
Questions for Stakeholder Meeting re: CNA/HHA Training  
 

Certified Nurse Assistant Program 
California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 5, Chapter 2.5 

 
 
1. Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia 
Recent legislation (SB 449, Statutes of 2017) requires instruction on the special needs 
and care of persons with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia. However, clinical 
training tasks related to the new legislation are not defined.  
 
What clarifications would you like to see to ensure quality education and care of 
patients? For example:  
 

• What clinical training tasks should be taught related to the needs and care of 
persons with Alzheimer’s disease and related dementia? 

 
 
2. Policies and procedures 
Currently, a Nurse Assistant Training Program (NATP) must develop and implement 
policies and procedures to govern the administration of the program. Policies and 
procedures must include job descriptions of the program director and instructor(s), an 
organizational chart, lines of authority, schedules, method of monitoring instructors, 
student to instructor ratios, and more. Policies and procedures are not specified for 
orientation, continuing in-service, and continuing education programs.  
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure well-managed training programs? 
For example: 
 

• What should be added to policies and procedures for an NATP? 
• What should be included in policies and procedures for an orientation 

program? A continuing in-service program? A continuing education program? 
 

 
3. Lesson plans 
Currently, an NATP application must contain a sample of 4 lessons plans. Each lesson 
plan must include a student performance standard, an outline of content with teaching 
technique, and evaluation method. 
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure quality lesson plans? For 
example: 
 

• What else should the lesson plan include? 
• How many lesson plans should be included in the NATP application? 
• Would you like to see examples of performance standards for use for your 

lesson plans? 

https://govt.westlaw.com/calregs/Browse/Home/California/CaliforniaCodeofRegulations?guid=I467E5C40D4BC11DE8879F88E8B0DAAAE&originationContext=documenttoc&transitionType=Default&contextData=(sc.Default)


4. Instructor qualifications 
Currently, a director of staff development (DSD) or instructor who teaches in an NATP 
must either have (1) One year of experience as a licensed nurse providing direct patient 
care in a long term care facility and one year of experience planning, implementing, and 
evaluation education programs in nursing, or (2) Two years of experience as a licensed 
nurse, at least one year of which is in direct patient care in a nursing facility, and within 
six months of employment and prior to teaching, the DSD or instructor must obtain at 
least 24 hours of continuing education courses in planning, implementing, and 
evaluating educational programs in nursing. 
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure a pool of quality DSDs or 
instructors who teach in an NATP? For example: 
 

• Should the qualifications be changed? If so, what changes would you like to see? 
 
 

5. Instructor approval 
Currently, the Department must approve an instructor, and an NATP must notify the 
Department of a newly hired instructor within 30 days after hire.    
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure program quality and continuity? 
For example: 
 

• How far in advance should the Department approve an instructor? 
 
 
6. Training program renewal 
Currently, approved NATP, orientation, in-service, and continuing education programs 
must request Department approval of a program change when there is one. 
Additionally, NATPs and in-service programs must submit a renewal request every two 
years. Continuing education programs must be renewed, but regulations are silent as to 
the frequency, and orientation programs have no renewal requirement.    
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure that programs continue to offer 
quality training beyond the initial approval? For example: 
 

• How often should the Department renew approval of continuing education or 
orientation programs?  

• Should the Department develop a shorter process for renewal (for example, less 
information to submit) than for initial approval?    

• What should be included in a renewal application? 
 
 
7. Other 
Please provide any comments you have on any other parts of the CNA regulations.  
  



Qualifications for Home Health Aide Certification 
California Code of Regulations, Title 22, Division 5, Chapter 6, Article 5 

 
 
1. Dual CNA/HHA certification 
Currently, a CNA may become a certified home health aide (HHA) by completing a 40-
hour add-on program instead of the entire 120-hour HHA certification program. The 40-
hour program includes training necessary for in-home care provided outside of the 
skilled nursing facility setting, and the 40-hour program must be conducted by a 
Department-approved provider. A model curriculum for the 40-hour program that 
includes content, minimum hours, lesson plans, and teaching methods is available from 
the Department. 
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see so that CNAs and HHAs may obtain dual 
certifications? For example: 
 

• What should the 40-hour add-on program include for content and minimum 
hours? 

• Should there be an add-on program for a certified HHA to become a certified 
CNA? If yes, what should be the content and minimum hours? 

 
 
2. Renewal of dual CNA/HHA certificates 
Currently, CNAs must complete 48 hours of in-service/continuing education every two 
years, with at least 12 hours in each of the two years, and 24 of the 48 hours may be 
taken online. HHAs in federally certified home health agencies must complete 24 hours 
of in-service/continuing education every two years, with at least 12 hours during each 
12-month period, and these hours may occur while an HHA furnishes care to a patient.   
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure a quality pool of dually certified 
CNA/HHAs? For example: 
 

• How many total hours of in-service/continuing education should a dually certified 
person be required to complete? How many of those hours should be for CNA 
topics and how many for HHA topics? 

• Should a dually certified CNA/HHA be required to submit proof of in-
service/continuing education to the Department? 

• Should HHAs continue to receive in-service/continuing education training only in 
person and not online?  
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3. HHA competency evaluation vendor 
Currently, the HHA competency evaluation taken at the end of the basic training 
program is administered by the training program.  
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure HHA students participating in 
different training programs are evaluated consistently? For example: 
 

• Should a third party vendor (not the training program) administer the competency 
evaluation, similar to a CNA competency examination? Do you have ideas about 
how this might look? 

• Should there be additional procedures if training programs continue to administer 
competency evaluations of their own students? If so, what procedures would you 
like to see? 

 
4. Administrative procedures for HHA certification programs 
The Department is considering having administrative procedures for HHA training 
programs be similar to the administrative procedures for CNA training programs. What 
are your thoughts on this? For example: 
 

• Should administrative procedures for HHA training programs be similar to those 
for CNA training programs? 

• Do you have concerns? If so, what concerns do you have? 
 
 
5. The 120-hour HHA certification program 
Currently, the basic training program for certification is a minimum of 120 hours, with 
particular topics grouped into an introduction (4 hours), medical and social needs of 
people being served (20 hours), personal care services (70 hours), cleaning and care 
tasks in the home (10 hours), and nutrition (16 hours). Minimum classroom and clinical 
experience hours for each topic within a category are not specified, however there is a 
minimum of at least 20 hours of clinical experience required. 
 
What changes, if any, would you like to see to ensure quality HHA basic training 
programs? For example: 
 

• What should the 120-hour program include for content and minimum hours? 
• How should the minimum classroom hours be distributed among the categories? 
• What should the minimum number of classroom hours be? 
• How should the minimum clinical experience hours be distributed among the 

categories? Should the minimum clinical experience hours be increased?  
• Should the topics be grouped differently? 
• What clinical training tasks should be taught related to each classroom topic? 
 
 

6.  Other 
Please provide any comments you have on any other parts of the HHA regulations.  


