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TO: Congregate Living Health Facilities  
 Home Health Agencies  
 Hospice Facilities 
 Intermediate Care Facilities 
 Skilled Nursing Facilities 
 
SUBJECT: SB 588: New Labor Code Requirements Regarding Nonpayment of 

Employee Wages 
 
AUTHORITY:  Labor Code sections 238 and 238.4 
 
 
 
 
 
 
 

 
 
Effective January 1, 2016, SB 588 (Chapter 803, Statutes of 2015) allows CDPH to 
deny a new license or the renewal of an existing license for a failure of one of the above 
specified health facilities to comply with Labor Code section 238.  
 
Labor Code section 238 requires an employer to stop conducting business in California 
if that employer has not satisfied a final judgment for nonpayment of employee wages 
30 days after the time to appeal has expired, unless the employer has obtained a bond 
in a specified amount from a surety company and filed that bond with the Labor 
Commissioner. Required bond amounts are as follows: 

 $50,000 bond for unsatisfied judgments of no more than $5,000; 

 $100,000 bond for unsatisfied judgments of more than $5,000 but no more than 
$10,000; and  

 $150,000 bond for unsatisfied judgments of more than $10,000. 
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All Facilities Letter (AFL) Summary 

 This AFL informs specified facilities of the chaptering of SB 588, which permits 
the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) to deny a new license or 
the renewal of an existing license for failure to satisfy final judgments for 
nonpayment of employee wages. 
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In lieu of filing and maintaining the surety bond, an employer can provide the Labor 
Commissioner with a notarized copy of an agreement reached with the individual 
holding the unsatisfied judgment, including agreements to pay the judgment in 
installments.  
 
A change of ownership of the licensed health facility does not nullify the final judgment 
or exempt the new owner from the requirements of Labor Code 238 for a past judgment 
against the licensed health facility.  
 
The information in this AFL is a brief summary of the changes that SB 588 makes to the 
Labor Code. Facilities are responsible for following all applicable laws. Any failure of 
CDPH to expressly notify facilities of statutory or regulatory requirements does not 
relieve facilities of their responsibility for following all laws and regulations. Facilities 
should refer to the full text of all applicable sections of the Labor Code. 
 
If you have any questions, please contact your respective district office. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original signed by Jean Iacino 
 
Jean Iacino 
Deputy Director 


