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DATE:  OCTOBER 27, 2015 

 
TO: LOCAL ADAP COORDINATORS AND ADAP ENROLLMENT WORKERS  

  
SUBJECT: COVERED CALIFORNIA OPEN ENROLLMENT AND OA HEALTH 

INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENT (HIPP) PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS 

                                     
The purpose of this memo is to inform enrollment workers that Covered California open 
enrollment period for 2016 coverage is November 1, 2015 through January 31, 2016.  
 
In mid-October, OA sent letters to ADAP-only clients to inform them of their Covered 
California or Medi-Cal Expansion (MCE) health care options and how to apply. OA also 
sent letters to OA-HIPP clients who are enrolled in a Covered California health plan to 
inform them of Covered California’s renewal process and subsequent OA-HIPP 
requirements. Both letters are attached to this memo. Please read both letters as they 
contain details regarding Covered California and MCE eligibility criteria, how to apply, 
how to ensure automatic Covered California renewal, and potential tax penalties for 
uninsured individuals. Clients who listed Spanish as their preferred language on their 
ADAP application received the letter in Spanish.  
 
Covered California Enrollment 
Clients who are uninsured and are eligible for Covered California are strongly 
encouraged to apply. Please see the Covered California coverage effective timeline: 
 

Submit Covered California Application: Covered California Coverage Start Date: 

By December 15, 2015 January 1, 2016 

After December 15, 2015 February 1, 2016 

By January 15, 2016 February 1, 2016 

After January 15, 2016 March 1, 2016 

 
Depending on the client’s income, there are ways to minimize out-of-pockets costs: 

 For individuals with an income between 139 percent and 200 percent Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) ($16, 244 - $23,540 for individuals) the “Silver” plan is 

Office of AIDS, MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
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usually most cost-effective. In some cases (based on income), clients may 
qualify for an “Enhanced Silver” plan. This plan offers enhanced out-of-pocket 
savings.  

 For individuals with an income of 201 percent FPL or higher ($23,541 for 
individuals), the “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective. 

 
Please note that OA-HIPP is working towards paying outpatient medical out-of-pocket 
costs. The effective date is expected to be sometime in mid-2016. OA-HIPP will provide 
more information as it becomes available. 
 
OA-HIPP Enrollment 
Once clients have enrolled in coverage through Covered California, they may apply for 
OA-HIPP assistance. For complete OA-HIPP applications received by February 29, 
2016, OA-HIPP will pay back to the 2016 coverage effective month. For applications 
that are received on or after March 1, 2016, OA-HIPP will pay starting the month the 
complete application is received. Please note that new OA-HIPP clients must pay their 
own premiums until it has been confirmed that an OA-HIPP payment has been sent and 
posted to the client’s health plan account. Clients must contact their health plan to get a 
refund for any month(s) that are paid by both the client and OA-HIPP. In order for OA-
HIPP to process the application package, it is critical that all of the required documents 
listed below are submitted to OA-HIPP. 
 
Required OA-HIPP enrollment documents for individuals newly enrolled in a Covered 
California health plan: 

1. OA-HIPP Program Application, 
2. Insurance Assistance Consent Form, 
3. Health insurance plan billing statement, and  
4. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

summary page can be found on the client’s online Covered California account 
under “Current Enrollment.”   

 
Clients who are eligible for an Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC) must select the 
full amount to be applied to their premium in order to qualify for OA-HIPP. 
 
Covered California Renewal 
Current Covered California clients should receive a notice from Covered California after 
October 12, 2015. The notice will prompt clients to log in to their online Covered 
California account to renew their health plan for 2016 coverage. Clients are encouraged 
to renew their health plan as soon as they receive the Covered California letter.  
 
To ensure that OA-HIPP pays the updated 2016 premium and/or health plan, the 
following documents are required: 

1. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page, 
2. Health insurance plan billing statement, and 
3. New OA-HIPP Program application. 

 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/pubsforms/forms/Documents/CDPH_8522.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/pubsforms/forms/Documents/CDPH_8522.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Documents/CDPH8685.pdf
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/pubsforms/forms/Documents/CDPH_8522.pdf
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The documents must be submitted by November 15, 2015 in order for OA-HIPP to start 
paying at the new rates starting January 1, 2016.  
 
Report Changes to Covered California 
It is critical that clients report changes to Covered California throughout the year to 
avoid underpayment or overpayment of APTC. A client should notify Covered California 
if he/she gets married or divorced, gains or loses a dependent, has a change in income, 
or experiences other changes that may affect the household income or household size. 
Clients should report changes within 30 days of change by calling Covered California at 
(800) 300-1506. 
 
If you have any questions about anything covered in this memo, please contact your 
ADAP Advisor.  

 

Thank you, 

 
Niki Dhillon, ADAP Branch Chief  

California Department of Public Health  

cc: ADAP Coordinators 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Documents/ADAPStaffLHJAssignments.pdf
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Dear Client: 
 
You are getting this letter because you are enrolled in the California Department of Public 
Health (CDPH), Prescription Drug Assistance Program. If you are uninsured, this program 
pays the full cost of your monthly drugs. If you are insured, it pays your drug co-pays. Here 
is an example of the prescription drug card that all clients have: 

 
The purpose of this letter is to inform you of your health care options.  
 
Health Care Options 

1. Medi-Cal Expansion (MCE) is free or low cost health care. Regardless of 
disability status, you may be eligible for MCE if you: 

 are between the ages of 19 to 64,  

 are a lawfully present California resident, and 

 have an income up to138 percent of the Federal Poverty Level (FPL) 
($16,243 or less per year for an individual). 

 
If you are eligible for MCE, you must apply. Once enrolled into MCE, you will be dis-
enrolled from the drug assistance program. Your drugs will be covered through MCE. 

 
2. Covered California is a marketplace for private health care coverage (regardless 

of pre-existing conditions) for: 

 lawfully present California residents, 

 with income over 138 percent FPL ($16,244 or more per year for an 
individual). 
 

If you are eligible for Covered California, we strongly urge you to enroll. The Covered 
California open enrollment period is November 1, 2015 through January 31, 2016. 

 
Depending on your income, Covered California may offer you: 

MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
(844) 421-7050, Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov  
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 tax credits that lower your premium amount 

 subsidies that lower your out-of-pocket costs 
 
When to Apply 
You can apply for MCE at any time during the year. You can apply to Covered California 
during the open enrollment period listed above. Please note the Covered California 
coverage effective timeline: 
 

Submit Application Coverage Start Date 

By December 15, 2015 January 1, 2016 

After December 15, 2015 February 1, 2016 

By January 15, 2016 February 1, 2016 

After January 15, 2016 March 1, 2016 

 
How to Apply 
There is one application to apply for MCE or Covered California. Ways to apply: 
 

1. In-person – Please visit www.coveredca.com. Click on the “Get Help” tab. Then 
select “Find Local Help.” You will be able to search for free, confidential, in-
person help in your area. If you are eligible for Covered California, it is best to 
get help from a certified enrollment worker. If you are eligible for MCE, it is best 
to enroll in-person. To find your local county health care services agency, please 
visit http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/Pages/CountyOffices.aspx.  
 

2. Online – Please visit www.coveredca.com. Click on the “Apply” tab. Then click 
on the “Apply Now” link. Select “Individuals & Families.” At this point you’ll need 
to create an account. Then you can enroll in coverage.  

 
3. Telephone (800) 300-1506 – The operator will answer your questions and 

submit your application for you. 
 
How to Choose a Plan 
You may call your provider to see which Covered California plan(s) they are in. Also, 
you may want to consult with a benefits counselor who knows about your specific health 
condition(s). 
 
Depending on your income, there are ways to lower your out-of-pockets costs: 

 Incomes between 139 percent and 200 percent Federal Poverty Level (FPL)  
o $16,244 - $23,540 for individuals 
o “Silver” plan is usually most cost-effective  

 Incomes of 201 percent FPL or higher 
o $23,541 for individuals  
o “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective 

 
If you are eligible for an Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC), you must select the full 
amount to be applied to your premium. 
 

http://www.coveredca.com/
http://www.dhcs.ca.gov/services/medi-cal/Pages/CountyOffices.aspx
http://www.coveredca.com/
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How to Ensure Automatic Covered California Renewal 
When you apply, you may give Covered California consent to get your tax data from the 
Internal Revenue Service. The purpose is to check your income and eligibility for 
subsidies. You may give consent for up to five years. We strongly urge you to take this 
action. This ensures automatic renewal in your health plan. Otherwise, you will have to 
reapply for health coverage during every open enrollment period.   
 
Premium Payment Assistance 
If you qualify for MCE, there are no monthly premiums. If you obtain insurance coverage 
through a Covered California health plan, you may qualify for health insurance premium 
assistance. The CDPH, Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program may pay 
your premiums on your behalf. To apply for HIPP assistance, please send in the 
following documents:   
 

1. HIPP Program Application 
2. Insurance Assistance Consent Form 
3. Health insurance plan billing statement  
4. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

summary page can be found on your online account under “Current 
Enrollment.”   

 
Please submit all documents by: 
 
Mail:      Or   Fax: 
CDPH, HIPP Program      (916) 440-5490 
P.O. Box 997426, MS 7704  
Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 

 
You may work with your enrollment worker to submit these documents.  It is vital that 
you submit the documents listed above to the HIPP Program as soon as you enroll in a 
health plan. Once you are enrolled in the HIPP Program, a payment will be sent to your 
health plan on your behalf.  You must pay your own premiums until it has been 
confirmed that a HIPP Program payment has been sent and posted to your account. To 
get a refund for premium(s) paid out of pocket, you must contact your health plan. 
 
For complete HIPP applications received by February 29, 2016, the HIPP Program will 
pay back to the 2016 coverage effective month. For applications that are received on or 
after March 1, 2016, the HIPP Program will pay starting the month the complete 
application is received.  
 
Once you are enrolled, the HIPP Program will pay: 

1. your health insurance premiums 
2. the drug deductibles and co-pays for drugs on the program’s formulary 
 

Please note that the drugs must be from a pharmacy that is in-network for your health 
plan and the drug assistance program. These drug costs will count towards your health 
plan’s out-of-pocket maximum. 
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Also, the HIPP Program will start paying medical out of pocket costs soon. The program 
will cover allowable medical out of pocket costs as per the Health Resources and 
Services Administration. The effective date is expected to be sometime in mid-2016. 
The HIPP Program will send you more information as it becomes available. 
  
Report Changes to Covered California 
It is vital that you report any change in your household size and income to Covered 
California. You must report the change within 30 days. You must report things such as if 
you: get married or divorced, have a child, move, get a raise, etc. To report a change, 
call Covered California at (800) 300-1506 or log in to your account.  
 
Your APTC and/or premium amount will be adjusted. You must notify the HIPP Program 
right away. You will need to submit updated documents, including: 

1. A new health insurance billing statement  
2. Your Covered California summary page  
3. An updated HIPP Program application  

 
Tax Penalties 
Individuals without health insurance coverage may have to pay a fee. The fee is 2.5 
percent of income or $695 per adult, whichever is greater. The fee will be paid when 
you file your taxes. For more information about fees, please call (800) 300-1506.  
 
Have Questions? 
Please call the following resources: 

 your drug assistance program enrollment worker  

 (888) 311-7632 (Pharmacy Benefits Manager) for questions about the drug 
assistance program  

 (844) 421-7050 for questions about the HIPP Program 

 (800) 300-1506 or visit www.coveredca.com for questions about Covered 
California  

 
 

Thank You 
 

California Department of Public Health Notice 
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Dear Client: 
 
You are getting this letter because you are enrolled in the California Department of 
Public Health (CDPH), Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program. This 
program pays your Covered California health insurance plan premiums. It also pays 
your drug co-pays. Here is an example of the prescription drug card that all clients have:  

 
The purpose of this letter is to remind you to renew your Covered California health plan 
for 2016. The Covered California open enrollment period is November 1, 2015 through 
January 31, 2016. However, you can renew your health plan starting October 12, 2015. 
 
How to Renew Your Covered California Health Plan 
You should receive a notice from Covered California after October 12, 2015. The notice 
will prompt you to log in to your Covered California account to renew your health plan. 
There are two types of renewals: 
 
Passive Renewal:  

 occurs if you gave Covered California consent to check your tax data with the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)  

 health plan renewal will be automatic 

 no action is required unless you would like to change your health plan 
 
Active Renewal: 

 You must actively renew your Covered California health coverage via any 
method: 

o Log in to your Covered California account  
o Call (800) 300-1506  
o Or work with your certified enroller  

 You’ll need to update your household size and/or income. 

 If desired, you can change your health plan selection for next year. 

MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
(844) 421-7050, Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov 
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 If no action is taken, you will be renewed into your current plan.  
 
How to Ensure Automatic Covered California Renewal 
When you renew, you may give Covered California consent to get your tax data from 
the IRS. The purpose is to check your income and eligibility for subsidies. You may give 
consent for up to five years. This ensures automatic renewal in your health plan. 
Otherwise, you will have to re-apply for health coverage during every open enrollment 
period. You can update your consent to verify income online. On your application 
homepage, click “Update Consent for Verification.” We strongly urge you to take this 
action. 
 
How to Choose a Plan 
If you would like to switch health plans, now is your chance. First, call your provider to 
see which Covered California plan(s) they are in. Also, you may want to consult with a 
benefits counselor who knows about your specific health condition(s). 
 
Depending on your income, there are ways to lower your out-of-pockets costs: 

 Incomes between 139 percent and 200 percent Federal Poverty Level (FPL)  
o $16,244 - $23,540 for individuals 
o  “Silver” plan is usually most cost-effective  

 Incomes of 201 percent FPL or higher 
o $23,541 for individuals  
o “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective  

 
If you have an Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC), you must select the full amount 
to be applied to your premium. This is required by the HIPP Program. 
 
New Policy Coming Soon 
Please note that the HIPP Program will start paying medical out-of-pocket costs soon. 
The program will cover allowable medical out of pocket costs as per the Health 
Resources and Services Administration.  The effective date is expected to be sometime 
in mid-2016. The HIPP Program will send you more information as it becomes available. 
 
HIPP Program Renewal 
Through the Covered California renewal process, your premium amount, APTC, and/or 
health plan will change. To ensure that the HIPP Program has your updated information 
you must provide the following: 
 

1. Screen print of your online summary page under “Current Enrollment” or a 
           Covered California Welcome Letter 

2. Health insurance plan billing statement 
3. A new HIPP Program application 

 
You can send documents by: 
 
Mail:      Or   Fax: 
CDPH, HIPP Program      (916) 440-5490 
P.O. Box 997426, MS 7704  
Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
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You may also submit these documents via your enrollment worker. Please send your 
updated documents by November 15, 2015 to ensure that the HIPP Program pays the 
correct health plan and rate starting January 2016.  
 
Report Changes to Covered California 
It is vital that you report any change in your household size and income to Covered 
California. You must report the change within 30 days. You must report things such as if 
you: get married or divorced, have a child, move, get a raise, etc. To report a change, 
call Covered California at (800) 300-1506 or log in to your account.  
 
Your APTC and/or premium amount will be adjusted. You must notify the HIPP Program 
right away. You will need to submit the following documents: 
 

1. A new health insurance billing statement  
2. Your Covered California summary page  
3. An updated HIPP Program application  

 
Tax Penalties 
Individuals without health insurance coverage may have to pay a fee. The fee is 2.5 
percent of income or $695 per adult, whichever is greater. The fee will be paid when 
you file your taxes.  
 
Have Questions? 
Please call the following resources: 

 your drug assistance program enrollment worker  

 (888) 311-7632 (Pharmacy Benefits Manager) for questions about the drug 
assistance program  

 (844) 421-7050 for questions about the HIPP Program 

 (800) 300-1506 or visit www.coveredca.com  for questions about Covered 
California  

 
 

Thank You 
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