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IMPORTANT NOTICE 

Application and Renewal Fee Changes 
 

To:                All California and Out-of-state Clinical Laboratory Facilities and  
                     Phlebotomy personnel 
Regarding:   New Clinical Laboratory License and Registration Fees and Phlebotomy  
                     fees 
 
The 2009 California State Legislature recently passed SB 744 which was signed into law by the 
Governor on 10/11/09.  This bill amended the Business and Professions Code relating to clinical 
laboratories and phlebotomy personnel, specifically sections 1206, 1223, 1246, 1300, and 1302 
and added Section 1300.2.  The bill contained an urgency clause and is effective immediately. 
 
The major changes are: 
 

• The application and renewal fees for phlebotomy certification have been changed.  
 

• Clinical laboratory license fees will no longer be a single standard fee, but will be 
calculated for each laboratory based upon the annual volume of moderate and high 
complexity clinical laboratory tests performed by the laboratory.  Clinical laboratory 
registration fees for Waived or Provider Performed Microscopy (PPMP) will remain as a 
single standard fee for each registration type. 

 
• A clinical laboratory, licensed or registered, that does not renew its license or registration 

by its expiration date, but renews within 60 days after the expiration date, will be 
assessed a delinquency fee equal to 25% of its renewal fee. 

 
• Not-for-profit, or federal, state, or local government laboratories that engage in limited 

public health testing that have included multiple sites under a single license or certificate 
will be assessed an additional fee for each location.  

 
The application, renewal and delinquency fee schedule, as authorized by SB 744, is given 
below this notice. 
 
The 2009 legislation will help provide resources for the department to carry out its mandate to 
protect the health of all California residents who require clinical laboratory testing and ensure 
laboratory personnel standards through certification. 
 

 

Laboratory Field Services, California Department of Public Health, 850 Marina Bay Parkway, Richmond CA 94804-6403 
(510) 620-3800 

Internet Address:  http://cdph.ca.gov/lfs 
 

http://cdph.ca.gov/lfs


 

 
 

CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 
CLINICAL LABORATORY LICENSE/ REGISTRATION ANNUAL FEES AND PHLEBOTOMY 2 YEAR CERTIFICATE FEE 

Effective: October 11, 2009 
Type of Lab  Annual Test Volume  Application Fee Renewal Fee * Delinquency Fee 

Waived N/A $100.00 $100.00 $25.00 
PPMP N/A $150.00 $150.00 $38.00 
Sch. V Less than 2,001 Tests $270.00 $170.00 $43.00 

Sch. A 
Between 2,001 and 10,000, 
inclusive, tests $820.00 $720.00 $180.00 

Sch. C 
Between 10,001 and 25,000, 
inclusive, tests $1,315.00 $1,115.00 $279.00 

Sch. E 
Between 25,001 and 50,000, 
inclusive, tests $1,580.00 $1,380.00 $345.00 

Sch. F 
Between 50,001 and 75,000, 
inclusive, tests $1,960.00 $1,760.00 $440.00 

Sch. G 
Between 75,001 and 
100,000, inclusive, tests $2,340.00 $2,040.00 $510.00 

Sch. H 
Between 100,001 and 
500,000, inclusive, tests $2,740.00 $2,440.00 $610.00 

Sch. I 
Between 500,001 and 
1,000,000, inclusive, tests $4,910.00 $4,610.00 $1,153.00 

Sch. J 

 
More than 1,000,000 tests 
per year. 

 
$5,260.00 plus 
$350.00 for every 
500,000 tests over 
1,000,000 

 
$4,960.00 plus 
$350.00 for every 
500,000 tests over 
1,000,000 

 
$1,240.00 plus 
$88.00 for every 
500,000 tests over 
1,000,000 

Additional location (not for profit, limited public 
health tests, government) $25.00/site $25.00/site N/A 

* A delinquency fee, equal to 25 % of the renewal fee, is charged if the license or registration is not renewed on or before the expiration date.  

Phlebotomy two year certificate fee $100.00 $100.00   N/A 
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