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Amend Section 2604 .4 to read as foliows:

§ 2606.4. Officially Declared Rabies Areas. |

(a) Administration and Enforcement. For purposes of administration and enforcemenf of
Ssection 4820 121690, California Health and Safety Code, in officially declared rabies
areas, the following shall apply:

(1) Licensing and Vaccination Procedure. The vaccination of dogsrfeumc three months of
age or older as reguired by subdivision (b), Sgection 4820 121680, California Health
and Safety Code, shall be held a requisite to licensing as reguired under subdivisio‘n (a)
therein. Completion of the licensing procedure consists of issuance of a license tag or a
vaccination tag bearing the license data and shall be carried out only after presentation
of a current valid official vaccination certificate. Current copies of the Compendium of
Canine Rabies Vaccines approved by the Department, together with the maximum
immunity duration periods prescribed by the Department for each type product, are
availabie upen-reguest-from on the Veterinary-Public Health Ynit _SQCLOI"I , Infectious

Disease Section Branch, California Department of Health-Serviees Public Health

website or upon reguest at vetph@cdph.ca.gov-—2154-Berkeley-WayBerkeley;
California—947044elephone-{415)-540-2391,

(2) Vaccination Certificates. Official vaccination certificates must show:
(A) the name, address and teiephone number of the dog's owner;

(B) the description of the dog, including breed, color, age, and sex;

(C) the date of immunization;

(D) the type of rabies vaccine adminisiered;

(E) the name of the manufacturer, -and
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(F) the lot number of the vaccine used.

Such certificates shall bear the signature of the veterinarian administering the vaccine
or a signature authorized by him, and in addition such certificate shall be stamped,
printed, or typed with his name, address and_ telephone number for legibility, witﬁ the
exception that at dog vaccination clinics conducted pursuant to Sgection 1826

- 121890(f) of the Health and Safety Code, vaccination ceriificates approved by the locai
health officer may be used provided that the specific clinic is identified upon the
vaccination certificate and records are maintained containing the information specified
under items (E) and (F) above;

(3) interval Permitted for Procurement of License. The vaccination of dogs four months
of age against rabies as required under subdivision (b), Ssection 4820 121690,
California Health and Safety Code', and the license required by subdivision (a) of said
section shall be procured not later than 30 days after the dog attains. the age of four.
months. The license renewal shall be procL:red not later than 60 days after expiration of
the previously issued license.

(4) Rabies Control Activities Reportihg. During such time as a county is under official
declaration as a rabies area, each local official responsible for the various phases of
local dog or rabies control within each city, county and city or cities, or county shall
make quarterly rabies control activities reports to and on forms furnished by the
Department. Such reports shall be submitted fo the Department by the local officials

. responsible for the various p.hasés of local dog or rabies control through the local health

officer so as to reach the Department not later than 30 days following each quarter.
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(b) Vaccination of Dogs'Against Rabies. Dogs shall be considered to be properly
vaccinated for the purposes of Ssection 4928-121690, California Health and Safety
Code, when injected at feur three months of age or older with an approved canine
rabies vaccine and revaccinated in accordance with the following conditions:
(1) Primary immunization. Primary immunization shall be defined as the initial
inoculation of an approved canine rabies vaccine adminisiered to yeung dogs between
the ages-d ef-4-te-12 three months or older.
(2) Minimum Age for Rabies Vaccination. The minimum age for which rabies
immunization of dogs shall be accepted for purposes of dog-owner compliance with
requirements for rabies vaccination and for purposes of issuance of dog licenses (See
S-section 2606.4(a)(1)) is 4- three months.
(3) Revaccination Intervals. Dogs shall be revaccinated one year (12 months) after the
primary immunization with an approved type of rabies vaccine. Dogs receiving

o ; , : o I incite iniialrabi N
over12-months-of-age shall be revaccinated thereafter at least once every three years
(36 months) with an approved type rabies vaccine. -
(c) Issuance of Dog Licenses. In no instances shall a dog license be issued for a period
beyond the date upon which revaccination is due except, following primary
immunization in a local jurisdiction which is on a fixed one-year licensing period, a
license may be issued for a period beyond the revaccination date if early revaccination
cannot be required in accordance with subdivision (d).
(d) Notwithstanding the rabies revaccination intervals specified in 8-gection 2606.4(b)(3)
above, local authorities may require revaccination prior to issuance of a license

Page 3 of 4




Canine Rabies Vaccination
DPH-14-005
- D774

provided that revaccination against rabies in no instance shall be required sooner than
one year (12 months) following a primary immunization or sooner than 2 years (24

months) following a vaccination of dogs vaccinated over one year (12 months) of age.

NOTE: Authority cited: Sections 208-and-4805121690 and 131200, Health and Safety
Code. Reference: Sections 4805-and-4920 121690 and 131200, Health and Safety
Code.

Page 4 of 4




( { Canine Rabies Vaccination
DPH 14-005
July 17, 2014

California Department of Public Health
Title 17
Preventive NMedical Service

Section Affected: 2606.4
Justification for Changes Without Regulatory Effect:

In 1957, section 1920 of the Health and Safety Code (HSC) mandated licensure and
vaccination against rabies for all domestic dogs in California. Because of safety
concerns for some vaccines being used at that time, California originally established a
minimum age of four months for vaccinating dogs against rabies. Today, these
concerns are no longer relevant as vaccines containing live virus are no longer
marketed or apprové‘g for use in dogs in California. in 2013, the Governor signed
Assembly Bill 272 (Gomez, Chapter 582, Statutes of 2013), which amended HSC,
section 121690 to allow for vaccination of dogs as young as three months of age, in
accordance with the Indications for Use prepared by the U.S. Department of Agriculture
and listed on the vaccine product label.

The proposed Section 100 changes promote compliance with statute by removing
explicit and implicit references to a four-month minimum age for vaccination of dogs
against rabies that conflict with the provisions of the amended HSC, section 121690.

§ 2606.4 (a)(1)

Amend the means by which the Department’s list of approved canine rabies vaccines is
available. The information currently listed for Veterinary Public Health Services (VPHS)
dates from the 1980's and no longer represents the correct organizational position,
physical location, or contact information. This-amendment would update this
information to reflect the current continuous availability of the vaccine list on the
Department’s web site and by e-mail request to VPHS. This does not change the
meaning or requirement of the regulation.

§ 2606.4 (b)
Amend definition of “properiy vaccinated” to restore consistency with age range of three

months or older as specified in the HSC, section 121690. This does not change the
meaning or requirement of the regulation.
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§ 2606.4 (b)(1)

Change the definition for “primary immunization” to encompass the open-ended age
range of “after...the age of three months or older” as specified in the HSC, section
121690. Delete “young” as the descriptor is no longer reflective of the open-ended age
range of “after...the age of three months or older” as specified in the HSC, section
121690. This does not change the meaning or requirement of the regulation.

§2606.4 (b)(2)

Change the minimum age for rabies vaccination from “4 months” to “three months”, to
render regulation consistent with age range of “three months or older,” as specified in
the HSC, section 121690. This does not change the meaning or requirement of the
regulation.

§2606.4 (b)(3)

Amend the revaccination interval to 12 months after primary immunization and
thereafter at least once every three years to render regulation internally consistent with
the definition of primary immunization in 2606.4 (b)(1}, and the requirement that
revaccination be “administered according to the vaccine label” as specified in the HSC,
section 121690. This does not change the meaning or requirement of the
regulation.

Update the authority, and reference note to reflect the reorganization of the Department

of Health Services by SB 162 (Ortiz, Ch 214, Statutes of 2006). This does not change
the meaning or requirement of the regulation.
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