Skip Navigation LinksSIDS-Advisory-Council-Members

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

SIDS Advisory Council Members

The Council Chair, appointed by the Director of the California Department of Public Health, presides over the Council's meetings and sets the agenda for addressing the needs and concerns of the SIDS community. Dr. Thomas G. Keens, a renowned SIDS researcher is the current Council Chair. Under his leadership the Council is working together to improve California's SIDS services, education and research. To view the issues currently being discussed and the Council's plan of action, we encourage you to access the Advisory Council Chair Updates and Actions prepared by Dr. Keens.

Physician and Surgeon Representative, Chair

Thomas G. Keens, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Physiology and Biophysics, USC
Division of Pediatric Pulmonology & Sleep Medicine, Children's Hospital Los Angeles
4650 Sunset Boulevard, Box 83
Los Angeles, CA 90027-6062
(323) 361‑2101 (Phone)
tkeens@chla.usc.edu | tkeens@gmail.com (Alternative)

Vice/Chair/Secretary

Lorie Gehrke
SIDS Parent
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
(925) 207-8113 (Phone)
lorie.gehrke@gmail.com

Coroner

Vacant

First Responder
Representative

Kris Concepcion
Fire Chief
Vacaville Fire Department
650 Merchant Street
Vacaville, CA 95688
(707) 449-5462 (Phone)
kris.concepcion@cityofvacaville.com

Medical Examiner
Representative

James K. Ribe, MD, JD
Retired Senior Deputy Medical Examiner
Los Angeles County
Department of Coroner
Malibu, CA
atlantic2677@hotmail.com

Northern Regional
Council President
(ex-officio Council Member)

Lisa Poole RN, BSN, PHN II
SIDS/FIMR Coordinator
Fresno County Department of Public Health
(559) 600-6337 (Phone)
(559) 600-7729 (Fax)
E-Mail: lpoole@co.fresno.ca.us

Southern Regional
Council President
(ex-officio Council Member)

Jeri Wilson, MSW
SIDS Parent
San Diego County
Santee, CA 92071
(619) 448-6874 (Phone)
jeriellen3@cox.net

Public Health Nurse Representatives

Dawn Dailey, RN, PHN, PhD
MCAH Nurse Manager
Contra Costa Health Services
Nurse‑Family Partnership
597 Center Avenue, Suite 355
Martinez, CA 94553-4675
(925) 313-6325 (Phone)
Dawn.Dailey@hsd.cccounty.us

Kathleen “Kitty” Roche, RN, PHN,
BSN, MSW
Retired SIDS Coordinator
San Diego County Health and Human
Services Agency
(760) 390-4576 (Cell)
kittyr065@gmail.com

SIDS Parents

Kathleen Beichley
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 622-8474
(530) 748-7874 (Alternative)
beichley@comcast.net

Rachel Strickland
Temecula, CA 95292
(951) 240-7736
(714) 305-0421 (Alternative)
rstrickland41@gmail.com

Lorie Gehrke
SIDS Parent
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
(925) 207-8113
lorie.gehrke@gmail.com

Page Last Updated :