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Under California’s medicinal cannabis laws, you can possess up to eight ounces of dried cannabis and maintain
no more than 6 mature cannabis plants or 12 immature plants. If you require a larger amount of cannabis,
under the Compassionate Use Act, you may possess and cultivate any amount that is reasonably related to your
current medical needs. Under California law, to legally possess medicinal cannabis in California, you must meet
at least one of the following requirements:

You have a valid physician’s recommendation

You have a valid county-issued medical marijuana identification card

You are a designated Primary Caregiver (Health and Safety Code Section 11362.7(d) and Section
11362.71 (e) or 11362.5(e), with a valid physician’s recommendation for the patient).*

To buy medicinal cannabis under California law, you must meet the requirements described above and be 18
or older. Your physician’s recommendation must also be valid and in compliance with Health and Safety Code
Section 11362.712. You can only buy medicinal cannabis from a retailer licensed by the Bureau of

Cannabis Control.

Below is a summary of some of the penalties for illegally obtaining a physician’s recommendation and illegally using
medical marijuana identification cards. Forinformation about other penalties related to the illegal use, possession and
sale of medicinal cannabis please, see our Adult-Use Cannabis Penalties fact sheet.

Fraudulently claiming or pretending to
have a medical problem or providing
false information to a physician,
county health department or state

or local law enforcement agency

or officer in order to get a medical
marijuana identification card.

First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six
months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Health and Safety Code
Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in county  Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)
jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.2

Stealing or illegally using another First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six
1 i ij hs, a fi f 1 h.

persqqs medlcal maruuana ‘ months, a fine of up to $1,000 or bot eslttn el Sefiey Cadle
identification card in order to obtain, Section 1362.81 (), (b) and (c)
grow, transport, use, produce, or Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in county ’ ’

distribute cannabis. jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.?
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1. Aprimary caregiver may possess an amount of medicinal cannabis recommended by a patient’s physician and consistent with the patient’s needs. yl.

2. In addition, a person who breaks this law may not be able to obtain or use a medical marijuana identification card for up to six months. el a
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First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six

Alterl.n.ga medlcal marijuana months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both. Meslttn minel Safetiy Codle
identification card or making a Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)
counterfeit or fake card. Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in county ’ ’

jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.2

Illegally sharing, accessing, or
breaching the personal information
that cannabis patients provide to

ottty Deelldh C T, First offense: Imprisonment in county jail for up to six

months, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.

Health and Safety Code
Second or subsequent offense: Imprisonment in county  Section 1362.81 (a), (b) and (c)
jail for up to one year, a fine of up to $1,000 or both.2

Note: A patient’s name, address,
medical condition and other personal
information is private and protected
by the Confidentiality of Medical
Information Act (Part 2.6, Division 1 of
the Civil Code).
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NOTE: Cannabis remains classified as a Schedule | drug under the federal Controlled Substances Act, and its purchase,
possession, distribution, or use within California may be unlawful under federal law. While it is our intention to provide
current information, this fact sheet is not for the purpose of providing legal advice and can become outdated. Contact your
attorney if you have questions about cannabis, what is (or is not) legal under state or federal law or need legal advice.
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