubar MD MS
mholubar@stanford.edu
E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
Sutter Lakeside
Lakeport, Acute Care, 30 beds
Pharmacy Manager: Yi-Chih Peng
PengY@sutterhealth.org
E1​E2​E3​E4E8​
​Sutter Roseville Medical Center
Roseville, Community, 328 beds
ID Pharmacist: Thu Do
Doth1@sutterhealth.org
ID Physician: Ranjani Kalyan
rkalyan@pmamed.com
Pharmacist: Charlie Elliot
ElliotC@sutterhealth.org
E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​
UC San Diego Health System
San Diego, Major Teaching, 540 beds
ID Pharmacist: Charles James, PharmD
cljames@ucsd.edu
ID Physician: Michele Ritter, MD
mlritter@ucsd.edu
ID Physician: Randy Taplitz, MD
rtaplitz@ucsd.edu
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
UCSF Benioff Children's Hospital Oakland
Oakland, Major Teaching, 190 beds
ID Physician: Brian Lee, MD
blee@mail.cho.org

Pharmacist: Cynthia Huwe, PharmD
chuwe@mail.cho.org
​E1E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
​UCSF Medical Center
San Francisco, Tertiary Medical Center, 700 beds
ID Physician: Sarah Doernberg, MD 
sarah.doernberg@ucsf.edu

 ID Pharmacist: Alexandra Hilts-Horeczko
alexandra.hilts-horeczko@ucsf.edu
E1​E2​E3E4E5​E6E7​E8​E9E10​E11​
​Ukiah Valley Medical Center
Ukiah, Acute Care, 67 beds
Director- Infection Prevention: Sue Mason
sue.mason@ah.org
​E1​E2​E3E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​
University of California, Davis Medical Center
Sacramento, Level 1 Trauma, Tertiary Academic Medical Center,
630 beds  Infectious Disease Clinical Pharmacist: Elle Zhu
eszhu@ucdavis.edu
​E1E2​E3​E4​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11​
USC Verdugo Hills Hospital
Glendale, Community, 100 beds
ASP Clinical Pharmacist: Linda Khatchatourian PharmD BCPS
Lkhatch1@gmail.com
E1​E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7E8E9​E10​E11​
​VA Greater LA Healthcare Systems
Los Angeles, Teaching, 200 beds
ID Physician: Christopher Graber
christopher.graber@va.gov
​E1​E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E7​E8​E9​E10​E11
​ValleyCare Health System
Pleasanton, Community, 120 beds
Pharmacist: Phuong Nguyen
pnguyen@valleycare.com
ID Physician: Valerie Chirurgi
vchirurg@valleycare.com
Pharmacist: Laura Zhang
lzhang@valleycare.com
​E1​E2​E3E5​E6​E8​E9​E10​E11​
​Ventura County Medical Center & Santa Paula Hospital
Ventura, Teaching / County Hospital, 150 beds
ID Physician: Gail Simpson
gail.simpson@ventura.org
E1E2​E3​​E8​E9​E10​E11
Vibra Hospital of Northern California
Redding , LTAC, 56 LTAC and 32 TCU beds
Pharmacist: Mike Schaffer
mschaffer@vhnorcal.com
Infection Preventionist: Debbie Wiechman, RN
dwiechman@vhnorcal.com
E1​E2​E3​E4E10​
White Memorial Medical Center
Los Angeles, Community/Teaching, 353 beds
Dir. Of Pharm Svcs: Thao Nguyen
Thao.Nguyen2@ah.org
(323) 268-5000 ext. 1403
​E1​E2E3​E4​E6​E7​E9​E10​E11
Woodland Memorial Hospital
Woodland, Acute Care, 108 beds
Infection Preventionist: Timothy Wilson
Timothy.Wilson@dignityhealth.org
​E1​E2​E3​E4​E5​E6​E8E10​

If you would like an accessible version of the Hospital Spotlight Contacts email HAIProgram@cdph.ca.gov.

Page Last Updated :