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State of California—Health and Human Services Agency 

Department of Public Health 

CDPH 8694 (04/12) 

FOOD SAFETY FEE EXEMPTION REQUEST 
 

Processed food businesses making less than $20,000 wholesale gross annual income from their food business or which 
are involved “exclusively” in wholesale flour milling, dried bean processing, or the drying or milling of rice, are not required 
to pay the $100 Food Safety Fee (Health & Safety Code Section 110485).  All businesses must still pay the Processed 
Food Registration fee shown on their application, because this exemption does not apply to the registration fees.  Please 
note that a business claiming exemption may be asked to verify wholesale gross annual income by submitting 
documentation in the form of financial records.  Please Note: A new exemption request must be submitted every year 
along with the Processed Food Registration renewal application.  If you have questions regarding these exemptions, 
please call the Food and Drug Branch, Processed Food Registration desk at (916) 650-6500.    
  

Business Name: ____________________________________________________________________ 

Registration No: __________________ 

Facility Address: __________________________________________________________________________________ 

Owner’s Name: _____________________________________________     Phone: _____________________________ 

I am requesting an exemption from paying the Food Safety Fee for the above processed food business.  The business at 
this location meets the exemption requirements marked below: (Place an X next to the reason the business is exempt) 
 

  Last tax year’s ________ (enter year) “wholesale” gross annual income for the processed food business at this facility 
was twenty-thousand dollars ($20,000) or less. 

 
  This is a new wholesale processed food business or new activity at this facility and there is no prior years wholesale 

income.  It is estimated the current year gross wholesale income will be $20,000 or less.  I understand that if the 
wholesale gross annual income exceeds $20,000 in the current tax year, FDB must be contacted and payment of the 
$100 Food Safety Fee will be required. 

 
  The “wholesale” processed food business in this facility is involved “exclusively” in:   (Check all that apply) 

 
   Flour Milling   Dried Bean Processing   Drying or Milling of Rice 
 
I certify under penalty of perjury by the laws of the State of California that the information entered by me on this 
document is true and correct.  I am aware if it is found that the gross wholesale income for this business in this 
facility exceeds $20,000, or the business at this facility is not “exclusively” involved in wholesale flour milling, 
bean processing, or drying or milling of rice, the $100 Food Safety Fee and all penalties will be due immediately.   
 
Signature: __________________________________ Title: __________________________ Date:_______________ 
 
Printed Name: _______________________________ Phone:________________________     
 

Food and Drug Branch, MS 7602, P.O. Box 997435, Sacramento, CA, 95899-7435 
Phone (916) 650-6500 * Fax (916) 650-6650 
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