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TO: All Facilities Licensed By the California Department of Public Health (CDPH) 

Licensing and Certification Program (L&C) Under California Health and 
Safety (H&S) Code Section 1266 

 
 
SUBJECT: Fiscal Year (FY) 2008/09 License Renewal Fee Schedule 
 
 
The purpose of this memorandum is to inform you of the FY 2008/09 license renewal fees 
as approved by the California Legislature on September 23, 2008 (Attachment A).  Over 
the past several years, several important amendments to the H&S Code Section 1266 
have been implemented.  
 

• Establishment of the L&C Program Special Fund (H&S 1266.9). 
• Change in the annual fee setting methodology (H&S 1266). 
• Establishment of FY 2008/09 License Fees. (Attachment A). 
• Establishment of late payment penalties for license renewals (H&S 1266.5.   
 [Attachment B]) 
 

The FY 2008/09 fee schedule has been posted on the L&C website, along with current 
license renewal information and questions and answers on the L&C website: 
http://www.cdph.ca.gov/pubsforms/fiscalrep/Documents/LicCertFeeListing09.pdf. The 
new renewal fees are effective as of July 1, 2008. 
 
Renewal Reminders 
 

• Facilities whose license is due to expire the beginning of November will soon be 
receiving their renewal notice prior to their new license effective date.  All other 
facilities can expect to receive their renewal notices approximately 90 days prior to 
their new license effective date.   

 
• Facilities must ensure the license number is annotated on the payment. 
 
 
 

 

Licensing and Certification/Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit  
MS 3202, P.O. Box 997434, Sacramento, CA 95899-7434 

(916) 552-8700 Fax: (916) 650-6437 
Internet Address:  www.cdph.ca.gov Email: RCollection@cdph.ca.gov 
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• Facilities are to continue to send the renewal application form with facility 
and ownership information to the local District Office as noted at the bottom 
of the application form.  The District Office will continue to be responsible for 
determining if all licensure conditions (other than fee payment) are met before 
issuing the license. 

 
• From the date we receive the payment, please allow 4-6 weeks total processing 

time. If you do not receive your license and have confirmed the check has cleared 
the bank, please contact your local District Office. 

 
• Licensees are responsible for payment of the licensing fee on or before the 

license expiration date regardless of receiving a renewal notice.     You 
should contact the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit if you have not 
received a renewal notice 90 days from the license expiration date.   

 
• It is strongly suggested that licensees use a mailing method that includes the 

ability to track the status of mailed payments. 
 

• To prevent delays in obtaining the renewed license, mail all license renewal fees 
and the remittance to the L&C Grant and Fiscal Assessment  Unit at one of the 
addresses below:   

 
 Standard Delivery 
 California Department of Public Health 
 Licensing & Certification Program 
 Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
 MS 3202 
 P. O. Box 997434 
 Sacramento, CA 95899-7434 
 
 Overnight Delivery 
 California Department of Public Health 
 Licensing & Certification Program 
 Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
 MS 3202 
 1615 Capitol Ave., Suite 73.481 

 Sacramento, CA 95814-5015 
 
Late Payment Penalties 
 
H&S Code Section 1266.5 requires L&C to impose late payment penalties for health 
facilities and agencies for delinquent license renewal payments.  Attachment B is the 
language for Section 1266.5 that details the penalty percentages by delinquency period. 
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L&C may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any moneys owed to the 
licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program administered by the 
California Department of Public Health, to recoup the license renewal fee and any 
associated late payment penalties, the statute authorizing late payment penalties does 
not provide the department with any mechanism for waiving the late payment penalty 
fees.  Late payment penalties are statutorily set and cannot be waived.  
 
Contact Information for the Grant and Fiscal Assessment Unit 
 
Email: rcollection@dhs.ca.gov  
Main Phone Number: (916) 552-8700 or (800) 236-9747  
 
Please share this information with your licensing authority. 
 
Sincerely, 
 
Original Signed by Scott Vivona for Kathleen Billingsley, R.N. 
 
Kathleen Billingsley, R.N. 
Deputy Director 
Center for Healthcare Quality 
 
Attachments 

 



 

  

ATTACHMENT A 
 

LICENSING & CERTIFICATION PROGRAM LICENSE FEES 2008-09 
Updated: October 1, 2008 

 
Type of Facility/Agency       Fee 
General Acute Care Hospitals     $257.76 per bed 
 
Acute Psychiatric Hospitals      $257.76 per bed 
 
Special Hospitals       $257.76 per bed 
 
District Hospitals less than <100 beds    $257.76 per bed 
 
Chemical Dependency Recovery Hospitals    $144.59 per bed 
 
Skilled Nursing Facilities      $287.00 per bed 
 
Intermediate Care Facilities      $287.00 per bed 
 
Intermediate Care Facilities- Developmentally Disabled  $938.01 per bed  
         
Intermediate Care Facilities-Developmentally   $938.01 per bed 
Disabled Habilitative 
 
Intermediate Care Facilities-Developmentally   $938.01 per bed 
Disabled-Nursing  
 
Home Health Agencies      $4,159.42 per facility 
 
Referral Agencies       $3,564.13 per facility 
 
Adult Day Health Centers      $3,995.61 per facility 
 
Congregate Living Health Facilities     $287.00 per bed 
 
Psychology Clinics       $1,099.99 per facility 
 
Primary Clinics-Community and Free     $600.00 per facility 
 
Specialty Clinics-Rehabilitation Clinics    $200.00 per facility  
 
Specialty Clinics-Surgical Clinics      $1,918.00 per facility 
 
Specialty Clinics-Chronic Dialysis Clinics    $2,932.87 per facility 
 
Pediatric Day Health/Respite Care     $154.62 per bed  
 
Alternative Birthing Centers      $2,430.93 per facility 
 
Hospice (2 year license)      $1,875.41 per facility/per year 
 
Correctional Treatment Centers     $422.15 per bed 



 

  

ATTACHMENT B 
 

DELINQUENT PENALTY FEES – HEALTH & SAFETY CODE SECTION 1266.5 
 
1266.5. (a) Whenever any entity required to pay fees pursuant to Section 1266 continues 

to operate beyond its license expiration date, without the Licensing and Certification 

Program renewal fees first having been paid as required by this division, those fees are 

delinquent. 

 (b) A late payment penalty shall be added to any delinquent fees due with an 

application for license renewal made later than midnight of the license expiration date.  

The late payment penalty shall be computed as follows: 

(1) For a delinquency period of 30 days or less, the penalty shall be 10 percent of 

the fee. 

(2) For a delinquency period of more than 30 days to and including 60 days, the 

penalty shall be 20 percent of the fee. 

(3) For a delinquency period of more than 60 days, the penalty shall be 60 percent 

of the fee. 

 (c) The department may, upon written notification to the licensee, offset any 

moneys owed to the licensee by the Medi-Cal program or any other payment program 

administered by the department, to recoup the license renewal fee and any associated 

late payment penalties. 

 (d) No license may be renewed without payment of the Licensing and Certification 

Program fee plus any late payment penalty. 

 


