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Shelf Price Submission – Frequently Asked Questions 
November 26, 2018 

SHELF PRICE SUBMISSION – FREQUENTLY ASKED QUESTIONS 

QUESTION:  WHAT IS THE SHELF PRICE SUBMISSION? 

The California Women, Infants, and Children (WIC) Program is required by federal 
regulations to collect vendor shelf prices at least every six months to determine if a vendor is 
cost competitive. Vendors submit shelf prices electronically using the Vendor WIC 
Information eXchange (VWIX) System during the submission period. 

QUESTION:  WHEN DID THE SHELF PRICE SUBMISSION REQUIREMENTS BECOME 
EFFECTIVE? 

On October 17, 2013, the California WIC Vendor Authorization Criteria became effective, 
requiring vendors to comply with WIC Bulletin Regulations (W.B.R.) Section 70600, 
Competitive Price Criteria. Competitive Price Criteria requires vendors to submit their shelf
prices to the WIC Program. You can access the regulations on our website:  
WIC Regulations Webpage 

QUESTION:  WHAT SHELF PRICES MUST BE SUBMITTED? 

Vendors are required to submit their current highest and lowest shelf prices for 11 WIC-
authorized food items, known as the Market Basket. Current Market Basket contents are 
listed below: 

1) 12 oz. Breakfast Cereal 7) 1 Gallon Whole Milk

2) 18 oz. Breakfast Cereal 8) 1 Gallon Lower Fat Milk

3) 16 oz. Cheese 9) Milk-based infant formula
currently under contract with
the Department

4) 1 lb. Bag of Dry Beans, Peas,
or Lentils

10) 16 – 18 oz. Peanut Butter

5) 1 Dozen Large Eggs (Chicken
only)

11) 16 oz. Whole Wheat Bread Loaf

6) 64 oz. Shelf-Stable Bottled Juice

https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CFH/DWICSN/Pages/LawsandRegulations.aspx
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QUESTION: OUR STORE CARRIES MULTIPLE BRANDS OF DIFFERENT WIC-
AUTHORIZED FOODS, SUCH AS CHEESE. WHAT BRAND(S) DO WE CHOOSE 
WHEN SUBMITTING OUR SHELF PRICES? 

Vendors are required to submit the price of the highest priced item and the price of the 
lowest priced item of the Market Basket. Vendors do not have to submit the prices of all 
the WIC-authorized foods available in the store. The Market Basket is not brand specific. 
For example, if your store carries three brands of WIC-authorized cheese, you will only 
submit the price for the most expensive cheese as the high and the price for the least 
expensive cheese as the low. 

QUESTION: WHAT IF OUR STORE ONLY CARRIES ONE BRAND OF A MARKET 
BASKET ITEM, SUCH AS EGGS? 

If your store only carries one brand of an item, submit the price of that item as both the 
highest and lowest shelf price for that food type. For example, if your store only carries 
one brand of eggs that are priced at $1.99 a dozen, you would enter $1.99 as both the 
highest shelf price and lowest shelf price when completing the submission. 

QUESTION: HOW WILL VENDORS BE NOTIFIED WHEN THEY ARE REQUIRED TO 
SUBMIT SHELF PRICES? 

Vendors will receive a Request for Vendor Shelf Prices Vendor Alert by US mail 30 days 
before the start of a submission period. After logging on to VWIX, vendors will see a 
message notifying them of outstanding shelf prices to be completed. 

QUESTION: OUR STORE RECEIVED A NOTICE IN THE MAIL THAT WE NEED TO 
SUBMIT OUR SHELF PRICES. WHAT DATE(S) SHOULD WE BE COLLECTING OUR 
PRICES? 

Refer to the notice carefully for information regarding important dates for the submission 
period. The notice will specify: 

1) The publication date of the submission period (Example: January 27th) 

2) The 14-day period in which vendors should collect shelf prices (Example: 
January 27th through February 9th) 

- AND - 

3) The 30-day period that the submission period will remain open in VWIX to 
 allow you to submit your prices. (Example:  January 27th through February 

25th). 
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QUESTION: WHAT ARE THE PUBLICATION DATE, 30-DAY VENDOR PRICE 
SUBMISSION PERIOD AND THE 14-DAY SHELF PRICE COLLECTION PERIOD? 
 
The Publication Date is the day the submission period is open in VWIX and made 
available to vendors. This is the first day that vendors can submit their shelf prices. 

The 14-Day Shelf Price Collection Period is the first 14 days after a submission period 
has started. Vendors should submit shelf prices from these 14 days. 

The 30-Day Vendor Price Submission Period is when vendors are able to submit their shelf 
prices in VWIX. 

QUESTION: CAN I SUBMIT MY SHELF PRICES ON ANY DAY DURING THE 30-DAY 
VENDOR PRICE SUBMISSION PERIOD? 

 
Yes. Prices may be submitted beginning on the first day of the Vendor Price Submission 
Period. 
 
QUESTION: WHO SHOULD WE CONTACT IF WE HAVE ADDITIONAL QUESTIONS 
REGARDING THE SHELF PRICE SUBMISSION? 

For additional questions, contact your WIC Vendor Consultant or call toll free (855) WIC-
STOR or (855) 942-7867. You may also contact the WIC Vendor Management Branch by 
email at WICVENDORINFO@cdph.ca.gov. 

mailto:WICVENDORINFO@cdph.ca.gov



