
 
 
Dear Retailer: 
 
The training presentation, California Retailers and Tobacco Law Training, was designed as a 
self-education tool for use by retailers and their employees. It provides information about 
California tobacco control laws, tips on preventing tobacco sales to persons under 21 years of 
age, and information on where to obtain additional educational materials. 
 
Before you train your clerks, it is a good idea to find out what they know about preventing a 
tobacco sale to persons under 21 years of age. It is also smart to check what they learned after 
you have trained them. A short quiz is provided for you to print and duplicate. Having 
employees take the quiz prior to and after the training will help you assess how well your 
clerks understood the training material and whether they have the skills necessary to verify 
the age of a customer. Please review the post training quiz results and provide your clerks with 
additional practice with age verification if needed.  
 
Correct Answers to the California Retailers and Tobacco Law Training Quiz: 
 

1. The minimum legal sales age for tobacco products in California is 21.  

2. All answers are correct. 

3. The only form of ID on this list that is NOT valid is a school ID.  

4. The correct answer is “False.” All customers who appear to be younger than 27 should be 

asked for ID. 

5.  All answers are correct.  

6. The correct answer is “No.” Calculating a person’s age is not easy. Be sure to give your 

clerks plenty of practice. In addition, it is recommended that you provide some type of age 

verification device at every register. Possibilities include simple decals, electronic calendars, 

scanning devices, or age verification devices that can also be used in conjunction with 

credit cards.  




