

State of California—Health and Human Services Agency California Department of Public Health



GAVIN NEWSOM Governor

DECLARATION OF RABIES AREAS

In accordance with the California Health and Safety Code, §121585 and 121690, the existence of rabies in the following California counties has been determined to constitute a public health hazard. This geographical block of fifty-eight (58) counties, which comprise the entire state of California, are: Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Colusa, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, Yolo, and Yuba. The California Department of Public Health hereby declares as a rabies area the block of fifty-eight (58) counties mentioned above, effective January 1, 2024.

Brias arapón

Tomás J. Aragón, M.D., Dr.P.H Director and State Public Health Officer

January 1, 2024

Date