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DATE:  OCTOBER 14, 2016 

 
TO: LOCAL ADAP COORDINATORS AND ADAP ENROLLMENT WORKERS  

  
SUBJECT: COVERED CALIFORNIA OPEN ENROLLMENT AND OA HEALTH 

INSURANCE PREMIUM PAYMENT (HIPP) PROGRAM REQUIREMENTS,  

                                     
The purpose of this memo is to inform enrollment workers that Covered California open 
enrollment period for 2017 coverage is November 1, 2016 through January 31, 2017.  
 
In mid-October, OA sent letters to: 

1. ADAP-only clients (those who have no health coverage and for whom ADAP is 
paying the full cost of their ADAP prescriptions) to inform them of their Covered 
California health care options and how to apply.  

2. OA-HIPP clients who are enrolled in a Covered California health plan to inform 
them of Covered California’s renewal process and subsequent OA-HIPP 
requirements.  
 

Both letters are attached to this memo. Please read both letters as they contain details 
regarding Covered California eligibility criteria, how to apply, how to ensure automatic 
Covered California renewal, and potential tax penalties for uninsured individuals. Clients 
who listed Spanish as their preferred language on their ADAP application received the 
letter in Spanish.  
 
Covered California Enrollment 
Clients who are uninsured and are eligible for Covered California are strongly 
encouraged to apply. Please see the Covered California coverage effective timeline: 

Submit Application Coverage Start Date 

By December 15, 2016 January 1, 2017 

December 16, 2016 through 
January 15, 2017 

February 1, 2017 

January 16, 2017 through 
January 31, 2017 

March 1, 2017 

Office of AIDS, MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
(844) 421-7050/ Fax (916) 440-5490 

Internet Address:  www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/AIDS 
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Although a client may enroll in OA-HIPP to have his/her premiums and outpatient 
medical out of pocket costs covered, there may be other out of pocket costs that the 
client would be responsible for. Therefore, depending on the client’s income, there are 
ways to minimize out of pocket costs: 

 For individuals with an income between 139 percent and 200 percent Federal 
Poverty Level (FPL) ($16, 395 - $23,760 for individuals) the “Silver” plan is 
usually most cost-effective. In some cases (based on income), clients may 
qualify for an “Enhanced Silver” plan. This plan offers enhanced out-of-pocket 
savings.  

 For individuals with an income of 201 percent FPL or higher ($23,761 for 
individuals), the “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective. 
 

Clients who are eligible for an Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC) must select the 
full amount to be applied to their premium in order to qualify for OA-HIPP. 
 
New OA-HIPP Enrollment 
Once clients have enrolled in coverage through Covered California, they may apply for 
OA-HIPP assistance. To avoid having clients pay premiums and outpatient medical out 
of pocket costs on their own while their OA-HIPP application is being reviewed, clients 
are encouraged to work with an enrollment worker who is both a Covered California 
enroller and an ADAP enrollment worker. Please see the list of enrollment sites that 
have enrollment workers who are ADAP enrollment workers and Covered California 
enrollers: 
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Documents/ADAPandCCEnrollmentSites.pdf  
 
The enrollment worker will need to ensure enrollment in the OA-HIPP program 24 to 48 
hours after enrollment in Covered California. To ensure efficient flow of information 
between ADAP’s three contractors, it is important that clients are electronically enrolled 
in OA-HIPP via the A.J. Boggs portal and that the following required document is 
uploaded: Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 
documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC taken, 
enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing address (if available). A 
screenshot or screen-print(s) from the Covered California account is permissible. In the 
A.J. Boggs portal, in the Insurance Assistance tab, please upload the Covered 
California documentation into the upload field that asks for the “most recent Covered 
California medical plan billing statement”. In this situation, a billing statement will not be 
required until after the binder payment is made and the health plan issues the billing 
statement to the client. Also, please enter the Covered California enrollment 
confirmation number into the “Member or Subscriber ID” field. Since the client may not 
have his/her health plan member/subscriber/policy ID number until after the billing 
statement is received, it is critical that the Covered California enrollment confirmation 
number is communicated to OA-HIPP. This number will be sent with the premium 
payment. It ensures that the payment is applied correctly with the health plan.  
 
The enrollment worker should notify his/her ADAP Advisor to alert him/her that a new 
OA-HIPP application that requires an initial premium payment to be made has been 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Documents/ADAPandCCEnrollmentSites.pdf
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submitted in the A.J. Boggs portal. The ADAP Advisor will ensure that such applications 
are prioritized for review/approval. Once the initial premium is paid by OA-HIPP, the 
client will receive a health plan billing statement from his/her health plan. It is important 
that the billing statement is uploaded to the A.J. Boggs portal so that we may obtain the 
client’s health plan member ID/policy number.  
 
If enrolling in OA-HIPP more than 48 hours after enrollment in Covered California, the 
client will likely need to make the initial premium payment on his/her own to secure 
his/her health insurance. For complete OA-HIPP applications received by February 28, 
2017, OA-HIPP will pay back to the 2017 coverage effective month. For applications 
that are received on or after March 1, 2017, OA-HIPP will pay starting the month the 
complete application is received. 
 
Covered California Renewal for Current Clients 
Current Covered California clients should receive a notice from Covered California after 
October 5, 2016. The notice will prompt clients to log in to their online Covered 
California account to renew their health plan for 2017 coverage. Clients are encouraged 
to renew their health plan as soon as they receive the Covered California letter.  
To ensure that OA-HIPP pays the updated 2017 premium and/or health plan, it is critical 
that the client’s health coverage and health insurance tabs in the A.J. Boggs portal are 
updated as soon as possible. Also, the following documents must be uploaded: 

1. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page 
2. An updated health insurance plan billing statement 

 
The documents must be submitted by December 1, 2016 in order for OA-HIPP to start 
paying at the new rates starting January 1, 2017.  
 
Report Changes to Covered California 
It is critical that clients report changes to Covered California throughout the year to 
avoid underpayment or overpayment of APTC. A client should notify Covered California 
if he/she gets married or divorced, gains or loses a dependent, has a change in income, 
or experiences other changes that may affect the household income or household size. 
Clients should report changes within 30 days of change by calling Covered California at 
(800) 300-1506. 
 
If you have any questions about anything covered in this memo, please contact your 
ADAP Advisor.  

 

Thank you, 

 

 

 

 

Niki Dhillon, ADAP Branch Chief  

California Department of Public Health  

 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/programs/aids/Documents/ADAPStaffLHJAssignments.pdf
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MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
(844) 550-3944, Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov 

October 12, 2016 
 
 
Dear Client: 
 
You are getting this letter because you are enrolled in the California Department of 
Public Health (CDPH), Prescription Drug Assistance Program. This program pays the 
full cost of your monthly drugs. Also, effective July 1, 2016, clients with a household 
income between 400 percent and 500 percent of the federal poverty level (FPL) 
($47,520 and $59,400 annually for 2016) no longer have a co-payment obligation. Here 
is an example of the prescription drug card that all clients have: 

 
 

The purpose of this letter is to urge you to enroll in Covered California health coverage. 
Covered California is a marketplace for private health care coverage for: 

 lawfully present California residents, 

 with income over 138 percent FPL ($16,395 or more per year for an 
individual).  
 

If you are eligible for Covered California, we strongly urge you to enroll. You may qualify 
to have your health insurance premiums and outpatient medical out of pocket costs 
covered by CDPH. The Covered California open enrollment period is November 1, 
2016 through January 31, 2017. If you don’t obtain health insurance, you may face a 
tax penalty. 
 
How to Apply 
There are three ways to apply: 

1. In-person – Please call Covered California at (800) 300-1506 or visit 
www.coveredca.com. Click on the “Get Help” tab. Then select “Find Local Help.” 
You will be able to search for free, confidential, in-person help in your area. If 
you are eligible for Covered California, it is best to get help from a certified 
enrollment worker.  

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/
http://www.coveredca.com/
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2. Online – Please visit www.coveredca.com. Click on the “Apply for Coverage” 
tab. Then click on the “Apply Now” link. At this point you’ll need to create an 
account. Then you can enroll in coverage.  

3. Telephone (800) 300-1506 – The operator will answer your questions and 
submit your application for you. 

 
Please note the Covered California coverage effective timeline: 

Submit Application Coverage Start Date 

By December 15, 2016 January 1, 2017 

December 16, 2016 through 
January 15, 2017 

February 1, 2017 

January 16, 2017 through 
January 31, 2017 

March 1, 2017 

 
How to Choose a Plan 
You may call your provider to see which Covered California plan(s) they are in. Also, 
you may want to consult with a benefits counselor who knows about your specific health 
condition(s). 
 
Although you may qualify to have your outpatient medical out of pocket costs covered 
by CDPH, there are other medical out of pocket costs that you may incur. Therefore, 
depending on your income, there are ways to lower your out of pocket costs: 

 Incomes between 139 percent and 200 percent FPL  
o $16,395 - $23,760 for individuals 
o “Silver” plan is usually most cost-effective  

 Incomes of 201 percent FPL or higher 
o $23,761 for individuals  
o “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective 

 
If you are eligible for an Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC), you must select the full 
amount to be applied to your premium. 
 
How to Ensure Automatic Covered California Renewal 
When you apply, you may give Covered California consent to get your tax data from the 
Internal Revenue Service. This ensures automatic renewal in your health plan every 
year. Otherwise, you will have to reapply for health coverage every open enrollment 
period.  
 
Insurance Premium and Out of Pocket Cost Assistance 
If you obtain private health insurance coverage, you may qualify for the CDPH Health 
Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) program. If enrolled, the HIPP program would pay: 

1. Your health insurance premiums 
2. Outpatient medical out of pocket costs that count towards your medical 

insurance policy’s annual maximum. This may include the cost of annual 
deductibles, doctor visits, outpatient laboratory or outpatient diagnostic study 
co-pays, and co-insurance. 

http://www.coveredca.com/
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To be eligible for HIPP, you must maintain eligibility in the prescription drug assistance 
program. 
 
How to Apply 
There are two ways to apply for the HIPP program: 

1. You may apply for HIPP assistance via the electronic A.J. Boggs Portal. If you 
have your log-in information for your online portal with A.J. Boggs, you may enroll 
on your own.  Or, you may work with your enrollment worker. You will need to 
update the “Health Coverage” and “Insurance Assistance” tabs in the Update 
Form. You will also need to upload the following documents:   

1. Health insurance plan billing statement  
1. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC 
taken, enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing 
address (if available). 

 
2. You may also apply via mail or fax to A.J. Boggs:  

 
Mail:  A.J. Boggs & Company    Fax: (844) 666-1411 

  4660 S. Hagadorn Rd. Suite 290 
  East Lansing, MI 48823 
   

You will need to send the following documents: 
2. HIPP Program Application  
3. Health insurance plan billing statement  
4. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC 
taken, enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing 
address (if available). 

 
To avoid having to pay premiums and outpatient medical out of pocket costs on your 
own, you should work with an enrollment worker who is both a Covered California 
enroller and a prescription drug assistance program enrollment worker. The enrollment 
worker will ensure timely enrollment in Covered California and the HIPP program. To 
find an enrollment worker who does HIPP and Covered California enrollment, please 
call (844) 550-3944 visit the prescription drug assistance program webpage. In order for 
HIPP to pay your initial Covered California health plan premium on your behalf, your 
enrollment worker will need to ensure enrollment in the HIPP program 24 to 48 hours 
after enrollment in Covered California. 
 
If enrolling in HIPP more than 48 hours after enrollment in Covered California, you may 
likely need to make the initial premium payment on your own to secure your health 
insurance. For complete HIPP applications received by February 28, 2017, the HIPP 
program will pay back to the 2017 coverage effective month. For applications that are 
received on or after March 1, 2017, the HIPP program will pay starting the month the 
complete application is received. 
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Report Changes to Covered California 
It is vital that you report any change in your household size and income to Covered 
California within 30 days. You must report if you: get married or divorced, have a child, 
move, get a raise, etc. To report a change, call Covered California at (800) 300-1506 or 
log in to your account.  
 
Your APTC and/or premium amount will be adjusted. You must notify the HIPP program 
right away. You or your enrollment worker will need to update your HIPP application 
electronically in the A.J. Boggs portal. Or you may submit an updated paper application. 
You will also need to submit the following: 

1. A new health insurance billing statement  
2. Your Covered California summary page  

 
Tax Penalty 
People without health insurance coverage may have to pay a fee. The fee is 2.5 percent 
of income or $695 per adult, whichever is greater. The fee will be paid when you file 
your taxes.  
 
Have Questions? 
Please call the following resources: 

 your prescription drug assistance program enrollment worker  

 (844) 550-3944 for questions about program eligibility and enrollment 

 (800) 300-1506 or visit www.coveredca.com for questions about Covered 
California  

 
Thank You 

California Department of Public Health Notice 
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Dear Client: 
 
You are getting this letter because you are enrolled in the California Department of 
Public Health (CDPH), Health Insurance Premium Payment (HIPP) Program. This 
program pays your Covered California health insurance plan premiums. Effective July 1, 
2016, it also has the mechanism to pay outpatient medical out of pocket costs. It also 
pays your drug co-pays. Please note that effective July 1, 2016, clients with a 
household income between 400 percent and 500 percent of the federal poverty level 
(FPL) ($47,520 and $59,400 annually for 2016) no longer have a co-payment obligation. 
Here is an example of the prescription drug card that all clients have:  

 
The purpose of this letter is to remind you to renew your Covered California health plan 
for 2017 coverage. The Covered California open enrollment period is November 1, 
2016 through January 31, 2017. However, you can renew your health plan after 
October 5, 2016. Please send your updated health plan documents by December 1, 
2016 to ensure that the HIPP program pays the correct health plan and rate 
starting January 1, 2017. 
 
How to Renew Your Covered California Health Plan 
You should receive a notice from Covered California after October 5, 2016. The notice 
will prompt you to log in to your Covered California account to renew your health plan. 
There are two types of renewals: 
 
Passive Renewal:  

 occurs if you gave Covered California consent to check your tax data with the 
Internal Revenue Service (IRS)  

 health plan renewal will be automatic 

 no action is required unless you would like to change your health plan 
Active Renewal: 
You must actively renew your Covered California health coverage via any method: 

MS 7700, P.O. Box 997426, Sacramento, CA 95899-7426 
(844) 550-3944, Internet Address: www.cdph.ca.gov 

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/
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o Log in to your Covered California account  
o Call (800) 300-1506  
o Or work with your certified enroller  

 You’ll need to update your household size and/or income. 

 If desired, you can change your health plan selection for next year. 

 If no action is taken, you will be renewed into your current plan without an 
Advanced Premium Tax Credit (APTC). This may affect your HIPP program 
eligibility. 

 
How to Ensure Automatic Covered California Renewal 
When you renew, you may give Covered California consent to get your tax data from 
the IRS. You may give consent for up to five years. This ensures automatic renewal in 
your health plan. Otherwise, you will have to re-apply for health coverage during every 
open enrollment period. You can update your consent to verify income online. On your 
application homepage, click “Update Consent for Verification.” If you haven’t already, 
we strongly urge you to take this action. 
 
How to Choose a Plan 
If you would like to switch health plans, now is your chance. First, call your provider to 
see which Covered California plan(s) they are in. To avoid having to pay premiums and 
outpatient medical out of pocket costs on your own, you should work with an enrollment 
worker who is both a Covered California enroller and a prescription drug assistance 
program enrollment worker. The enrollment worker will need to ensure your HIPP 
program renewal is complete 24 to 48 hours after your enrollment in a new Covered 
California health plan (if you are staying in your current plan, this does not affect you). A 
Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page will need to be 
submitted. The documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC 
taken, enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing address (if available). 
Once the initial premium is paid by the HIPP program, you will receive a health plan 
billing statement from your health plan. It is important that you submit the billing 
statement so that we may obtain your new health plan member ID/policy number. To 
find an enrollment worker who does HIPP and Covered California enrollment, please 
call (844) 550-3944 or visit the prescription drug assistance program webpage.  
 
If you switched to a new health plan and you complete your HIPP renewal more than 48 
hours after enrollment in your new Covered California health plan, you will likely need to 
make the initial premium payment on your own to secure your health insurance.  
 
Although you may qualify to have your outpatient medical out of pocket costs covered 
by HIPP, there are other medical out of pocket costs that you may incur. Therefore, 
depending on your income, there are ways to lower your out of pockets costs: 

 Incomes between 139 percent and 200 percent FPL  
o $16,395 - $23,760 for individuals 
o “Silver” plan is usually most cost-effective  

 Incomes of 201 percent FPL or higher 
o $23,761 for individuals  
o “Platinum” plan is usually most cost-effective  

If you are eligible for an APTC, you must select the full amount to be applied to your  
premium. This is required by the HIPP program. 
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HIPP Program Renewal 
Through the Covered California renewal process, your premium amount, APTC, and/or 
health plan may change. You must notify the HIPP program right away. 
There are two ways to update the HIPP program: 

1. You or your enrollment worker may log in to your electronic A.J. Boggs Portal. 
You will need to update the “Health Coverage” and “Insurance Assistance” tabs 
in the Update Form. You will also need to upload the following documents:   

1. Health insurance plan billing statement  
2. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC 
taken, enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing 
address (if available). 

 
2. You may also notify the HIPP program via mail or fax to A.J. Boggs:  

Mail:  A.J. Boggs & Company    Fax: (844) 666-1411 
  4660 S. Hagadorn Rd. Suite 290 
  East Lansing, MI 48823 
   

You will need to send the following documents: 
1. HIPP Program Application  
2. Health insurance plan billing statement  
3. Covered California Welcome Letter or coverage summary page. The 

documentation should include the premium amount, health plan, APTC 
taken, enrollment confirmation number, and a health plan billing 
address (if available). 
 

Again, please send your updated documents by December 1, 2016 to ensure that the 
HIPP program pays the correct health plan and rate starting January 1, 2017.  
 
Report Changes to Covered California 
It is vital that you report any change in your household size and income to Covered 
California within 30 days. You must report if you: get married or divorced, have a child, 
move, get a raise, etc. To report a change, call Covered California at (800) 300-1506 or 
log in to your account. Your APTC and/or premium amount will be adjusted. You must 
notify the HIPP program right away. You or your enrollment worker will need to update 
your HIPP application electronically in the A.J. Boggs portal. Or you may submit an 
updated paper application. You will also need to submit the following: 

1. A new health insurance billing statement  
2. Your Covered California summary page  

 
Have Questions? 
Please call the following resources: 

 your prescription drug assistance program enrollment worker  

 (844) 550-3944 for questions about program eligibility and enrollment 
(800) 300-1506 or visit www.coveredca.com for questions about Covered 
California  

Thank You 
California Department of Public Health Notice 
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