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A Summary for Retailers

Two new California laws immediately affect tobacco retailers, including vape shops.

They include changes to the Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act
and California Penal Code Section 308.

As of June 9, 2016, retailers must comply with the following laws.

1. Retailers can sell tobacco products or paraphernalia only to individuals who
are at least 21 years old.!

2. The laws that apply to the sale of traditional tobacco products like cigarettes
also apply to the sale of electronic smoking devices like e-cigarettes.?

The sale of
tobacco products
including e-cigs
Is prohibited to

persons under 21.

Learn more at tobaccofreeca.com
For free help in quitting call
1-800-NO BUTTS
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Retaller Requirements

TOBACCO SALES

It is ILLEGAL to sell tobacco products or paraphernalia to any person under 21 years

Federal law states

. . : . . : that retailers MUST
of age. Tobacco products include electronic smoking devices, atomizers, vaping
tanks or mods, and e-liquids. check ID for tobacco
e Retailers can accept only a valid, unexpired government-issued photo ID product purchasers
(driver’s license, state ID, passport, military ID). who appear to be

e Exception: Active duty military personnel who are at least 18 years old are younger than
exempt, but they must show a valid, unexpired ID card issued by the United IWASTCEIER [ A
States Armed Forces.

WARNING SIGNS

Under the STAKE Act, retailers MUST post the new Age-of-Sale Warning Sign, which
states that the minimum sale age is 21 years.

SELF-SERVICE DISPLAYS

It is ILLEGAL to have a self-service display of tobacco products or paraphernalia in
your store (including electronic smoking devices, atomizers, vaping tanks or mods,
and e-liquids). A self-service display is any display that allows customers to access
items without help from the retailer.

e Exception: A tobacco store may have self-service displays of cigars in
packages of 6 or more in the original wrapping, pipe tobacco, snuff, chewing
tobacco, and dipping tobacco. This exception does not apply to electronic
smoking devices or e-liquids, or their components, parts, or accessories. A
tobacco store is a store that (1) generates more than 60% of its gross annual
revenue from the sale of tobacco products and paraphernalia; (2) does
not sell alcohol or food for consumption on the premises; and (3) prohibits
minors from entering unless that person is accompanied by his or her
parent or legal guardian.

NEW LICENSING REQUIREMENTS

By January 1, 2017, any retailer that sells electronic
smoking devices must apply to the State Board of
Equalization (BOE) for a license.® The new licensing
requirement applies only to retail locations that
do not already have a state license to sell tobacco
products.

Beginning January 1, 2017, existing tobacco retailers
are subject to an annual $265 license renewal fee. For
questions regarding licensing requirements, please
contact BOE Customer Service at 1-800-400-7115.




What are tobacco products
and tobacco paraphernalia?

A TOBACCO PRODUCT IS

e any product containing, made, or derived from tobacco or
nicotine that is intended for human consumption;

e any electronic smoking device (whether or not it contains
nicotine); or

e any component, part, or accessory of a tobacco product,
whether or not sold separately.

For example, atomizers, vaping tanks or mods, and e-liquids are tobacco
products. Tobacco product does not include any product that the United
States Food & Drug Administration (FDA) has approved as a cessation
product or for other therapeutic purposes in which the product is
marketed and sold solely for such an approved purpose. For example,
nicotine patches are not tobacco products.

TOBACCO PARAPHERNALIA INCLUDES

cigarette papers or wrappers, pipes, cigarette rolling machines, and
other instruments or products designed for the smoking or ingestion of
tobacco products. For example, atomizers, vaping tanks or mods, and
e-liquids are also tobacco paraphernalia.

Tobacco retailers are responsible for knowing and complying with all
federal, state, and local laws regarding the sale and distribution of
tobacco products. This summary does not include all federal, state,
and local laws that apply to tobacco retailers.

For more information please visit:
www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/STAKEProgram.aspx

1. Senate Bill No. 7, 2015-16 2d Extraordinary Sess., Amending Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code
§ 22958(a) (civil penalties) and Cal. Penal Code § 308(a) (civil and criminal penalties)
(Ca. 2016), available at https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.
xhtmI?bill_id=201520162SB7.

2. Senate Bill No. 5, 2015-16 2d Extraordinary Sess., Amending Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code
§§ 22950.5(c)-(d) (Ca. 2016), available at https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/
billCompareClient.xhtmI?bill_id=201520162SB5.

3. Cal.Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 22973.3, 22980.2; Assembly Bill No. 11, 2015-16 2d
Extraordinary Sess., Amending Cal. Bus. & Prof. Code §§ 22973(a)-(e) (Ca. 2016),
available at http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtmI?bill_
id=201520162AB11.



http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/Pages/STAKEProgram.aspx
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162SB7
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162SB7
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162SB5
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162SB5
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162AB11
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/billCompareClient.xhtml?bill_id=201520162AB11

