
SMOKING IS PROHIBITED

Spaces Description Code

Child/Day 
Care Centers

Within licensed day care centers, including private residences licensed 
as family day care homes.

Health and Safety 
Code Section 
1596.795

Farmers’ 
Markets

Within 25 feet of the common commerce area of certified farmers’ markets. Health and Safety 
Code Section 114371

Foster and 
Group Homes

Within a foster or group home, as well as outside the home when 
children are present.

Health and Safety 
Code Section 1530.7

Government 
Buildings

In all state, county, and city government buildings, including California 
community college district buildings, as well as within 20 feet from 
their main exits, entrances, or operable windows, and in any passenger 
vehicle owned by the state. 

Government Code 
Section 7596-7597

Multi-Unit 
Housing

In apartment and condominium indoor common areas (including 
hallways, stairwells, laundry rooms and recreation rooms). In addition, it is 
legal for landlords to make all housing they own and manage smoke-free.

Labor Code Section 
6404.5; Civil Code 
Section 1947.5

State Parks 
& Beaches

Within state parks and state coastal beaches. Additionally, the 
disposal of used cigar or cigarette waste is prohibited unless the 
disposal is made in an appropriate waste receptacle. Exceptions 
include paved roadways or parking facilities of state parks and state 
coastal beaches.

Public Resources Code 
Section 5008.10

Personal 
Vehicles

When a minor (less than 18 years of age) is present in a motor vehicle 
that is in motion or at rest.

Health and Safety 
Code Section 118948

Public 
Transportation 

In all public transportation systems and in any vehicle of an entity 
receiving transit assistance.

Health and Safety 
Code Section 118925

California’s Statewide Smoke-Free Air Laws & Restrictions 
Smoke-Free Air Laws Matter
Smoking and secondhand smoke cause life threatening diseases. It is estimated that nearly 40,000 Californians die each year 
from diseases caused by smoking and secondhand smoke exposure.1 California has long led the way in adopting strong and 
innovative smoke-free air laws that protect people from secondhand smoke exposure. These laws protect Californians at most 
workplaces and in spaces often frequented by children and youth, who are especially vulnerable to the negative health effects 
of secondhand smoke. California’s smoke-free laws include tobacco products such as cigarettes, cigars, and pipes, as well as 
electronic smoking devices. Certain laws prohibit the use of all tobacco products, including tobacco that is chewed or dissolved. 

Free help with quitting is available at https://www.nobutts.org/ or by calling 1-800-NO BUTTS  and 1-844-8-NO VAPE.

https://www.nobutts.org/


Local Laws May be Stronger 
Local jurisdictions have and continue to adopt smoke-free laws that are stronger than state laws. Contact your local tobacco 
control program to learn more about your municipal smoke-free laws or to report smoking violations. For more information, 
visit www.cdph.ca.gov/Tobacco 

Workplaces In all indoor workplaces including bars, restaurants, offices, factories 
and warehouses. Exceptions include long-term health care facilities 
(which may designate smoking areas for patients), theatrical 
productions (where smoking is an integral part of the story), and 
medical research or treatment sites (where smoking is integral to the 
research or treatment). Cabs of trucks or tractors must be smoke-free 
when nonsmoking employees are present. All hotel and motel lobbies, 
common areas, employee-only areas, meeting or banquet rooms, 
and at least 80% of guest rooms within a hotel must be smoke-free. 
Smoking is allowed in tobacco shops and in private smokers’ lounges, 
as long as it occurs in an enclosed area in or attached to a retail or 
wholesale tobacco shop.

Labor Code 
Section 6404.5

Youth 
Busses 

By an operator of a youth bus at all times when operating a youth bus. Vehicle Code 12523

SMOKING AND TOBACCO PRODUCTS ARE PROHIBITED

Spaces Description Code

Correctional 
Facilities

In all state correctional facilities. Only possession of tobacco products 
in Department of Corrections’ residential staff housing where inmates 
are not present is permitted.

Penal Code 
Section 5030.1

Playgrounds, 
Tot Lots & 
Youth Sporting 
Events

Within 25 feet of a playground, tot lot sandbox, or recreational area 
specifically designed for use by children, and within 250 feet of a youth 
sports event, which includes any practice, game, or related activity at 
which athletes up to 18 years of age are present.

Health and Safety
 Code 104495

Schools 
(Public & 
Charter)

In all school districts, charter schools, and county offices of education, while 
students attend school-sponsored activities or are under the supervision 
and control of school employees. Tobacco and nicotine products are 
prohibited in charter school-or school district-owned or leased buildings, 
on school or district property, and in school or district vehicles.

Health and Safety 
Code Sections 
104420, 104559; 
Education 
Code 48901

1 California Department of Public Health, California Tobacco Control Program. California Tobacco Facts and Figures 
2018. Sacramento, CA: California Department of Public Health; 2020

http://www.cdph.ca.gov/Tobacco  



