
Children under the age of  
one are required to ride in 
a REAR-FACING car seat 
in the back seat; although 
national recommendations 
are to keep children rear 
facing to age two. Children 
should remain in a rear 
facing car seat (either an 
“infant” or a “convertible” 
until they reach the top 
height or weight limit 
allowed by the car seat’s 
manufacturer. A convertible 
seat starts out rear-facing 
and converts to a forward 
facing seat when the child 
is ready. Rear-facing is the safest way to ride.

Rear-Facing Car Seats

Forward-Facing Car Seats
Keep your child in a  
F O R W A R D - F A C I N G 
(either a “convertible” or 
“combination”) car seat with 
a harness until he reaches 
the top height or weight 
limit allowed by the car 
seat’s manufacturer. Many 
forward-facing seats must 
be used with a top tether.

Car Seat Installation Tips – Once a child is placed 
in the car seat, be sure that the harness straps are 
snug and can’t be pinched, that the chest clip is at 
armpit level, and that the car seat is tightly secured 
and doesn’t move more than an inch from side to 
side. For rear-facing car seats, the harness straps are 
even with or below the shoulder and when the car 
seat is forward-facing, the harness straps are even 
with or above the shoulders. 

California Child Restraint Law  
Birth to 16 years

Children under age 8 must be properly buckled into 
a car seat or booster in the back seat.

Children age 8 or older, or who are 4’9” or taller, may 
use the vehicle seat belt if it fits properly with the lap 
belt low on the hips, touching the upper thighs, and 
the shoulder belt crossing the center of the chest. If 
children are not tall enough for proper belt fit, they 
must ride in a booster or car seat.

Exemptions: A child under age 8 may ride in  
an appropriate restraint system in the front seat if:

•	 There is no rear seat.

•	 The rear seats are side-facing jump seats.

•	 The rear seats are rear-facing seats. 

•	 The car seat or booster cannot be installed 
properly in the rear seat. 

•	 All rear seats are already occupied by 
children seven years of age or under.

•	 Medical reasons require that a child cannot  
ride in the rear seat. Proof of the child’s  
medical condition may be required. 

•	 However, a child cannot be transported  
in a rear-facing car seat in the front seat  
that is equipped with an active frontal  
passenger airbag.

Protect Your Child – 
It is the Law!

In California, for each child under 16 who is not 
properly secured, parents (if in the car) or drivers 
can be fined more than $475 and get a point on 
their driving records. 

Knowing California 
Laws Will Keep Your 
Family Safe in the Car

Motor vehicle crashes are  
the leading cause of death for  

children ages 1 through 12 years old,  
killing over 1,000 children each year.  

To protect against this tragedy, parents 
must have the proper information and 

resources available to make the best  
choice in how to properly secure their 

children in a vehicle. California law  
requires everyone to be properly  
secured when in a motor vehicle.

Continued on next page, middle panel.



The right car seat or booster fits 
your child and your car, and is one 
you will use correctly every time 
you travel.

Certified Child Passenger 
Safety Technicians are available 
to check your car seat installation 
for free. For car seat questions 
and general information or for 
an inspection station near you go 
to www.safercar.gov or use the 
California directory of child passenger safety services 
at cdph.ca.gov/vosp and click on “Who’s Got Car 
Seats?” to contact your local health department. 

Boosters & Beyond

Car Seat Questions  
& Installation Help

A combination seat converts from a 5-point harness 
into a booster seat when your child is ready. Once 
your child outgrows the forward-facing car seat with a 
harness, it’s time to travel in a BOOSTER SEAT and still 
in the back seat. 

It is against California law to leave a child under 
the age of seven alone in the car without the 
supervision of a person at least 12 years old if: 

1. The keys are in the ignition or the car is running, or 

2. There is a significant risk to the child. 

Children are most at risk of backovers and 
frontovers when vehicles are backing out of a 
driveway. Know the blind zones of your vehicle. 

Look Before You Lock to be sure you haven’t left 
a child in the back seat. Heatstroke as a result of 
a child being left in a vehicle is a terrible tragedy. 

Dangers In & Around Cars  
& Kaitlyn’s Law
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BOOSTER SEATS help elevate 
your child so that the shoulder 
strap fits comfortably across 
the chest, the lap belt stays 
low over the hips, and the 
knees bend over the seat edge. 
Booster seat weight limits can 
be as high as 120 pounds. Keep your children in a  
BOOSTER SEAT until they are big enough to fit in 
a seat belt properly. 

Your children can properly fit an adult SEAT BELT 
when on every trip they can stay seated and:

•	 Sit all the way back in the seat with their 
knees bending at the edge of the seat,

•	 Have the lap belt stay low on their hips, 
touching the upper thighs, and

•	 Have the shoulder belt cross the center of 
their chest and not ride on their neck or face. 

All children are safest, properly restrained, in the 
back seat until age 13.

No one should ever place the shoulder belt under 
the arm or behind the back. 

Knowing California 
Laws Will Keep Your 
Family Safe in the Car

Motor vehicle crashes are  
the leading cause of death for  

children ages 1 through 12 years old,  
killing over 1,000 children each year.  

To protect against this tragedy, parents 
must have the proper information and 

resources available to make the best  
choice in how to properly secure their 

children in a vehicle. California law  
requires everyone to be properly  
secured when in a motor vehicle.

Forward-Facing Car Seats continued from the previous page.


