STATE OF CALIFORNIA-OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW NOTICE PUBLICATION/REGULATIONS SUBMISSION reverse)				For use by Secretary of State only	
STD. 400 (REV. 01-2013)     EMERGENCY NUMBER       OAL FILE     NOTICE FILE NUMBER     REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER     EMERGENCY NUMBER					
NUMBERS Z-2018-0717-042019-0131-03C					
For use by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only					
RECEIVED DATE P	UBLICATION DATE	- 2019 JAN	31 P I: 44	ENDORSED - FILED in the office of the Secretary of State of the State of California	
JUL 17'18 JUL 27'18		OFFICE OF ADMINISTRATIVE LAW		FEB 28 2019	
				1:56PM	
Office of Admini	strative Law		22 (2011) 10		
NOTICE	18	1	REGULATIONS		
AGENCY WITH RULEMAKING AUTHORITY California Department of Public Health		529 <sup>10</sup>		AGENCY FILE NUMBER (If any) DPH-17-016 E	
A. PUBLICATION OF NOTIC	E (Complete for pub	lication in Notice R	egister)		
1. SUBJECT OF NOTICE Newborn Screening Fee Incre	ease 2018	TITLE(S)	FIRST SECTION AFFECTED	2. REQUESTED PUBLICATION DATE 7/27/2018	
3. NOTICE TYPE Notice re Proposed	4. AGENCY CON		TELEPHONE NUMBER	FAX NUMBER (Optional)	
X Regulatory Action Othe			(916) 440-7673	(916) 636-6220	
OAL USE ACTION ON PROPOSED ONLY Approved as Submitted	Approved as Modified	Disapproved/ Withdrawn	NOTICE REGISTER NUMBER	PUBLICATION DATE	
B. SUBMISSION OF REGULA	ATIONS (Complete wi	hen submitting reg	ulations)	t t	
1a. SUBJECT OF REGULATION(S)	V	26		ED OAL REGULATORY ACTION NUMBER(S)	
Newborn Screening Pr	ogram Fee Increase	2018	7018-0	713-02 EFP	
2. SPECIFY CALIFORNIA CODE OF REGULATIONS		title 26, if toxics related)			
SECTION(S) AFFECTED					
(List all section number(s) individually. Attach AMEND					
additional sheet if needed.)	6508				
TITLE(S) 17	REPEAL				
3. TYPE OF FILING			5		
Regular Rulemaking (Gov. Code §11346)	Gertificate of Compliance: T		Emergency Readopt (Gov.	Changes Without Regulatory	
Code \$113407   below certifies that this agency complied with the provisions of Gov. Code \$\$11346.2-11347.3 either before the emergency regulation was adopted or filing (Gov. Code \$\$11349.3, within the time period required by statute.   Code, \$11346.1(h))				Effect (Cal. Code Regs., title 1, §100) Print Only	
11349.4) Emergency (Gov. Code, §11346.1(b))	Emergency (Gov. Code, Resubmittal of disapproved or withdrawn Dther (Specify)				
4. ALL BEGINNING AND ENDING DATES OF AVAIL	ABILITY OF MODIFIED REGULATIONS	AND/OR MATERIAL ADDED TO TH	E RULEMAKING FILE (Cal. Code Regs. title 1,	§44 and Gov. Code §11347.1)	
5. EFFECTIVE DATE OF CHANGES (Gov. Code, §§ 1 Effective January 1, April 1, July 1, or October 1 (Gov. Code §11343.4(a))	X Effective on filing wi Secretary of State	ith §100 Changes Wil Regulatory Effect	other (Specify)		
6 CHECK IF THESE REGULATIONS REQUI			CONCURRENCE BY, ANOTHER AGEN	1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1 1	
Department of Finance (Form STD. 3	99) (SAM §6660)			State Fire Marshal	
Other (Specify)  CONTACT PERSON		TELEPHONE NUMBER			
Laurel Prior, Regulations Co	ordinator	(916) 440-7673	FAX NUMBER (Optional) (916) 636-6220	E-MAIL ADDRESS (Optional) laurel.prior@cdph.ca.gov	
8. I certify that the attached of the regulation(s) iden	tified on this form, that	the information spe	cified on this form	e by Office of Administrative Law (OAL) only ENDORSED APPROVED	
is true and correct, and that I am the head of the agency taking this action, or a designee of the head of the agency, and am authorized to make this certification.				FEB 2 8 2019	
SIGNATURE OF AGENCY HEAD OR DESIGNEE				1 20 20 2013	
TYPED NAME AND TITLE OF SIGNATORY				Office of Administrative Law	
Keith Van Wagner, Assistant	Chief Counsel, Office a	of Legal Services - CE	PPH		

Newborn Screening Program Fee Increase 2018 DPH-17-016-E Regulation Text

Title 17. Public Health Division 1. State Department of Health Services Chapter 4. Preventive Medical Service Subchapter 9. Testing for Heritable Disorders Group 3. Newborn Screening Program Article 4. Newborn Screening Participation Fee

Amend Section 6508 to read:

§ 6508. Newborn Screening Fee Collection.

(a) Perinatal licensed health facilities and birth attendants shall obtain from the Department a sufficient supply of specimen collection forms to permit collection of a blood specimen from each newborn required to be tested under this Group.

(b) The Department shall collect a fee for each specimen record form provided and a program participation fee for all services provided. The fee for a specimen form shall be \$1 and for program services shall be \$141.25 except for a comprehensive prepaid group practice direct health care service plan with 20,000 or more births in the last completed calendar year for which complete statistics are available, which elects to provide testing, follow-up and/or counseling services to its members. The fee for such plans shall be equal to the Department's cost of administration of the newborn screening program, to be determined by reducing the \$141.25 program service fee by the annual statewide average per infant contracted cost of laboratory testing, follow-up and/or counseling services rendered during the previous fiscal year. In order to qualify for this special fee a medical group serving a comprehensive prepaid group practice direct care service plan with 20,000 or more births shall sign a written agreement which contains the same standards and conditions, except as to payment or where specifically waived, as are applicable to the newborn screening laboratories and Newborn Screening Area Service Centers, adhere to the regulations governing the program, and to submit to monitoring and evaluation of compliance. Failure to comply with these conditions after being given written notification and 30 days to correct deviations shall result in loss of the option. In the event the option is lost the State shall designate appropriate contractors to provide services.

The provisions of this section shall apply even if the newborn is part of a Stateapproved demonstration project.

(c) Birth attendants and physicians attending newborns who are under six days of age and who were not born in perinatal licensed health facilities and not subsequently admitted to perinatal licensed health facilities shall obtain a sufficient supply of specimen record forms to permit collection or shall arrange for a collection of a blood specimen from each such newborn attended.

(d) Birth attendants and physicians attending newborns and perinatal licensed health facilities shall not charge parents or third parties responsible for medical care coverage fees for participation in the newborn screening program in addition to those specified in this section, except for reasonable fees for costs of blood specimen collection and handling which shall not exceed \$6.

(e) The perinatal licensed health facility shall make available to the responsible physician, at no additional charge, specimen collection services or a specimen record form for obtaining either a repeat specimen for an inadequate specimen or a specimen on a newborn discharged without the test having been obtained.

1.1.1.1.1

Note: Authority cited: Sections 124977, 124996, 125000, 131050, 131051 and 131200, Health and Safety Code. Reference: Sections 124977, 124996, 125000 and 125001, Health and Safety Code.