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TO: Licensees

Home Medical Device Retailers

Home Medical Device Retailers Out-of-State
Home Medical Device Retailers Warehouse
Home Medical Device Retailers Exemptee

FEE INCREASE EFFECTIVE September 1, 2020

Effective July 1, 2020, the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), Food and
Drug Branch (FDB) is scheduled to increase licensing fees by five percent pursuant to
the California Health and Safety Code (H&SC) Section 111656.1 authorizing CDPH to
establish and adjust licensing fees to cover the estimated program costs.

At the California Department of Public Health (CDPH), our top priority is promoting the
safety and well-being of Californians, which includes our regulated partners. We
understand the spread of the COVID-19 virus may have had an adverse economic
impact on companies regulated by CDPH Food and Drug Branch (FDB). FDB wants to
assure you that we are committed to being responsive to your needs as the situation
evolves.

Therefore, FDB is taking measures to support small businesses in California who are
experiencing a slowdown as a result of COVID-19. As part of this effort, FDB will defer
the above licensing fee increases for 60 days. The new five percent licensing fee
increase will take effect on September 1, 2020.

The rate increase for the new fees was determined by CDPH working closely with the
California Department of Finance (DOF), and will allow the fund to remain solvent and
cover the costs of program operations for the next fiscal year. CDPH will continue to
work closely with DOF to re-evaluate in future years. The report to the legislature
describing the activities supported by the Drug and Device Safety Fund and estimated
program costs can be found at the Food and Drug Branch’s website under Publications
and Reports: 2020 Drug and Device Fund Report.
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http://www.cdph.ca.gov/
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CEH/DFDCS/CDPH%20Document%20Library/FDB/DeviceandDrugSafetyProgram/2020%20Drug%20and%20Device%20Report_FINAL.pdf

The table below shows current fees and the new fees that will be included in all billing
notices for payments on or after September 1, 2020.

(800) 495-3232 o (916) 650-6650 FAX

License Type CurrentFee | New Fee Frequency
Home Medical Device Retailer (HMDR) — $1.304 $1.369 Annual
New and Renewal ’ ’
HMDR Out of State — New and Renewal | $230 $242 Annual
HMDR Warehouse — New and Renewal $653 $686 Annual
HMDR Exemptee — New Application Fee | $384 $403 One-time
HMDR Exemptee — Renewal $230 $242 Annual
If you have questions concerning the new fee schedule, please contact:
California Department of Public Health - Food and Drug Branch
Attn: Drug and Medical Device Compliance and Enforcement
P.O. Box 997435, MS 7602
Sacramento, CA 95899-7435
1-800-495-3232 or Email: FDBMedDevice@cdph.ca.gov
Food & Drug Branch, MS 7602 ® P.O. Box 997435 @ Sacramento, f‘“‘o“ fo%%
CA 95899-7435 < 2
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