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California Code of Regulations, Title 17 
Division 1 

Chapter 2. Laboratories 
Subchapter 1. Service Laboratories 

Group 2. Clinical Laboratory Regulations 
Article 5. Issuance of License 

PROPOSED REGULATION TEXT 
(1) Adopt Section 1053 to read: 

Section 1053. Clinical Laboratory Improvement Amendments (CLIA) Record Retention 

Regulations Determined to be Less Stringent than California Law. 

(a) All clinical laboratories licensed or registered by the Department shall comply with 

those federal regulations adopted under the CLIA of 1988 (42 C.F.R. § 493 et seq.), effective 

January 24, 2003, and published in the California Regulatory Notice Register 2016, Number 

41-Z, pages 1825-26, which became effective by operation of law as a state regulation 

adopted under Division 2, Chapter 3 of the Business and Professions Code on January 5, 

2017, in accordance with Business and Professions Code section 1208(c).  

(b) In accordance with Business and Professions Code section 1208(b), the department, 

in consultation with the Clinical Laboratory Technology Advisory Committee, has determined 
that the following subparts of the federal regulations adopted under the Clinical Laboratory 

Improvement Amendments of 1988 (42 C.F.R. § 493 et seq.), and effective January 24, 2003, 

are less stringent than California law. All clinical laboratories licensed or registered by the 

Department shall comply with applicable state law regarding retention of records and shall not 

comply with the following subparts of the above-referenced federal regulations, as indicated in 

Table 1: Comparison of California and Federal Clinical Laboratory Record Retention 

Requirements: 

(1) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(1) 
(2) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(2) 
(3) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(3) 
(4) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(3)(i) 
(5) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(5) 
(6) 42 C.F.R. § 493.1105(a)(6)
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TABLE 1 

Comparison of California and Federal Clinical Laboratory Record Retention Requirements 

RECORD TYPE CA 
REQUIREMENT 

CA 
LAW 

FEDERAL 
REQUIREMENT 

FEDERAL LAW  
42 CFR § 493.1105(a) 

COMPLY 
WITH 

Test requisition and 
authorization records 3 years CBPC § 

1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (1) State Law 

Test procedure records 3 years CBPC § 
1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (2) State Law 

Quality control and patient test 
records 3 years CBPC § 

1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (3) State Law 

Test system performance 
specifications 3 years CBPC § 

1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (3)(i) State Law 

Immunohematology, blood, 
blood product, and transfusion 
records 

10 years CLIA 2003 10 years Subdivision (3)(ii) CLIA 2003 

Proficiency testing records 2 years CLIA 2003 2 years Subdivision (4) CLIA 2003 
Quality systems assessment 
records 3 years CBPC § 

1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (5) State Law 

Test reports 3 years CBPC § 
1265(j)(2) 2 years Subdivision (6) State Law 

Immunohematology test reports 10 years CLIA 2003 10 years Subdivision (6)(i) CLIA 2003 
Pathology test reports 10 years CLIA 2003 10 years Subdivision (6)(ii) CLIA 2003 
Cytology slides and blocks 5 years CLIA 2003 5 years Subdivision (7)(i)(A) CLIA 2003 
Histopathology slides 10 years CLIA 2003 10 years Subdivision (7)(i)(B) CLIA 2003 
Pathology specimen blocks 2 years CLIA 2003 2 years Subdivision (7)(ii) CLIA 2003 
Tissue Until diagnosed CLIA 2003 Until diagnosed Subdivision (7)(iii) CLIA 2003 

NOTE: Authority: Business and Professions Code Sections 1208 and 1224, Health and Safety Code Section 131200. 
Reference: Business and Professions Code Sections 1220 and 1265. 




