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Under California law, adults 21 or older can use, carry, and grow cannabis (marijuana, weed, pot). Buying 
cannabis (without a valid physician’s recommendation or a county-issued medical marijuana identification card) 
will become legal for adults 21 or older on January 1, 2018. Use of medicinal cannabis is legal if you have a valid 
physician’s recommendation or a valid county-issued medical marijuana identification card. To buy medicinal 
cannabis, you must be 18 or older and either have valid physician’s recommendation, a valid county-issued 
medical marijuana identification card, or be a Primary Caregiver as defined in Health and Safety Code Section 
11362.7(d) or 11362.5(e), with a valid physician’s recommendation for the patient. In addition, consistent with 
the Compassionate Use Act, you may possess or cultivate any amount that is reasonably related to your current 
medical needs.

Violations for possession or cultivation above the permitted limits, furnishing in violation of the law, or for 
violation of the age restriction are punishable as an infraction, misdemeanor and/or a fine, depending on the 
circumstances, and include mandatory drug education or counseling and community service for persons under 
the age of 18, and may include imprisonment for persons 18 and older. (Health and Safety Code Section 11357, 
11358, 11360, and 11362.4)

Possession

Possession of up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrate.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by up to 6 hours of drug education or 
counseling and up to 20 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Age 18 to Under 21 Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $100. Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Possession of more than one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrate.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by up to 10 hours of drug education or 
counseling and up to 60 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Age 18 and Over
Punishable by imprisonment in a county jail not more than six 
months or a fine of not more than $500 or by both fine
and imprisonment.

Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Adult Use Cannabis Penalties Last Update October 17, 2017



California Cannabis Health
Information Initiative

Possession of up to one ounce (28.5 grams) of cannabis or 8 grams of concentrate upon the grounds of, or within, 
any school providing instruction in kindergarten or any of grades 1-12, inclusive, during the hours the school is 
open for classes or school-related programs.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by 10 hours of drug education or counseling 
and up to 60 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Age 18 and Over
Misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500 or 
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 10 days or both fine 
and imprisonment.

Health and Safety Code Section 11357

Possessing, smoking, or ingesting cannabis or cannabis products in or upon the grounds of a school, day care 
center, or youth center while children are present.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by 10 hours of drug education or counseling 
and up to 60 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over
Misdemeanor punishable by a fine of not more than $500 or 
imprisonment in a county jail for not more than 10 days or both fine 
and imprisonment.

Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Possession of cannabis for sale.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by 10 hours of drug education or counseling 
and up to 60 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over

Punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not 
more than six months or by a fine of not more than $500 or both.   
Violations may also be punished as a felony under
specified circumstances.

Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Possession of an open container or package of cannabis or cannabis products while driving, operating, or riding 
as a passenger in a motor vehicle, boat, aircraft  or other vehicle used for transportation.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable 4 hours of drug education or counseling and up 
to 20 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $250. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4
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Planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying or processing not more than 6 cannabis plants.

Planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying or processing more than 6 cannabis plants.

Transporting, Importing, Selling, Furnishing, Administering, or Giving Away

Transporting, importing into the state, selling, furnishing,  administering, or giving away, or offering to transport, 
import into the state, sell, furnish, administer or give away, or attempting to import into the state or transport 
any cannabis.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by 10 hours of drug education or counseling 
and up to 60 hours of community service.

Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4 
and 11358

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Age 18 to Under 21 Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $100. Health and Safety Code Section 11358

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Age 18 and Over

Punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for not more than six 
months or a fine of not more than $500 or both, or as an infraction 
with a fine of not more than $250. Violations may also be punished as 
a felony under specified circumstances.

Health and Safety Code Section 11358 
and Health and Safety Code
Section 11362.4

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable by 10 hours of drug education or counseling 
and up to 60 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11360

Age 18 and Over
Punishable by imprisonment in a county jail for a period of not more 
than six months or by a fine of not more than $500 or both. Violations 
may also be punished as a felony under specified circumstances.

Health and Safety Code Section 11360

Giving away or offering to give away, or transporting, attempting, or offering to transport not more than 28.5 
grams of cannabis, other than concentrated cannabis.

Cultivation

Planting, cultivating, harvesting, drying or processing any cannabis plants.

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 21 Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $100. Health and Safety Code Section 11360
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Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable 4 hours of drug education or counseling and up 
to 10 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $100. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable 4 hours of drug education or counseling and up 
to 20 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $250. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age Penalty Statutory Reference

Under Age 18 Infraction punishable 4 hours of drug education or counseling and up 
to 20 hours of community service. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Age 18 and Over Infraction punishable by a fine of not more than $250. Health and Safety Code Section 11362.4

Smoking or Using Cannabis

Smoking or ingesting cannabis or cannabis products in a public place.

Smoking cannabis or cannabis products in a location where smoking tobacco is prohibited.

Smoking cannabis or cannabis products within 1,000 feet of a school, day care center, or youth center while 
children are present, except in or upon the grounds of a private residence and such smoke is not detectable by 
others on the school or center grounds.

For more information, consult Health and Safety Code section 11357 et seq.
https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=11357.&lawCode=HSC

http://bit.do/letstalkcannabis  
letstalkcannabis@cdph.ca.gov

NOTE: Cannabis remains classified as a Schedule I drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act, and its purchase, possession, 
distribution, or use within California may be unlawful under federal law. While it is our intention to provide current information, 
this fact sheet is not for the purpose of providing legal advice and can become outdated. Contact your attorney if you have 
questions about cannabis, what is (or is not) legal under state or federal law or need legal advice. 

https://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?sectionNum=11357.&lawCode=HSC
mailto:letstalkcannabis@cdph.ca.gov
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