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Disclaimer

• This training is for information and education purposes only

• It is your responsibility to know and comply with state and local tobacco laws

• Viewing this training session and adopting the recommended policies does not 
constitute compliance with the laws and is not a defense if you or your employees 
are cited for violating Penal Code (PC) 308(a) ,the Stop Tobacco Access to Kids 
Enforcement (STAKE) Act [Business and Professions Code 22950-22963 &Tobacco 
Control Act  21 United States Code Section 387f(d)]



Presentation Goals

This presentation will help you learn about:

• California laws that prohibit tobacco sales to persons under 
21 years of age

• California’s Tobacco Licensing Law

• How to Comply With the Laws

• Training Clerks/Employees

• Other Resources



Tobacco Laws: 
What You Need to Know

• You are required to know the laws related to the sale of tobacco in California

• You and the employee face fines or penalties if laws are broken

• Tobacco laws are actively enforced



Important Information 
Effective December 20, 2019

Tobacco products may not be sold to any persons 
under the age of 21. 

Tobacco products include cigarettes, chewing tobacco, and 
dipping tobacco; snuff, cigars, bidis, pipe tobacco, and roll your 
own tobacco; any product containing, made, or derived from 
tobacco or nicotine that is intended for human consumption, 
any electronic smoking device (whether or not it contains 
nicotine); and any component, part, or accessory of a tobacco 
product, whether or not sold separately. For example, 
atomizers, vaping tanks or mods, and “e-liquid” or “e-juice” are 
tobacco products.

[Business and Professions Code Section 22952 & 21 United States Code Section 
387f(d)]



California Tobacco Sales Laws           

• Prohibit selling or giving tobacco products to persons under 21 
years old 

• Sellers must check the ID of anyone who looks younger than 27 
years old

• The California Department of Public Health and any state agency 
or local law enforcement agency may work with decoys under 
the age of 21 in inspections to determine if retailers are selling to 
persons under 21

• Decoys will show their legal ID with their real age if asked

Penal Code (PC) Section 308(a) and Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act [Business and Professions 
Code Section 22950-22963 and 21 United States Code Section 387f(d)]



California Tobacco Sales Laws         

• Businesses are inspected at random, in response to public 
complaints, or if found in violation at a previous inspection

• Sales of tobacco products made over the phone, via mail or via 
the Internet to persons under 21 are also investigated and 
prosecuted

• Require age-of-sale warning signs with 
1-800-5 ASK-4-ID to be posted conspicuously at each point of 
purchase

Penal Code (PC) Section 308(a) and Stop Tobacco Access to Kids Enforcement (STAKE) Act [Business and Professions 
Code Section 22950-22963]



Fines/Penalties for California Tobacco Sales Laws

PC 308(a)

• $200 for the first violation

• $500 for the second violation

• Fines may increase with subsequent 
violations up to $1,000

• Additional penalties and/or 
injunction under the Unfair 
Competition Law 

STAKE Act

• $400-$600 for the first violation

• $900-$1,000 for the second 
violation (within a 5-year period)

• Fines may increase with subsequent 
violations up to $6,000

• Additional penalties and/or 
injunction under the Unfair 
Competition Law



Other Tobacco Laws 
Affecting Retailers

Under PC 308 (a), the STAKE Act, and the federal 2009 Tobacco Control Act the 
following are prohibited:

• Sales of bidi cigarettes
• Sales of single cigarettes
• Free samples of tobacco products are prohibited except in Adult-Only Facilities
• Self-service displays of all tobacco products and paraphernalia
• Sales of flavored cigarettes and tobacco paraphernalia (other than menthol)
• Sales of flavored cartridge based e-cigarettes

For more detailed information about these laws, see:

PC 308 (a): http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=PEN&sectionNum=308. 

STAKE Act: http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&division=8.5.&title=&part=&chapter=&article 

2009 Tobacco Control Act: https://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm205021.htm

http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displaySection.xhtml?lawCode=PEN&sectionNum=308.
http://leginfo.legislature.ca.gov/faces/codes_displayText.xhtml?lawCode=BPC&division=8.5.&title=&part=&chapter=&article
http://www.fda.gov/TobaccoProducts/GuidanceComplianceRegulatoryInformation/Retail/ucm205021.htm


California State
Tobacco License Requirements

• Tobacco product retailers must obtain a license  annually ($265) 
from the California Department of Tax and Fee Administration 
(CDTFA)

• A retailer must display the state license so that it is visible to the 
public

• A retailer may only purchase tobacco products from a licensed 
tobacco wholesaler, distributor, or importer



California State
Tobacco License Penalties

• Penalties for noncompliance with the state tobacco license 
requirement may result in a fine of up to $5,000, imprisonment 
up to one year, or both*

• Failure to post the state tobacco license may result in a fine of 
$500*

• CDTFA investigators and local law enforcement officers inspect 
tobacco retailers for compliance with tobacco licensing and 
other tobacco laws

*Cigarette and Tobacco Products Licensing Act of 2003,  Division 8.6 (commencing with section 22970) of the 
California Business and Professions Code



Local 
Tobacco Retail License Requirements

• Some jurisdictions in California have passed local tobacco retail
licensing laws

• Check with your local health department regarding local
tobacco control laws that may apply to your retail business



How to Comply With the 
Laws

Stopping tobacco sales to persons under 21 
years of age depends on commitment and 
action by you and your employees

• Develop and follow store policies for checking 
identification

• Train and monitor your clerks

• Put up reminder posters

• Obtain and display your tobacco license and 
the STAKE Act age-of-sale warning sign



Develop and Follow Store 
Policies

• Require your employees to ask for valid 
government-issued photo ID and to check the age of 
anyone who looks younger than age 27

• Develop a written company policy that employees 
must read and sign

• Emphasize to employees that checking IDs is 
important — no matter how many people are in line

• Remind your employees that state and local 
enforcement agencies conduct tobacco compliance 
checks

• Caution employees that store owners and clerks 
may be cited, which may result in a fine and criminal 
record 



Train Your Employees

• Ask for ID from anyone who looks younger than age 27 

• Accept only valid government-issued IDs and check for 
expiration dates

• Check or calculate the age on the ID to confirm the 
customer is at least 21 

• To identify all tobacco products that your store sells 
(including electronic cigarettes/vapes/e-liquids) 

• How to refuse a sale



Monitor Your Employees 

• Observe your clerks and give prompt 
feedback on what they are doing right and 
how they could improve

• Conduct periodic secret shopper programs to 
check on your store’s compliance with 
tobacco laws

• Follow through with rewards and corrections



Use Reminders and Other 
Aids

• Post the legally required STAKE Act age-of-sale
warning signs at each point of sale

• Place calendars and other age-of-sale reminders
by all registers. Many types of calendars are
available, including decals, daily paper and
electronic calendars

• Use register screen pop-ups as reminders to
check age

• Install electronic scanning devices or other age
verification devices, and teach employees how to
use them and NOT to override them!



Role Playing 
Scenario

Practice with another clerk or the manager. Here 
are two scenarios:

An adult that appears 
to be under 27 
attempts to buy 

cigarettes. You ask for 
ID, and the person 

becomes upset. What 
do you do and say?

An underage friend asks 
you for cigarettes. How 
do you refuse the sale?

It’s important for clerks to practice refusing a sale



Refusing a Sale: What to Say • “I’m sorry. It’s against 
the law.” 

• “I’m sorry. I can’t sell 
tobacco without a 
picture ID.”

• “I’m sorry. It’s store 
policy 
to check ID’s.”

• “I could be fined if I 
break the law.”



Refusing a Sale: What to Do
• After politely refusing 

the sale, remain calm

• If a customer insists or 
becomes 
argumentative, 
contact your 
supervisor

• If the customer takes 
the product, leaves 
money, and runs away, 
DO NOT RING UP THE 
SALE. Treat it as a 
theft and report the 
incident



Ask for ID – Look for Fakes

Look for these clues:

• Has the ID expired?

• Does the photo match the 
person?

• Does the ID look altered?

• IDs with holes, glue lines, bumpy 
surfaces, or other signs of 
tampering should not be 
accepted

IMPORTANT: If you’re 
not sure the ID is valid, 

refuse the sale



How to Check Age

The easiest way to check a 
person’s age is to ask for 
and check their: 

• California driver license

• California ID



Provisional Licenses
• These licenses are 

vertical to help retailers 
know when a person is 
younger than 21

• A red strip also tells you 
the year the person 
turns 21



How to Check Age with a 
California ID Card

• A customer may hand 
you a California ID card 
when you ask for ID

• California ID cards may 
look similar to 
California driver 
licenses 

• California ID cards must 
be checked for age

CAUTION: some California 
ID cards may not have a red 

strip



Other Resources

The California Department of Tax and Fee Administration (CDTFA) offers 
a free, interactive class for tobacco retailers, “Selling Cigarettes and 
Tobacco in CA” 

You will learn:
• Who must be licensed
• What brands can be sold in CA
• When flavored cigarettes became illegal
• What to expect during an inspection
• What records to maintain
• How to avoid fines and penalties
• And much more

For more information go to CDTFA https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/

https://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/


• To obtain STAKE Act signs contact Tobacco Education Clearinghouse of 
California https://www.tecc.org/

• Tobacco 21 Resources for Retailers
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CTCB/Pages/Tobacco21. 
aspx

• For information on retail sales, call the STAKE Act hotline: 1-800-5 ASK-4-ID

• For information about California’s licensing law, call the CDTFA at 
1-800-400-7115 or visit California Cigarette & Tobacco Products Licensing Act 
of 2003 -Cigarette Manufacturer/Importer License http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/
taxes-and-fees/spctmanufacturer.htm

Where to Get Signs and 
Tobacco Retail Information

https://www.tecc.org/
https://www.cdph.ca.gov/Programs/CCDPHP/DCDIC/CTCB/Pages/Tobacco21.aspx
http://www.cdtfa.ca.gov/taxes-and-fees/spctmanufacturer.htm
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