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March 25, 2016 
 
TO:   Licensees 

         Home Medical Device Retailers 
         Home Medical Device Retailers Out-of-State 
         Home Medical Device Retailers Warehouse 
         Home Medical Device Retailers Exemptee 

 

SUBJECT:  FEE INCREASE EFFECTIVE JULY 1, 2016  
 

Effective July 1, 2016, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Food and Drug 
Branch (FDB) licensing fees will increase by 30 percent pursuant to the California Health and 
Safety (H&S) Code Sections 111630 and 111656.1 authorizing CDPH to establish and adjust 
licensing fees to cover the estimated program costs. 
 

Please note that existing fees were established in 2004 for support of program operations and 
have not been adjusted since.  The rate increase for the new fees was determined by CDPH 
working closely with the California Department of Finance (DOF), and will allow the fund to 
remain solvent and cover the costs of program operations for the next fiscal year.  Program will 
continue to work closely with DOF to re-evaluate in future years.  The full report to the 
Legislature describing the activities supported by the Drug and Device Safety Fund and 
estimated program costs may be found under “Publications and Reports” at 
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/manfprocdistrib/Pages/DrugSafetyProgramPage.aspx 
 

The table below shows current fees and the new fees that will be included in all billing notices 
for payments on or after July 1, 2016.  
 

License Type Current Fee New Fee Frequency 

Home Medical Device Retailer (HMDR) – 
New and Renewal  

$850   $1,105 Annual 

HMDR Out of State – New and Renewal  $150 $195 Annual 

HMDR Warehouse – New and Renewal  $425 $553 Annual 

HMDR Exemptee – New Application Fee  $250 $325 One-time 

HMDR Exemptee –Renewal  $150 $195 Annual 
 

If you have questions concerning the new fee schedule, please contact:  
 

California Department of Public Health - Food and Drug Branch  
Attn: Drug and Medical Device Safety Program 
P.O. Box 997435, MS 7602  
Sacramento, CA 95899-7435  
1-800-495-3232 
Email: FDBMedDevice@cdph.ca.gov  

Food and Drug Branch, MS 7602, Post Office Box 997435, Sacramento, CA  95899-7435 
(800) 495-3232 toll free ● (916) 650-6650 FAX 

Internet Address:  www.cdph.ca.gov 
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