Skip Navigation LinksSIDS-Advisory-Council-Members

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS) Program

California Sudden Infant Death Syndrome / Sudden Unexpected Infant Death (SIDS/SUID)

State Advisory Council

The Council Chair, appointed by the Director of the California Department of Public Health, presides over the Council's meetings and sets the agenda for addressing the needs and concerns of the SIDS community. Dr. Thomas G. Keens, a renowned SIDS researcher is the current Council Chair. Under his leadership the Council is working together to improve California's SIDS services, education and research. To view the issues currently being discussed and the Council's plan of action, we encourage you to access the Advisory Council Chair Updates and Actions prepared by Dr. Keens.

Print Version (PDF)

Physician and Surgeon Representative, Chair

Thomas G. Keens, MD
Professor of Pediatrics, Physiology and Biophysics, USC
Division of Pediatric Pulmonology & Sleep Medicine, Children's Hospital Los Angeles
4650 Sunset Boulevard, Box 83
Los Angeles, CA 90027-6062
Phone: (323) 361‑2101
Email: tkeens@chla.usc.edu | tkeens@gmail.com (Alternate)

Vice/Chair/Secretary

Lorie Gehrke
SIDS Parent
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Phone: (925) 207-8113
E-mail: lorie.gehrke@gmail.com

Coroner

Heather Griffiths
Deputy Coroner, Sacramento County Sacramento, CA 95820
Phone: (916)874-1703
E-Mail: griffithsh@saccounty.net

Medical Examiner
Representative

James K. Ribe, MD, JD
Retired Senior Deputy Medical Examiner
Los Angeles County
Department of Coroner
Malibu, CA
E-Mail: atlantic2677@hotmail.com

First Responder
Representative

Kris Concepcion
Fire Chief
Vacaville Fire Department
650 Merchant Street
Vacaville, CA 95688
Phone: (707) 449-5462
E-mail: kris.concepcion@cityofvacaville.com

Public Health Nurse Representatives

Dawn Dailey, RN, PHN, PhD
MCAH Nurse Manager
Contra Costa Health Services
Nurse‑Family Partnership
597 Center Avenue, Suite 355
Martinez, CA 94553-4675
Phone: (925) 313-6325
E-Mail: Dawn.Dailey@hsd.cccounty.us

Kathleen “Kitty” Roche, RN, PHN,
BSN, MSW
Retired SIDS Coordinator
San Diego County Health and Human
Services Agency
Phone: (760) 390-4576 (Cell)
E-Mail: kittyr065@gmail.com

SIDS Parents

Kathleen Beichley
Placerville, CA 95667
Phone: (530) 622-8474
Alt: (530) 748-7874
E-Mail: beichley@comcast.net

Lorie Gehrke
SIDS Parent
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Phone: (925) 207-8113
E-Mail: lorie.gehrke@gmail.com

Northern Regional
Council President
(Interim President)

Lorie Gehrke
SIDS Parent
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
Phone: (925) 207-8113
E-Mail: lorie.gehrke@gmail.com

Southern Regional
Council President
(ex-officio Council Member)

Jeri Wilson, MSW
SIDS Parent
San Diego County
Santee, CA 92071
Phone: (619) 448-6874
E-Mail: jeriellen3@cox.net

Page Last Updated :