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  X-Ray Technician Limited Permit Application  
 

(Failure to use your full legal name may result in entrance into the examination being denied.) 
Last Name (Please Print) 
 
 

First Name Middle Name 

Date of Birth 
 
 

Social Security Number Phone Number 

Mailing Address 
 
 

E-mail Address 

City 
 
 

State Zip Code 

Pursuant to the authority found in Section 114870 of the California Health and Safety Code and as required by Section 17520 of the 
California Family Code, providing the social security number is mandatory. The social security number will be used for purposes of 
identification. The information on this form may be provided to federal, state, or local agencies for law enforcement purposes.  This 
information may also be provided to the American Registry of Radiologic Technologists for examination purposes.  For information or 
access to your records, contact the Registration and Certification Support Unit at the California Department of Public Health, Radiologic 
Health Branch (CDPH-RHB), MS 7610, P.O. Box 997414, Sacramento, CA 95899-7414, (916) 327-5106. 
 

IMPORTANT: Do not submit this form for an X-ray Technician Bone Densitometry Permit.  Instead, use form 
CDPH 8232 BD, X-Ray Technician Bone Densitometry Permit Application. 
 
HOW DO I OBTAIN A CALIFORNIA X-RAY TECHNICIAN LIMITED PERMIT? 
 

1) You must select only one of the following options: 

 Option 1. I am only applying for a Dental laboratory radiography permit: radiography of the  

intra-oral cavity, skull, hand and wrist, for dental purposes. Non-refundable application fee is $88.00. 

PLEASE NOTE: If you apply for a Dental laboratory radiography permit, you will not be able to take 
the examination along with the examination for any other categories on the same date. 

 Option 2. I am only applying for Radiation Protection (Core). Non-refundable application fee is 
$88.00. 

 Option 3. I am applying for Core and one or more of the following categories. Core is included with 
this option and the non-refundable application fee is $88.00 for each category selected below: 

 Chest radiography permit: radiography of the heart and lungs. 

 Extremities radiography permit: radiography of the upper extremities, including shoulder girdle, 
and lower extremities, excluding pelvis. 

 Torso-skeletal radiography permit: radiography of the shoulder girdle, rib cage and sternum, 
vertebral column, pelvis and hip joints. 

 Skull radiography permit: radiography of the bone and soft tissues of the skull and upper neck. 

 Leg-podiatric radiography permit: radiography of the knee, tibia and fibula, and ankle and foot. 
 

2) Digital Authorization. Mark the box below only if you graduated prior to January 1, 2011, and wish to 
obtain digital authorization. Applicants who graduated on or after January 1, 2011, are not required to 
submit documentation of completion of instruction in digital radiologic technology. 

  I graduated prior to January 1, 2011, and have attached documentation of completion of at least 20 
hours of instruction in digital radiologic technology that meets the requirements as specified in the 
California Code of Regulations, Title 17 (17 CCR), sections 30410 and 30410.2. 
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X-Ray Technician Limited Permit Application 
 

 (Failure to use your full legal name may result in entrance into the examination being denied.) 

  
3) You must return this application along with all of the following: 

 A copy of your graduation diploma or certificate from a CDPH-RHB approved limited permit X-ray 
technician school in the limited permit category(ies) you have selected; and 

 The non-refundable application fee of $88.00 for each category you have selected in the form of a 
check (e.g., personal, cashier’s, or certified check) or money order made payable to CDPH-RHB. 

 If you selected Digital Authorization in item 2 and graduated prior to January 1, 2011, you must 
provide documentation of completion of at least 20 hours of instruction in digital radiologic 
technology that meets the requirements as specified in 17 CCR, sections 30410 and 30410.2. 

 
HOW WILL I BE NOTIFIED ABOUT THE STATUS OF MY APPLICATION? 
 
Within 30 calendar days of receipt of your application, CDPH-RHB will mail you a notification letter.  The 
notification letter will inform you of one of the following: 

 That your application is acceptable and what examination you must pass within one calendar year in order 
to obtain the certificate/permit, and instructions on how to submit payment of the non-refundable 
examination fee; or 

 That your application is not accepted for filing and what specific information, documentation or fee you must 
submit within 30 calendar days in order for CDPH-RHB to consider the application acceptable. 

 
HOW DO I SUBMIT MY APPLICATION? 
 
Please mail this application, all supporting documents, and payment for the non-refundable application fee of 
$88.00 for each category to: 

 
California Department of Public Health 
Radiologic Health Branch, MS 7610 
Accounts Receivable and Cashiering Unit 
P.O. Box 997414 
Sacramento, CA 95899-7414 
 

 
I certify that the information provided with this application is true and correct.  I understand that the California Department of Public 
Health may revoke permits that are procured by fraud, misrepresentation, or mistake, or for the nonpayment of fees.  Further, I am 
aware that it is unlawful to use X-rays on human beings in this state unless I have been granted a permit pursuant to the Radiologic 
Technology Act, acting within the scope of that permit, and acting under the supervision of a licentiate of the healing arts who is a 
certified supervisor or operator. 
 

Signature 
 

Date 

 

Last Name (Please Print) 
 
 

First Name Middle Name 


