
California Department of Public Health 
Vehicle Occupant Safety Program (VOSP) 
 
Fall 2018 • e-Newsletter for California’s Child 
Passenger Safety (CPS) Community 
 
This quarterly e-Newsletter provides a summary of CPS laws and programmatic support 
for the California community of local health departments, instructors, technicians, and 
advocates.  
 
In this issue: 
 CPS Parent Brochure  
 CPS Week 2018  

 American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Updated Child Passenger Transportation 

Policy 

 California CPS Technician Training System 

o California Instructors and Technicians 

 Map of Technicians and Instructors by County 

o National Comparisons 

 Who to Contact for CPS support 

 
CPS Parent Brochure 
Printed copies of the CPS Parent Brochure (printed back-to-back in English and 
Spanish) are available. Please contact Claudia Angel for copies. 
 
CPS Week 2018 
 Child Passenger Safety Week: September 23-29, 2018 
 National Seat Check Saturday: September 29, 2018 

 
National Highway Traffic Safety Administration’s (NHTSA) 2018 Child Passenger Safety 
Week Educational Materials are available here. 
 
NHTSA wants to record all of the CPS media outreach as well as CPS check-up events 
and numbers of seats provided for CPS Week 2018. If you have not already received 
the materials to register your activities, please contact Kate Bernacki. 
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American Academy of Pediatrics (AAP) Updated Child 
Passenger Transportation Policy 
On Aug. 30, 2018, the AAP published an update to its 2011 child passenger safety 
policy statement and technical report.  The most significant change is modified 
language around how long children should remain rear-facing. Instead of 
recommending rear facing to at least age 2, the updated policy statement recommends 
children remain rear facing until they reach the weight or height limit allowed by their 
seat. Most current car safety seats will accommodate children rear facing to age 2 or 
more. 
 
Policy Statement 
Child passenger safety has dramatically evolved over the past decade; however, motor 
vehicle crashes continue to be the leading cause of death for children 4 years and older. 
This policy statement provides four evidence-based recommendations for best practices 
in the choice of a child restraint system to optimize safety in passenger vehicles for 
children from birth through adolescence: (1) rear-facing car safety seats as long as 
possible; (2) forward-facing car safety seats from the time they outgrow rear-facing 
seats for most children through at least 4 years of age; (3) belt-positioning booster seats 
from the time they outgrow forward-facing seats for most children through at least 8 
years of age; and (4) lap and shoulder seat belts for all who have outgrown booster 
seats. In addition, a fifth evidence-based recommendation is for all children younger 
than 13 years to ride in the rear seats of vehicles. It is important to note that every 
transition is associated with some decrease in protection; therefore, parents should be 
encouraged to delay these transitions for as long as possible. 
 
Technical Report 
The AAP continues to recommend the inclusion of child passenger safety anticipatory 
guidance at every health supervision visit. This technical report provides a summary of 
the evidence in support of five recommendations for best practices to optimize safety in 
passenger vehicles for children from birth through adolescence that all pediatricians 
should know and promote in their routine practice. 
 
California CPS Technician Training System 
VOSP introduced the statewide CPS Technician Training System in 2002, which 
includes promoting new and renewing CPS Technicians and Instructors through the 
coordination of CPS Technician trainings and various CPS Continuing Education Unit 
(CEU) opportunities. If you are seeking stipends for Instructors to put on a CPS 
Technician, Special Needs, Renewal or Update course, please contact Claudia Angel 
to initiate the process.  
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California Technicians and Instructors 
Over the past decade, California has grown in total number of Technicians and 
Instructors. In 2008, there were 1,080 technicians and 107 instructors, and in 2018, we 
have seen a doubling of technicians to 2,497, and a slow growing number of instructors 
up to 143. Please see the map (below) for the number of Technicians and Instructors in 
yours county and neighboring counties. Please keep up the good work to encourage 
more technicians! And as you can see, California can certainly use more Instructors. If 
you are a Technician and interested, find an Instructor who can help mentor you, and/or 
contact VOSP and we can help you get the process started! 
 
National Comparisons 
California’s CPS Technician recertification rate is 52 percent compared to the national 
average of 58 percent. However, California is one of 4 states that has over 2,000 
certified CPS Technicians, and at 2,497, we have the second largest number behind 
North Carolina at 3,022. As you might expect it is very difficult to reach our 2,497 
technicians throughout California to insure they have the ability to recertify. However, to 
assist with this task VOSP, with funding from the Office of Traffic Safety (OTS), 
supports Instructors with stipends to teach CPS Technician, Special Needs, Renewal 
and Update courses. 
 
We are here to support you!  
Please contact VOSP staff if you have any CPS Technician Training requests or 
questions, need CPS educational materials, or want to be on the list for future VOSP   
e-Newsletters. 

Kate Bernacki, M.P.H. 
(916) 552-9855 

Claudia Angel 
(916) 552-9804 

 
If you have any CPS programmatic questions, please contact Whitney Braziel, the 
Office of Traffic Safety Occupant Protection and CPS State Coordinator, at  
(916) 509-3015. 
 
Funding for this program was provided by a grant from the California Office of Traffic 
Safety, through the National Highway Traffic Safety Administration. 
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Region Technicians Instructors

North 312 12

Bay Area 742 43

Valley 445 15

South 998 73

Total 2497 143

California Child Passenger Safety 
Technicians/Instructors per Region August 2018

 Safe Kids Certification CPS Technician Database, August 2018
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