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100‐10 C O N S E N T  A N D  C O N F I D E N T I A L I T Y  R I G H T S  O F  M I N O R S  
 
PURPOSE 
To protect the confidentiality rights of minors participating in California Home Visiting 
Program (CHVP) services. 
 
POLICY 
The local CHVP staff must follow all California state laws and regulations pertaining to 
minor consent for services, release of information and parental notification. 
 
AUTHORITY 
California Family Code §§ 6924‐6929, California Health and Safety Code §§ 123110, 
123115, 124260; California Civil Code §§ 56.10, 56.11; 56.30; California Business and 
Professional Code §2397. 
 
PROCEDURE 
The local CHVP staff must use the following table and resources as a guide to the 
California consent and confidentiality rights of minors:  

 
  CALIFORNIA MINOR CONSENT LAWS 

Services Minors May Consent To 
Without Parent/Guardian Permission 

Can Provider Notify Parent/Guardian? 

Birth Control  
(except sterilization) 

Minors of any age NO  - Parental Notification is allowed only with Minor 
Consent 
 
 
 
 
 

Pregnancy (prevention, 
diagnosis and 
treatment) Including 
inpatient care 

Minors of any age 

Abortion Minors of any age 
STDs including HIV 
(prevention, diagnosis 
and treatment) 

Minors 12 years or 
older 

Sexual Assault/ Rape 
Services and Care 

Minors of any age YES - Under most circumstances, care providers must 
attempt to contact the minor’s parent/guardian.1,2

  
Drug and Alcohol 
Abuse Treatment 

Minors 12 years or 
older3,4 

IT DEPENDS - There are different confidentiality rules 
under federal and state law. Providers must determine 
and follow the rules appropriate to their circumstance. 

Outpatient Mental 
Health Services 

Minors 12 years or 
older5 

YES - Under most circumstances, care providers must 
attempt to contact minor’s parent/guardian.6 

1. A minor may consent to medical care related to the prevention or treatment of pregnancy, except sterilization. 
2. The law allows for some exceptions to parental notification which includes suspecting the parent of assault 

and certain cases of rape. 
3. Sexual assault requires a child abuse report, in which case youth should be advised that parents may be 

notified by law enforcement or child protective services. 
4. Parent/guardian can consent over the minor’s objection. 
5. Parent/guardian’s consent is required for methadone treatment. 
6. In the opinion of the provider, the minor must be “mature” enough to participate intelligently. 
7. For services provided under new minor consent law, Health and Safety Code 124260, enacted 1/1/11, 

providers must consult with the minor before deciding whether to involve parents. 
  Table was originally adapted from: Understanding Confidentiality and Minor Consent in California: An Adolescent Provider Toolkit, 2011 

 http://www.californiateenhealth.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/toolkit-rri-Web.pdf 
 

REFERENCES  
CDPH Statement on Minor Consent for STD Prevention Services: 
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/std/Documents/Minor_Consent_for_STD_Services.pdf 

http://www.californiateenhealth.org/wp-content/uploads/2011/11/toolkit-rri-Web.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/std/Documents/Minor_Consent_for_STD_Services.pdf

