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22970.  This division shall be known as and may be cited as the 

Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003. 

 

 

 

22970.1.  The Legislature finds and declares all of the following: 

   (a) The State of California has enacted excise taxes on the 

distribution of cigarettes and tobacco products to provide funding 

for local and state programs, including health services, antismoking 

campaigns, cancer research, and education programs. 

   (b) Tax revenues have declined by hundreds of millions of dollars 

per year due, in part, to unlawful distributions and untaxed sales of 

cigarettes and tobacco products conducted by organized crime 

syndicates, street gangs, and international terrorist groups. 

   (c) The enforcement of California's cigarette and tobacco products 

tax laws is necessary to collect millions of dollars in lost tax 

revenues each year. 

   (d) The licensing of manufacturers, importers, wholesalers, 

distributors, and retailers will help stem the tide of untaxed 

distributions and illegal sales of cigarettes and tobacco products. 

 

 

 

22970.2.  The board shall administer a statewide program to license 

manufacturers, importers, distributors, wholesalers, and retailers of 

cigarettes and tobacco products. 

 

 

 

22970.3.  The board may create a Tobacco Tax Compliance Task Force 

for the purpose of advising the board on cigarette and tobacco 

products tax compliance issues that may include, but not be limited 

to, representatives from the following: 

   (a) The board. 

   (b) The office of the Attorney General. 

   (c) The Franchise Tax Board. 

   (d) The Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control. 

   (e) The State Department of Health Services. 

   (f) Federal agencies necessary to coordinate programs to combat 

tobacco tax evasion, smuggling, and counterfeiting. 

   (g) One person from each of the categories of persons required by 

this division to have a license. 

   (h) Other states engaged in tobacco tax compliance efforts. 

   (i) Local law enforcement agencies. 

 

 

 

22971.  For purposes of this division, the following terms shall 

have the following meanings: 

   (a) "Board" means the State Board of Equalization. 



   (b) "Brand family" has the same meaning as that term is defined in 

paragraph (2) of subdivision (a) of Section 30165.1 of the Revenue 

and Taxation Code. 

   (c) "Cigarette" means a cigarette as defined in Section 30003 of 

the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (d) (1) "Control" or "controlling" means possession, direct or 

indirect, of the power: 

   (A) To vote 25 percent or more of any class of the voting 

securities issued by a person. 

   (B) To direct or cause the direction of the management and 

policies of a person, whether through the ownership of voting 

securities, by contract, other than a commercial contract for goods 

or nonmanagement services, or as otherwise provided; however, no 

individual shall be deemed to control a person solely on account of 

being a director, officer, or employee of that person. 

   (2) For purposes of subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1), a person 

who, directly or indirectly, owns, controls, holds, with the power to 

vote, or holds proxies representing 10 percent or more of the then 

outstanding voting securities issued by another person, is presumed 

to control that other person. 

   (3) For purposes of this division, the board may determine whether 

a person in fact controls another person. 

   (e) "Display for sale" means the placement of cigarettes or 

tobacco products in a vending machine or in retail stock for the 

purpose of selling or gifting the cigarettes or tobacco products. For 

purposes of this definition, the clear and easily visible display of 

cigarettes or tobacco products shall create a rebuttable presumption 

that either were displayed for sale. 

   (f) "Distributor" means a distributor as defined in Section 30011 

of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (g) "Gifting" means any transfer of title or possession without 

consideration, exchange, or barter, in any manner or by any means, of 

cigarettes or tobacco products that have been purchased for resale 

under a license issued pursuant to this division if the transfer 

occurs while the license is suspended or after the effective date of 

its revocation. 

   (h) "Importer" means an importer as defined in Section 30019 of 

the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (i) "Law enforcement agency" means a sheriff, a police department, 

or a city, county, or city and county agency or department 

designated by the governing body of that agency to enforce this 

chapter or to enforce local smoking and tobacco ordinances and 

regulations. 

   (j) "License" means a license issued by the board pursuant to this 

division. 

   (k) "Licensee" means any person holding a license issued by the 

board pursuant to this division. 

   (l) "Manufacturer" means a manufacturer of cigarettes or tobacco 

products sold in this state. 

   (m) "Notice" or "notification" means, unless as otherwise 

provided, the written notice or notification provided to a licensee 

by the board by either actual delivery to the licensee or by 

first-class mail addressed to the licensee at the address on the 

license. 

   (n) "Package of cigarettes" means a package as defined in Section 

30015 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (o) "Person" means a person as defined in Section 30010 of the 



Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (p) "Retailer" means a person who engages in this state in the 

sale of cigarettes or tobacco products directly to the public from a 

retail location. Retailer includes a person who operates vending 

machines from which cigarettes or tobacco products are sold in this 

state. 

   (q) "Retail location" means both of the following: 

   (1) Any building from which cigarettes or tobacco products are 

sold at retail. 

   (2) A vending machine. 

   (r) "Sale" or "sold" means a sale as defined in Section 30006 of 

the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (s) "Tobacco products" means tobacco products as defined in 

subdivision (b) of Section 30121 and subdivision (b) of Section 

30131.1 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (t) "Unstamped package of cigarettes" means a package of 

cigarettes that does not bear a tax stamp as required under Part 13 

(commencing with Section 30001) of Division 2 of the Revenue and 

Taxation Code, including a package of cigarettes that bears a tax 

stamp of another state or taxing jurisdiction, a package of 

cigarettes that bears a counterfeit tax stamp, or a stamped or 

unstamped package of cigarettes that is marked "Not for sale in the 

United States." 

   (u) "Wholesaler" means a wholesaler as defined in Section 30016 of 

the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

 

 

 

22971.1.  Commencing January 1, 2006, the Bureau of State Audits 

shall conduct a performance audit of the licensing and enforcement 

provisions of this division, and shall report its findings to the 

board and the Legislature by July 1, 2006. The report shall include, 

but not be limited to: 

   (a) The actual costs of the program. 

   (b) The level of additional revenue generated by the program 

compared to the period before its implementation. 

   (c) Tax compliance rates. 

   (d) The costs of enforcement at the varying levels. 

   (e) The appropriateness of penalties assessed in this division. 

   (f) The overall effectiveness of enforcement programs. 

 

 

 

 

22971.2.  The board shall administer and enforce the provisions of 

this division and may prescribe, adopt, and enforce rules and 

regulations relating to the administration and enforcement of this 

division. 

 

 

22971.3.  Nothing in this division preempts or supersedes any local 

tobacco control law other than those related to the collection of 

state taxes. Local licensing laws may provide for the suspension or 

revocation of the local license for any violation of a state tobacco 

control law. 

 

 



22971.4.  No person is subject to the requirements of this division 

if that person is exempt from regulation under the United States 

Constitution, the laws of the United States, or the California 

Constitution. 

 

 

22971.5.  Any notice required by this division shall be served 

personally or by mail. If by mail, the notice shall be placed in a 

sealed envelope, with postage paid, addressed to the licensee at the 

address as it appears in the records of the board. The giving of 

notice shall be deemed complete at the time of deposit of the notice 

in the United States Post Office, or a mailbox, subpost office, 

substation, or mail chute, or other facility regularly maintained or 

provided by the United States Postal Service, without extension of 

time for any reason. In lieu of mailing, a notice may be served 

personally by delivering to the person to be served and service shall 

be deemed complete at the time of delivery. Personal service to a 

corporation may be made by delivery of a notice to any person 

designated in the Code of Civil Procedure to be served for the 

corporation with summons and complaints in a civil action. 

 

 

22972.  (a) Commencing June 30, 2004, a retailer shall have in place 

and maintain a license to engage in the sale of cigarettes or 

tobacco products. A retailer that owns or controls more than one 

retail location shall obtain a separate license for each retail 

location, but may submit a single application for those licenses. 

   (b) The retailer shall conspicuously display the license at each 

retail location in a manner visible to the public. 

   (c) A license is not assignable or transferable. A person who 

obtains a license as a retailer who ceases to do business as 

specified in the license, or who never commenced business, or whose 

license is suspended or revoked, shall immediately surrender the 

license to the board. 

   (d) A license shall be valid for a 12-month period, and shall be 

renewed annually. 

 

 

 

22972.1.  (a) Notwithstanding Section 22972 or Section 22973, the 

board may issue to a retailer a temporary license with a scheduled 

expiration date, as determined by the board, that occurs on or before 

September 30, 2004. 

   (b) A temporary license issued pursuant to this section shall be 

automatically terminated upon the board's issuance of a license 

pursuant to Section 22973.1. 

   (c) A temporary license issued pursuant to this section is subject 

to the same suspension, revocation, and forfeiture provisions that 

apply to licenses issued by the board pursuant to Section 22973.1. 

 

 

 

 

22973.  (a) An application for a license shall be filed on or before 

April 15, 2004, on a form prescribed by the board and shall include 

the following: 

   (1) The name, address, and telephone number of the applicant. 



   (2) The business name, address, and telephone number of each 

retail location. For applicants who control more than one retail 

location, an address for receipt of correspondence or notices from 

the board, such as a headquarters or corporate office of the 

retailer, shall also be included on the application and listed on the 

license. Citations issued to licensees shall be forwarded to all 

addressees on the license. 

   (3) A statement by the applicant affirming that the applicant has 

not been convicted of a felony and has not violated and will not 

violate or cause or permit to be violated any of the provisions of 

this division or any rule of the board applicable to the applicant or 

pertaining to the manufacture, sale, or distribution of cigarettes 

or tobacco products. If the applicant is unable to affirm this 

statement, the application shall contain a statement by the applicant 

of the nature of any violation or the reasons that will prevent the 

applicant from complying with the requirements with respect to the 

statement. 

   (4) If any other licenses or permits have been issued by the board 

or the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control to the applicant, 

the license or permit number of those licenses or permits then in 

effect. 

   (5) A statement by the applicant that the contents of the 

application are complete, true, and correct. Any person who signs a 

statement pursuant to this subdivision that asserts the truth of any 

material matter that he or she knows to be false is guilty of a 

misdemeanor punishable by imprisonment of up to one year in the 

county jail, or a fine of not more than one thousand dollars 

($1,000), or both the imprisonment and the fine. 

   (6) The signature of the applicant. 

   (7) Any other information the board may require. 

   (b) The board may investigate to determine the truthfulness and 

completeness of the information provided in the application. The 

board may issue a license without further investigation to an 

applicant for a retail location if the applicant holds a valid 

license from the Department of Alcoholic Beverage Control for that 

same location. 

   (c) The board shall provide electronic means for applicants to 

download and submit applications. 

   (d) (1) A one-time license fee of one hundred dollars ($100) shall 

be submitted with each application. An applicant that owns or 

controls more than one retail location shall obtain a separate 

license for each retail location, but may submit a single application 

for those licenses with a one-time license fee of one hundred 

dollars ($100) per location. 

   (2) The one-time fee required by this subdivision does not apply 

to an application for renewal of a license for a retail location for 

which the one-time license fee has already been paid. If a license is 

reinstated after its expiration, the retailer, as a condition 

precedent to its reinstatement, shall pay a reinstatement fee of one 

hundred dollars ($100). 

 

 

 

22973.1.  (a) The board shall issue a license to a retailer upon 

receipt of a completed application and payment of the fees prescribed 

in Section 22973, unless any of the following apply: 

   (1) The retailer, or if the retailer is not an individual, any 



person controlling the retailer, has previously been issued a license 

that is suspended or revoked by the board for violation of any of 

the provisions of this division. 

   (2) The application is for a license or renewal of a license for a 

retail location that is the same retail location as that of a 

retailer whose license was revoked or is subject to revocation 

proceedings for violation of any of the provisions of this division, 

unless: 

   (A) It has been more than five years since a previous license for 

the retail location was revoked. 

   (B) The person applying for the license provides the board with 

documentation demonstrating that the applicant has acquired or is 

acquiring the premises or business in an arm's length transaction. 

For purposes of this section, an "arm's length transaction" is 

defined as a sale in good faith and for valuable consideration that 

reflects the fair market value in the open market between two 

informed and willing parties, neither under any compulsion to 

participate in the transaction. A sale between relatives, related 

companies or partners, or a sale for the primary purpose of avoiding 

the effect of the violations of this division that occurred at the 

retail location, is presumed not to be made at "arm's length." 

   (3) The retailer, or if the retailer is not an individual, any 

person controlling the retailer, has been convicted of a felony 

pursuant to Section 30473 or 30480 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (4) The retailer does not possess all required permits or licenses 

required under the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (b) (1) Any retailer who is denied a license may petition for a 

redetermination of the board's denial of the license within 30 days 

after service upon that retailer of the notice of the denial of the 

license. If a petition for redetermination is not filed within the 

30-day period, the determination of denial becomes final at the 

expiration of the 30-day period. 

   (2) Every petition for redetermination shall be in writing and 

shall state the specific grounds upon which the petition is founded. 

The petition may be amended to state additional grounds at anytime 

prior to the date on which the board issues its order or decision 

upon the petition for redetermination. 

   (3) If the petition for redetermination is filed within the 30-day 

period, the board shall reconsider the determination of the denial 

and, if the retailer has so requested in the petition, shall grant 

the retailer an oral hearing and shall give the retailer at least 10 

days' notice of the time and place of the hearing. The board may 

continue the hearing from time to time as may be necessary. 

   (4) The order or decision of the board upon a petition for 

redetermination becomes final 30 days after mailing of notice 

thereof. 

 

 

22973.2.  The board shall, upon request, provide to the State 

Department of Health Services, the office of the Attorney General, a 

law enforcement agency, and any agency authorized to enforce local 

tobacco control ordinances, access to the board's database of 

licenses issued to retailers within the jurisdiction of that agency 

or law enforcement agency. The agencies authorized by this section to 

access the board's database shall only access and use the board's 

database for purposes of enforcing tobacco control laws and shall 

adhere to all state laws, policies, and regulations pertaining to the 



protection of personal information and individual privacy. 

 

 

 

 

22974.  A retailer shall retain purchase invoices that meet the 

requirements set forth in Section 22978.4 for all cigarettes or 

tobacco products the retailer purchased for a period of four years. 

The records shall be kept at the retail location for at least one 

year after the purchase. Invoices shall be made available upon 

request during normal business hours for review inspection and 

copying by the board or by a law enforcement agency. Any retailer 

found in violation of these requirements or any person who fails, 

refuses, or neglects to retain or make available invoices for 

inspection and copying in accordance with this section shall be 

subject to penalties pursuant to Section 22981. 

 

 

 

22974.3.  (a) Notwithstanding any other provision of this division, 

upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 

retailer or any other person possesses, stores, owns, or has made a 

retail sale of an unstamped package of cigarettes, the board or the 

law enforcement agency shall be authorized to seize unstamped 

packages of cigarettes at the retail, or any other person's location. 

Any cigarettes seized by a law enforcement agency shall be delivered 

to the board, or its designee, within seven days, unless the 

cigarettes will be destroyed by that law enforcement agency, or 

unless the cigarettes are otherwise required to be used as evidence 

in an administrative, criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an 

ongoing law enforcement operation. Any cigarettes seized by the 

board or delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be 

deemed forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set forth 

in Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of Chapter 

7.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. In addition to the inventory of 

unstamped packages of cigarettes of a retailer or of any other 

person that is subject to forfeiture and seizure, the possession, 

storage, ownership, or retail sales of unstamped packages of 

cigarettes by a retailer or other person, as applicable, shall 

constitute a misdemeanor punishable by the following actions: 

   (1) A first violation involving seizure of a total quantity of 

less than 20 packages of unstamped cigarettes shall be a misdemeanor 

punishable by a fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000) or imprisonment 

not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 

imprisonment. 

   (2) A second violation within five years involving a seizure of a 

total quantity of less than 20 packages of unstamped cigarettes shall 

be a misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than two thousand 

dollars ($2,000) but not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) or 

imprisonment not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 

fine and imprisonment, and shall also result in the revocation of the 

license. 

   (3) A first violation involving seizure of a total quantity of 20 

packages of unstamped cigarettes or more shall be a misdemeanor 

punishable by a fine of two thousand dollars ($2,000) or imprisonment 

not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the fine and 

imprisonment. 



   (4) A second violation within five years involving seizure of a 

quantity of 20 packages of unstamped cigarettes or more shall be a 

misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not less than five thousand 

dollars ($5,000) but not to exceed fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) 

or imprisonment not to exceed one year in a county jail, or both the 

fine and imprisonment, and shall also result in the revocation of the 

license. 

   (b) Upon discovery by the board or a law enforcement agency that a 

retailer or any other person possesses, stores, owns, or has made a 

retail sale of tobacco products on which tax is due but has not been 

paid to the board, the board or law enforcement agency is authorized 

to seize such tobacco products at the retail, or any other person's 

location. Any tobacco products seized by a law enforcement agency 

shall be delivered to the board, or its designee, within seven days, 

unless otherwise required to be used as evidence in an 

administrative, criminal, or civil proceeding, or as part of an 

ongoing law enforcement operation. Any tobacco products seized by the 

board or delivered to the board by a law enforcement agency shall be 

deemed forfeited and the board shall comply with procedures set 

forth in Part 13 (commencing with Section 30436) of Division 2 of 

Chapter 7.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. It shall be presumed 

that tax has not been paid to the board on all tobacco products in 

the possession of a retailer or of any other person until the 

contrary is established by a proof of payment to the board or by a 

purchase invoice that shows that the retailer or other person, as 

applicable, paid the tax included purchase price to a licensed 

distributor, wholesaler, manufacturer, or importer as described in 

Section 22978.4. The burden of proof that tax has been paid on 

tobacco products shall be upon the retailer or the other person, as 

applicable, in possession thereof. Possession of untaxed tobacco 

products on which tax is due but has not been paid as required is a 

violation of this division and subjects the retailer or other person, 

as applicable, to the actions described in Section 22981. 

 

 

 

 

22974.4.  The board shall revoke the license, pursuant to the 

provisions applicable to the revocation of a license as set forth in 

Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code, of any retailer or 

any person controlling the retailer that has: 

   (a) Been convicted of a felony pursuant to Section 30473 or 30480 

of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (b) Had any permit or license revoked under any provision of the 

Revenue and Taxation Code. 

 

 

 

22974.5.  Any retailer who fails to display a license as required in 

Section 22972 shall, in addition to any other applicable penalty, be 

liable for a penalty of five hundred dollars ($500). 

 

 

 

22974.7.  In addition to any other civil or criminal penalty 

provided by law, upon a finding that a retailer has violated any 

provision of this division, the board may take the following actions: 



   (a) In the case of the first offense, the board may revoke or 

suspend the license or licenses of the retailer pursuant to the 

procedures applicable to the revocation of a license set forth in 

Section 30148 of the Revenue and Taxation Code. 

   (b) In the case of a second or any subsequent offense, in addition 

to the action authorized under subdivision (a), the board may impose 

a civil penalty in an amount not to exceed the greater of either of 

the following: 

   (1) Five times the retail value of the seized cigarettes or 

tobacco products. 

   (2) Five thousand dollars ($5,000). 

 

 

 

22974.8.  (a) (1) The board shall take action against a retailer, 

convicted of a violation of either the Stake Act (Division 8.5 

(commencing with Section 22950) or Section 308 of the Penal Code, 

according to the schedule set forth in subdivision (b). 

   (2) Convictions of violations by a retailer at one retail location 

may not be accumulated against other locations of that same 

retailer. 

   (3) Convictions of violations accumulated against a prior retail 

owner at a licensed location may not be accumulated against a new 

retail owner at the same retail location. 

   (4) Prior to suspending or revoking a retailer's license to sell 

cigarette and tobacco products, the board shall notify the retailer. 

The notice shall include instructions for appealing the license 

suspension or revocation. 

   (b) (1) Upon the first conviction of a violation of either the 

STAKE Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950) or Section 

308 of the Penal Code, the retailer shall receive a warning letter 

from the board that delineates the circumstances under which a 

retailer's license may by suspended or revoked and the amount of time 

the license may be suspended or revoked. The retailer and its 

employees shall receive training on tobacco control laws from the 

Department of Health Services upon a first conviction. 

   (2) Upon the second conviction of a violation of either the STAKE 

Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) or Section 308 of 

the Penal Code within 12 months, the retailer shall be subject to a 

fine of five hundred dollars ($500). 

   (3) Upon the third conviction of a violation of either the STAKE 

Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) or Section 308 of 

the Penal Code within 12 months, the retailer shall be subject to a 

fine of one thousand dollars ($1,000). 

   (4) Upon the fourth to the seventh conviction of a violation of 

either the STAKE Act (Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950)) 

or Section 308 of the Penal Code within 12 months, the board shall 

suspend the retailer's license to sell cigarette and tobacco products 

for 90 days. 

   (5) Upon the eighth conviction of a violation of the STAKE Act 

(Division 8.5 (commencing with Section 22950) or Section 308 of the 

Penal Code within 24 months, the board shall revoke the retailer's 

license to sell cigarette and tobacco products. 

   (c) The decision of the board to suspend or revoke the retailer's 

license may be appealed to the board within 30 days after the notice 

of suspension or revocation. All appeals shall be submitted in 

writing. 



   (d) The board's authority to take action against retailers, as set 

forth in this section, commences on the date of the release of the 

results from the survey undertaken by the Department of Health 

Services pursuant to Section 22952 of the Business and Professions 

Code Section 22952 to comply with Section 1926 of Title XIX of the 

federal Public Health Service Act (42 U.S.C. 300x-26), and any 

implementing regulations adopted in relation thereto by the United 

States Department of Health and Human Services, showing that the 

youth purchase survey finds that 13 percent or more of youth were 

able to purchase cigarettes. The board's authority to take action 

under this section is inoperative on or after the date of the 

subsequent release of the results from the survey showing that less 

than 13 percent of youth were able to purchase cigarettes. 

 

 

 


