
 

 

California Department of Public Health Center for Health Care Quality 
Annual Fee Report for Fiscal Year 2018-19 

Table 1: Health Care Facility License Fee Table (Revised as of July 1, 2018)1 

Facility Types 
Fee Per 
Bed or 
Facility 

Number of Licensed 
Facilities/Beds 

License Fees 
(see Note below) 

FY 
2017-18 

FY 
2018-19 

FY 
2017-18 

2018-19 

Total 
Combined 

Fees 
Statewide 

Los Angeles 
County 

Supplemental 

Fee 4 

Acute Psychiatric Hospitals Bed 8,233 8,238 $ 515.04 $ 605.00 $ 550.00 $ 55.00 

Adult Day Health Centers Facility 266 267 $ 6,241.53 $ 6,242.00 $ 6,242.00 $ -

Alternative Birthing Centers Facility 11 13 $ 2,737.22 $ 2,737.00 $ 2,737.00 $ -

Chemical Dependency Recovery Hospitals Bed 496 496 $ 321.33 $ 321.00 $ 321.00 $ -

Chronic Dialysis Clinics Facility 555 575 $ 3,407.02 $ 4,533.00 $ 3,431.00 $ 1,102.00 

Primary Care Clinics - Community Clinics/Free Clinics Facility 1,373 1,408 $ 1,387.87 $ 1,561.00 $ 1,483.00 $ 78.00 

Congregate Living Health Facilities Bed 909 1,174 $ 602.78 $ 802.00 $ 644.00 $ 158.00 

Correctional Treatment Centers Bed 2,493 2,493 $ 1,108.39 $ 1,185.00 $ 1,185.00 $ -

District Hospital Less Than 100 Beds Bed $ 515.04 $ 605.00 $ 550.00 $ 55.00 

General Acute Care Hospitals Bed 74,517 75,260 $ 515.04 $ 605.00 $ 550.00 $ 55.00 

Home Health Agencies Facility 1,603 1,617 $ 2,761.90 $ 3,670.00 $ 2,762.00 $ 908.00 

Hospices (2-Year License Total) Facility 1,007 1,150 $ 2,970.86 $ 3,854.00 $ 2,970.00 $ 884.00 

Hospice Facilities Bed 88 88 $ 524.16 $ 524.00 $ 524.00 $ -

Intermediate Care Facilities (ICF) Bed 5,330 5,294 $ 602.78 $ 644.00 $ 644.00 $ -

ICF/Developmentally Disabled (DD) Bed 

10,338 12,475 

$ 1,121.33 $ 1,504.00 $ 1,199.00 $ 305.00 

ICF/DD - Habilitative Bed $ 1,121.33 $ 1,504.00 $ 1,199.00 $ 305.00 

ICF/DD - Nursing Bed $ 1,121.33 $ 1,504.00 $ 1,199.00 $ 305.00 

Pediatric Day Health and Respite Care Facility Bed 318 318 $ 290.59 $ 311.00 $ 311.00 $ -

Psychology Clinics Facility 21 21 $ 2,852.91 $ 2,853.00 $ 2,853.00 $ -

Referral Agencies Facility 2 2 $ 3,728.78 $ 3,729.00 $ 3,729.00 $ -

Rehab Clinics Facility 12 12 $ 501.07 $ 655.00 $ 536.00 $ 119.00 

Skilled Nursing Facilities 2 Bed 120,140 120,047 $ 606.17 $ 806.00 $ 648.00 $ 158.00 

Special Hospitals Bed $ 515.04 $ 605.00 $ 550.00 $ 55.00 

Surgical Clinics Facility 36 34 $ 4,804.88 $ 6,293.00 $ 5,136.00 $ 1,157.00 
1 Expenditure adjustments from the Governor's Budget include augmentations of $2.373M that impact the Statewide Fees, and $.7M that impact the Los Angeles County Supplemental Fees. 
2 SNF license fee includes the statewide fee of $644 and the California Department of Aging SNF LTC Ombudsman program fee of $4. 
3 The 2018-19 fees have been rounded to the nearest dollar. 
4 CDPH does not assess a supplemental fee on facilities that Los Angeles County Department of Public Health does not regulate. 

Note: Beginning in 2018-19, under the approved trailer bill (Chapter 34, Statutes of 2018) aimed at reconciling the differential cost associated between LA County contract cost and the Department licensing and 
certification program cost, a separate assessment fee will be imposed for all of LA County district facilities. 


