Skip Navigation LinksSIDS-Advisory-Council-Members

Sudden Infant Death Syndrome (SIDS)

SIDS Advisory Council Members

The Council Chair, appointed by the Director of the California Department of Public Health, presides over the Council's meetings and sets the agenda for addressing the needs and concerns of the SIDS community. Dr. Thomas G. Keens, a renowned SIDS researcher is the current Council Chair. Under his leadership the Council is working together to improve California's SIDS services, education and research. To view the issues currently being discussed and the Council's plan of action, we encourage you to access the Advisory Council Chair Updates and Actions prepared by Dr. Keens.
Physician and Surgeon Representative

Thomas G

Thomas G. Keens, MD, Chair
Professor of Pediatrics, Physiology and Biophysics
Division of Pediatric Pulmonology
Children's Hospital Los Angeles
4650 Sunset Boulevard, Box 83
Los Angeles, CA 90027-6062
(323) 361-2101
(323) 361-1355 Fax
tkeens@chla.usc.edu  

Parent Group Representative

Lorie Gehrke

Lorie Gehrke, Vice-Chair
SIDS Alliance of Northern CA
1547 Palos Verdes Mall, 301
Walnut Creek, CA 94597
info@sidsnc.org

Parent Group Representative

Kathleen Beichley

Kathleen Beichley
1605 Highland Drive
Placerville, CA 95667
(530) 622-8474
Beichley@comcast.net

Parent Group Representative

Rachel Strickland

Rachel Strickland
SIDS Parent
rstrickland41@gmail.com

Coroner Representative

Dennis H. Watt

Dennis H. Watt
Deputy Sheriff/Chief Deputy Coroner
Placer County
PO Box 6990
Auburn, CA 95604
(530) 889-7800
(530) 889-7868 (Fax)
dwatt@placer.ca.gov

Medical Examiner Representative

James K. Ribe

James K. Ribe, MD, JD
Senior Deputy Medical Examiner
Los Angeles County Department of Coroner
1104 North Mission Road
Los Angeles, CA 90033
(323) 343-0520
jribe@coroner.lacounty.gov

Public Health Nurse Representative

Dawn Dailey, RN, PHN, PhD

Dawn Dailey, RN, PHN, PhD
MCAH Nurse Manager
Contra Costa Health Services
Nurse Family Partnership
597 Center Avenue, Suite 365
Martinez, CA 94553-4675
(925) 313-6345
(925) 313-6910 (Fax)
Dawn.Dailey@hsd.cccounty.us

Police/Fire Department Representative

Kristian Concepcion


Kristian Concepcion
136 Longford Ln.
Vacaville, CA 95688
(949) 426-2240
Kconcepcion24@gmail.com

Public Health Nurse Representative

Natalie Berbick

Natalie Berbick, MSW
Present Northern CA Regional SIDS Council Family, Maternal and Child Health Programs
597 Center Avenue #265
Martinez, CA 94553-4675
(925) 313-6920
(925) 313-6708 (Fax)      
Natalie.Berbick@hsd.cccounty.us

Publc Health Nurse Representative

Kathleen (Kitty) Roche

Kathleen (Kitty) Roche, RN, PHN, MSW
Present Southern CA Regional SIDS Council
County of San Diego
Health and Human Services Agency
North Inland Public Health Center
606 E. Valley Parkway
Escondido, CA 92025
(760) 390-4576
(760) 740-4003 (Fax)
Kitty.Roche@sdcounty.ca.gov

Page Last Updated :