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California Code of Regulations, Title 17 

Division 1 

Chapter 13. Manufactured Cannabis Safety 

SUBCHAPTER 1.  General Provisions and Definitions 

Article 1. Definitions 

§40100. Definitions.

In addition to the definitions in Business and Professions Code section 26001, the 

following definitions shall govern the construction of this chapter:  

(a) “A-license” means a license issued for commercial cannabis activities involving

cannabis and cannabis products that are intended for individuals 21 years of age and 

older and who do not possess a physician’s recommendation.  

(b) “Act” means the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety Act,

codified at Business and Professions Code section 26000, et seq. 

(c) “Adult-use Market” means the products intended for sale at a retailer or

microbusiness to individuals 21 years of age and older and who do not possess a 

physician’s recommendation. 

(d) “Adulterated” or “adulteration” has the meaning stated in section 26131 of the

Act. 

(e) “Allergen” means a major food allergen including any of the following: (1) Milk,

eggs, fish (e.g., bass, flounder, or cod), crustacean shellfish (e.g., crab, lobster, or 

shrimp), tree nuts (e.g., almonds, pecans, or walnuts), wheat, peanuts, and soybeans. 

(2) A food ingredient that contains protein derived from a food specified in (1). “Allergen”

does not include the following: Any highly refined oil derived from a food specified in (1) 

and any ingredient derived from such highly refined oil. 

(f) “Applicant” means the owner that is applying on behalf of the commercial

cannabis business for a license to manufacture cannabis products. 

(g) “Batch” or “production batch” means either:

(1) An amount of cannabis concentrate or extract produced in one production cycle

using the same extraction methods and standard operating procedures; or  
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(2)  An amount of a type of cannabis product produced in one production cycle using 

the same formulation and standard operating procedures. 

(h) “Bureau” means the Bureau of Cannabis Control in the Department of Consumer 

Affairs.  

(i) “Cannabis concentrate” means cannabis that has undergone a process to 

concentrate one or more active cannabinoids, thereby increasing the product’s potency.  

For purposes of this chapter, “cannabis concentrate” includes, but is not limited to, the 

separated resinous trichomes of cannabis, tinctures, capsules, suppositories, extracts, 

vape cartridges, inhaled products (e.g., dab, shatter, and wax), and tablets as defined in 

subsection (rr).   

(j) “Cannabis product” as used in this chapter means cannabis that has undergone a 

process whereby the plant material has been transformed into a concentrate, including, 

but not limited to, concentrated cannabis, or an edible or topical product containing 

cannabis or concentrated cannabis and other ingredients.   

(k) “Cannabis product quality,” “quality cannabis product,” or “quality” means that the 

cannabis product consistently meets the established specifications for identity, 

cannabinoid concentration (as specified in Section 5724 of Title 16 of the California 

Code of Regulations), homogeneity, composition, and testing standards established by 

the Bureau in Sections 5718 to 5723, inclusive, of Title 16 of the California Code of 

Regulations, and has been manufactured, packaged, labeled, and held under conditions 

to prevent adulteration and misbranding. 

(l) “Cannabis waste” means waste that contains cannabis or cannabis products but 

is not otherwise a hazardous waste as defined in Public Resources Code section 

40141.   

(m) “CBD” means the compound cannabidiol.  

(n) “Commercial-grade, non-residential door lock” means a lock manufactured for 

commercial use. 

(o) “Department” means the State Department of Public Health.  

(p) “Distribution” means the procurement, sale, and transport of cannabis and 

cannabis products between licensees. 
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(q) “Edible cannabis product” means a cannabis product intended to be used orally, 

in whole or in part, for human consumption.  For purposes of this chapter, “edible 

cannabis product” includes cannabis products that dissolve or disintegrate in the mouth, 

but does not include any product otherwise defined as “cannabis concentrate.” 

(r) “Extraction” means a process by which cannabinoids are separated from 

cannabis plant material through chemical or physical means.   

(s) “Finished product” means a cannabis product in its final form to be sold at a retail 

premises. 

(t) “Harvest batch” means a specifically identified quantity of dried flower or trim, 

leaves, and other cannabis plant matter that is uniform in strain, harvested at the same 

time, and, if applicable, cultivated using the same pesticides and other agricultural 

chemicals, and harvested at the same time. 

(u) “Informational panel” means any part of the cannabis product label that is not the 

primary panel and that contains required labeling information.  

(v) “Infusion” means a process by which cannabis, cannabinoids, or cannabis 

concentrates are directly incorporated into a product formulation to produce a cannabis 

product. 

(w) “Infused pre-roll” means a pre-roll into which cannabis concentrate (other than 

kief) or other ingredients have been incorporated. 

(x) “Ingredient” means any substance that is used in the manufacture of a cannabis 

product and that is intended to be present in the product’s final form. 

(y) “Kief” means the resinous trichomes of cannabis that have been separated from 

the cannabis plant.  

(z) “Labeling” means any label or other written, printed, or graphic matter upon a 

cannabis product, upon its container or wrapper, or that accompanies any cannabis 

product. 

(aa) “Limited-access area” means an area in which cannabis or cannabis products 

are stored or held and is only accessible to a licensee and authorized personnel. 

(bb) “M-license” means a license issued for commercial cannabis activity involving 

medicinal cannabis.   
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(cc) “Manufacturer licensee” or “licensee” means the holder of a manufacturer 

license issued pursuant to the Act. 

(dd) “Manufacture” means to compound, blend, extract, infuse, or otherwise make or 

prepare a cannabis product.   

(1) The term “manufacture” includes the following processes: 

(A) Extraction;  

(B) Infusion;  

(C) Packaging or repackaging of cannabis products; and 

(D) Labeling or relabeling the packages of cannabis products.  

(2) The term “manufacture” does not include the following: 

(A) The repacking of cannabis products from a bulk shipping container by a 

distributor or retailer where the product’s original packaging and labeling is not 

otherwise altered; 

(B) The preparation of pre-rolls by a licensed distributor in accordance with the 

requirements of the Bureau specified in Section 5303 of Division 42 of Title 16 of the 

California Code of Regulations;  

(C) The collection of the resinous trichomes that are dislodged or sifted from the 

cannabis plant incident to cultivation activities by a licensed cultivator in accordance 

with the requirements of the California Department of Food and Agriculture specified in 

Article 4 of Chapter 1 of Division 8 of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations;  

(D) The processing of non-manufactured cannabis products, as defined in Section 

8000 of Title 3 of the California Code of Regulations, by a licensed cultivator in 

accordance with the requirements of the California Department of Food and Agriculture 

specified in Article 4 of Chapter 1 of Division 8 of Title 3 of the California Code of 

Regulations; or 

(E) The addition of cannabinoid content on the label of a package of cannabis or 

cannabis product by a distributor in accordance with Section 40409.  

(ee) “Manufacturing” or “manufacturing operation” means all aspects of the 

extraction process, infusion process, and packaging and labeling processes, including 

processing, preparing, holding, and storing of cannabis products.  Manufacturing also 

includes any processing, preparing, holding, or storing of components and ingredients. 



DPH-17-010  
Cannabis Manufacturing Licensing 

FINAL TEXT 

 

Page 5 of 107 

 

(ff) “MCLS” means the Manufacturing Cannabis Licensing System, which is the 

online license application system available on the Department’s website 

(www.cdph.ca.gov). 

(gg) “Nonvolatile solvent” means any solvent used in the extraction process that is 

not a volatile solvent.  For purposes of this chapter, “nonvolatile solvents” include 

carbon dioxide and ethanol. 

(hh) “Orally-consumed concentrate” means a cannabis concentrate that is intended 

to be consumed by mouth and is not otherwise an edible cannabis product.  “Orally-

consumed concentrate” includes tinctures, capsules, and tablets that meet the definition 

of subsection (rr).   

(ii) “Package” or “packaging” means any container or wrapper that may be used for 

enclosing or containing any cannabis product. The term “package” does not include any 

shipping container or outer wrapping used solely for the transportation of cannabis 

products in bulk quantity to another licensee or licensed premises. 

(jj) “Personnel” means any worker engaged in the performance or supervision of 

operations at a manufacturing premises and includes full-time employees, part-time 

employees, temporary employees, contractors, and volunteers.  For purposes of 

training requirements, “personnel” also includes owner-operators. 

(kk) “Person” includes any individual, firm, partnership, joint venture, association, 

corporation, limited liability company, estate, trust, business trust, receiver, syndicate, or 

any other group or combination acting as a unit, and the plural as well as the singular.  

(ll) “Pre-roll” means any combination of the following rolled in paper: flower, shake, 

leaf, or kief. 

(mm) “Premises” means the designated structure(s) and land specified in the 

application that is owned, leased, or otherwise held under the control of the applicant or 

licensee where the commercial cannabis activity (as defined in section 26001(k) of the 

Act) will be or is conducted.  The premises shall be a contiguous area and shall only be 

occupied by one licensee.  

(nn) “Primary panel” means the part of a cannabis product label that is most likely to 

be displayed, presented, shown, or examined under customary conditions of display for 

retail sale.  
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(oo) “Product Identity” or “identity of the product” means the generic, common, or 

usual name of the product by which it is most commonly known 

(pp) "Quarantine" means the storage or identification of a product, to prevent 

distribution or transfer of the product. 

(qq) “Serving” means the designated amount of cannabis product established by the 

manufacturer to constitute a single unit. 

(rr) “Tablet” means a solid preparation containing a single serving of THC or other 

cannabinoid that is intended to be swallowed whole, and that is not formulated to be 

chewable, dispersible, effervescent, orally disintegrating, used as a suspension, or 

consumed in a manner other than swallowed whole, and that does not contain any 

added natural or artificial flavor or sweetener. 

(ss) “THC” means the compound tetrahydrocannabinol.  For purposes of this 

chapter, “THC” refers specifically to delta 9-tetrahydrocannabinol. 

(tt) “Topical cannabis product” means a cannabis product intended to be applied to 

the skin rather than ingested or inhaled. 

(uu) “Track-and-trace system” means the program for reporting the movement of 

cannabis and cannabis products through the distribution chain established by the 

Department of Food and Agriculture in accordance with section 26067 of the Act. 

(vv)“UID” means the unique identifier for use in the track-and-trace system 

established by the Department of Food and Agriculture in accordance with section 

26069 of the Act.  

(ww) “Universal symbol” means the symbol developed by the Department pursuant 

to section 26130(c)(7) of the Act to indicate a product contains cannabinoids.   

(xx) “Volatile solvent” means any solvent that is or produces a flammable gas or 

vapor that, when present in the air in sufficient quantities, will create explosive or 

ignitable mixtures.  Examples of volatile solvents include, but are not limited to, butane, 

hexane, and propane. 

 

Authority:  Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26001, 26120 and 26130, Business and Professions Code; 

Section 11018.1, Health and Safety Code. 
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§40101. Applicability. 

(a) Unless otherwise specified, the requirements of this chapter apply to all licensed 

manufacturers and to the manufacture of cannabis products for both the medicinal-use 

market and the adult-use market. 

(b) The requirements for the production, packaging, and labeling of cannabis 

products in subchapters 3, 4, and 5 shall apply to licensed microbusinesses conducting 

manufacturing operations.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26050 and 26106, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40102. Owners and Financial Interest Holders. 

(a) An owner shall mean any of the following: 

(1) Any person that has an aggregate ownership interest, other than a security 

interest, lien, or encumbrance, in a commercial cannabis business of 20 percent or 

more;  

(A) If the owner identified in subsection (a)(1) is an entity, then the chief executive 

officer and members of the board of directors of the entity shall be considered owners.  

(2) The chief executive officer of a commercial cannabis business; 

(3) If a non-profit entity, each member of the board of directors;   

(4) Any individual that will be participating in the direction, control, or management of 

the licensed commercial cannabis business.  An owner who is an individual participating 

in the direction, control, or management of the commercial cannabis business includes 

any of the following:   

(A) Each general partner of a commercial cannabis business that is organized as a 

partnership; 

(B) Each non-member manager or managing member of a limited liability company 

for a commercial cannabis business that is organized as a limited liability company;  

(C) Each officer or director of a commercial cannabis business that is organized as a 

corporation. 
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(5) The trustee(s) and all persons that have control of the trust and/or the 

commercial cannabis business that is held in trust. 

(b) Financial interest holders, for purposes of section 26051.5(d) of the Act, are 

persons that hold an ownership interest of less than 20 percent in a commercial 

cannabis business, and are not otherwise specified as owners pursuant to subsection 

(a). Financial interest holders shall be disclosed on the application for licensure.  A 

financial interest means an agreement to receive a portion of the profits of a commercial 

cannabis business, an investment into a commercial cannabis business, a loan 

provided to a commercial cannabis business, or any other equity interest in a 

commercial cannabis business. 

(c) The following persons are not considered to be owners or financial interest 

holders:  

(1) A bank or financial institution whose interest constitutes a loan;  

(2) Persons whose only ownership interest in the commercial cannabis business is 

through an interest in a diversified mutual fund, blind trust, or similar instrument; 

(3) Persons whose only financial interest is a security interest, lien, or encumbrance 

on the property that will be used by the commercial cannabis business; and  

(4) Persons who hold a share of stock that is less than 5 percent of the total shares 

in a publicly traded company. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012 and 26013, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 

Sections 26001 and 26051.5, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40105. Premises Diagram. 

(a) The premises diagram required pursuant to section 26051.5(c) of the Act shall 

meet the following requirements:  

(1) The diagram shall be specific enough to enable ready determination of the 

bounds of the property and the proposed premises to be licensed; 

(2) The diagram shall be to scale;  
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(3) If the proposed premises consists of only a portion of a property, the diagram 

shall be labeled to indicate which part of the property is the proposed premises and 

identify what the remaining property is used for. 

(b) The premises diagram shall include:  

(1) All boundaries, dimensions, entrances and exits, interior partitions, walls, rooms, 

windows, and doorways.  

(2) The areas in which all commercial cannabis activities will be conducted. 

Commercial cannabis activities that shall be identified on the diagram include the 

following, as applicable to the business operations: infusion activities, extraction 

activities, packaging activities, labeling activities, and transportation activities such as 

loading and unloading of cannabis and cannabis products.   

(3) The limited-access areas, areas used for video surveillance monitoring and 

surveillance system storage devices, and all security camera locations.   

(4) Cannabis waste disposal areas.   

(c) If the proposed premises consists of only a portion of a property that will contain 

two or more licensed premises, the diagram shall clearly show any entrances and walls 

under the exclusive control of the applicant or licensee. The diagram shall also show all 

proposed common or shared areas of the property, including entryways, lobbies, 

bathrooms, hallways, and breakrooms.  

(d) The diagram shall be used by the Department to determine whether the premises 

meets the requirements of the Act and this chapter. 

 

Authority: Section 26013, Business and Professions Code. Reference: Section 26051.5, 

Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 2. General Provisions 

§40115. License Required. 

(a) Every person who manufactures cannabis products shall obtain and maintain a 

valid manufacturer license from the Department for each separate premises at which 

manufacturing operations will be conducted. 

(b) No person shall manufacture cannabis products without a valid license from the 

Department. 

(c) Licenses shall not be transferrable. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26053, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40116.  Personnel Prohibited from Holding Licenses.  

(a) A license authorized by the Act and issued by the Department may not be held 

by, or issued to, any person holding office in, or employed by, any agency of the State 

of California or any of its political subdivisions when the duties of such person have to 

do with the enforcement of the Act or the penal provisions of law of this State prohibiting 

or regulating the sale, use, possession, transportation, distribution, testing, 

manufacturing, or cultivation of cannabis or cannabis products.  

(b) This section applies to, but is not limited to, any person employed in the State of 

California Department of Justice as a peace officer, in any district attorney's office, in 

any city or county attorney’s office, in any sheriff's office, or in any local police 

department.  

(c) All persons listed in subsection (a) or (b) may not have any ownership interest, 

directly or indirectly, in any business to be operated or conducted under a cannabis 

license.  

(d) This section does not apply to any person who holds a license in the capacity of 

executor, administrator, or guardian.  

  

Authority: Sections 26012 and 26013, Business and Professions Code. Reference: 

Section 26012, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40118. Manufacturing License Types. 

The following license types are available from the Department:  

(a) “Type 7,” for extractions using volatile solvents as defined by Section 40100(xx).  

A Type 7 licensee may also:  

(1) Conduct extractions using nonvolatile solvents or mechanical methods on the 

licensed premises, provided that the extraction process is noted on the application and 

the relevant information pursuant to Section 40131 is provided to the Department;  

(2) Conduct infusion operations on the licensed premises, provided the infusion 

operations and product types are noted on the application and the relevant information 

pursuant to Section 40131 is provided to the Department;  

(3) Conduct packaging and labeling of cannabis products on the licensed premises; 

and  

(4) Register and operate the licensed premises as a shared-use facility in 

accordance with Article 6 (commencing with Section 40190) of Subchapter 2. 

(b) “Type 6,” for extractions using mechanical methods or nonvolatile solvents as 

defined by Section 40100(gg). A Type 6 licensee may also:  

(1) Conduct infusion operations on the licensed premises, provided the infusion 

operations and product types are noted on the application and the relevant information 

pursuant to Section 40131 is provided to the Department; 

(2) Conduct packaging and labeling of cannabis products on the licensed premises; 

and 

(3) Register and operate the licensed premises as a shared-use facility in 

accordance with Article 6 (commencing with Section 40190) of Subchapter 2. 

(c) “Type N,” for manufacturers that produce cannabis products other than extracts 

or concentrates that are produced through extraction.  A Type N licensee may also: 

(1) Conduct packaging and labeling of cannabis products on the licensed premises; 

and   

(2) Register and operate the licensed premises as a shared-use facility in 

accordance with Article 6 (commencing with Section 40190) of Subchapter 2. 

(d) “Type P,” for manufacturers that only package or repackage cannabis products 

or label or relabel cannabis product containers or wrappers.  
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(e) “Type S,” for manufacturers that conduct commercial cannabis manufacturing 

activities in accordance with Article 6 (commencing with Section 40190) of Subchapter 2 

at a registered shared-use facility. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012, 26050 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40120. Additional Activities. 

In addition to the activities specified in Section 40118, a licensee may also roll and 

package pre-rolls and package dried cannabis flower. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 
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SUBCHAPTER 2 – MANUFACTURING LICENSES 

Article 1. Applications for Licensure 

§40126.  Temporary Licenses.  

(a) A temporary license shall be valid for 120 days from the effective date.  No 

temporary license shall be issued on or after January 1, 2019.  

(c) Any temporary license issued or extended that has an expiration date after 

December 31, 2018, will be valid until it expires, but shall not be extended beyond the 

expiration date. 

(e) Refusal by the Department to issue or extend a temporary license shall not 

entitle the applicant to a hearing or appeal of the decision.  

(f) A temporary license does not obligate the Department to issue an annual license 

to the temporary license holder, nor does the temporary license create a vested right in 

the holder to either an extension of the temporary license or to the granting of a 

subsequent annual license.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26012, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40128. Annual License Application Requirements.  

(a) To apply for a manufacturer license from the Department, the applicant shall 

submit the following on behalf of the commercial cannabis business:   

(1) A completed application form as prescribed by the Department, or through 

MCLS, which includes all of the following information: 

(A) Business information as specified in Section 40129; 

(B) Owner information as specified in Section 40130; and 

(C) Manufacturing premises and operations information as specified in Section 

40131;    

(2) For new applications, the nonrefundable application fee as specified in Section 

40150(a).  The annual license fee shall be paid upon approval of the application, as 

prescribed in Section 40155.  For license renewal applications, the nonrefundable 

annual license fee as specified in Section 40150(b) shall be submitted with the license 
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renewal application.  The application fee described in Section 40150(a) is not required 

for license renewal applications; 

(3) Evidence of compliance with or exemption from the California Environmental 

Quality Act (CEQA) as specified in Section 40132; and 

(4) The limited waiver of sovereign immunity as specified in Section 40133, if 

applicable. 

(b) The application shall be signed by the applicant under penalty of perjury that the 

information provided in and submitted with the application is complete, true, and 

accurate, and shall include the following attestations:  

(1) The applicant is authorized to act on behalf of the commercial cannabis 

business;  

(2) The applicant entity, when it has 20 or more employees, has entered, or will 

enter as soon as reasonably practicable, into a labor peace agreement and will abide by 

the terms of the agreement as required by section 26051.5 (a)(5)(A) of the Act. The 

applicant shall provide the Department a copy of the page of the labor peace agreement 

that contains the signatures of the union representative and the applicant; 

(3) The commercial cannabis business is operating in compliance with all local 

ordinances;  

(4) The proposed premises is not within a 600-foot radius of the perimeter of a  

school providing instruction in kindergarten or any grades 1 through 12, or a day care 

center, or youth center, or that the premises complies with the local ordinance 

specifying a different radius, as specified in section 26054(b) of the Act.; and  

(5) For an applicant entity with more than one employee, the applicant employs, or 

will employ within one year of receiving a license, one supervisor and one employee 

who have successfully completed a Cal/OSHA 30-hour general industry outreach 

course offered by a training provider that is authorized by an OSHA Training Institute 

Education Center to provide the course.    

(c) The Department may request additional information and documents from the 

applicant as necessary to determine whether the applicant or the commercial cannabis 

business meets the requirements and qualifications for licensure. 
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050, 26051.5 and 26054, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40129.  Annual License Application Requirements – Business Information. 

(a) The applicant shall submit the following information for the commercial cannabis 

business:  

(1) The legal business name;  

(2) The federal tax identification number.  If the commercial cannabis business is a 

sole proprietorship, the applicant shall submit the social security number or individual 

taxpayer identification number of the sole proprietor;  

(3) The registered name(s) under which the business will operate (Fictitious 

Business Name, Trade Name, “Doing Business As”), if applicable; 

(4) The business’s mailing address which will serve as the address of record; 

(5) The name, title, phone number and email address of the primary contact person 

for the commercial cannabis business;  

(6) The seller’s permit number issued by the California Department of Tax and Fee 

Administration or notification issued by the California Department of Tax and Fee 

Administration that the business is not required to have a seller’s permit.  If the applicant 

has not yet received a seller’s permit, the applicant shall attest that the applicant is 

currently applying for a seller’s permit;  

(7) The business structure of the commercial cannabis business as filed with the 

California Secretary of State (e.g., limited liability company, partnership, corporation) or 

operation as a sole proprietor. A commercial cannabis business that is a foreign 

corporation or foreign limited liability company under the California Corporations Code 

shall include with its application the certificate of status issued by the California 

Secretary of State; 

(8) A list of all owners, as defined in Section 40102;  

(9) A list of all financial interest holders, as defined in Section 40102, which shall 

include:  
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(A) For financial interest holders that are individuals, the first and last name of the 

individual, and the type and number of the individual’s government-issued identification 

(e.g. driver’s license); or 

(B) For financial interest holders that are entities, the legal business name and 

federal taxpayer identification number of the entity.  

(10) Proof of having obtained a surety bond in the amount of $5,000, payable to the 

State of California as obligee, to ensure payment of the cost incurred for the destruction 

of cannabis or cannabis products necessitated by a violation of the Act or the 

regulations adopted thereunder. The bond shall be issued by a corporate surety 

licensed to transact surety business in the State of California; 

(11) The license type applied for and whether the application is for medicinal 

cannabis product manufacturing, adult-use cannabis product manufacturing, or both; 

(12) The business formation documents, which may include, but are not limited to, 

articles of incorporation, bylaws, operating agreements, partnership agreements, and 

fictitious business name statements. If the commercial cannabis business is held in 

trust, the applicant shall provide a copy of the certificate of trust establishing trustee 

authority; 

(13) All documents filed with the California Secretary of State, which may include, 

but are not limited to, articles of incorporation, articles of organization, certificates of 

limited partnership, and statements of partnership authority. 

(b) Pursuant to section 26055(e) of the Act, an applicant may voluntarily submit a 

copy of a license, permit, or other authorization to conduct commercial cannabis 

manufacturing activities issued by the local jurisdiction.  When an applicant submits a 

local authorization, upon receipt of the application, the Department shall contact the 

applicable local jurisdiction to confirm the validity of the authorization.  If the local 

jurisdiction does not respond within 10 calendar days, the Department shall consider the 

authorization valid.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050 and 26051.5, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40130. Annual License Application Requirements - Owners. 

(a) Each owner shall submit all of the following information:   

(1) Name;  

(2) Title or position held;  

(3) Social security number or individual taxpayer identification number;  

(4) Date of birth;  

(5) Mailing address;  

(6) Contact phone number and email address;  

(7) A copy of Department of Justice form BCIA 8016, provided to the applicant by 

the Department of Public Health and signed by the live scan operator;   

(8) Disclosure of all of the following, including any actions against the owner as an 

individual and against a business entity in which the owner was an officer or an owner.  

The information provided shall include dates and a description of the circumstances:   

(A) Any criminal conviction from any jurisdiction.  Adjudications by a juvenile court 

and infractions do not need to be disclosed. Convictions dismissed under Penal Code 

section 1203.4 or equivalent non-California law must be disclosed;  

(B) Any civil proceeding or administrative penalty or license sanction that is 

substantially related to the qualifications of a manufacturer as identified in Section 

40162;  

(C) Any fines, penalties, or other sanctions for cultivation or production of a 

controlled substance on public or private lands pursuant to Fish and Game Code 

section 12025 or 12025.1;  

(D) Any sanctions by a licensing authority, city, or county for unauthorized 

commercial cannabis activity within 3 years preceding the date of the application;     

(E) Any suspension or revocation of a cannabis license by a licensing authority or 

local jurisdiction within 3 years preceding the date of the application; and  

(F) Any administrative orders or civil judgements for violations of labor standards 

within the 3 years immediately preceding the date of the application.   

(9) Disclosure of any ownership interest or financial interest in any other cannabis 

business licensed under the Act.   
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(b) The owner shall sign under penalty of perjury that the information provided in and 

submitted with the application is complete, true, and accurate.   

(c) An owner disclosing a criminal conviction or other penalty or sanction pursuant to 

subsection (a), paragraphs (8)(A) and (B), shall submit any evidence of rehabilitation 

with the application for consideration by the Department.  A statement of rehabilitation 

shall be written by the owner and contain all the evidence that the owner would like the 

Department to consider that demonstrates the owner’s fitness for licensure.  Supporting 

evidence may be attached to the statement of rehabilitation and may include, but is not 

limited to, evidence specified in Section 40165, and dated letters of reference from 

employers, instructors, or counselors that contain valid contact information for the 

individual providing the reference.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012, 26013, 26050, 26055 and 26130, Business and 

Professions Code. 

 

§40131.  Annual License Application Requirements – Manufacturing Premises 

and Operations Information.  

The applicant shall submit all of the following information regarding the 

manufacturing premises and operation:  

(a) The physical address of the manufacturing premises;  

(b) Whether medicinal-use cannabis products, adult-use cannabis products, or both, 

are manufactured at the premises;  

(c) The type(s) of activity conducted at the premises (extraction, infusion, packaging, 

or labeling); 

(d) The types of products that will be manufactured, packaged, or labeled at the 

premises, including a product list; 

(e) The name, title, email address, and phone number of the on-site individual who 

manages the operation of the premises; 

(f) The name, title, email address, and phone number of an alternate contact person 

for the premises, if applicable;  
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(g) The number of employees at the premises; 

(h) The anticipated gross annual revenue from products manufactured at the 

premises as specified in Section 40152; 

(i) A premises diagram as specified in Section 40105; 

(j) The following information:  

(1) A description of inventory control procedures sufficient to demonstrate how the 

applicant will comply with the requirements of Section 40282, or a copy of the standard 

operating procedure addressing inventory control;   

(2) A description of quality control procedures sufficient to demonstrate how the 

applicant will comply with all of the applicable requirements specified in Sections 40235-

40258 or a copy of the standard operating procedure addressing quality control;   

(3) A description of the transportation process describing how cannabis or cannabis 

products will be transported into and out of the premises, or a copy of the standard 

operating procedure addressing transportation;  

(4) A description of security procedures sufficient to demonstrate how the applicant 

will comply with the requirements of Section 40200, or a copy of the standard operating 

procedure addressing security procedures;    

(5) A description of the cannabis waste management procedures sufficient to 

demonstrate how the applicant will comply with the requirements of Section 40290, or a 

copy of the standard operating procedure addressing cannabis waste management.   

(k) A written statement signed by the owner of the property, or the owner’s agent, 

identifying the physical location of the property and acknowledging and consenting to 

the manufacture of cannabis products on the property. The name, address and contact 

phone number for the owner or owner’s agent shall be included; 

(l) A copy of the signed closed-loop system certification and a document evidencing 

approval of the extraction operation by the local fire code official required pursuant to 

Section 40223 or 40225, if applicable; 

(m) Any manufacturer submitting operating procedures and protocols to the 

Department pursuant to the Act and this chapter may claim such information as a trade 

secret or confidential by clearly identifying such information as “confidential” on the 

document at the time of submission. Any claim of confidentiality by a manufacturer must 
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be based on the manufacturer’s good faith belief that the information marked as 

confidential constitutes a trade secret as defined in Civil Code section 3426.1(d), or is 

otherwise exempt from public disclosure under the California Public Records Act in 

Government Code section 6250 et seq. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050, 26050.1, 26055 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

§40132.  Annual License Application Requirements - Compliance with CEQA. 

(a) An applicant for a new license shall provide evidence of exemption from or 

compliance with the California Environmental Quality Act (CEQA), Division 13 

(commencing with section 21000) of the Public Resources Code.  

(b) The evidence provided pursuant to subsection (a) shall be one of the following:  

(1) If the premises is located in a local jurisdiction that has adopted an ordinance, 

rule, or regulation pursuant to Business and Professions Code section 26055(h), a copy 

of the local license, permit, or other authorization shall be sufficient to demonstrate 

compliance.  

(2) If the applicant does not provide a copy of the local license, permit, or other 

authorization pursuant to subsection (b)(1), or if the premises is located in a local 

jurisdiction that has not adopted an ordinance, rule, or regulation pursuant to Business 

and Professions Code section 26055(h), a copy of the Notice of Exemption or Notice of 

Determination and a copy of the CEQA document from the local jurisdiction, or a 

reference to where it can be found electronically to demonstrate compliance.  

(3) Any other permit or local authorization issued by the local jurisdiction in 

compliance with CEQA may be submitted to demonstrate compliance. 

(c) If an applicant does not have the evidence specified in subsection (b), or if the local 

jurisdiction did not prepare a CEQA document, the applicant shall be responsible for the 

preparation of an environmental document in compliance with CEQA that can be 

approved or certified by the Department, if applicable. 
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26055, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40133. Limited Waiver of Sovereign Immunity. 

(a) Any applicant or licensee that may fall within the scope of sovereign immunity 

that may be asserted by a federally recognized tribe or other sovereign entity must 

waive any sovereign immunity defense that the applicant or licensee may have, may be 

asserted on its behalf, or may otherwise be asserted in any state administrative or 

judicial enforcement actions against the applicant or licensee, regardless of the form of 

relief sought, whether monetary or otherwise, under the state laws and regulations 

governing commercial cannabis activity. The applicant or licensee must submit a written 

waiver of sovereign immunity to the Department with any license application or renewal, 

which is valid for the period of the license. The written waiver shall include that the 

applicant or licensee has the lawful authority to enter into the waiver required by this 

section, the applicant or licensee hereby waives sovereign immunity, and the applicant 

or licensee agrees to do all of the following:  

(1) Provide documentation to the Department that establishes that the applicant or 

licensee has the lawful authority to enter into the waiver required by this section;  

(2) Conduct all commercial cannabis activity in full compliance with the state laws 

and regulations governing commercial cannabis activity, including submission to all 

enforcement provisions thereof;  

(3) Allow access as required by state statute or regulation by persons or entities 

charged with duties under the state laws and regulations governing commercial 

cannabis activity to any premises or property at which the applicant conducts any 

commercial cannabis activity, including premises or property where records of 

commercial cannabis activity are maintained by or for the applicant or licensee;  

(4) Provide any and all records, reports, and other documents as may be required 

under the state laws and regulations governing commercial cannabis activity;  

(5) Conduct commercial cannabis activity with other state commercial cannabis 

licensees only, unless otherwise specified by state law;  
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(6) Meet all of the requirements for licensure under the state laws and regulations 

governing the conduct of commercial cannabis activity, and provide truthful and 

accurate documentation and other information of the applicant’s qualifications and 

suitability for licensure as may be requested;  

(7) Submit to the personal and subject matter jurisdiction of the California courts to 

address any matter related to the waiver or the commercial cannabis application, 

license, or activity, and that all such matters and proceedings shall be governed, 

construed, and enforced in accordance with California substantive and procedural law, 

including but not limited to the Medicinal and Adult-Use Cannabis Regulation and Safety 

Act and the Administrative Procedure Act.  

(b)  The Department shall not approve an application for a state license if approval of 

the license would violate the provisions of any local ordinance or regulation adopted in 

accordance with section 26200 of the Act that is issued by the county or, if within a city, 

the city, within which the licensed premises is to be located. 

 (c) Any applicant or licensee must immediately notify the Department of any 

changes that may materially affect the applicant and licensee’s compliance with 

subsection (a).  

(d) Any failure by an applicant or licensee to comply with the requirements of 

subsections (a) or (c) shall be a basis for denial of an application or renewal or 

discipline of a licensee.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26012, 26050 and 26051.5, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

§40135. Incomplete and Abandoned Applications. 

(a) Incomplete applications will not be processed.  Applications will only be 

considered complete if all of the information requested under Sections 40128 to 40131 

is included. The Department shall issue a written notice to the applicant, by mail or 

through MCLS, informing them of any information missing from the application. 
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(b) If the applicant fails to submit the required information within 180 days from the 

date of notice, the application shall be deemed abandoned.  Application fees for 

abandoned applications shall not be refunded. 

(c) An applicant may reapply at any time following an abandoned application.  

However, a new application and application fee are required.    

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26050, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40137. Application Withdrawal.   

(a) An applicant may withdraw an application for annual licensure at any time prior to 

the issuance or denial of the license.  Requests to withdraw an application shall be 

submitted in writing to the Department or through MCLS.  

(b) An applicant may reapply for annual licensure at any time subsequent to the 

withdrawal of an application. However, a new application and application fee are 

required. 

(c) Withdrawal of an application shall not deprive the Department of its authority to 

institute or continue a proceeding against the applicant for the denial of the license upon 

any ground provided by law or to enter an order denying the license upon any such 

ground.   

(d) The application fee paid for a new application and the annual license fee paid for 

a renewal application shall not be refunded if an application is withdrawn. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26050, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 3.  Fees 

§40150. Application and License Fees. 

(a) Manufacturer application fees for new applications shall be as follows: 

(1) For a Type 7, Type 6, Type N, or Type P license application, the nonrefundable 

application fee is $1,000 for each new application submitted; 

(2) For a Type S license application, a nonrefundable application fee of $500 for 

each new application submitted. 

(b) The annual license fee shall be as follows: 

(1) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of up to $100,000 (Tier I), the 

fee shall be $2,000; 

(2) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of $100,001 to $500,000 

(Tier II), the fee shall be $7,500;  

(3) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of $500,001 to $1,500,000 

(Tier III), the fee shall be $15,000; 

(4) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of $1,500,001 to $3,000,000 

(Tier IV), the fee shall be $25,000; 

(5) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of $3,000,001 to $5,000,000 

(Tier V), the fee shall be $35,000;  

(6) For a licensed premises with gross annual revenue of $5,000,001 to $10,000,000 

(Tier VI), the fee shall be $50,000; 

(7) For a licensed premises with an annual gross revenue of over $10,000,000 (Tier 

VII), the fee shall be $75,000.  

(c) All fees are nonrefundable. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26180, Business and Professions Code.  

 

§40152. Gross Annual Revenue Calculation.  

(a) The applicant shall calculate the gross annual revenue for the licensed premises 

based on the annual gross sales of cannabis products and, if applicable, the annual 

revenue received from manufacturing, packaging, labeling or otherwise handling 
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cannabis or cannabis products for other licensees, in the twelve months preceding the 

date of application.   

(b) For a new license applicant, the gross annual revenue shall be based on the 

gross sales and revenue expected during the first 12 months following licensure.   

(c) For a manufacturer licensee that is also licensed as a distributor or retailer, and 

that sells or transfers cannabis products manufactured on the licensed premises in a 

non-arm’s length transaction, the annual gross sales or revenue for such transactions 

shall be based on the product’s fair market value if it were to be sold in an arm’s length 

transaction at wholesale. 

(d) For purposes of this section, an “arm’s length transaction” means a sale entered 

into in good faith and for valuable consideration that reflects the fair market value in the 

open market between two informed and willing parties, neither under any compulsion to 

participate in the transaction.  

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26180, Business and Professions Code.  
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Article 4.  Approval or Denial of Application for Licensure 

§40155. New License Approval. 

(a) The Department shall notify the applicant upon approval of a new license 

application by email or through MCLS.   

(b) The applicant shall pay the applicable license fee specified in Section 40150(b) 

within 30 calendar days of notification. The license fee for the first year of licensure shall 

be based on the estimated gross annual revenue as calculated pursuant to Section 

40152 and submitted in the license application.    

(c) No license shall be issued before the license fee is paid to the Department in full.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26012 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40156.  Priority License Issuance.  

(a) Priority issuance of licenses shall be given to applicants that can demonstrate 

that the commercial cannabis business was in operation under the Compassionate Use 

Act of 1996, Health and Safety Code sections 11362.5 et seq., as of September 1, 

2016.   

(b) Eligibility for priority in application processing shall be demonstrated by any of the 

following, dated prior to September 1, 2016:  

(1) Local license or permit or other written authorization; 

(2) Collective or Cooperative Membership Agreement; 

(3) Tax or business forms submitted to the Board of Equalization or Franchise Tax 

Board; 

(4) Incorporation documents; or 

(5) Any other business record that demonstrates the operation of the business prior 

to September 1, 2016. 

(c) Any applicant identified by the local jurisdiction pursuant to section 26054.2(b) of 

the Act shall be considered eligible for priority issuance.  

(d) The Department may request additional documentation to verify the applicant’s 

date of commencement of operations. 
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(e) This section shall expire on December 31, 2019, unless otherwise provided by 

law.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26012, 26054.2 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40159. Denial of License. 

(a) The Department may deny an application for a new or renewal license for any 

reason specified in section 26057(b) of the Act.  Further, the Department may deny a 

new or renewal license application for any of the following additional reasons:  

(1) The applicant, an owner, or licensee made a material misrepresentation in the 

application for the license; 

(2) An owner of the commercial cannabis business has been convicted of a crime or 

has committed a violation of law substantially related to the qualifications, functions, or 

duties of a manufacturer as identified in Section 40162;  

(3) The applicant, an owner, or licensee has been denied a license to engage in 

commercial cannabis activity by a state licensing authority;  

(4) The applicant, an owner, or licensee has denied the Department access to the 

premises; or 

(5) The licensee has engaged in conduct that is grounds for disciplinary action 

specified in section 26030 of the Act. 

(b) The Department shall deny an application for a new or renewal license if the 

proposed manufacturing operation or premises would violate the applicable local 

ordinance. 

(c) A conviction within the meaning of this section means a plea or verdict of guilty or 

a conviction following a plea of nolo contendere. 

(d) Prior to denial of a license based upon paragraph (2) of subsection (a) of this 

Section, the Department shall consider any evidence of rehabilitation as provided in 

Section 40165. 
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26030 and 26057, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40162.  Substantially Related Acts.   

For the purpose of denial of a license, a conviction or violation from any jurisdiction 

that is substantially related to the qualifications, functions, and duties of the business for 

which the application is made include:  

(a) A violent felony conviction, as specified in subdivision (c) of Section 667.5 of the 

Penal Code; 

(b) A serious felony conviction, as specified in subdivision (c) of Section 1192.7 of 

the Penal Code; 

(c) A felony conviction involving fraud, deceit, or embezzlement; 

(d) A felony conviction for hiring, employing, or using a minor in transporting, 

carrying, selling, giving away, preparing for sale, or peddling, any controlled substance 

to a minor; or selling, offering to sell, furnishing, offering to furnish, administering or 

giving any controlled substance to a minor;  

(e) A felony conviction for drug trafficking with enhancements pursuant to Health and 

Safety Code sections 11370.4 or 11379.8;  

(f) A violation of section 110620, 110625, 110630, 110760, 110765, 110770, 

110775, 111295, 111300, 111305, 111440, 111445, 111450, or 111455 of the Health 

and Safety Code (Sherman Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Law) that resulted in suspension 

or revocation of a license, administrative penalty, civil proceeding or criminal conviction; 

(g) A violation of Chapter 4 (sections 111950 through 112130) of Part 6 of Division 

104 of the Health and Safety Code that resulted in suspension or revocation of a 

license, administrative penalty, civil proceeding or criminal conviction; 

(h) A conviction under section 382 or 383 of the Penal Code; and 

(i) A violation of law identified in subsections (f) or (g) committed by a business entity 

in which an owner was an officer or had an ownership interest is considered a violation 

that is substantially related to the owner’s qualifications for licensure.    
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference:  Sections 26011.5 and 26057, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40165. Criteria for Evidence of Rehabilitation. 

When evaluating whether a license should be issued or denied when an owner has 

been convicted of a criminal offense or committed a violation of law that is substantially 

related to the qualifications, functions, or duties of the business for which the application 

is made, the Department shall consider the following criteria in its evaluation of 

evidence of rehabilitation: 

(a) The nature and severity of the act or offense, including the actual or potential 

harm to the public; 

(b) The owner’s criminal record as a whole; 

(c) Evidence of any act committed subsequent to the act or offense under 

consideration that could be considered grounds for denial, suspension, or revocation of 

a manufacturing license;   

(d) The time elapsed since commission of the act or offense listed in Section 40162, 

or in section 26057(b)(4) of the Act; 

(e) The extent to which the owner has complied with any terms of parole, probation, 

restitution, or any other sanctions lawfully imposed against the owner or licensee; 

(f) If applicable, evidence of dismissal under Penal Code section 1203.4, 1203.4a, 

1203.41, or a similar law in another state; 

(g) If applicable, a certificate of rehabilitation obtained under Penal Code section 

4852.01 or a similar law in another state; and 

(h) Other evidence of rehabilitation submitted by the owner.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference:  Sections 26011.5, 26055 and 26057, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40167. Appeal of License Denial. 

(a) Upon denial of an application for a license, the Department shall notify the 

applicant in writing of the reasons for the denial and the right to a hearing to contest the 

denial.   

(b) The applicant may request a hearing by filing a written petition for a license with 

the Department within 30 calendar days of service of the notice of denial.  The written 

request for hearing must be postmarked within the 30-day period.  If a request is not 

filed within the 30-day period, the applicant’s right to a hearing is waived.   

(c) Upon receipt of a timely filed petition, the Department shall set the petition for 

hearing. The hearing shall be conducted in accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing 

with Section 11500) of Part 1 of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26058, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 5.  Licensing 

§40175. License Constraints. 

(a) A manufacturer licensee shall not manufacture, prepare, package or label any 

products other than cannabis products at the licensed premises.  For purposes of this 

section, the term “cannabis products” also includes packaged cannabis, pre-rolls, and 

products that do not contain cannabis, but are otherwise identical to the cannabis-

containing product, and are intended for use as samples. 

(b) No licensee shall employ or retain an individual under 21 years of age. 

(c) A manufacturer licensee shall only use cannabinoid concentrates and extracts 

that are manufactured or processed from cannabis obtained from a licensed cannabis 

cultivator.  

(d) A manufacturer licensee shall not manufacture, prepare, package, or label 

cannabis products in a location that is operating as a retail food establishment or as a 

processed food registrant. 

(e) A manufacturer licensee shall not manufacture, prepare, package, or label 

cannabis products in a location that is licensed by the Department of Alcoholic 

Beverage Control pursuant to Division 9 (commencing with section 23000) of the 

Business and Professions Code.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050 and 26140, Business and Professions Code.  

 

§40177.  Change in Licensed Operations. 

(a) At any time during the license period, a licensee may request to change the 

manufacturing activities conducted at the licensed premises.  The following changes 

require pre-approval from the Department:  

(1) The addition of any extraction method subject to the requirements of Section 

40225; 

(2) The addition of any other extraction method that necessitates a substantial or 

material alteration of the premises; 
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(3) The addition of infusion operations if no infusion activity is listed in the current 

license application on file with the Department; 

(4) A substantial or material alteration of the licensed premises from the current 

premises diagram on file with the Department.   

(b) For purposes of this section, a “substantial or material alteration” includes: the 

removal, creation, or relocation of an entryway, doorway, wall, or interior partition; a 

change in the type of activity conducted in, or the use of, an area identified in the 

premises diagram; or remodeling of the premises or portion of the premises in which 

manufacturing activities are conducted.  

(c) To request approval for a change listed in subsection (a), the licensee shall 

submit the following:  

(1) Any changes to the information and documents required under Section 40131 by 

email or through MCLS; and 

(2) A non-refundable $700 change request processing fee for review of all 

documents.  

(d) The request shall be evaluated on a case-by-case basis by the Department, and 

upon approval of the request by the Department, the licensee may begin conducting the 

additional manufacturing operation or make the requested change to the premises.  The 

existing license shall be amended to reflect the change in operations, if applicable, but 

the date of expiration shall not change. 

(e) Licensees that choose to cease operation of any activity identified in the current 

license application on file with the Department shall notify the Department within 10 

days of cessation of the activity.  License fees shall not be pro-rated or refunded upon 

cessation of any activity.   

(f) A licensee shall notify the Department through MCLS of any changes to the 

product list on file with the Department and provide a new product list within 10 

business days of making any change. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050 and 26055, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40178. Add or Remove Owner(s) and Financial Interest Holders. 

(a) The licensee shall notify the Department of the addition or removal of an owner 

through MCLS within 10 calendar days of the change.   

(b) Any new owner shall submit the information required under Section 40130 to the 

Department through MCLS or on a form prescribed by the Department.  The 

Department shall review the qualifications of the new owner in accordance with the Act 

and these regulations to determine whether the change would constitute grounds for 

denial of the license.  The Department may approve the addition of the owner, deny the 

addition of the owner, or condition the license as appropriate, to be determined on a 

case-by-case basis.       

(c) An owner shall notify the Department through MCLS of any change in their owner 

information submitted pursuant to Section 40130 within 10 calendar days of the change. 

(d) A licensee shall notify the Department through MCLS of any change in the list of 

financial interest holders, as specified in to Section 40129(a)(9) within 10 calendar days 

of the change. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050 and 26057, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40179. Death, Incapacity, or Insolvency of a Licensee.  

(a) In the event of the death, incapacity, receivership, assignment for the benefit of 

creditors or other event rendering one or more owners’ incapable of performing the 

duties associated with the license, the owner or owners’ successor in interest (e.g., 

appointed guardian, executor, administrator, receiver, trustee, or assignee) shall notify 

the Department in writing within 10 business days.  

(b) To continue operations or cancel the existing license, the successor in interest 

shall submit to the Department the following:  

(1) The name of the successor in interest;  

(2) The name of the owner(s) for which the successor in interest is succeeding and 

the license number;  
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(3) The phone number, mailing address, and email address of the successor in 

interest; and  

(4) Documentation demonstrating that the owner(s) is incapable of performing the 

duties associated with the license such as a death certificate or a court order, and 

documentation demonstrating that the person making the request is the owner or 

owners’ successor in interest such as a court order appointing guardianship, 

receivership, or a will or trust agreement.  

(c) The Department may give the successor in interest written approval to continue 

operations on the licensed manufacturing premises for a period of time specified by the 

Department:  

(1) If the successor in interest or another person has applied for a license from the 

Department for the licensed premises and that application is under review;  

(2) If the successor in interest needs additional time to destroy or sell cannabis or 

cannabis products; or  

(3) At the discretion of the Department.  

(d) The successor in interest is held subject to all terms and conditions under which 

a state cannabis license is held pursuant to the Act.  

(e) The approval pursuant to subsection (c) creates no vested right to the issuance 

of a state cannabis license.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26012, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40180. License Renewal.  

(a) To apply for a license renewal, the licensee shall submit any changes to their 

current license application information (as required by Section 40128) on a form 

prescribed by the Department or through MCLS; submit a document demonstrating the 

gross annual revenue for the licensed premises calculated pursuant to Section 40152, 

such as a copy of the licensee’s state tax return filed with the California Department of 

Tax and Fee Administration; sign the license renewal application under penalty of 

perjury; and submit the annual license fee as specified in Section 40150(b).  
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(b) To timely renew a license, a completed license renewal application and annual 

license fee pursuant to Section 40150(b) shall be received by the Department from the 

licensee no earlier than 60 calendar days before the expiration of the license and no 

later than 5:00 p.m. Pacific Time on the last business day before the expiration of the 

license if the renewal form is submitted to the Department at its office(s), or no later 

than 11:59 p.m. on the last business day before the expiration of the license if the 

renewal form is submitted through MCLS. Failure to receive a notice for license renewal 

does not relieve a licensee of the obligation to renew all licenses as required.   

(c) In the event the license renewal application is not submitted by the deadline 

established in subsection (b), the licensee shall not conduct commercial cannabis 

activity until the license is renewed.   

(d) A licensee may submit an application for license renewal up to 30 calendar days 

after the license expires.  A late license renewal application shall be subject to a late fee 

of $500. A licensee that does not submit a complete license renewal application, 

including the late fee, to the Department within 30 calendar days after the expiration of 

the license shall forfeit their eligibility to apply for a license renewal and, instead, shall 

be required to submit a new license application.   

(e) Any changes to owner and financial interest holder information shall be made in 

accordance with Section 40178.   

(f) The Department shall notify the licensee upon approval of the license renewal 

application through email or MCLS.  The Department shall notify a licensee of the denial 

of an application in accordance with Section 40167.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26050, 26051.5 and 26180, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40182.  Disaster Relief. 

(a) If a licensee is unable to comply with any licensing requirement due to a disaster, 

the licensee may notify the Department of this inability to comply and request relief from 

the specific licensing requirement. 
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(b) The Department may exercise its discretion to provide temporary relief from 

specific regulatory requirements in this chapter and from other licensing requirements 

when allowed by law.  

(c) Temporary relief from specific licensing requirements shall be issued for a 

reasonable amount of time in order to allow the licensee to recover from the disaster.  

(d) The Department may require that certain conditions be followed in order for a 

licensee to receive temporary relief from specific licensing requirements.  

(e) A licensee shall not be subject to an enforcement action for a violation of a 

licensing requirement in which the licensee has received temporary relief. 

(f) For purposes of this section, “disaster” means condition of extreme peril to the 

safety of persons and property within the state or a county, city and county, or city 

caused by such conditions such as air pollution, fire, flood, storm, tidal wave, epidemic, 

riot, drought, terrorism, sudden and severe energy shortage, plant or animal infestation 

or disease, Governor’s warning of an earthquake or volcanic prediction, or an 

earthquake, or similar public calamity, other than conditions resulting from a labor 

controversy, for which the Governor has proclaimed a state of emergency in 

accordance with Government Code sections 8558 and 8625, or for which a local 

governing body has proclaimed a local emergency in accordance with Government 

Code sections 8558 and 8630.  

(g) Notwithstanding subsection (a) of this section, if a licensee needs to move 

cannabis or cannabis products stored on the premises to another location immediately 

to prevent loss, theft, or degradation of the cannabis or cannabis products from the 

disaster, the licensee may move the cannabis or cannabis products without obtaining 

prior approval from the Department if the following conditions are met: 

(1) The cannabis or cannabis products are moved to a secure location where access 

to the cannabis or cannabis products can be restricted to the licensees, its employees, 

and its contractors;  

(2) The licensee notifies the Department in writing that the cannabis or cannabis 

products have been moved and that the licensee is requesting relief from complying 

with the specific licensing requirements pursuant to subsection (a) of this section within 

24 hours of moving the cannabis or cannabis products; 
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(3) The licensee agrees to grant the Department access to the location where the 

cannabis or cannabis products have been moved;  

(4) The licensee submits in writing to the Department within 10 days of moving the 

cannabis or cannabis products, a request for temporary relief that clearly indicates what 

regulatory sections relief is requested from, the time period for which the relief is 

requested, and the reasons relief is needed for the specified amount of time.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Section 26012, Business and Professions Code.  

 

§40184. Notification of Criminal Acts, Civil Judgments, and Revocation of a Local 

License, Permit, or Other Authorization after Licensure. 

(a) A licensee shall notify the Department in writing of a criminal conviction of any 

owner, either by mail or electronic mail, within 48 hours of the conviction. The written 

notification to the Department shall include the date of conviction, the court case 

number, the name of the court in which the owner was convicted, and the specific 

offense(s) for which the owner was convicted. 

(b) A licensee shall notify the Department in writing of a civil penalty or judgment 

rendered against the licensee or any owner in their individual capacity, either by mail or 

electronic mail, within 48 hours of delivery of the verdict or entry of judgment, whichever 

is sooner. The written notification to the Department shall include the date of verdict or 

entry of judgment, the court case number, the name of the court in which the matter was 

adjudicated, and a description of the civil penalty or judgement rendered against the 

licensee or owner. 

(c) A licensee shall notify the Department in writing of the revocation of a local 

license, permit, or other authorization, either by mail or electronic mail, within 48 hours 

of receiving notice of the revocation. The written notification shall include the name of 

the local agency involved, a written explanation of the proceeding or enforcement 

action, and the specific violation(s) that led to revocation.  

(d) A licensee shall notify the Department in writing of an administrative order for 

violations of labor standards against the licensee or any owner in their individual 
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capacity, either by mail or electronic mail, within 48 hours of delivery of the order.  The 

written notification shall include the date of the order, the name of the agency issuing 

the order, and a description of the administrative penalty or judgment against the 

licensee.   

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26031, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 6. Shared-Use Facilities 

§40190.  Definitions. 

For purposes of this Article, the following definitions shall apply:  

(a) “Common-use area” means any area of the manufacturer’s registered shared-

use facility, including equipment that is available for use by more than one licensee, 

provided that the use of a common-use area is limited to one licensee at a time. 

(b) “Designated area” means the area of the manufacturer’s registered shared-use 

facility that is designated by the primary licensee for the sole and exclusive use of a 

Type S licensee, including storage of the Type S licensee’s cannabis, cannabis 

concentrates, and cannabis products.   

(c) “Primary licensee” means the Type 7, Type 6, or Type N licensee that has 

registered and been approved to operate its licensed premises as a shared-use facility.  

(d) “Shared-use facility” means a manufacturing premises operated by a Type 7, 

Type 6, or Type N licensee in which Type S licensees are authorized to conduct 

manufacturing operations.   

(e) “Use agreement” means a written agreement between a primary licensee and a 

Type S applicant or licensee that specifies the designated area of the Type S licensee, 

the days and hours in which the Type S licensee is assigned to use the common-use 

area, any allocation of responsibility for compliance pursuant to Section 40196, and an 

acknowledgement that the Type S licensee has sole and exclusive use of the common-

use area during the Type S licensee’s assigned time period. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26001, 26050, 26051.5 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

§40191.  Type S License. 

(a) Applications for a Type S license shall:  

(1) Be submitted in accordance with Section 40128; 

(2) Include the license number and address of the registered shared-use facility at 

which the applicant will conduct manufacturing operations; 
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(3) Include a copy of the use agreement signed by both the Type S applicant and the 

primary licensee; and 

(4) On the premises diagram submitted pursuant to Section 40131(i), indicate the 

designated area to be used by the Type S applicant and detail where the applicant will 

store its cannabis, cannabis concentrates, and cannabis products. 

(b) A Type S license shall only be available to applicants with a gross annual 

revenue of less than $1,000,000 as calculated pursuant to Section 40152.  

(c) A Type S licensee may conduct the following operational activities:  

(1) Infusions, as defined in Section 40100(v); 

(2) Packaging and labeling of cannabis products; and  

(3) Extractions with butter or food-grade oils, provided that the resulting extract or 

concentrate shall be used solely in the manufacture of the Type S licensee’s infused 

product, and shall not be sold to any other licensee.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code.  Reference: Sections 26050, 26051.5 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

§40192.  Registration to Operate a Shared-Use Facility. 

(a) No licensee shall operate as a shared-use facility without prior approval by the 

Department. 

(b) To register as a shared-use facility, a Type 7, Type 6, or Type N licensee shall 

submit the following to the Department through MCLS: 

(1) A copy of the license, permit, or other authorization issued by the local 

jurisdiction that enables the licensee to operate as a shared-use facility.  The 

Department shall contact the applicable local jurisdiction to confirm the validity of the 

authorization upon receipt of the application for registration.  If the local jurisdiction does 

not respond within 10 calendar days, the Department shall consider the authorization 

valid.    

(2) A registration form prescribed by the Department, which includes the following 

information: 
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(A)  The proposed occupancy schedule that specifies the days and hours the 

common-use area will be available for use by Type S licensees and when the common-

use area will be used by the primary licensee.  The occupancy schedule shall allow for 

maintenance and sanitizing between uses by individual licensees.  

(B) A diagram indicating:  

(i) Each designated area for Type S licensee(s).  

(ii) The common-use area, including identification of any shared equipment. 

(c) The Department shall notify the Type 7, Type 6, or Type N licensee upon 

approval of the registration to operate as a shared-use facility.  Notification shall be 

made through MCLS.     

 (d) At least one business day prior to a Type S licensee commencing manufacturing 

operations at a registered shared-use facility, the primary licensee shall provide written 

notification to the Department.  The notification to the Department shall include the Type 

S licensee’s business name, contact person, contact phone number, and license 

number.  The primary licensee shall also provide an updated occupancy schedule that 

includes the Type S licensee and an updated diagram that specifies the Type S 

licensee’s designated area.  Notification shall be provided by email or through MCLS.  

(e) A primary licensee that wishes to discontinue operation as a shared-use facility 

may cancel its registration by providing written notice to the Department and each Type 

S licensee authorized to use the shared-use facility at least 30 calendar days prior to 

the effective date of the cancellation. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code.  Reference: Sections 26051.5, 26055 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code. 

 

§40194. Shared-Use Facility Conditions for Operation. 

(a) A primary licensee shall operate the shared-use facility in accordance with the 

conditions of operation specified in this section. 

(b) Each Type S licensee shall be assigned a “designated area” that, at minimum: 

(1) Is for exclusive use by the Type S licensee; 
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(2) Provides an area for storage that is secure, fixed in place, locked with a 

commercial-grade lock, and accessible only to the Type S licensee for storage of that 

Type S licensee’s cannabis, cannabis concentrates, and cannabis products. 

(c) Any part of the premises used for manufacturing activities that is a common-use 

area shall be occupied by only one licensee at a time by restricting the time period that 

each licensee may use the common-use area.  During the assigned time period, one 

licensee shall have sole and exclusive occupancy of the common-use area. 

(d) The use of the shared-use facility shall be restricted to the primary licensee and 

the Type S licensees authorized by the Department to use the shared-use facility. 

(e) Any cannabis product or other materials remaining after a Type S licensee 

ceases operation and discontinues use of its designated area shall be considered 

cannabis waste and disposed of by the primary licensee consistent with the 

requirements of the Act and regulations. 

(f) The shared-use facility shall meet all applicable requirements of the Act and 

regulations. 

(g) The occupancy schedule shall be prominently posted near the entrance to the 

shared-use facility. 

(h) The primary licensee may conduct manufacturing activities as permitted under its 

Type 7, Type 6, or Type N license and may use the common-use area during its 

scheduled time period. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40196.  Shared-Use Facility Compliance Requirements. 

(a) As part of the use agreement, the primary licensee and the Type S licensee(s) 

may allocate responsibility for providing and maintaining commonly used equipment and 

services, including, but not limited to, security systems, fire monitoring and protection 

services, and waste disposal services.  However, such agreement is not binding on the 

Department and the Department may take enforcement action against either the 
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primary licensee or Type S licensee(s), regardless of the allocation of responsibility in 

the use agreement.  

(b) A primary licensee or a Type S licensee is liable for any violation found at the 

shared-use facility during that licensee’s scheduled occupancy or within that licensee’s 

designated area.  However, a violation of any provision of the Act or regulations may be 

deemed a violation for which each Type S licensee and the primary licensee are 

responsible. In the event of a recall or embargo of a cannabis product produced at a 

shared-use facility, the Department, in its sole discretion, may include any or all 

cannabis products produced at the shared-use facility. 

(c) The occupancy schedule and designated area for a Type S licensee shall not be 

altered without prior notification to the Department. Prior to making any changes to the 

occupancy schedule or the designated area, written notification shall be submitted to 

the Department that includes the intended changes.  Notification shall be submitted by 

email or through MCLS.   

  

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code.  Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26055 and 26130, Business and Professions 

Code. 
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SUBCHAPTER 3.  REQUIREMENTS OF OPERATION 

Article 1. Safety and Security  

§40200. Security Plan. 

Every licensee shall develop and implement a written security plan.  At a minimum, 

the security plan shall include a description of the security measures to:  

(a) Prevent access to the manufacturing premises by unauthorized persons and 

protect the physical safety of employees.  This includes, but is not limited to: 

(1) Establishing physical barriers to secure perimeter access and all points of entry 

into a manufacturing premises (such as locking primary entrances with commercial-

grade, non-residential door locks, or providing fencing around the grounds and 

driveway, and securing any secondary entrances including windows, roofs, or 

ventilation systems);   

(2) Installing a security alarm system to notify and record incident(s) where physical 

barriers have been breached;   

(3) Establishing an identification and sign-in/sign-out procedure for authorized 

personnel, suppliers, and visitors; 

(4) Maintaining the premises such that visibility and security monitoring of the 

premises is possible; and 

(5) Establishing procedures for the investigation of suspicious activities. 

(b) Prevent against theft or loss of cannabis and cannabis products. This includes 

but is not limited to: 

(1) Establishing an inventory system to track cannabis and cannabis products and 

the personnel responsible for processing it throughout the manufacturing process; 

(2) Limiting access of personnel within the premises to those areas necessary to 

complete job duties, and to those time-frames specifically scheduled for completion of 

job duties, including access by outside vendors, suppliers, contractors or other 

individuals conducting business with the licensee that requires access to the premises; 

(3) Supervising tasks or processes with high potential for diversion, including the 

loading and unloading of cannabis transportation vehicles; and 

(4) Providing areas in which personnel may store and access personal items that are 

separate from the manufacturing areas.  
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(c) Secure and back up electronic records in a manner that prevents unauthorized 

access and that ensures the integrity of the records is maintained. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26051.5, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40205. Video Surveillance.  

(a) At minimum, a licensed premises shall have a digital video surveillance 

system with a minimum camera resolution of 1280 × 720 pixels.  The video 

surveillance system shall be able to effectively and clearly record images of the area 

under surveillance.  

(b) To the extent reasonably possible, all video surveillance cameras shall be 

installed in a manner that prevents intentional obstruction, tampering with, or disabling. 

(c) Areas that shall be recorded on the video surveillance system include the 

following: 

(1) Areas where cannabis or cannabis products are weighed, packed, stored, 

quarantined, loaded and unloaded for transportation, prepared, or moved within the 

premises; 

(2) Limited-access areas; 

(3) Security rooms; 

(4) Areas containing surveillance-system storage devices, which shall contain at 

least one camera to record the access points to such an area; and 

(5) The interior and exterior of all entrances and exits to the premises. 

(d)  The surveillance system shall record continuously 24 hours per day and at a 

minimum speed of 15 frames per second. 

(e) Any on-site surveillance system storage devices shall be located in secure 

rooms or areas of the premises in an access-controlled environment.  

(f) The licensee shall ensure that all surveillance recordings are kept for a minimum 

of 90 days. 

(g) All video surveillance recordings shall be available on the licensed premises 

and are subject to inspection by the Department and shall also be copied and sent, or 
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otherwise provided, to the Department upon request. 

(h) The video recordings shall display the current date and time of recorded events. 

Time is to be measured in accordance with the U.S. National Institute of Standards and 

Technology standards. The displayed date and time shall not significantly obstruct the 

view of recorded images. 

(i) If multiple licensed premises are contained within the same building, a single 

video surveillance system covering the entire building may be used by all of the 

licensees under the following conditions:  

(1) Each applicant or licensee shall disclose on their premises diagram where the 

surveillance recordings are stored;  

(2) Each applicant or licensee shall include in their security operating procedures an 

explanation of how the video surveillance system will be shared, including who is 

responsible for monitoring the video footage and storing any video recordings;  

(3) All licensees shall have immediate access to the surveillance recordings to 

produce them pursuant to the requirements of this section; 

(4) All licensees shall be held responsible and subject to discipline for any violations 

of the video surveillance requirements.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26070, Business and Professions Code 

 

§40207. Notification of Theft, Loss, or Diversion. 

If a licensee finds evidence of theft or diversion of cannabis or cannabis products, 

the licensee shall report the theft or diversion to the Department and local law 

enforcement within 24 hours of the discovery.  The notice to the Department shall be in 

writing and shall include the date and time of the incident; a description of the incident, 

including items that were taken or missing; and the name of the local law enforcement 

agency that was notified of the incident.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26070, Business and Professions Code.  
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Article 2.  Extractions 

§40220. Permissible Extractions. 

(a) Except as provided in subsection (b), cannabis extraction shall only be 

conducted using the following methods:  

(1) Mechanical extraction; 

(2) Chemical extraction using a nonvolatile solvent such as a nonhydrocarbon-based 

or other solvent such as water, vegetable glycerin, vegetable oils, animal fats, or 

glycerin.  Nonhydrocarbon-based solvents shall be food grade;   

(3) Chemical extraction using a professional closed loop CO2 gas extraction system.  

CO2 gas used for extraction shall be food grade; 

(4) Chemical extraction using a volatile solvent, as defined in Section 40100(xx), 

using a professional closed loop extraction system; or  

(5) Any other method authorized by the Department pursuant to subsection (b). 

(b) To request authorization from the Department to conduct cannabis extraction 

using a method other than those specified in paragraphs (1) through (4) of subsection 

(a), the applicant or licensee shall submit a detailed description of the extraction 

method, including any documentation that validates the method and any safety 

procedures to be utilized to mitigate any risk to public or worker health and safety. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40222. Volatile Solvent Extractions. 

Chemical extractions using volatile solvents shall be subject to the following 

requirements:  

(a) Hydrocarbon-based solvents shall be at least 99 percent purity; 

(b) All extractions shall be performed in a closed loop extraction system as 

described in Section 40225; and 

(c) No volatile solvent extraction operations shall occur in an area zoned as 

residential. 
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26105 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40223.  Ethanol Extractions. 

(a) Ethanol used for extractions or for post-extraction processing shall be food-

grade.  

(b) Ethanol extraction operations shall be approved by the local fire code official and 

shall be operated in accordance with applicable Division of Occupational Safety and 

Health (Cal/OSHA) regulations and any other state and local requirements.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40225. Closed-Loop Extraction System Requirements.  

(a) Chemical extractions using CO2; a volatile solvent; or chlorofluorocarbon, 

hydrocarbon, or other fluorinated gas shall be conducted in a professional closed loop 

extraction system designed to recover the solvents. The system shall be commercially 

manufactured and bear a permanently affixed and visible serial number.  The system 

shall be certified by a California-licensed engineer that the system was commercially 

manufactured, safe for use with the intended solvent, and built to codes of recognized 

and generally accepted good engineering practices, such as: 

(1) The American Society of Mechanical Engineers (ASME); 

(2) American National Standards Institute (ANSI); 

(3) Underwriters Laboratories (UL); or 

(4) The American Society for Testing and Materials (ASTM). 

(b) Professional closed loop systems, other equipment used, the extraction 

operation, and facilities must be approved for use by the local fire code official and 

comply with any required fire, safety, and building code requirements related to the 

processing, handling, and storage of the applicable solvent or gas.  
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(c) The certification document required pursuant to subsection (a) shall contain the 

signature and stamp of a California-licensed professional engineer and the serial 

number of the extraction unit being certified. 

(d) The licensee shall establish and implement written procedures to document that 

the closed loop extraction system is maintained in accordance with the equipment 

manufacturer specifications and to ensure routine verification that the system is 

operating in accordance with specifications and continues to comply with fire, safety, 

and building code requirements.  

(e) A licensee shall develop standard operating procedures, good manufacturing 

practices, and a training plan prior to producing extracts.  Any personnel using solvents 

or gases in a closed loop system to create extracts must be trained on how to use the 

system, have direct access to applicable safety data sheets, and handle and store 

solvents and gases safely.   

(f) The extraction operation shall be operated in an environment with proper 

ventilation, controlling all sources of ignition where a flammable atmosphere is or may 

be present, and shall be operated in accordance with applicable Division of 

Occupational Safety and Health (Cal/OSHA) regulations and any other state and local 

requirements.   

(g) No closed loop extraction system operation shall occur in an area zoned as 

residential. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26105 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 3. Good Manufacturing Practices 

§40230. Manufacturing Practices Definitions. 

In addition to the definitions in section 26001 of the Act and Section 40100 of these 

regulations, the following definitions shall govern the construction of this article:  

 (a) “Allergen cross-contact” means the unintentional incorporation of a food allergen 

into a cannabis product. 

(b) “Component” means any substance or item intended for use in the manufacture 

of a cannabis product, including those substances or items that are not intended to 

appear in the final form of the product.  “Component” includes cannabis, cannabis 

products used as ingredients, raw materials, other ingredients, and processing aids.  

(c) “Contact surface” means any surface that contacts cannabis products and 

cannabis product components and those surfaces from which drainage, or other 

transfer, onto the cannabis product or cannabis product components, occurs during the 

normal course of operations. Examples of contact surfaces include containers, utensils, 

tables, and equipment. 

(d) “Easily cleanable” means a characteristic of a surface that allows effective 

removal of soil, food residue, or other organic or inorganic materials by normal cleaning 

methods. 

(e) “Environmental pathogen” means a pathogen capable of surviving and persisting 

within the manufacturing environment such that cannabis products may be 

contaminated and may result in illness if consumed or used without treatment to 

significantly minimize the environmental pathogen.  Examples of environmental 

pathogens include Listeria monocytogenes and Salmonella spp. but do not include the 

spores of pathogenic spore-forming bacteria.  

(f) “Hazard” means any biological, chemical, radiological, or physical agent that has 

the potential to cause illness or injury.  

(g) “Holding” means storage of cannabis or cannabis products and includes activities 

performed incidental to storage of a cannabis product and activities performed as a 

practical necessity for the distribution of that cannabis product. 
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(h) “Microorganisms” means yeasts, molds, bacteria, viruses, protozoa, and 

microscopic parasites and includes species that are pathogens. The term “undesirable 

microorganisms” includes those microorganisms that are pathogens, that subject a 

cannabis product to decomposition, that indicate that a cannabis product is 

contaminated with filth, or that otherwise may cause a cannabis product to be 

adulterated. 

(i) “Monitor” means to conduct a planned sequence of observations or 

measurements to assess whether preventive measures are operating as intended. 

(j) “Pathogen” means a microorganism that can cause illness or injury. 

(k) “Pest” means an undesired insect, rodent, nematode (small worm), fungus, bird, 

vertebrate, invertebrate, weed, virus, bacteria, or other microorganism (except 

microorganisms on or in humans or animals) injurious to health or the environment. 

(l) “Potable” means water that meets the requirements of Health and Safety Code 

section 113869.   

(m) “Preventive measures” means those risk-based, reasonably appropriate 

procedures, practices, and processes that a person knowledgeable about the safe 

manufacturing, processing, packing, or holding of food would employ to significantly 

minimize or prevent the hazards identified pursuant to a product quality plan as 

specified in Section 40253. 

(n) “Processing aid” means any substance that is added to a cannabis product 

during manufacture but is removed in some manner from the cannabis product before it 

is packaged in its finished form.  This includes substances that are converted into 

constituents normally present in the product, and do not significantly increase the 

amount of the constituent naturally found in the product.  This also includes substances 

that are added to a product for their technical or functional effect in the processing but 

are present in the finished product at insignificant levels and do not have any technical 

or functional effect in that product. 

 (o) “Qualified individual” means a person who has the education, training, or 

experience (or a combination thereof) necessary to manufacture quality cannabis 

products as appropriate to the individual's assigned duties. A qualified individual may 

be, but is not required to be, an employee of the licensee. 
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(p) “Quality control” means a planned and systematic operation or procedure for 

ensuring the quality of a cannabis product. 

(q) “Quality control operation” means a planned and systematic procedure for taking 

all actions necessary to prevent cannabis product(s) from being adulterated or 

misbranded. 

(r) “Quality control personnel” means any person, persons, or group, designated by 

the licensee to be responsible for quality control operations. 

(s) “Raw material” means any unprocessed material in its raw or natural state that is 

intended to become part of the components of a cannabis product. 

(t) “Sanitize” means to treat cleaned surfaces by a process that is effective in 

destroying vegetative cells of pathogens, and in substantially reducing numbers of other 

undesirable microorganisms, but without adversely affecting the product or its safety for 

the consumer. 

(u) “Smooth” means any of the following: 

(1) A contact surface that is free of pits, pinholes, cracks, crevices, inclusions, rough 

edges, and other surface imperfections detectable by visual or tactile inspection. 

(2) A floor, wall, or ceiling having an even or level surface with no roughness or 

projections that render it difficult to clean.  

(v) “Utensil” means an implement, tool, or container used in the storage, preparation, 

manufacture, or processing of cannabis and cannabis products.  In addition to 

kitchenware, examples of utensils include, but are not limited to, gloves, screens, 

sieves, implements to create pre-rolls, buckets, and scissors.      

(w) “Validate” means obtaining and evaluating scientific and technical evidence that 

a control measure, combination of control measures, or quality control procedures as a 

whole, when properly implemented, is capable of ensuring the quality of a cannabis 

product or effectively controlling an identified hazard.  

(x) “Verification” means the application of methods, procedures, tests, or other 

evaluations, in addition to monitoring, to determine whether a control measure or 

combination of control measures is or has been operating as intended and to establish 

the validity of the quality control procedures.  
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(y) “Yield” means the quantity of a particular cannabis product expected to be 

produced at a given step of manufacture or packaging, as identified in the master 

manufacturing protocol.  The expected yield is based upon the quantity of components 

or packaging to be used, in the absence of any loss or error in actual production.  

“Actual yield” means the quantity of a particular cannabis product that is actually 

produced at a given step of manufacture or packaging that is recorded in the batch 

production record. 

 

Authority:  Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26001 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40235. Quality Control Program. 

(a) Each licensee is responsible for implementing a quality control program to 

ensure that cannabis products are not adulterated or misbranded.  The quality control 

program shall include quality control operations for all of the following:  

(1) The grounds, building, and manufacturing premises, as specified in Section 

40240; 

(2) Equipment and utensils, as specified in Section 40243; 

(3) Personnel, as specified in Section 40246; 

(4) Cannabis product components, as specified in Section 40248; and 

(5) Manufacturing processes and procedures, as specified in Section 40250.   

(b) Quality control shall be under the supervision of one or more qualified individuals 

assigned responsibility for this function. 

(c) For purposes of this article, for those requirements that are contained in the 

Health and Safety Code, use of the term “food” shall include cannabis, cannabis 

products, components, and contact surfaces.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40240. Grounds, Building, and Manufacturing Premises. 

(a) Exterior facility and grounds.  The licensee shall ensure the facility exterior and 

grounds under the licensee’s control meet the following minimum standards:  

(1) Grounds shall be equipped with draining areas in order to prevent pooled or 

standing water; 

(2) Weeds, grass, and vegetation shall be cut within the immediate vicinity of the 

cannabis manufacturing premises, litter and waste shall be removed, and equipment 

shall be stored in order to minimize the potential for the grounds to constitute an 

attractant, breeding place, or harborage for pests; 

(3) Roads, yards, and parking lots shall be maintained so that these areas do not 

constitute a source of contamination in areas where cannabis products are handled or 

transported; 

(4) Openings into the building (such as windows, exhaust fans, ventilation ducts, or 

plumbing vent pipes) shall be screened, sealed, or otherwise protected to minimize 

potential for pests to enter the building;   

(5) Waste treatment and disposal systems shall be provided and maintained so as to 

prevent contamination in areas where cannabis products may be exposed to such a 

system’s waste or waste by-products. 

(6) The licensee shall implement precautions within the premises such as inspection 

or extermination if the premises is bordered by grounds outside the licensee’s control 

that are not maintained in the manner described in paragraphs (1) through (5) of this 

subsection, in order to eliminate any pests, dirt, and filth that pose a source of cannabis 

product contamination.  Any use of insecticide, rodenticide, or other pesticide within the 

premises shall meet the requirements of Health and Safety Code section 114254. 

(b) Interior facility.  The licensee shall ensure construction, design, and maintenance 

of the interior of the manufacturing premises as follows: 

(1) Walls, ceilings, and floors.  Walls, ceilings, and floors shall be constructed of 

material that is smooth, nonporous, easily cleanable, corrosion-resistant, and suitable to 

the activity that will be conducted.  Fixtures, ducts, and pipes shall not pose a source of 

drip or condensate that may contaminate cannabis products, contact surfaces or 

packaging material. 
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(2) Lighting.  Interior facility lighting shall meet the requirements of subdivisions 

(a)(1) and (3), (b)(3) and (4), and (c) of section 114252 of the Health and Safety Code.  

Interior facility lighting shall also meet the requirements for shatter-resistant lighting in 

section 114252.1 of the Health and Safety Code.  The requirements of Health and 

Safety Code section 114252.1, subdivision (a), shall also apply to all areas where glass 

breakage may result in the contamination of exposed cannabis, components or 

cannabis products at any step of preparation.  

(3) Plumbing system and fixtures. 

(A) Water supply. Running water shall be supplied as required by Health and Safety 

Code section 114192 in all areas where required for the processing of cannabis 

products; in all areas used for the cleaning of equipment, utensils, and packaging 

materials; and for employee sanitary facilities.  Any water that contacts cannabis, 

components, cannabis products, contact surfaces, or packaging materials shall be 

potable.  

(B) Plumbing. Plumbing systems shall meet the requirements of Health and Safety 

Code section 114190.   

(C) Sewage disposal. The sewage system shall be maintained and kept in good 

repair so that it does not pose a potential source of contamination to cannabis products, 

contact surfaces, or packaging materials. 

(D) Toilet facilities. Each manufacturing premises shall provide employees with 

access to toilet facilities that meet the requirements of Health and Safety Code section 

114250. Toilet facilities shall be kept clean and shall not pose a potential source of 

contamination of cannabis, components, cannabis products, contact surfaces, or 

packaging materials. 

(E) Hand-washing facilities. Each manufacturing premises shall provide hand-

washing facilities that meet the requirements of Health and Safety Code section 

113953, subdivision (a) through (d).   

(F) Waste disposal. The premises shall provide waste disposal in accordance with 

Health and Safety Code sections 114244(a), 114244(c), and 114245.1.  Cannabis 

waste shall be disposed of in accordance with Section 40290 of these regulations. 



DPH-17-010  
Cannabis Manufacturing Licensing 

FINAL TEXT 

 

Page 56 of 107 

 

(4) Ventilation.  Ventilation systems shall meet the requirements of Health and 

Safety Code sections 114149 and 114149.3.    

(5) Cleaning and maintenance.  The premises, including any fixtures, and other 

physical facilities therein, shall be maintained in a clean and sanitary condition and kept 

in good repair so as to prevent cannabis products from becoming adulterated, and shall 

meet the requirements of Health and Safety Code section 114257.1.   

(A) The premises shall have a janitorial facility that meets the requirements of Health 

and Safety Code section 114279(a). 

(B) Cleaning equipment and supplies shall be stored in a manner that meets the 

requirements of Health and Safety Code section 114281.   

(C) Poisonous or toxic materials such as cleaning compounds, sanitizing agents, 

and pesticide chemicals that are necessary for premises and equipment maintenance 

and operation shall be handled and stored in a manner that meets the requirements of 

Health and Safety Code sections 114254.1, 114254.2 and 114254.3.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40243.  Equipment and Utensils. 

Licensees shall utilize equipment and utensils that meet the following minimum 

requirements:  

(a) Design.  Equipment and utensils shall meet the requirements of Health and 

Safety Code sections 114130.1, 114130.2, 114130.3, and 114130.4 and shall be used 

in accordance with their operating instructions to avoid the adulteration of cannabis 

products with lubricants, fuel, metal fragments, contaminated water, or any other 

contaminants. 

(b) Installation. Equipment shall be installed so as to allow the cleaning and 

maintenance of the equipment and of adjacent spaces.  Equipment that is not easily 

moveable shall meet the requirements of Health and Safety Code section 114169.   
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(c) Cleaning, sanitizing, and maintenance.  The quality control program for cleaning, 

sanitizing, and maintenance of equipment and utensils shall include the following 

elements, at minimum:  

(1) A detailed, written procedure for cleaning, sanitizing, and maintaining (including 

calibrating) equipment and utensils;   

(2) A schedule for cleaning, sanitizing, and maintaining equipment and utensils;   

(3) A procedure, including a log, for documentation of the date and time of 

maintenance, cleaning, and sanitizing of equipment and utensils; and 

(4) A detailed, written procedure for storing cleaned and sanitized equipment and 

utensils in a manner to protect the equipment and utensils from contamination. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40246.  Personnel.  

Licensees shall implement written procedures for personnel that include, at 

minimum: 

(a) Disease control. Any individual who by medical examination or supervisory 

observation is shown to have, or appears to have, an illness specified in Health and 

Safety Code section 113949.2(a), or an open lesion (such as boils, sores, cut, rash, or 

infected wounds) unless covered in accordance with the requirements of Health and 

Safety Code section 113949.2(b), shall be excluded from any manufacturing operations 

until their health condition is corrected.  Personnel shall be instructed to report such 

health conditions to their supervisors. 

(b) Cleanliness. All individuals working in direct contact with cannabis products, 

contact surfaces, and packaging materials shall maintain personal cleanliness in order 

to protect against allergen cross-contact and contamination of cannabis products while 

on duty. The methods for maintaining personal cleanliness include: 

(1) Wearing clean outer clothing to protect against allergen cross-contact and 

contamination of cannabis products, contact surfaces, and packaging materials; 
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(2) Washing hands thoroughly in a hand-washing facility that meets the 

requirements of Section 40240 before starting work, after each absence from the work 

station, and at any time when the hands may have become soiled or contaminated; 

(3) Removing all unsecured jewelry and other objects that might fall into cannabis 

products, equipment, or containers.  Hand jewelry that cannot be sanitized shall be 

removed during periods in which cannabis products are manipulated by hand.  If such 

hand jewelry cannot be removed, it shall be covered by material which can be 

maintained in an intact, clean, and sanitary condition and which effectively protects 

against the contamination by these objects of the cannabis products, contact surfaces, 

or cannabis product-packaging materials; 

(4) Maintaining any gloves, if they are used in cannabis product handling, in an 

intact, clean, and sanitary condition; 

(5) Wearing hair nets, caps, beard covers, or other hair restraints that are designed 

and worn to prevent hair contact with cannabis, cannabis products, contact surfaces, or 

packaging materials; 

(6) Storing clothing and personal belongings in areas separate from those where 

cannabis products are exposed or where equipment or utensils are washed; 

(7) Confining the following activities to areas separate from those where cannabis 

products may be exposed or where equipment or utensils are washed: eating food, 

chewing gum, drinking beverages, and using tobacco; 

(c) Nothing in this section prohibits a licensee from establishing any other 

precautions to protect against allergen cross-contact and against contamination of 

cannabis products, contact surfaces, or packaging materials by microorganisms or 

foreign substances (including perspiration, hair, cosmetics, tobacco, chemicals, and 

medicines applied to the skin). 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40248.  Cannabis Product Components. 

(a) In order to prevent adulteration of cannabis products, licensees shall establish 

and implement written policies and procedures to ensure and maintain the quality of 

product components.   

(b)  Components are subject to the following minimum requirements:   

(1) Raw materials and other components shall be inspected upon intake to ensure 

that they are clean and suitable for processing into cannabis products, and shall be 

stored under conditions that protect against allergen cross-contact and contamination, 

and in such a way as to minimize deterioration.  

(2) Raw materials shall be washed or cleaned as necessary to remove soil and other 

visible contaminants.  Water used for washing, rinsing, or conveying cannabis product 

ingredients shall be potable.   

(3) Raw materials and other components shall not contain levels of microorganisms 

that render the cannabis product injurious to human health, or shall be pasteurized or 

otherwise treated during manufacturing so that they no longer contain levels of 

microorganisms that would cause the cannabis product to be adulterated.   

(4) Raw materials and other components susceptible to contamination with aflatoxin 

or other natural toxins, pests, or extraneous material shall not exceed generally 

acceptable limits set by the U.S. Food and Drug Administration in the Defect Levels 

Handbook (Rev. February 2005), which is hereby incorporated by reference, before 

these raw materials or other ingredients are incorporated into finished cannabis 

products. 

(5) Raw materials and other components shall be held in containers designed and 

constructed so as to protect against allergen cross-contact or contamination, and shall 

be held at such temperature and relative humidity and in such a manner as to prevent 

the cannabis products from becoming adulterated. 

(6) Frozen raw materials and other components shall be kept frozen.  If thawing is 

required prior to use, it shall be done in a manner that prevents the raw materials and 

other ingredients from becoming adulterated.   



DPH-17-010  
Cannabis Manufacturing Licensing 

FINAL TEXT 

 

Page 60 of 107 

 

(7) Raw materials and other components that are food allergens shall be identified 

and held in a manner that prevents cross-contact with other raw materials or 

ingredients.   

(c) Holding and storage of raw materials and other components shall meet the 

requirements of section 114047, subdivisions (a) and (b), section 114049, and section 

114051 of the Health and Safety Code.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40250. Manufacturing Processes and Procedures. 

(a) The licensee shall implement and maintain manufacturing processes and 

procedures that ensure cannabis product quality.  Manufacturing processes and 

procedures shall be identified through a product quality plan, as described in Section 

40253.     

(b) The licensee shall maintain written master manufacturing protocols, as described 

in Section 40255, for each unique formulation  of cannabis product manufactured to 

ensure only intended components are included and that the cannabis product is 

packaged and labeled in accordance with product specifications and these regulations.   

(c) The licensee shall maintain written batch production records, as described in 

Section 40258, to document the production process and, if needed, to verify that the 

established processes and procedures, including the preventive measures  and master 

manufacturing protocol, were implemented correctly.   

(d) All manufacturing records are subject to inspection by the Department, its 

inspectors and agents. 

   

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40253.  Product Quality Plan. 

(a) Licensees shall create and implement a written product quality plan for each type 

of product manufactured at the premises.  The product quality plan shall address the 

hazards associated with the premises or the manufacturing process that, if not properly 

mitigated, may cause the product to be adulterated or misbranded, or may cause the 

product to fail laboratory testing or quality assurance review.   

(b)  To create the product quality plan, licensees shall conduct a comprehensive 

assessment of the overall manufacturing process, identifying each step from component 

intake through transfer of product from the premises, to determine the potential risks 

associated with each step, the preventive measures to mitigate the potential risks 

identified, the methods to evaluate and monitor the effectiveness of the preventive 

measures, and action to take if a preventive measure was unsuccessful.   

(c) The product quality plan shall evaluate the following potential risks to cannabis 

product quality:  

(1) Biological hazards, including microbiological hazards;  

(2) Chemical hazards, including radiological hazards, pesticide contamination, 

solvent or other residue, natural toxins, decomposition, or allergens;  

(3) Physical hazards, such as stone, glass, metal fragments, hair, or insects;   

(4) Process failures that may lead to product contamination, allergen cross-contact, 

packaging errors, labeling errors, or other errors affecting cannabis product quality.    

(d) The product quality plan shall identify the preventive measure that will be 

implemented to mitigate each potential risk identified pursuant to subsection (c).  

Examples of preventive measures include, but are not limited to: 

(1) Cleaning and sanitizing of equipment and utensils to mitigate against risk of 

microbiological hazards;  

(2) Conducting in-house testing of raw cannabis to mitigate against the risk of 

pesticide contamination;  

(3) Establishing an allergen control program to ensure that allergen cross-contact 

does not occur between product types;  

(4) Implementing procedures to ensure homogeneity of cannabinoids into a 

cannabis product to mitigate against the risk of a non-homogeneous product.  
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(e) The product quality plan shall identify methods to evaluate and monitor the 

effectiveness of the preventive measures in mitigating the potential risks identified in 

subsection (c).  Methods for evaluation and monitoring of preventive measures include, 

but are not limited to, the following:  

(1) Review of test results conducted to determine contamination such as pesticide 

residue;  

(2) Maintaining and reviewing cleaning, sanitizing, or maintenance logs to verify 

such actions have been taken;  

(3) Conducting environmental testing to determine if equipment or utensils are 

contaminated with pathogens;  

(4) Monitoring the temperature of raw materials that need to be held below 41 

degrees Fahrenheit to prevent microbial contamination.  

(f) The product quality plan shall identify actions to be taken if the evaluation and 

monitoring of the preventive measure indicates that the risk was not properly mitigated.  

The corrective action shall be specific to the type of product under evaluation and the 

specific risk to be mitigated.  Examples of corrective actions that may be taken include, 

but are not limited to:  

(1) Destruction of product components or finished product; 

(2) Further processing of cannabis extract to remove impurities;  

(3) Reworking the unfinished product to further homogenize the cannabinoids.  

(g) The licensee shall maintain the product quality plans and documentation of 

preventive measures, monitoring results, and corrective actions and make the records 

available to the Department upon the Department’s request, including during the 

Department’s onsite inspection of the premises.  Nothing in this chapter requires the 

disclosure of product quality plans other than to the Department and its inspectors and 

agents. The licensee may consider the product quality plan subject to trade secret 

protection. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40255. Master Manufacturing Protocol. 

(a) The licensee shall establish and follow a written master manufacturing protocol 

for each unique formulation of cannabis product manufactured, and for each batch size, 

in order to mitigate against the potential for adulteration through incorporation of 

incorrect amounts of cannabinoids, unintended ingredients, or hazards identified in the 

product quality plan; against the potential for misbranding through incorporation of 

ingredients not identified on the label or the mislabeling of product; and to ensure 

uniformity in finished batches and across all batches produced.   

(b) The master manufacturing protocol shall include: 

(1) The name and intended cannabinoid(s) concentration of the cannabis product to 

be manufactured; 

(2) A complete list of components to be used; 

(3) The weight or measure of each component to be used.  The master 

manufacturing protocol for any given product may include the ability to adjust the weight 

or measure of cannabinoid-containing ingredients in order to account for the variability 

of cannabinoid content in harvest batches; 

(4) The identity and weight or measure of each ingredient that will be declared on 

the ingredients list of the cannabis product; 

(5) The expected yield of the finished product, based upon the quantity of 

components or packaging to be used in the absence of any loss or error in actual 

production, and the maximum and minimum percentages of expected yield beyond 

which a deviation investigation of a batch is necessary and material review is conducted 

and a decision on the disposition of the product is made; 

(6) A description of packaging and a representative label, or a cross-reference to the 

physical location of the actual or representative label; 

(7) Written instructions for each point, step, or stage in the manufacturing process; 

and 

(8) Written instructions for any action to mitigate an identified risk established in the 

product quality plan. 

 (c) Nothing in this chapter requires disclosure of the master manufacturing protocol 

to any person other than the individuals conducting activities that utilize the protocol or 
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to the Department and its inspectors and agents. The licensee may consider the master 

manufacturing protocol subject to trade secret protection. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40258. Batch Production Record. 

(a) The licensee shall prepare a written batch production record every time a batch 

of a cannabis product is manufactured.  The batch production record shall accurately 

follow the appropriate master manufacturing protocol, and each step of the protocol 

shall be performed in the production of the batch. 

(b) The batch production record shall document complete information relating to the 

production and control of each batch, including all of the following details: 

(1) The UID and the batch or lot number of the finished batch of cannabis product 

and the UIDs of all cannabis or cannabis products used in the batch.   

(2) The equipment and processing lines used in producing the batch; 

(3) The date and time of the maintenance, cleaning, and sanitizing of the equipment 

and processing lines used in producing the batch, or a cross-reference to records, such 

as individual equipment logs, where this information is retained; 

(4) The identification number assigned to each component, packaging, and label 

used, and, if applicable, to a cannabis product received from another licensee for 

packaging or labeling as a cannabis product;  

(5) The identity and weight or measure of each component used; 

(6) A statement of the actual yield and a statement of the percentage of expected 

yield at appropriate phases of processing; 

(7) The actual results obtained during any monitoring operation; 

(8) The results of any testing or examination performed during the batch production, 

or a cross-reference to such results; and 

(9) Documentation, at the time of performance, of the manufacture of the batch, 

including: 
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(A) The date on which each step of the master manufacturing protocol was 

performed; and 

(B) The initials of the persons performing each step, including: 

(i) The initials of the person responsible for weighing or measuring each component 

used in the batch; 

(ii) The initials of the person responsible for verifying the weight or measure of each 

component used in the batch; 

(iii) The initials of the person responsible for adding the component to the batch; and 

(iv) The initials of the person responsible for verifying the addition of components to 

the batch. 

(10) Documentation, at the time of performance, of packaging and labeling 

operations, including: 

(A) An actual or representative label, or a cross-reference to the physical location of 

the actual or representative label specified in the master manufacturing record; 

(B) The expected number of packaging and labels to be used, the actual quantity of 

the packaging and labels used, and, when label reconciliation is required, reconciliation 

of any discrepancies between issuance and use of labels; and 

(C) The results of any tests or examinations conducted on packaged and labeled 

cannabis products (including repackaged or relabeled cannabis products), or a cross-

reference to the physical location of such results. 

(11) Documentation, at the time of performance, that quality control personnel: 

(A) Reviewed the batch production record; 

(B) Reviewed all required monitoring operation(s); 

(C) Reviewed the results of all tests and examinations, including tests and 

examinations conducted on components, finished batches of cannabis product, and 

packaged and labeled cannabis products; 

(D) Either approved and released, or rejected, the batch for distribution; and  

(E) Either approved and released, or rejected, the finished cannabis product, 

including any repackaged or relabeled cannabis product. 

(12) Documentation, at the time of performance, of any required material review and 

disposition decision; and  
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(13) The Certificate of Analysis issued for the batch by the licensed testing 

laboratory, which shall be added to the record after regulatory compliance testing has 

been completed. 

(c) The batch production record shall: 

(1) Contain the actual values and observations obtained during monitoring and, as 

appropriate, during verification activities; 

(2) Be accurate, indelible, and legible; 

(3) Be created concurrently with performance of the activity documented; and 

(4) Be as detailed as necessary to provide a history of work performed; including: 

(A) Information to identify any associated manufacturing premises (e.g., the name, 

license number, and the location of the premises); 

(B) The date and the time of the activity documented; 

(C) The signature or initials of the person performing the activity; and 

(D) The identity of the product, the UID, and the batch or lot number. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 5. Special Processing Requirements 

§40270.  Juice Processing. 

(a) Requirements of this section shall apply to manufacturers of cannabis juice, and 

cannabis-infused juice or beverages.  

(b) Manufacturers of cannabis juice or cannabis-infused juice or beverages shall 

prepare and implement a written juice hazard analysis and critical control plan in 

accordance with the requirements of 21 CFR, Part 120, subpart A, section 120.8, and 

subpart B, section 120.24, (Rev. January 2001), which is hereby incorporated by 

reference. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40272.  Dried Meat Processing. 

Manufacturing of cannabis-infused dried meat products shall be conducted in 

accordance with the United States Department of Agriculture FSIS Compliance 

Guideline for Meat and Poultry Jerky Produced by Small and Very Small 

Establishments: 2014 Compliance Guideline (Rev. 2014), which is hereby incorporated 

by reference.  Meat for processing into dried meat products shall be acquired from a 

commercially-available source.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 6. Other Responsibilities 

§40275. Standard Operating Procedures. 

(a) A licensee shall establish and maintain written standard operating procedures 

that are easily accessible to onsite personnel.  The standard operating procedures shall, 

at minimum, include the following:  

(1) Policies or procedures developed in accordance with the security plan required 

by Section 40200; 

(2) Emergency response procedures, including safety data sheets for any chemicals 

on-site;  

(3) Policies and procedures developed in accordance with Section 40225; 

(4) Policies and procedures developed in accordance with Article 3 of this 

subchapter (Good Manufacturing Practices); 

(5) Procedures for complying with the track-and-trace requirements established in 

Article 2 of subchapter 6; 

(6) Inventory control procedures in compliance with Section 40282; and 

(7) Cannabis waste management procedures in compliance with Section 40290.  

(b) Procedures shall be written in English but may be made available in other 

languages, as necessary for the licensee’s personnel.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26130 and 26160, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40277. Weights and Measures. 

(a)   Weighing devices used by a licensee shall be approved, tested, and sealed in 

accordance with the requirements in Chapter 5 (commencing with section 12500) of 

Division 5 of the Business and Professions Code, and registered with the county sealer 

consistent with Chapter 2 (commencing with section 12240) of Division 5 of the 

Business and Professions Code.  Approved and registered devices shall be used 

whenever:  

(1)  Cannabis or cannabis product is bought or sold by weight or count;  

(2)  Cannabis or cannabis product is packaged for sale by weight or count;  
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(3)  Cannabis or cannabis product is weighed or counted for entry into the track-and-

trace system; and  

(4)  The weighing device is used for commercial purposes as defined in section 

12500 of the Business and Professions Code.  

(b)  For the purposes of this chapter, “count” means the numerical count of the 

individual cannabis product units.  

(c)  Whenever the licensee is determining the weight, measure, or count of cannabis 

and cannabis products for the purposes specified in subsection (a), the weight, 

measure, or count shall be determined by a licensed weighmaster as required by 

Chapter 7 (commencing with section 12700) of Division 5 of the Business and 

Professions Code.  The weighmaster certificate required under section 12711 of the 

Business and Professions Code shall not be required when cannabis or cannabis 

products are weighed for entry into the track-and-trace system.   

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26060, Business and Professions Code.  

 

§40280. Training Program.   

(a) The licensee shall implement a training program to ensure that all personnel 

present at the premises are provided information and training that, at minimum, covers 

the following topics: 

(1) Within 30 days of the start of employment: 

(A) Health and safety hazards; 

(B) Hazards presented by all solvents or chemicals used at the licensed premises as 

described in the safety data sheet for each solvent or chemical; 

(C) Emergency response procedures;  

(D) Security procedures; 

(E) Record keeping requirements; and 

(F) Training requirements. 

(2) Manufacturing and production personnel, prior to independently engaging in any 

cannabis manufacturing process: 
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(A) An overview of the cannabis manufacturing process and standard operating 

procedure(s); 

(B) Quality control procedures; 

(C) The product quality plans developed in accordance with Section 40253; 

(D) Proper and safe usage of equipment or machinery; 

(E) Safe work practices applicable to an employee’s job tasks, including appropriate 

use of any necessary safety or sanitary equipment; 

(F) Cleaning and maintenance requirements; 

(G) Emergency operations, including shutdown; and 

(H) Any additional information reasonably related to an employee’s job duties. 

(3) Additionally, a licensee that produces edible cannabis products shall ensure that 

all personnel who prepare, handle, or package edible products successfully complete a 

California food handler certificate course from an entity accredited by the American 

National Standards Institute (ANSI) within 90 days of commencing employment at the 

premises and again every three years during employment.  The licensee shall obtain 

documentation evidencing the fulfillment of this requirement;   

(4) The licensee shall ensure that all personnel receive annual refresher training to 

cover, at minimum, the topics listed in this subsection.  This annual refresher training 

must be completed within 12 months of the previous training completion date. 

(b) The licensee shall maintain a record of training which contains at minimum: 

(1) A list of all personnel at the premises, including at minimum, name and job duties 

of each individual; 

(2) Documentation of training topics and dates of training completion, including 

refresher training, for all personnel; 

 (3) The signature of each individual personnel and the licensee verifying receipt and 

understanding of each training or refresher training completed by the individual; and 

(4) Any official documentation attesting to the successful completion of required 

training by personnel. 

(c) The licensee may assign responsibility for the training of individual personnel to 

supervisory personnel. Assigned supervisory personnel must have the education, 

training, or experience (or a combination thereof) necessary to ensure the production of 
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quality cannabis products by all personnel. The assigned training personnel shall sign 

and date a document on an annual basis attesting that he or she has received and 

understands all information that will be provided to individual personnel in the training 

program.  This documentation shall be maintained as part of the record requirements.  

(d) For licensees in operation pursuant to Section 40126, applicable personnel shall 

receive required training no later than 90 days after the effective date of the annual 

license. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26130 and 26160, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40282. Inventory Control – Cannabis and Cannabis Products. 

(a) A licensee shall establish and implement a written inventory control plan capable 

of tracking the location and disposition of all cannabis and cannabis products at the 

licensed premises.  

(b) A licensee shall reconcile the on-hand inventory of cannabis and cannabis 

products at the licensed premises with the records in the track-and-trace database at 

least once every thirty (30) calendar days.  

(c) If a licensee finds a discrepancy between the on-hand inventory and the track-

and-trace database, the licensee shall conduct an audit.  

(d) If the inventory reconciliation conducted pursuant to subsection (b) or the audit 

conducted pursuant to subsection (c) reveals a discrepancy that is more than five 

percent of the documented inventory notify the Department within 24 hours of the 

discovery.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40290. Waste Management. 

(a) A licensee shall have a written cannabis waste management plan and shall 

dispose of all waste, including cannabis waste, in accordance with the Public Resources 
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Code and any other applicable state and local laws, including laws regulating “organic 

waste” as defined in Public Resources Code section 42649.8(c).  It is the responsibility 

of the licensee to properly evaluate waste to determine if it should be designated and 

handled as a hazardous waste, as defined in section 40141 of the Public Resources 

Code. 

(b) A licensee shall dispose of any cannabis waste in a secured waste receptacle or 

secured area on the licensed premises.  For the purposes of this section, “secured 

waste receptacle” or “secured area” means that physical access to the receptacle or 

area is restricted to the licensee, employees of the licensee, the local agency, waste 

hauler franchised or contracted by the local agency, or private waste hauler permitted 

by the local agency only.  Public access to the designated receptacle or area shall be 

prohibited. 

(c) No cannabis product shall be disposed of in its packaging, and all cannabis 

waste shall be unrecognizable and unusable as cannabis or a cannabis product at the 

time of disposal. Nothing in this subsection shall be construed to require waste vape 

cartridges to be emptied of cannabis oil prior to disposal, provided that the vape 

cartridge is itself unrecognizable and unusable at the time of disposal. 

(d) Cannabis waste shall be entered into the track-and-trace system as required 

under Section 40512.   

(e) Cannabis waste may be collected from a licensee in conjunction with a regular 

organic waste collection route used by the local agency, a waste hauler franchised or 

contracted by the local agency, or a private waste hauler permitted by the local agency. 

If a local agency, a waste hauler franchised or contracted by the local agency, or a 

private waste hauler permitted by the local agency is being used to collect and process 

cannabis waste, a licensee shall do all of the following: 

(1) Maintain and make available to the Department upon request the business 

name, address, contact person, and contact phone number of the entity hauling the 

waste; and 

(2) Obtain documentation from the entity hauling the waste that evidences 

subscription to a waste collection service.  
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(f) If a licensee is self-hauling cannabis waste as allowed by the local jurisdiction, the 

licensee shall be subject to all of the following requirements:  

(1) Self-hauled cannabis waste shall only be transported by the licensee or its 

employees;  

(2) Self-hauled cannabis waste shall only be transported to one or more of the 

following:  

(A) A manned fully permitted solid waste landfill or transformation facility; 

(B) A manned fully permitted composting facility or manned composting operation; 

(C) A manned fully permitted in-vessel digestion facility or manned in-vessel 

digestion operation; or 

(D) A manned fully permitted transfer/processing facility or manned 

transfer/processing operation. 

(3) The licensee or its employee who transports the waste shall obtain for each 

delivery of cannabis waste a copy of a certified weight ticket or receipt from the solid 

waste facility.    

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40292. Consent to Sample Collection. 

A manufacturer licensee that transfers possession but not title of cannabis products 

to a licensed distributor shall allow the Bureau, upon the Bureau’s request, to collect 

samples for purposes of conducting oversight of licensed testing laboratories. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40295. Product Complaints. 

(a) The licensee shall establish and implement written procedures to ensure that:  
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(1) A qualified individual shall review and investigate all product complaints to 

determine whether such complaints involve a possible failure of a cannabis product to 

meet any of its specifications; 

(2) Quality control personnel shall review and approve decisions determining 

whether to investigate a product complaint and shall review and approve the findings 

and follow up action(s) of any investigation performed; 

(3) Pursuant to subsections (a) and (b) in this section, any review or investigative 

activities by qualified individuals and quality control personnel shall extend to all 

relevant batches and records.  

(4) Quality control personnel shall maintain written records for every product 

complaint and subsequent investigation, if any.  The records shall include: 

(A) The name and description of the cannabis product; 

(B) The batch number or UID of the cannabis product, if available; 

(C) The date the complaint was received and the name, address, and telephone 

number of the complainant, if available; 

(D) The nature of the complaint including, if known, how the product was used; 

(E) The reply to the complainant, if any;  

(F) The findings of the investigation or follow-up action taken when an investigation 

is performed; and  

(G) The basis for any determination not to conduct an investigation. 

(b) For purposes of this section, “product complaint” means any written, electronic, 

or oral communication that contains any allegation expressing concern, for any reason, 

with the quality of a cannabis product that could be related to the manufacturing 

practices.  Examples of product complaints may include but are not limited to: foul odor, 

off taste, illness or injury, disintegration time, color variation, foreign material in a 

cannabis product container, improper packaging, mislabeling, cannabis products that 

contain an incorrect concentration of cannabinoids, or cannabis products that contain an 

unidentified ingredient, or any form of contaminant. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40297. Recalls. 

(a) Licensees shall establish and implement written procedures for recalling 

cannabis products manufactured by the licensee that are determined to be misbranded 

or adulterated.  These procedures shall include: 

(1) Factors which necessitate a recall; 

(2) Personnel responsible for implementing the recall procedures; and 

(3) Notification protocols, including: 

(A) A mechanism to notify all customers that have, or could have, obtained the 

product, including communication and outreach via media, as necessary and 

appropriate; 

(B) A mechanism to notify any licensees that supplied or received the recalled 

product; 

(C) Instructions to the general public and other licensees for the return or destruction 

of the recalled product. 

(4) Procedures for the collection and destruction of any recalled product.  Such 

procedures shall meet the following requirements:   

(A) All recalled products that are intended to be destroyed shall be quarantined for a 

minimum of 72 hours. The licensee shall affix to the recalled products any bills of lading, 

shipping manifests, or other similar documents with product information and weight.  

The product held in quarantine shall be subject to auditing by the Department. 

(B) Following the quarantine period, the licensee shall render the recalled cannabis 

product unusable and unrecognizable and dispose of it in accordance with Section 

40290, and do so on video surveillance in accordance with Section 40205.    

(b) In addition to the tracking requirements set forth in Section 40512, a licensee 

shall use the track-and-trace database and on-site documentation to ensure that 

recalled cannabis products intended for destruction are identified, weighed, and tracked 

while on the licensed premises and when disposed of in accordance with this section.  

For recalled cannabis products, the licensee shall enter the following details into the 

track-and-trace database: the weight and count of the product, reason for destruction, 

and the date the quarantine period will begin.    
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(c) The licensee shall notify the Department of any recall within 24 hours of initiating 

the recall. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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SUBCHAPTER 4. PRODUCTS 

Article 1.  Cannabis Product Standards 

 

§40300.  Prohibited Products. 

The following types of products shall not be sold as cannabis products:  

(a) Alcoholic beverages, as defined in section 23004 of the Business and 

Professions Code.  This prohibition does not apply to tinctures that meet the 

requirements of Section 40308; 

(b) Any product containing any non-cannabinoid additive that would increase 

potency, toxicity, or addictive potential, or that would create an unsafe combination with 

other psychoactive substances. Prohibited additives include, but are not limited to, 

nicotine and caffeine. This prohibition shall not apply to products containing naturally-

occurring caffeine, such as coffee, tea, or chocolate; 

(c) Any cannabis product that must be held at or below 41 degrees Fahrenheit to 

keep it safe for human consumption, including, but not limited to, cream or custard-filled 

pies; pies or pastries which consist in whole or in part of milk or milk products, or eggs; 

and meat-filled pies or pastries.  This prohibition shall not apply to juices or beverages 

that need to be held below 41 degrees Fahrenheit if the juice or beverage was 

processed in accordance with Section 40270, or to infused butter manufactured as 

permitted by subsection (g); 

(d) Any thermally-processed low-acid cannabis product packed in a hermetically 

sealed container that, if it did not contain cannabis, would be subject to the 

manufacturing requirements of Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 113;  

(e) Any acidified cannabis product that, if it did not contain cannabis, would be 

subject to the manufacturing requirements of Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations, 

Part 114;   

(f) Any juice that is not shelf-stable or that is not processed in accordance with 

Section 40270;  

(g) Dairy products of any kind, as prohibited by section 26001(t) of the Act, except 

that butter purchased from a licensed milk products plant or retail location that is 

subsequently infused or mixed with cannabis may be sold as a cannabis product; 
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(h) Meat products other than dried meat products prepared in accordance with 

Section 40272;   

(i) Seafood products of any kind; 

(j) Any product that is manufactured by application of cannabinoid concentrate or 

extract to commercially available candy or snack food items without further processing 

of the product.  Commercially available candy or snack food items may be used as 

ingredients in a cannabis product, provided that they are used in a way that renders 

them unrecognizable as the commercially available items and the label, including the 

ingredient list, does not note that the final cannabis product contains the commercially 

available item; 

(k) Any cannabis product that the Department determines, on a case-by-case basis, 

is attractive to children, as specified in Section 40410; 

(l)  Any cannabis product that the Department determines, on a case-by-case basis, 

is easily confused with commercially available foods that do not contain cannabis; 

(m) Any cannabis product in the shape of, or imprinted with the shape, either 

realistic or caricature, of a human being, animal, insect, or fruit. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code; Section 

37104, Food and Agricultural Code. 

 

§40305. Requirements for Edible Cannabis Products.  

(a) Except for cannabis, cannabis concentrate, or terpenes, no product ingredient or 

component shall be used in the manufacture of an edible cannabis product unless that 

ingredient or component is permitted by the United States Food and Drug 

Administration for use in food or food manufacturing, as specified in Substances Added 

to Food in the United States, available at 

https://www.fda.gov/Food/IngredientsPackagingLabeling/FoodAdditivesIngredients/ucm

115326.htm or is Generally Recognized as Safe (GRAS) under sections 201(s) and 409 

of the Federal Food, Drug, and Cosmetic Act (codified in 21 U.S.C 321(s) and 21 U.S.C. 

348). 

https://www.fda.gov/Food/IngredientsPackagingLabeling/FoodAdditivesIngredients/ucm115326.htm
https://www.fda.gov/Food/IngredientsPackagingLabeling/FoodAdditivesIngredients/ucm115326.htm
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(b) Edible cannabis products that consist of more than a single serving shall be 

either:  

(1) Scored or delineated to indicate one serving, if the edible cannabis product is in 

solid form.  For purposes of this section, “delineated” includes directly marking the 

product to indicate one serving or providing a means by which a consumer can 

accurately identify one serving; or  

(2) If the edible cannabis product is not in solid form, packaged in a manner such 

that a single serving is readily identifiable or easily measurable. 

(c) An edible cannabis product consisting of multiple servings shall be homogenized 

so that each serving contains the same concentration of THC.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40306.  Requirements for Topical Cannabis Products, Concentrates, and Other 

Cannabis Products. 

(a) Except for cannabis, cannabis concentrate, or terpenes, topical cannabis 

products shall only contain ingredients permitted for cosmetic manufacturing in 

accordance with Title 21, Code of Federal Regulations, Part 700, subpart B (section 

700.11 et seq.) (Rev. March 2016), which is hereby incorporated by reference.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26011.5, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40308.  Orally-Consumed Products Containing Alcohol.  

Any orally-consumed product that contains more than 0.5% alcohol by volume as an 

ingredient, and is not otherwise an alcoholic beverage as defined in Business and 

Professions Code section 23004, shall be packaged in a container no larger than two 

(2) fluid ounces and shall include a calibrated dropper or other similar device capable of 

accurately measuring servings.  
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26011.5, Business and Professions Code. 

 

Article 2. Cannabinoid Concentration Limits 

§40315. THC Concentration Limits. 

(a) An edible cannabis product shall not contain more than:  

(1) 10 milligrams THC per serving; and 

(2) 100 milligrams THC per package.  

(b) Notwithstanding subsection (a), a package containing an edible product that is an 

orally-dissolving product, such as sublingual lozenges or mouth strips, may contain up 

to 500 milligrams THC per package, if:  

(1) The cannabis product consists of discrete servings of no more than 10 milligrams 

THC per piece; 

(2) The cannabis product is labeled “FOR MEDICAL USE ONLY;” and 

(3) The cannabis product is only available for sale to a medicinal-use customer.   

(c) A topical cannabis product or a cannabis concentrate shall not contain more than 

1,000 milligrams THC per package.  

(d) Notwithstanding subsection (c), a topical cannabis product or a cannabis 

concentrate may contain more than 1,000 milligrams THC per package, but not more 

than 2,000 milligrams THC per package, if the product is labeled “FOR MEDICAL USE 

ONLY” and is only available for sale to a medicinal-use customer. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26011.5, 26120 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 3.  Failed Product Batches 

§40330. Failed Product Batches.  

(a) A finished cannabis product batch that fails any regulatory compliance laboratory 

testing requirement established by the Bureau pursuant to section 26100 of the Act 

shall be destroyed unless: 

(1) The cannabis product batch may be remediated by relabeling pursuant to 

subsection (d); or 

(2) A corrective action plan for remediation or reprocessing is approved by the 

Department pursuant to subsection (e).   

(b) Remediation or reprocessing of a failed product batch or the use of a harvest 

batch that has failed any regulatory compliance laboratory test shall comply with the 

requirements and procedures established by the Bureau in Section 5727 of Title 16 of 

the California Code of Regulations, in addition to the requirements of this article. 

(c) Except as provided in subsections (d) and (f), edible cannabis products that fail 

regulatory compliance laboratory testing shall not be remediated or reprocessed and 

shall be destroyed.  If any edible cannabis product that has failed regulatory compliance 

laboratory testing is remediated, reprocessed, or otherwise mixed with another batch of 

cannabis product in violation of this section, such action shall render the final cannabis 

product adulterated, regardless of the defect level of the final cannabis product.   

(d) A cannabis product batch that fails regulatory compliance laboratory testing for 

cannabinoid or terpenoid content may be remediated by relabeling the product with the 

correct information from the laboratory certificate of analysis, provided that the THC 

limits in Section 40315 are met.  In addition, the following conditions apply:  

(1) The manufacturer licensee shall notify the Department within 3 business days of 

notification by a distributor that the product failed cannabinoid content testing and is 

required to be relabeled.   

(2) Notification shall be given to the Department by email and shall include a copy of 

the certificate of analysis for the batch and the name and license number of the licensee 

relabeling the product.   

(e) Except as provided in subsection (d), a cannabis product batch or a harvest 

batch that fails regulatory compliance laboratory testing or quality assurance review 
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shall not be remediated or reprocessed unless the Department has approved a 

corrective action plan submitted by the manufacturer licensee.  The corrective action 

plan shall include, at minimum, a description of how the product or harvest batch will be 

remediated so that the product or harvest batch, or any product produced therefrom, will 

meet all regulatory compliance laboratory testing and quality assurance 

requirements.  Edible cannabis products may only be remediated by relabeling or 

repackaging as provided in subsection (f).  Corrective action plans will be reviewed by 

the Department on a case-by-case basis.  

(f) Edible cannabis products that fail regulatory compliance laboratory testing 

because the per package limit of THC has been exceeded may be remediated by 

repackaging under the following conditions:  

(1) The Department has approved a corrective action plan for repackaging the 

product; 

(2) The product batch is returned to the manufacturer that packaged the product;  

(3) The product itself is not altered in any way; and 

(4) The product is labeled to accurately state the contents. 

(g) All remediation of harvest or product batches shall be documented in the batch 

production records.  Remediated products, harvest batches, or products produced 

therefrom, shall be tested and undergo quality assurance review in accordance with the 

requirements established by the Bureau in Chapter 2 of Division 42 of Title 16 of the 

California Code of Regulations prior to retail sale.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26131, Business and Professions Code. 
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SUBCHAPTER 5. LABELING AND PACKAGING REQUIREMENTS 

Article 1.  General Provisions 

§40400. Applicability.  

The requirements in this subchapter shall apply to finished cannabis products or 

dried flower and pre-rolls packaged for retail sale and shall not apply to cannabis or 

cannabis products that are transferred between licensees for the purpose of further 

processing or packaging. 

 

Authority: Section 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40401. Release to Distributor as Finished Product. 

(a) Prior to release of a cannabis product to a distributor, a licensee shall ensure that 

the product is in finished form and is labeled and packaged in its final form for sale.   

(b) For purposes of this section, “final form” does not include: 

(1) Labeling of cannabinoid content if the cannabinoid content is to be added to the 

label at the distribution premises after issuance of the Certificate of Analysis in 

accordance with Section 40409; or  

(2) Placing the cannabis or cannabis product into child-resistant packaging as 

prescribed in Section 40417.  This provision shall expire on December 31, 2019. 

 

Authority: Section 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 2. Labeling Requirements 

§40403.  General Provisions. 

(a) Any information required to be listed on a label shall be written in English. 

(b) A label shall be unobstructed and conspicuous so that it can be read by the 

consumer.   

(c) All required label information shall be located on the outside container or wrapper 

of the finished product to be sold at a retailer.  If the product container is separable from 

the outer-most packaging (e.g., a container placed inside of a box), the product 

container shall also include the following:  

(1) For edible cannabis products, topical cannabis products, suppositories, or orally-

consumed concentrates, all of the information specified in Sections 40405 and 40406, 

except for cannabinoid content. 

(2) For inhaled products (e.g., dab, shatter, and wax), the universal symbol as 

prescribed in Section 40412. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26120, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40404. Labeling Requirements: Pre-Rolls and Packaged Flower.  

(a) The label for a package of pre-rolls or packaged flower shall include a primary 

panel that includes the following information in a type size no less than 6 point font and 

in relation to the size of the primary panel and container:  

(1) Identity of the product; 

(2) The net weight of cannabis in the package, listed in both metric and U.S. 

customary units; and 

(3) Universal symbol, as prescribed in Section 40412. 

(b) The label for a package of pre-rolls or packaged flower shall include an 

informational label that includes the following information in a type size no less than 6 

point font and in relation to the size of the informational panel and container:  

(1) The UID;  



DPH-17-010  
Cannabis Manufacturing Licensing 

FINAL TEXT 

 

Page 85 of 107 

 

(2) The licensed cultivator or licensee packaging the product (either the legal 

business name or the registered name under which the business will operate listed on 

the license certificate), and its contact number or website address; 

(3) The date of packaging for retail sale;  

(4) The following statement in bold print: “GOVERNMENT WARNING: THIS 

PACKAGE CONTAINS CANNABIS, A SCHEDULE I CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE.  

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN AND ANIMALS.  CANNABIS MAY ONLY BE 

POSSESSED OR CONSUMED BY PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR OLDER 

UNLESS THE PERSON IS A QUALIFIED PATIENT.  CANNABIS USE WHILE 

PREGNANT OR BREASTFEEDING MAY BE HARMFUL.  CONSUMPTION OF 

CANNABIS IMPAIRS YOUR ABILITY TO DRIVE AND OPERATE MACHINERY.  

PLEASE USE EXTREME CAUTION.” 

(c) Nothing in this section prohibits the inclusion of additional information on the 

label, provided that the label does not violate the requirements of Section 40410.  

(d) The cannabinoid content for a package of pre-rolls or packaged flower shall be 

labeled as specified in Section 40409. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26120, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40405. Primary Panel Labeling Requirements: Manufactured Products. 

(a) The label for a manufactured cannabis product shall include a primary panel that 

includes the following information in a type size no less than 6 point font and in relation 

to the size of the primary panel and container:  

(1) The identity of the product in a text size reasonably related to the most prominent 

printed matter on the panel; 

(2) The universal symbol as prescribed in Section 40412; and  

(3) The net weight or volume of the contents of the package, listed in both metric 

and U.S. customary units. 

(b) Cannabinoid content may be included on the primary panel. Cannabinoid content 

for manufactured cannabis products shall be labeled as specified in Section 40409.   
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(c) Nothing in this section prohibits the inclusion of additional information on the 

primary panel, provided that the label does not violate the requirements of Section 

40410.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26120, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40406.  Additional Primary Panel Labeling Requirements: Edible Products. 

In addition to the requirements of Section 40405, the primary panel of an edible 

cannabis product shall include the words “cannabis-infused” immediately above the 

identity of the product in bold type and a text size larger than the text size used for the 

identity of the product. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013, 26120 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Section 26120, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40408. Informational Panel Labeling Requirements. 

(a) The label for a manufactured cannabis product shall include an informational 

panel that includes the following:  

(1) The name of the licensed manufacturer (either the legal business name or the 

registered name under which the business will operate listed on the license certificate) 

that manufactured the cannabis product and its contact number or website address;  

(2) The date of the cannabis product’s manufacture and packaging;  

(3) The following statement in bold print: “GOVERNMENT WARNING: THIS 

PRODUCT CONTAINS CANNABIS, A SCHEDULE I CONTROLLED SUBSTANCE.  

KEEP OUT OF REACH OF CHILDREN AND ANIMALS.  CANNABIS PRODUCTS MAY 

ONLY BE POSSESSED OR CONSUMED BY PERSONS 21 YEARS OF AGE OR 

OLDER UNLESS THE PERSON IS A QUALIFIED PATIENT.  THE INTOXICATING 

EFFECTS OF CANNABIS PRODUCTS MAY BE DELAYED UP TO TWO HOURS.  

CANNABIS USE WHILE PREGNANT OR BREASTFEEDING MAY BE HARMFUL.  
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CONSUMPTION OF CANNABIS PRODUCTS IMPAIRS YOUR ABILITY TO DRIVE 

AND OPERATE MACHINERY.  PLEASE USE EXTREME CAUTION.” 

(4) The statement “FOR MEDICAL USE ONLY,” if: 

(A) The cannabis product is intended by the manufacturer only for sale to medicinal-

use customers;  

(B) The product is an orally-dissolving edible product containing more than 100 

milligrams THC per package, as specified in Section 40315(b); or  

(C) The product is a topical cannabis product or concentrate containing more than 

1,000 milligrams THC per package, as specified in Section 40315(d). 

(5) A list of all product ingredients in descending order of predominance by weight or 

volume;. If any product ingredient contains subingredients, the list shall either:  

(A) Include the common name of the ingredient followed by a parenthetical listing of 

all ingredients in descending order by weight or volume; or  

(B) List all subingredients as individual ingredients in descending order of 

predominance.  

(C) This paragraph shall not apply to flavoring, which shall instead be compliant with 

the requirement of 21 C.F.R. 101.22 (Rev. Jan 2009), hereby incorporated by reference.  

(6) If the cannabis product contains an ingredient, flavoring, coloring, or an incidental 

additive that bears or contains a major food allergen, the word “contains,” followed by a 

list of the applicable major food allergens;   

(7) The names of any artificial colorings contained in the product;   

(8) If an edible cannabis product, the amount, in grams or milligrams, of sodium, 

sugar, carbohydrates, and total fat per serving; 

(9) Instructions for use, such as the method of consumption or application, and any 

preparation necessary prior to use; 

(10) The product expiration date, “use by” date, or “best by” date, if any;  

(11) The UID and the batch or lot number; and 

(12) If the cannabis product is perishable or is perishable after opening, the 

statement, “KEEP REFRIGERATED” or “REFRIGERATE AFTER OPENING,” as 

applicable.  
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 (b) The informational panel text shall be in a text size of no less than 6 point font 

and in relation to the size of the primary panel and container.  

(c) Except for the information required by paragraph (a)(11), the requirements of 

subsection (a) may be fulfilled through the use of supplemental labeling, which may 

include, but is not limited to, a package insert, fold-out or booklet label, or a hanging tag. 

(d) Cannabinoid content may be included on the informational panel. Cannabinoid 

content for manufactured cannabis products shall be labeled as specified in Section 

40409.  

(e) Nothing in this section prohibits the inclusion of additional information on the 

informational panel provided that the label does not violate the requirements of Section 

40410.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26120 and 26121, Business and Professions Code. 

 

40409. Cannabinoid Content Labeling.   

(a) Each package for retail sale of cannabis product, cannabis flower, or pre-rolls 

shall be labeled with the cannabinoid content on either the primary panel or an 

informational panel.  Cannabinoid content may be included on the product label at the 

manufacturing premises prior to release to a distributor as described in subsection (b) or 

it may be added to the product at the distribution premises after issuance of the 

regulatory compliance testing Certificate of Analysis for the batch as described in 

subsection (c). Cannabinoid content labeling shall include the following:   

(1) For an edible product or a cannabis concentrate for which the manufacturer has 

established serving designations, THC and CBD content, expressed in milligrams per 

serving and milligrams per package.   

(2) For a topical cannabis product or a cannabis concentrate without serving 

designations, THC and CBD content, expressed in milligrams per package. 

(3) Packages of pre-rolls or cannabis flower that do not include cannabinoids other 

than that naturally occurring in the plant material are not required to list cannabinoid 
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content in milligrams.  Instead, such packages shall be labeled with the cannabinoid 

content expressed as a percentage. 

(4) Packages of infused pre-rolls shall be labeled with either:  

(A) The cannabinoid content in milligrams; or  

(B) The cannabinoid content of the dried flower expressed as a percentage and the 

added cannabinoid content in milligrams. 

 (b) A manufacturer that includes the cannabinoid content on the product label prior 

to release to a distributor shall label products as specified in paragraphs (1) through (4) 

of subsection (a), as appropriate to the product.  For THC or CBD concentration that is 

less than two (2) milligrams per serving or per package, the THC or CBD may be 

labeled as “<2.0 mg per serving” or “<2.0 mg per package.”   

(c)  A manufacturer may arrange for cannabinoid content labeling at the distribution 

premises after issuance of the Certificate of Analysis in accordance with the following:     

(1) Each package of cannabis product in the batch shall be labeled with the 

cannabinoid content as specified in subsection (a) that is indicated on the Certificate of 

Analysis, as well as any other cannabinoid that is 5 percent or greater of the total 

cannabinoid content; 

(2) The manufacturer shall identify a location for the cannabinoid content label on 

the outer packaging of the product.  The location shall be sufficient in size for the 

required cannabinoid content to be printed in at least 6 point font;   

(3) The cannabinoid content label shall be affixed to the identified location on the 

outer packaging of the product and shall not obscure any other label information. 

(d) Nothing in this section precludes the labeling of terpenes or additional 

cannabinoid content on the product, provided that such information is verified by the 

Certificate of Analysis.     

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26120, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40410. Labeling Restrictions. 

Cannabis product labeling shall not contain any of the following:  
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(a) The name of a California county, including any similar name that is likely to 

mislead consumers as to the origin of the product, unless one hundred percent of the 

cannabis contained in the product was grown in that county. 

(b) Content that is, or is designed to be, attractive to individuals under the age of 21, 

including but not limited to:  

(1) Cartoons; 

(2) Any likeness to images, characters, or phrases that are popularly used to 

advertise to children;  

(3) Any imitation of candy packaging or labeling; or 

(4) The terms “candy” or “candies” or variants in spelling such as “kandy” or 

“kandeez.”  

(c) Any information that is false or misleading.   

(d) Any health-related statement that is untrue or misleading.  Any health-related 

statement must be supported by the totality of publicly available scientific evidence 

(including evidence from well-designed studies conducted in a manner which is 

consistent with generally recognized scientific procedures and principles), and for which 

there is significant scientific agreement among experts qualified by scientific training 

and experience to evaluate such claims. 

(e) If the product is an edible cannabis product, a picture of the product contained 

therein. 

(f) For purposes of this section, false or misleading information includes any 

indication that the cannabis or cannabis product is organic, unless the National Organic 

Program (Section 6517 of the federal Organic Foods Production Act of 1990 (7 U.S.C. 

Section 6501 et seq.)) authorizes organic designation and certification for cannabis and 

the cannabis or cannabis product meets the requirements for such designation and 

certification. This includes use of the word “organic” on the labeling or variants in 

spelling such as “organix.” 

(g) Any labeling in violation of Section 5040.1 of Division 42 of Title 16 of the 

California Code of Regulations.    
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26062.5, 26063, 26120, 26121 and 26154, Business and 

Professions Code. 

 

§40411.  Statement of Characteristic Anticipated Effects. 

A cannabis product may include information on the characteristic anticipated effects 

of the cannabis product if the manufacturer has substantiation that the information is 

truthful and not misleading. Such information may be located on the informational panel 

of the label or as an insert included in the cannabis product package.  For purposes of 

this section, “characteristic anticipated effect” includes any physiological effect (a 

temporary effect on the body related to the consumption of cannabis) that is common to 

or expected from the particular cannabis strain, but excludes any claim of health 

benefits (i.e. claims of therapeutic action as a result of the consumption of cannabis). 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26120 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40412.  Universal Symbol. 

(a) The primary panel of a cannabis product shall be marked, stamped, or otherwise 

imprinted with the universal symbol.    

(b) The symbol shall replicate the following in form:  

 

(c) The symbol shall be black in color.  For packaging that is dark in color, the 

symbol may be made conspicuous by printing the symbol on, or outlining the symbol 

with, a contrasting color.   

(d) The symbol shall be no smaller in size than one half (.5) inch by one half (.5) inch 

and shall be printed legibly and conspicuously.   

(e) The symbol shall not be altered or cropped in any way other than to adjust the 

sizing for placement on the primary panel.   
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26120, 26121 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 3. Packaging 

§40415. Packaging.  

A package used to contain cannabis or a cannabis product shall comply with the 

following requirements:  

(a) The package shall protect the product from contamination and shall not expose 

the product to any toxic or harmful substance.    

(b) The package shall be tamper-evident, which means that the product packaging is 

sealed so that the contents cannot be opened without obvious destruction of the seal.   

 (c) If the product has multiple uses, the package shall be resealable.    

(d) The package shall not imitate any package used for products typically marketed 

to children. 

(e) If the product is an edible product, the package shall be opaque.  Amber bottles 

shall be considered opaque for purposes of this section.   

(f) Notwithstanding subsection (e), opaque bottles used to contain a cannabis 

beverage product may utilize a single, vertical, clear strip of no wider than 0.25 inches 

for the purpose of determining serving amounts. 

(g) The package shall be child-resistant, as described in Section 40417.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26120 and 26121, Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40417.  Child-Resistant Packaging Requirements. 

(a) Beginning January 1, 2020, a package containing cannabis or cannabis products 

transferred to a distributor for retail sale shall be child-resistant, as follows:  

(1) An edible product, an orally-consumed concentrate, or a suppository shall be 

child-resistant for the life of the product.  A package that contains more than a single 

serving is not required to be child-resistant if each individual serving is packaged in 

child-resistant packaging. 

(2) Cannabis or a cannabis product intended to be inhaled or a cannabis product 

that is applied topically may utilize packaging that is child-resistant only until first 
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opened, if the package is labeled with the statement “This package is not child-resistant 

after opening.”   

(b) The following packages are considered child-resistant for purposes of this Article:  

(1) Any package that has been certified as child-resistant under the requirements of 

the Poison Prevention Packaging Act of 1970 Regulations (16 C.F.R.  §1700.15(b)(1)) 

(Rev. July 1995), which is hereby incorporated by reference. 

(2) A bottle sealed with a pry-off metal crown cork style bottle cap, provided that the 

bottle contains only a single serving. 

(3) Plastic packaging that is at least 4 mils thick and heat-sealed without an easy-

open tab, dimple, corner, or flap, provided that the package contains a cannabis product 

described in subsection (a)(2) or is a cannabis product that is only a single serving. 

(c) Until the date specified in subsection (a), the child-resistant package requirement 

specified in section 26120 of the Act may be met through the use of a child-resistant exit 

package at retail sale.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26120 and 26121, Business and Professions Code. 
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SUBCHAPTER 6.  COMPLIANCE 

Article 1.  Records 

§40500. Record Keeping Requirements. 

(a) The licensee shall maintain the following documents on the premises at all times 

and shall make the documents available to the Department upon request:  

(1) The valid state license issued by the Department, which shall be prominently 

displayed; 

(2) Any other valid license issued by a state cannabis licensing agency; 

(3)  The valid license, permit, or other approval issued by the local jurisdiction;  

(4) The premises diagram, as specified in Section 40105; 

(5) The current standard operating procedures as defined in Section 40275;  

(6) Shipping manifests;  

(7) Personnel records, including evidence of personnel qualifications and training 

procedures and records, as specified in Section 40280;  

(8) Contracts with other licensees regarding commercial cannabis activity; 

(9) Financial records related to the commercial cannabis activity including, but not 

limited to, bank statements, and tax records; 

(10) Sales invoices and receipts as described in section 26161 of the Act and 

Section 40505 of these regulations; and 

(11) Any other record or documentation required to be kept pursuant to this Chapter 

or the Act. 

(b) The records shall be maintained for a period of seven (7) years. Outdated 

standard operating procedures shall be maintained such that onsite employees cannot 

mistakenly access outdated information.   

(c) All documentation shall be maintained in English. However, nothing in this 

subsection prohibits the maintenance of documents in languages in addition to English 

as needed by the licensee. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5 and 26160, Business and Professions Code. 
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§40505. Sales Invoices and Receipts. 

(a) The licensee shall prepare a sales invoice or sales receipt for every sale, 

transport, or transfer of cannabis products to another licensee.  Sales invoices and 

receipts may be maintained electronically, but shall be readily accessible for 

examination by the Department and its inspectors and agents.  

(b) Each sales invoice or receipt shall include the following information:  

(1) Name, address, and license number of the seller; 

(2) Name, address, and license number of the purchaser; 

(3) Date of sale, transport, or transfer;  

(4) Invoice or receipt number;  

(5) Kind, quantity, size, and capacity of packages of cannabis or cannabis product 

sold, transported, or transferred; and  

(6) Cost to the purchaser for the cannabis or cannabis product, including any 

discount or trade allowance applied to the price, which shall be recorded on the invoice. 

(c) For purposes of this section, “discount or trade allowance” means any price 

reduction or allowance of any kind, whether stated or unstated, and includes, without 

limitation, any price reduction applied to a licensee’s price list.  The discounts may be 

for prompt payment, payment in cash, bulk purchases, related-party transaction, or 

“preferred-customer” status.   

(d) Invoices and receipts for the sale, transport, or transfer of cannabis or cannabis 

products shall not be comingled with invoices covering other commodities. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Section 26161, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 2.  Track-and-Trace System 

§40510. Track-and-Trace System General Requirements. 

(a) Each applicant or licensee shall identify an owner of the commercial cannabis 

business to be the track-and-trace system account manager. The account manager 

shall register for track-and-trace system training provided by the Department of Food 

and Agriculture or its designee within ten (10) calendar days of receiving notice from the 

Department of Public Health that their application for licensure has been received. 

(b) Applicants approved for an annual license shall not have access to the track-and-

trace system until the account manager has completed the track-and-trace system 

training prescribed by the Department of Food and Agriculture or its designee and proof 

of completion has been validated by Department of Food and Agriculture or its 

designee. 

(c) The licensee’s track-and-trace system account manager shall be responsible for 

all the following:  

 (1) Complete track-and-trace system training provided by the Department of Food 

and Agriculture or its designee. If the account manager did not complete the track-and-

trace system training prior to the licensee receiving their annual license, the account 

manager will be required to register for the track-and-trace system training provided by 

the Department of Food and Agriculture or its designee within five (5) calendar days of 

license issuance; 

(2) Designate track-and-trace system users, as needed, and require the designated 

users to be trained in the proper and lawful use of the track-and-trace system before the 

users are permitted to access the track-and-trace system;  

(3) Maintain an accurate and complete list of all track-and-trace system designated 

users and update the list immediately when changes occur; 

(4) Cancel any track-and-trace designated users from the licensee’s track-and-trace 

system account if that individual is no longer authorized to represent the licensee;  

(5)  Correct any data that is entered into the track-and-trace system in error within 

three (3) calendar days of discovery of the error; 

(6) Obtain UID tags from the Department of Food and Agriculture, or its designee, 

and ensure that a sufficient supply of UIDs is available at all times; 
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(7) Ensure that all inventory is tagged and entered in the track-and-trace system as 

required by Section 40512 and 40517;  

(8) Monitor all notifications from the track-and-trace system and resolve all issues 

identified in the notification.  The notification shall not be dismissed by an account 

manager until the issue(s) identified in the notification has been resolved; and 

(9) Notify the Department of any loss of access to the track-and-trace system that 

exceeds 72 hours.   

(d) The applicant or licensee is responsible for notifying the Department in writing of 

any change to the designated track and trace system account manager within 48 hours.  

(e) The licensee is responsible for all actions its owners or employees take while 

logged into the track-and-trace system, or are otherwise performing track-and-trace 

activities.  

(f) No person shall intentionally misrepresent or falsify information entered into the 

track-and-trace system.  The track-and-trace system shall be the system of record.  The 

licensee is responsible for the accuracy and completeness of all data and information 

entered into the track-and-trace system.  Information entered into the track-and-trace 

system shall be assumed to be accurate and may be used to take enforcement action 

against the licensee if incorrect information is not corrected.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26067 and 26160, Business and Professions Code  

 

§40512. Track-and-Trace System Reporting Requirements.  

(a) A system account manager or designated user shall record all of the following 

activities in the track-and-trace system within 24 hours of the activity:   

(1) Receipt of cannabis material; 

(2) The transfer to or receipt of cannabis products for further manufacturing from 

another licensed manufacturer; and 

(3) All changes in the disposition of cannabis or cannabis products. A change in 

disposition includes, but is not limited to:  

(A) Processing of the cannabis or further processing of the cannabis product; and 
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(B) Packaging and labeling of the cannabis or cannabis products or repackaging or 

relabeling of the cannabis or cannabis products.  

(4) Use of cannabis or cannabis product for internal quality control testing or product 

research and development. 

(5) Transfer of cannabis products to a distributor. 

(b) The following information shall be recorded for each activity entered into the 

track-and-trace system: 

(1) The licensed entity from which the cannabis material or cannabis product is 

received, including that entity’s license number, and the licensed entity to which the 

cannabis product is transferred, including that entity’s license number; 

(2) The name and license number of the distributor that transported the cannabis 

material or cannabis product; 

(3) The type of cannabis material or cannabis product received, processed, 

manufactured, packaged, or transferred; 

(4) The weight or count of the cannabis material or cannabis product received, 

processed, manufactured, packaged, or transferred;   

(5) The date and time of receipt, processing, manufacturing, packaging, or transfer; 

(6) The UID assigned to the cannabis material or cannabis product; 

(7) Any other information required by other relevant licensing authorities. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26067 and 26160, Business and Professions Code  

 

§40513.  Track-and-Trace System – Loss of Access. 

(a) If a licensee loses access to the track-and-trace system for any reason, the 

licensee shall prepare and maintain comprehensive records detailing all required 

inventory tracking activities conducted during the loss of access. 

(b) Upon restoration of access to the track-and-trace system, all inventory tracking 

activities that occurred during the loss of access shall be entered into the track-and-

trace system within three (3) business days. 
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(c) A licensee shall document the date and time when access to the track-and-trace 

system was lost, when it was restored, and the cause for each loss of access. 

(d)  A licensee shall not transfer cannabis products to another licensee or receive 

cannabis or cannabis products from another licensee until such time as access to the 

track-and-trace system is restored and all information is recorded into the track-and-

trace system. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26067 and 26160, Business and Professions Code  

 

 

§40515.  Track-and-Trace System – Temporary Licenses. 

(a) A licensee operating under a temporary license issued pursuant to Section 

40126 is not required to record commercial cannabis activity in the track-and-trace 

system as otherwise required by this article.  Temporary licensees shall track all 

commercial cannabis activities on a paper sales receipt or invoice that includes the 

following information:  

(1) Name, address, and license number of the seller;  

(2) Name, address, and license number of the purchaser;  

(3) Date of sale or transfer and invoice number;  

(4) Description or type of cannabis or cannabis product;  

(5) Weight or count of the cannabis or cannabis product sold or transferred; 

(6) Cost to the purchaser of the cannabis or cannabis product. 

(b) After issuance of an annual license, the licensee may continue to conduct 

commercial cannabis activities with temporary licensees in accordance with subsection 

(a).  Any commercial cannabis activity conducted between annual license holders shall 

be recorded in the track-and-trace system.  

(c) The provisions of this section shall expire on July 1, 2019. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26067, 26160 and 26161, Business and Professions Code.  
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§40517.  Track-and-Trace System – UID Tag Order. 

(a) A licensee shall order UID tags within five (5) calendar days of receiving access 

to the track-and-trace system.  The receipt of the UID tags by the licensee shall be 

recorded in the track-and-trace system within three (3) calendar days of receipt. 

(b) Any licensee in operation at the time access to the track-and-trace system is 

granted shall input all inventory into the track-and-trace system no later than 30 

calendar days after receipt of the UID tags.  After UID tags have been received, all 

commercial cannabis activity shall be recorded in the track-and-trace system by the 

licensee as required by this Article. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Sections 26067, 26160 and 26161, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 3.  Advertising and Marketing 

§ 40525.  Advertising and Marketing. 

(a) A licensee shall ensure that all advertising and marketing of its cannabis 

products meet the requirements of Chapter 15 (commencing with section 26150) of the 

Act.  Any health-related statement shall also meet the requirements of Section 40410. 

(b) A licensee shall accurately and legibly include its name and license number on 

all advertising and marketing for its products. 

(c) A licensee shall maintain records and documentation to establish that its 

advertising and marketing meet the requirements of Chapter 15 (commencing with 

section 26150) of the Act.  The records shall be maintained in accordance with section 

26160 of the Act and Section 40500 of this chapter.   

(d) A licensee shall remove or discontinue advertising or marketing if the Department 

determines the advertising or marketing violates the provisions of the Act or these 

regulations or if the licensee fails to provide records to the Department upon request 

that establishes the advertising and marketing meets the requirements of the Act and 

regulations. 

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code.  

Reference: Section 26150, Business and Professions Code. 
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Article 4. Inspections 

§40550.  Inspections. 

(a) The Department and its inspectors or agents may conduct an on-site inspection 

prior to issuing a new or renewal license. 

(b) The Department and its inspectors or agents shall have access at reasonable 

times to the manufacturing premises, any area in which the licensee is conducting 

manufacturing activities, storage areas, records, production processes, labeling and 

packaging processes, and conveyances used in the manufacture, storage or 

transportation of cannabis products so that it may determine compliance with the 

provisions of the Act and these regulations.   

(c) The Department may inspect any record or document that has a bearing on 

whether the labeling, advertising or marketing of a cannabis product complies with the 

requirements of Chapter 15 (commencing with section 26150) of the Act. 

(d) To the extent necessary for the enforcement of the Act and this chapter, the 

Department may secure any sample or specimen of any cannabis product or ingredient 

used therein by the manufacturing operation.  The Department’s inspector or agent shall 

leave a receipt for the licensee describing any sample obtained prior to leaving the 

premises. 

(e) The Department may analyze or examine any sample obtained.  If an analysis is 

made of a sample, a copy of the results of the analysis shall be furnished to the licensee 

by the Department.  

(f) The Department may conduct investigations concerning the adulteration, 

misbranding, false or misleading advertising or marketing, or unlicensed production of 

any cannabis product, and may enter and inspect any place where any cannabis 

product is suspected of being manufactured or held in violation of the Act or these 

regulations. 

 (g)  The Department may collect evidence related to any alleged violation of the Act 

or the regulations for the purpose of preserving such evidence during the course of 

investigation and any subsequent enforcement proceedings.   

(h) The Department may copy any materials, books, or records of any licensee or 

their agents pertaining to the commercial cannabis business. 
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Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26130, 26132, 26133, 26134, 26135 and 26160, 

Business and Professions Code. 

 

§40551. Notice to Comply. 

(a)  The Department may issue a notice to comply to a licensee for violation(s) of the 

Act or regulations observed during an inspection.  

(b) The notice to comply shall be in writing and describe the nature and facts of each 

violation, including a reference to the statute or regulation violated. 

(c) The Department may serve the notice to comply prior to leaving the licensed 

premises on an owner, manager or other individual on the premises designated by the 

licensee to accept the notice, or may mail the notice to comply to the licensee within 15 

business days of the last date of inspection. 

(d) The Department shall specify a reasonable timeframe in the notice to comply for 

the licensee to correct the violation(s).  Within the specified timeframe, the licensee 

shall notify the Department of the corrective action(s) taken for each violation and 

describe how compliance was achieved. The Department may require the licensee to 

provide a corrective action plan for review and approval by the Department on a case by 

case basis.   

(e) Failure to correct the violation(s) in the notice to comply may result in a 

disciplinary action or additional enforcement action by the Department.  

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code. 

Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26018, 26134, 26135 and 26160, Business and 

Professions Code.  
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Article 5. Suspensions and Revocations of a License 

§40570. Emergency Decision and Order. 

(a) The Department may issue an emergency decision and order for temporary, 

interim relief to prevent or avoid immediate danger to the public health, safety, or 

welfare.  Such circumstances include, but are not limited to, the following: 

(1) The Department determines that a cannabis product manufactured, processed, 

packed, or held at the licensee’s premises has a reasonable probability of causing 

serious adverse health consequences or death;  

(2) The Department determines that insanitary or other conditions at the licensee’s 

premises exist that could lead to the adulteration of finished cannabis products, and has 

a reasonable probability of affecting the safety of finished cannabis products;    

(3) The Department observes or has information that conditions at the licensee’s 

premises exist that present an immediate risk to worker or public health and safety; 

(4)  To prevent illegal diversion of cannabis or cannabis products, or other criminal 

activity at the licensee’s premises; or  

(5) To prevent the destruction of evidence related to illegal activity or violations of 

the Act. 

(b) Temporary, interim relief may include one or more of the following: 

(1) The temporary suspension of a license; 

(2) An order to segregate or isolate specified cannabis products;  

(3) An order prohibiting the movement of cannabis products from the premises or 

the receipt of cannabis or cannabis products at the premises; 

(4) An order to cease some or all manufacturing operations at the premises;   

(5) An order prohibiting the sale of specified cannabis products; or 

(6) An order for the recall of cannabis products. 

(c) The emergency decision and order issued by the Department shall include a 

brief explanation of the factual and legal basis for the emergency decision that justify 

the Department’s determination that emergency action is necessary and the specific 

actions ordered.  The emergency decision and order shall be effective when issued or 

as otherwise provided by the decision and order. 
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(d) The emergency decision and order for temporary, interim relief shall be issued 

in accordance with the following procedures: 

(1) The Department shall give notice of the emergency decision and order and an 

opportunity to be heard to the licensee prior to the issuance, or effective date, of the 

emergency decision and order, if practicable;   

(2) Notice and hearing under this section may be oral or written and may be 

provided by telephone, personal service, mail, facsimile transmission, electronic mail, or 

other electronic means, as the circumstances permit;   

(3) Notice may be given to the licensee, any person meeting the definition of owner 

for the licensee, or to the manager or other personnel at the licensee’s premises;  

(4) Upon receipt of the notice, the licensee may request a hearing within three (3) 

business days by submitting a written request for hearing to the Department through 

electronic mail, facsimile transmission, or other written means.  The hearing shall 

commence within five (5) business days of the Department’s receipt of the written 

request for hearing, unless a later time is agreed upon by the Department and the 

licensee; 

(5) The hearing shall be in the nature of an informal conference before the 

Department’s Director or his or her designee, and shall permit the licensee and 

Department personnel to offer written or oral evidence and comments on the issues.  

The hearing does not require the opportunity for pre-hearing discovery or cross-

examination of witnesses; and   

(6) Following the hearing, the emergency decision and order shall be affirmed, 

modified, or set aside as determined appropriate by the Department within five (5) 

business days of the hearing.   

(e) Within ten (10) days of the issuance or effective date of the emergency decision 

and order for temporary, interim relief, the Department shall commence adjudicative 

proceedings in accordance with Chapter 5 (commencing with Section 11500) of Part 1 

of Division 3 of Title 2 of the Government Code to resolve the underlying issues giving 

rise to the temporary, interim relief, notwithstanding the pendency of proceedings for 

judicial review of the emergency decision as provided in subsection (g). 
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(f) After formal proceedings pursuant to subsection (e) of this section are held, a 

licensee aggrieved by a final decision of the Department may appeal the decision to the 

Cannabis Control Appeals Panel pursuant to section 26043 of the Act.  

(g) Notwithstanding administrative proceedings commenced pursuant to subsection 

(e), the licensee may obtain judicial review of the emergency decision and order 

pursuant to section 1094.5 of the Code of Civil Procedure in the manner provided in 

section 11460.80 of the Government Code without exhaustion of administrative 

remedies. 

(h) The Department’s authority in this section is in addition to, and does not 

preclude the exercise of, the Department’s authority governing the recall of cannabis 

products in section 26132 of the Act and its authority to embargo cannabis products in 

section 26133 of the Act.  The authority provided by this section may be used in addition 

to any civil, criminal, or other administrative remedies available to the Department.   

 

Authority: Sections 26012, 26013 and 26130, Business and Professions Code; and 

Section 11460.30, Government Code.  Reference: Sections 26011.5, 26013, 26131, 

and 26132, Business and Professions Code; and Sections 11460.10, 11460.20, 

11460.30, 11460.40, 11460.50, 11460.60, 11460.70 and 11460.80, Government Code. 
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