FINAL TEXT California Code of Regulations, Title 17 Division 1 Chapter 2. Laboratories Subchapter 1. Service Laboratories Group 2. Clinical Laboratory Regulations

Amend Title of Article 5 to read:

Article 5. Issuance of LicenseClinical Laboratory Operations

Adopt Section 1053 to read:

Section 1053. Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) Record Retention Regulations Determined to be Less Stringent than California Law.

- (a) All clinical laboratories licensed or registered by the Department shall comply with those federal regulations adopted under the CLIA of 1988 (42 C.F.R. § 493 et seq.), effective January 24, 2003, and published in the California Regulatory Notice Register 2016, Number 41-Z, pages 1825-26, which became effective by operation of law as a state regulation adopted under Division 2, Chapter 3 of the Business and Professions Code on January 5, 2017, in accordance with Business and Professions Code section 1208(c).
- (b) In accordance with Business and Professions Code section 1208(b), the department, in consultation with the Clinical Laboratory Technology Advisory Committee, has determined that the following subparts of the federal regulations adopted under the Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments of 1988 (42 C.F.R. § 493 et seq.), and effective January 24, 2003, are less stringent than California law. All clinical laboratories licensed or registered by the Department shall comply with applicable state law regarding retention of records and shall not comply with the following subparts of the above-referenced federal regulations, as indicated in Table 1: *Comparison of California and Federal Clinical Laboratory Record Retention Requirements*:
 - (1) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(1)
 - (2) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(2)
 - (3) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(3)
 - (4) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(3)(i)

CLIA 2003 Crosswalk Part 2 DPH-16-002 April 24, 2020

(5) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(5) (6) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(6)

| Comparison of California and Federal Clinical Laboratory Record Retention requirements | | | | | |
|--|-----------------|------------|-----------------|-----------------------|-----------|
| RECORD TYPE | CA | CA | FEDERAL | FEDERAL LAW | COMPLY |
| | REQUIREMENT | LAW | REQUIREMENT | 42 CFR § 493.1105(a) | WITH |
| Test requisition and | 3 years | CBPC § | 2 years | Subdivision (1) | State Law |
| authorization records | | 1265(j)(2) | | | |
| Test procedure records | 3 years | CBPC § | 2 years | Subdivision (2) | State Low |
| | | 1265(j)(2) | | | State Law |
| Quality control and patient test | 2 1/0.070 | CBPC § | | Subdivision (3) | State Law |
| records | 3 years | 1265(j)(2) | | | |
| Test system performance | 3 years | CBPC § | 2 years | Subdivision (3)(i) | State Law |
| specifications | | 1265(j)(2) | | | |
| Immunohematology, blood, | | | | | |
| blood product, and transfusion | 10 years | CLIA 2003 | 10 years | Subdivision (3)(ii) | CLIA 2003 |
| records | | | | | |
| Proficiency testing records | 2 years | CLIA 2003 | 2 years | Subdivision (4) | CLIA 2003 |
| Quality systems assessment | 3 years | CBPC § | 2 years | Subdivision (5) | State Law |
| records | | 1265(j)(2) | | | |
| Test reports | 3 years | CBPC § | 2 years | Subdivision (6) | State Law |
| | | 1265(j)(2) | | | |
| Immunohematology test reports | 10 years | CLIA 2003 | 10 years | Subdivision (6)(i) | CLIA 2003 |
| Pathology test reports | 10 years | CLIA 2003 | 10 years | Subdivision (6)(ii) | CLIA 2003 |
| Cytology slides and blocks | 5 years | CLIA 2003 | 5 years | Subdivision (7)(i)(A) | CLIA 2003 |
| Histopathology slides | 10 years | CLIA 2003 | 10 years | Subdivision (7)(i)(B) | CLIA 2003 |
| Pathology specimen blocks | 2 years | CLIA 2003 | 2 years | Subdivision (7)(ii) | CLIA 2003 |
| Tissue | Until diagnosed | CLIA 2003 | Until diagnosed | Subdivision (7)(iii) | CLIA 2003 |

TABLE 1 Comparison of California and Federal Clinical Laboratory Record Retention requirements

Note: Authority cited: Sections 1208 and 1224 Business and Professions Code; Section 131200, Health and Safety Code; Reference cited: Sections 1220, 1225 and 1265, Business and Professions Code; Sections 131050, 131051 and 131052, Health and Safety Code.