

# **RETAIL WATER FACILITY**

## LICENSE PROCEDURE



California Health and Safety Code (H&SC) Section 111120 requires that every operator of a retail water facility in California obtain a Retail Water Facility License issued by the California Department of Public Health, Food and Drug Branch (FDB). A retail water facility means any commercial establishment where vended water is sold, and placed in customer's containers, or placed in containers sold or given to customers who come to the establishment to obtain water. The Retail Water Facility License must be renewed annually.

## How to apply for a Retail Water Facility License

- Obtain a Retail Water Facility License application (CDPH 8602) by calling the FDB Water program desk at (916) 324-2170.
- Complete the application in type or legible print and <u>sign the form</u>. Make sure each section is completed fully. **Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.**
- Make arrangements with a certified laboratory to conduct water quality testing on your vended (dispensed) water, as follows:
  - Bacteriological analyses (total coliforms)
  - o Lead
  - Volatile organic compounds (VOCs)
  - Total dissolved solids (TDS)\*
    - \*A TDS test is only required if you are selling "purified" water.
- Make sure you include a valid telephone number on the application. FDB staff may contact you at the provided number to ask questions or request additional information regarding your retail water facility.
- Submit your completed application, the non-refundable license fee (check or money order), and water quality test results to CDPH (see the Retail Water Facility License application for the mailing instructions).
- After your application is processed you will be contacted by FDB, at the telephone number provided on your application, to schedule a pre-licensing inspection.
- If your retail water facility is found to be in substantial compliance with all applicable laws and regulations, your license will be issued shortly thereafter.
- The Retail Water Facility License is valid for one calendar year. It is your responsibility to renew the license prior to the expiration date printed on the license.
- Your Retail Water Facility License is non-transferable. If you relocate your retail water facility you are required to apply for a new Retail Water Facility License at the new location. If you transfer or sell your retail water facility, the new owner will be required to apply for a new Retail Water Facility License.

Revised: 12/14/2014 Page 1 of 3

### Renewal of a Retail Water Facility License

- Once licensed, you will receive a Renewal notice and partially completed Retail Water Facility License application 60 days prior to the expiration date of your license.
  - If you do not receive your renewal notice, please contact the FDB Water program desk at (916) 324-2170, or you may download a blank application on the Food and Drug Branch website.
  - Sections 1-5 will be pre-filled on the Retail Water Facility License application.
     Verify the information, make any corrections, and complete the remaining sections. Make sure each section is completed fully. Incomplete applications will be returned to the applicant.
- Submit copies of the required water quality monitoring test results, as follows:
  - o Current bacteriological analyses (total coliforms) test results for analyses conducted within the last 6 months by a certified lab.
  - A recent total dissolved solids (TDS)\* test result.
     \*A TDS test is only required if you are selling "purified" water.
- Submit your renewal application, non-refundable license fee (check or money order), and water quality test results and records to CDPH (see the Retail Water Facility License application for the mailing instructions).
- FDB will conduct periodic, unannounced inspections of your retail water facility to ensure that you are operating in compliance with all applicable state and federal laws and regulations.

### Tips for completing the Retail Water Facility License application

- Do not skip any sections of the application. Each section must be completed fully.
   Incomplete sections will delay processing of your application. Refer to the instruction page included with the application.
- For renewal licenses, write your current license number above the "IN RENEWAL APPLICANT" selection on the top of the form.
- The "Facility Address" must be that of the physical location of your retail water facility.
- The "Mailing Address" should be that where you wish to receive correspondence from FDB, such as your license and license renewal notice.
- Provide valid phone numbers. FDB staff will contact you at the given numbers. Wrong, disconnected, or unmonitored phone numbers will delay the processing of your application and may significantly delay the scheduling of your pre-licensing inspection.
- Write the phrase "PCA Code 76214" on the front of your check or money order.
- Submit legible copies of the requested water quality test results and/or monitoring records. Keep the original test results at your physical location for review by the FDB personnel.
- Retail Water Facility Licenses are non-transferrable to new owners or other locations. A change of ownership or change in facility location will require a new Retail Water Facility License.

#### **Additional information**

 Once licensed, periodic on-site inspections are conducted to assess compliance with applicable State and federal laws and regulations. Inspections will include a review of required water testing, equipment maintenance and sanitation, record-

California Department of Public Health • Food and Drug Branch • (916) 650-6500 • fdbinfo@cdph.ca.gov

Revised: 12/14/2014 Page 2 of 3

keeping, and labeling. Please review the Retail Water Facility Inspection Procedure document.

- A Retail Water Facility License authorizes the operator to dispense vended water and place it into a customer's container. Be advised that retail water facilities are limited solely to this activity. Additional activities require separate licenses.
  - A water vending machine may be operated as part of a retail water facility, but a separate Water Vending Machine License is required.
  - A retail water facility is not authorized to bottle water. "Bottled water," means any
    water that is placed in a sealed container at a water-bottling plant. Water-bottling
    operations require a Water Bottling Plant License, issued by FDB, and must
    comply with comprehensive bottled water laws and regulations.

California Department of Public Health • Food and Drug Branch • (916) 650-6500 • fdbinfo@cdph.ca.gov

Revised: 12/14/2014 Page 3 of 3