CP 1.5.1 Letter informing hospital of need to screen child over 1 year
of age

Dear Perinatal Manager:

Laboratory Manager:

Risk Manager:
We recently learned from your facility that it did not receive newborn screening
results on who was born . In checking our
computerized records of all babies screened in California, we could not find this
baby. Therefore we must assume that either the baby was not screened or that
the specimen collected at your facility never reached the screening laboratory.

California law requires that all babies born in the state be screened. Perinatal
licensed health facilities and birth attendants must 1)collect newborn screening
specimens from babies when they are between 12 hours of age and 6 days of
age and submit them to designated screening laboratories, and 2) review each
newborn’s medical record within 14 days of the baby’s discharge to determine
that results were received. If no results are located, the facility is to promptly
communicate this to the California Department of Public Health in the event that
another specimen needs to be collected.

In this situation, the hospital did not notify the Department that a newborn
screening result was not received until several months later (or “over one year
later”). The disorders for which the Department screens babies can cause
disability and even death if not detected and treated soon after birth. If this baby
has one of the 76 screened-for disorders, it is possible that he/she has already
sustained irreversible damage, for which your facility would be liable. However,
screening could still be of some benefit as the baby’s physician and family would
be able to respond accordingly if the baby tests positive for one of the screened-
for disorders. For this reason, it is imperative that you locate the baby’s doctor
and family and arrange for the child to be screened. We can assist in making
these arrangements, if necessary.

Please call us if you have any questions.
Sincerely,

Newborn Screening Coordinator
Phone #



