Welcome to the State of California 

Varicella (Chickenpox)

Chickenpox (also called varicella) is a common childhood disease. It is usually mild, but it can be serious, especially in young infants and adults.

The chickenpox virus can be spread from person to person through the air, or by contact with fluid from chickenpox blisters. It can lead to severe skin infection, scars, pneumonia, brain damage, or death.

Two doses of chickenpox vaccine are recommended for people who have not had disease.  Children should receive the first dose of vaccine at 12-15 months of age or at any age after that if they have never had chickenpox.  School-aged children should receive the second dose at age 4-6 years (it may be administered earlier provided that the interval between the first and second dose is at least 3 months).  People who do not get the vaccine until 13 years of age or older should get two doses, four to eight weeks apart.

View personal stories of someone affected by Chickenpox at ShotbyShot.org.


How Well-Vaccinated Is Your Child's Child Care Facility/School?

Child care facilities with low vaccination rates are at increased risk for outbreaks of vaccine-preventable diseases. Some children are allowed by California law to skip immunizations if a parent submits a personal beliefs exemption (PBE) or medical exemption (PME) at enrollment. Other children, may be admitted to child care on the 'condition' they complete remaining vaccinations when due. Often there is no follow-up and these children remain under-vaccinated. To lookup vaccination rates at your child care/ school, click below:

Child Care/Preschool | Kindergarten | 7th Grade

Data and Surveillance
Last modified on: 6/29/2016 11:52 AM