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California Department of Public Health 
Medical Marijuana Program (MMP) 

Facts and Figures 
 

 
 
 

 
ID CARD APPLICATION FEES* 

 
     $66.00 Patient/Caregiver 
 
     $33.00 Medi-Cal Patients 
 
*Please note these are the State           
administration fees only; Counties add on 
their own administration fees. For the actual 
cost in your county please contact your county 
program. 

  
 Current Statistics 
 
  Total Counties Implemented to Date                                       56 
      Identification Cards Issued 
             FY 2004/05                                                                       85 
             FY 2005/06                                                                  4,150 
             FY 2006/07                                                                10,273 
             FY 2007/08                                                                  8,393 
             FY 2008/09                                                                  9,221 
             FY 2009/10                                                                12,659 
 FY 2010/11           8,636   

            Total Cards Issued to Date                                     53,378 

 
     IMPLEMENTED COUNTIES 
 

Alameda, Alpine, Amador, Butte, Calaveras, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Fresno, 
Glenn, Humboldt, Imperial, Inyo, Kern, Kings, Lake, Lassen, Los Angeles, Madera, Marin, 
Mariposa, Mendocino, Merced, Modoc, Mono, Monterey, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, 
Plumas, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco, San 
Joaquin, San Luis Obispo, San Mateo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, 
Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Stanislaus, Tehama, Trinity, Tulare, Tuolumne, Ventura, Yolo and  
Yuba 

 
  *Sutter and Colusa- Implementation dates unknown.  

 
 
ADDITIONAL SIGNIFICANT PROGRAM INFORMATION 
 
The MMP was authorized through SB 420 (Chapter 875, Statutes of 2003.), to clarify provisions 
Of Proposition 215, the Compassionate Use Act of 1996, and to create a medical marijuana 
Identification card program for medically qualified patients and their caregivers. 
 
The Program began in May 2005 with 3 pilot counties and expanded statewide in August 2005. 
 


