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CALIFORNIA DEPARTMENT OF PUBLIC HEALTH 

Arroyo Grande Water Department 
300 East Branch Street 
Arroyo Grande, CA 93420 

Attention: Mr. Shane Taylor 
Maintenance Services Superintendent 

CITATION No: 04-06-13C-003 

Issued to: ARROYO GRANDE WATER DEPARTMENT 

Public Water System No.: 4010001 

14 Section 116650 of Chapter 4, Part 12, Division 104 of the California Health and Safety 

15 Code (H&S Code), authorizes the issuance of a Citation for failure to comply with a 

16 requirement of the California Safe Drinking Water Act, or any regulation, standard, permit 

17 or order issued thereunder. 

18 

19 VIOLATION 

20 
The California Department of Public Health, Drinking Water Field Operations Branch 

21 
(CDPH) hereby issues a Citation to Arroyo Grande Water Department (Water System) for 

22 
the following violation: 

23 

24 
Section 64432.1, Chapter 15, Title 22, California Code of Regulations (CCR): 

25 
Specifically, during the year 2012, the Water System failed to make the required annual 

26 
determination of source water nitrate concentration in the water produced by domestic 

27 
water supply Well No. 10. 
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In accordance with Section 116650 (e) of the Health and Safety Code, the above violation 

2 
is classified as a non-continuing violation. 
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5 BACKGROUND 

6 Arroyo Grande Water Department is a community public water system operating under 

7 authority of a California Department of Public Health (CDPH) domestic water supply 

8 permit. According to Section 64432.1, Title 22, CCR, all public water systems must 

9 sample their active groundwater sources at least annually. For the year 2012, the Water 

10 System did not report a nitrate sample result for Well No. 10. The latest nitrate sample in 

11 CDPH's water quality database was taken on March 15, 2011, and showed a 

12 concentration of non-detect. 
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14 

15 DIRECTIVES 

16 Arroyo Grande Water Department is hereby directed to take the following actions: 

17 
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1. Collect a source water nitrate sample from Well No. 10 within 15 days, for 

analyses by a State Certified Laboratory and have the results submitted 

electronically to CDPH, by the analyzing laboratory. The Water System has 

informed CDPH it has started this process. 

2. Notify the consumers of the failure to monitor Well 10 for nitrates within 12 

months of the violation date, using the procedures outlined for a Tier-3 Public 

Notification. The Water System may utilize the 2012 Consumer Confidence 

Report (CCR) to comply with the notification requirement. The format shall 

comply with Section 64465 (Public Notice Content and Format) of the drinking 
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2 water regulations. The section of the regulations can be found on page 144 of 

3 the following regulation document: 
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/certlic/drinkingwater/Documents/Lawbook/dwregulations-

4 2011-09-22.pdf 
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3. 

4. 

Submit a completed and signed Proof of Public notification certification form to 

CDPH within 30 days of completion of Public Notification. 

All responses required by this Citation shall be submitted to: 

Kurt T. Souza, P.E., 
Chief, Southern California Region 
1180 Eugenia Place, Suite 200 
Carpinteria, CA 93013-2000 

CIVIL PENAL TIES 

Sections 116650 (d) and (e) of the H&S Code allow for the assessment of a civil penalty 

for failure to comply with the requirements of Chapter 4. Failure to comply with any 

provision of this Citation will result in the Department imposing an administrative penalty 

not to exceed $1000 (one thousand dollars) per day as of the date of violation of any 

provision of this Citation. 

3/12) ~IS 
Date llSUed 7 Kurt T. Souza, P.E., Chief 

Southern California Region 
CDPH-DWFOB 

cc: San Luis Obispo County Environmental Health 



Drinking Water Notification to Consumers 

PROOF OF NOTIFICATION 

Name of Water System: ______________________ _ 

Please explain what caused the problem if you have determined what it was and what steps you 
have taken to correct it. 

Consumers Notified ___ Yes ___ No 

If not, Explain:---------------------------

Date of Notification: __________ _ 

On the date of notification set forth above, I served the above referenced document(s) on the 
consumers by: 

___ sending a copy through the U.S. Mail, first class, postage prepaid, addressed to each 
of the resident(s) at the place where the property is situated, pursuant to the California 
Civil Code. Attach copy of Notice. 

___ Newspaper (if the problem has been corrected). Attach copy of Notice. 

___ personally hand-delivering a copy to each of the consumers. Attach copy of Notice. 

___ posted on a public bulletin board, that will be seen by each of the consumers (for small 
water non community water systems with permission from the Department). Attach copy 
of Notice. 

I hereby declare the foregoing to be true and correct under penalty of perjury. 

Dated: __________ _ 
Signature of Person Serving Notice 

**Notice: Complete this Proof of Notification and return it along with a copv of the 
notification to the Department within 30 Days of receiving your notification order. 

Disclosure: Be advised that the California Health and Safety Code states that any person who knowingly makes any false 
statement on any report or document submitted for the purpose of compliance with the attached order may be liable for a civil 
penalty not to exceed five thousand dollars ($5,000) for each separate violation for each day that violation continues. In addition, 
the violators may be prosecuted in criminal court and upon conviction, be punished by a fine of not more than $25,000 for each day 
of violation, or be imprisoned in county jail not to exceed one year, or by both the fine and imprisonment. 


